• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 01 Nov 2014)
(e.g. 02 Nov 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 477 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lacks value It is advertised offering parking. There is one next door but you have to go to a different one in the Chinese quarters (not easy to find if you don´t know Birmingham and GPS useless due to ongoing roadworks). Last day you are meant to hand hotel bill to parking attendant to obtain discount. I had lo leave luggage in hotel to then walk to car park, collect car, return hotel and collect luggage. When I arrived to car park parking was not manned. Rung bell but nobody came. Rung phone number on wall but nobody attended. Walked back to hotel. They assured me it was manned and I had to ring bell more time. Returned to car park. Three people ringing bell by then. Nobody came. Needed to rush off so I returned to hotel, collected my cases (no time to drive back to hotel) drugged them along the streets and when I arrived more people was ringing bell. Half an hour before someone appeared. No apologies!!! Only explanation received "We are understaffed It is not my fault". I also left a shirt for laundry on morning of arrival (about 13:00. No guarantee it would be ready for the following day before 18:30. At the end it was ready but I had to iron it as it was not ironed. 6.00 pounds for the "service" Heating system kept going into "Fault Service I" and breakfast was as basic as it comes. Location was good but considering the competition available that that the price was not precisely cheap next time I´ll try a different hotel. 13 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for trains and theatre We chose this hotel as it was close to both the train station and theatre. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we had a meal in the restaurant which was superb and not too expensive. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast excellent. 10 April 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just OK Excellent location to Bull Ring and train station. The room was rennovated recently, so was nice and confortable. The hallways, lifts, and lobby were in need of upgrading. The front counter staff were very nice, polite, and helpful. The problem with the service is when I needed ice. I called down to the front desk to ask if they had an ice machine, so I can get me own ice. They said they do not, but they can send someone from the bar to bring a bucket of ice. After an hour of waiting, I called back. They said the bar must be busy, so they would remnd them. After another 1/2 hour, I went to the bar myself to get the ice. Bar was not very busy, one staff was busy with SMS on his phone. The other staff got ice for me. Don't know where the breakdown in communication happened, but if the front desk promises that someone would perform a service (bring ice), then it should happen. 09 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by edwards Great hotel to stay for weekend break near everything 06 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay right in the middle of Birmingham Have never stayed in Birmingham before. The Hotel was in easy each of the town centre. Rooms were confortable and spotlessly clean and had everthing in them you could wish for a new days away. The restaurant served excellent breakfasts with a wide choice to choose from. Dinner in the evening also served excellent food with a choice to choose from all cooked lovely and hot..Will definately stay here again. 06 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed and great service all round From the moment my wife and I stepped through the doors we was meet with a warm welcome which was carried throughout our stay. 04 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location with good standard of rooms. I stayed in an executive room. I was very happy with the facilities and found the room both clean and comfortable. As a female guest I felt safe in the room as the door both locked and had a security chain. The hotel itself was ideally located for the central shopping area and the train station. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. My only gripe was the restaurant. The evening meal was a self-service buffet. The food was not very imaginative, had been kept hot too long and was not replenished often enough. After I was shown to a seat I was ignored by the staff and managed to eat my meal without even a glass of water being offered and left the restaurant without signing for the meal. This meant a member of staff had to be sent to find me to get my signature. The restaurant was not overly busy and there were plenty of staff around looking busy. Room for improvement in this area. 03 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location and Value Nice room. Good value with excellent location - about 3 minutes walk to the city centre and train station with close proximity to the Chinese Quarter for foods! DIdn't receive an upgrade for Platinum member although a complimentary drink had been offered. Also, only 1 room received complimentary bottled water in the room (booked for 2 rooms) which is rather strange. 02 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good customer service The room was so cool due to malfunction heating. Managed to get a new room but at that time it was already 2am. Credit to second room service person that show his care for at least tried to bringing in a standalone heating device and then give me a new room. Thanks you. 31 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel in excellent location I stayed 1 night as I had a course next door the following day. I was upgraded to a bigger room with a huge bed. The complimentary drinks and chocolate in the room were a nice touch and the free drink at the bar was a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the room sufficiently dark and quiet for a good nights sleep. My only complaint is that the TV failed to work despite 2 attempts to fix it. I was told to bring it to the attention of the reception desk when checking out but they simply shrugged their shoulders. I emailed the manager personally as he had asked in his welcome letter if there was a problem but never received a reply - a poor show! Breakfast was good quality and great taste. I would stay here again if they could guarantee me a room with a working TV. 29 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre We stayed at the Holiday Inn on a Monday evening, the room was spacious, clean and had all the necessary facilities and a comfortable bed. One downside, we had a connecting door and we'd asked for no connecting door, however we didn't hear any noise from the next room. The breakfast was also excellent with attentive staff. First time at a Holiday Inn would certainly stay again. 25 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room We where very happy with everything about this hotel, and would stay again. 24 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff on reception Very welcoming. Made me feel like a priorityy club member - which I am! Professional but engaging/friendly. Smile helped too! 22 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Really liked this hotel! We had a lovely stay, the room was cosy and stylish and the bed was super comfy. Staff were nice and helpful and the breakfast was tasty. Would definitely stay here again. Location is excellent. 14 March 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by OK This hotel is ok ! avoid the rooms around the lift area i could hear other guest coming and going and always ask for higher floor room too. I stayed in 310 and could hear the noise from the air conditioning units has the windows were that sound resistance after 24 hours of traveling i stayed here to relax but i couldn't has we had a fire alarm activation and we all had to exit the building This is probable the worst Holiday Inn i have styed but the location is fantastic right next to new st station :) 09 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay i have stayed here a few times now & if i'm in Birmingham for a night or two its ideal, close to the theatre, close to china town, close to the railway station & the bull ring shopping center, its clean, friendly & breakfast is fab, i haven't had an evening meal but would like to try it out, never had any problems 09 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal for a group booking I was in a group of 18 ladies for a hen night and we found the hotel very comfortable, well situated with a discounted car park nearby. We were able to relax in a group in the bar and found the staff very helpful. Breakfast very good in a pleasant restaurant. 09 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Ideal place to stay if going to see a show at the Hippodrome, and close to the Bull Ring & bars. 08 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Clean Modern Room Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights and appreciated the nice clean rooms, and good location, on the down side the buffet dinner was the worst i have had in an hotel, luke warm and cheap low quality product, and unfortunately the door man needs some customer service training, he was rude and unhelpful when i asked him about parking and for the rest of the stay he didnt even say hello or goodbye, huge attitude and somewhat spoiled my stay 04 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and excellent value This is a regular hotel for us about 3 or 4 times a year. Te rooms are excellent and always clean. To be honest the food can be a little disappointing but this trip the food was excellent 02 March 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ok Problems with internet kept on going down staff didnt really know what they were doing Noise from corridor could be heard from other geusts house keeping when moving there trolleys Rooms need to be sound proofed especially doors Location excellent ! 22 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great was big room, clean, warm. nice view. loved the bath polite staff 17 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very comfortable stay Only stayed one night but a very comfortable, clean and tidy hotel. All staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. We had a meal in the Chinese quarter before going to the Theatre and all within walking distance of the hotel. Will defiinately stay again and happy to recommend to all. 17 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Another great stay.......... I like this hotel and have reviewed it at least once before. I have to declare an interest in the sense I am a Gold member of this hotel group so do get a few additional small benefits. Regardless of this I think the hotel is in a great location just a few minutes from New Street Station - so great if you are travelling by train. The Bullring, Chinatown and various pubs and clubs are all a short walking distance away so a fantastic base for visiting Birmingham. I also have to comment on the reception staff who are always friendly and efficient and the night doorman who is polite and courteous, My only 'gripe' is that I always book a 'Superior' room and I do find they vary in size and layout - so it is the luck of the draw which you are allocated. However, these are all well equipped, clean and modern. Be back soon............ 16 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by STAY AT THE HOLIDAY INN All our members of staff stayed here while we were at the spring fair for a whole week. And think for the value for money it was very poor. None of us had a good night sleep and you would think for a holiday inn it would be a great night stay. There for unless you are getting this hotel at a cheap rate would not recommend it. Not worth the money!!!! As we stay in alot of hotels for business we have stayed in far better at a cheper price. 11 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for city centre convenience Really great hotel. Excellent breakfast and clean and comfortable rooms. I will stay there again. 09 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A comfortable hotel Visit this property on a regular basis and have always enjoyed my stay. Location is excellent if arriving in the city centre by rail as the station at New Street is 5 minutes easy walk. Right in the heart of the city opposite Chinatown and close to the Mailbox and the Bull Ring. With the odd exception the staff at reception are friendly and efficient. The rooms are equipped with all you need for both a leisure or business stay. Have always found them to be very clean which is such an important factor. As a Platinum Priority Club member I receive various benefits including when available an upgraded room which is always welcome. This hotel is excellent at recognising their loyalty club members. It can be a little noisy in the streets outside with traffic and the nightlife of the city centre but not excessively especially if you are on a higher floor and at the back of the building. The bar is welcoming, but I rarely eat in the restaurant simply because of the choice within a few minutes walk. There are just two lifts and these can get very busy if there is an event on in the function suites or around breakfast and check out time. Nevertheless its a very convenient hotel with all the amenities I need topped off with a very pleasant and efficient team. 07 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel and staff exceptional...... As soon as I walked out of the taxi (with pouring down rain) I was greeted by a doorman who opened the door, helped me inside to the dry and warm hotel with a smile. I was asked if I needed to check in or be directed to the bar for a warm beverage. Our room was away from the traffic, comfortable, quiet and we wanted to take away the power shower. Didn't want to leave felt that at home and great night's sleep. Booking again this hotel again. 05 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just one night but a very good one We decided to stay at this Hotel as we were visiting Birmingham to go to a Concert in the evening. We weren't dissapointed, as the room was excellent and very clean and staff couldn't have been more friendly which is very good to see in a "chain" hotel. The only minus I would have is the cost of parking which was £20 for one night - we actually parked in the car park next door for £15. I do resent paying for parking at a Hotel and beleive it is something you should expect to be free. However the excellent breakfast (included in our room rate) more than made up for this. The buffet was regularly refreshed while we had our leisurley Sunday morning breakfast and everything in all sections was fresh and tasty (there were even 2 choices of sausages!). 05 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room and excellent reception staff great service on check in and check out- treated professionally, friendly and with a genuine smile - none of the forced ' have a nice day' rubbish 04 February 2013
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 01 Nov 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 02 Nov 2014)
Check Availability
Loading