• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 17 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 18 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 236 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect concert sleepover accomodation Everything you could possibly want to make visits to NEC events visit relaxing and enjoyable. In future, I will always book this hotel as soon as I book any concert /event tickets at NEC 02 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by staff not very helpful booked a double room and had to sleep in a twin room 01 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LG ARENA STAY Comfortable, quiet and excellent value for money. Also convenient for NEC events, will stay here again. Thanks 31 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn NEC Good staff, good location Need refurbishment Incraese Variety in breakfast increase facitlities 30 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overall, not bad, could be better... this is not my first time at this hotel and found it very strange that hotel guests need to pay for the parking. 12 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing and friendly service Friendly staff, nice relaxing atmosphere. I enjoyed my stay after visiting the Gadget Show NEC. Well kept grounds and area, I would recommend. Thanks 16 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel, book early for great rates. We booked this hotel in connection with our trip to the LG Arena to see Justin Timberlake. I think I must have booked it 6 months in advance or around that mark. I paid £49 for a twin room up front, all rooms come with a free breakfast for guests. The staff were very friendly from walking through the door to leaving the following day. The room was spacious, very clean and quite contemporary. We booked a cab from the hotel to the NEC which costs £5. The driver told us to come back to the same point to get back to the hotel. To our amazement there was a cab waiting and go us back to the hotel swiftly. On arrival we found the bar was still open for a night cap and even pizza and chips . The breakfast was limited but good quality, nothing to fault here. Great place and would stay again. Thank you for a lovely experience. 16 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful Staff Found this hotel online and advertised to have shuttle service to NEC during hours posted, ending at 8 p.m. So we booked this hotel. Found that no shuttle service and one must taxi. Hotel helped with this cost for the one day being at NEC as we told them we booked hotel for shuttle and previously stayed here because of shuttle to NEC. Wonderful breakfast, helpful staff and nice rooms. Would recommend to others, but know your taxi to NEC will cost 6 to 8 pounds each way, unless driving and there is free parking at NEC. We ending up walking for what seemed like miles in the NEC building to get to area where the recommend (by Hotel) taxi is only allowed to park. Only certain taxi's allowed to park at NEC and the others have restricted parking on the other end of NEC. 16 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We stay here every year for the Gadget Show. Rooms have always been great, I do find the Beds are a bit to soft sometimes feel you are going to fall out every time your turn over. Room is always clean fresh towels each day. Breakfast is very poor, not much choice and normally cold. Wifi is Complementary but very slow, 3G is a lot faster, I wouldn't bother in using it. 15 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Over priced Booked a room at an early booker's rate. I was going to a conference here. Just before going realised I had mis-booked by 1 day (yes, I know ... Stupid, but hey just one day out !!#. Tried to change booking on the website. Would not let me change and didn't even tell me what was available at any other price. Rang hotel was told that they could only surcharge me by 50% ish back to a full room rate, even though they had lost nothing there were empty rooms available on both days. Breakfast was a disaster, only cut price sausages, beans and the scrapings of scrambled egg from around the tray and I wasn't even late 8.45 ish. Got on to guest relations when I got back and they apologised #almost more poorly than an MP) and they hoped to see me again !!! Yea right ! Holiday Inn Express used to be great, but they are hopeless as Express by Holiday Inn. Other chains are better. Oh yes and just because we were at the NEC they charged me £7.00 to park !! 10 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent service and overall comfort On arrival at check in as a Reward club member I was treated like an old friend. I was handed an envelope with room key only had to fill in car registration and go to my room. The room was light and airy, the bed very comfortable. I asked for extra pillows which arrived within minutes. Breakfast was very good and I didn't have to check out till 1pm. Overall I had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. No hesitation in recommending this hotel. 01 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Stop Over My colleague and I had an excellent night's sleep. The service was great and the meals were excellent. I would definitely stop there again, when we visit the NEC, and would recommend it. 29 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic value for money Absolutely enjoyed our stay, comfort, relaxing and great value for money. Would highly recommend to anyone will definitely be returning next year. 28 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Awesome I stayed here as I was going to a convention in the NEC and despite it being just outside the NEC it was a surprisingly short walk of only 15minutes to egt there :) The staff were friendly and helpful and didnt judge myself or my boyfriend because of our age or the reason of us being there ( or the fact we wore very elaborate costumes also :') ) The breakfast was lovely and im a big croissant and pain au chocolate fan so being able to have a free breakfast of those and yoghurt was great and I also dont know many hotels that do a free breakfast! It was my first time in a hotel and it was a great experience that made my weekend even better :D 27 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good marks for most things... Good staff service, clean in all areas, sound proofing that works, comfy beds, adequate shower, but the breakfast....Oh dear! Breakfast in England usually means a full English. Bacon? Nope Beans? Nope Sausage? Yes, but very poor quality Fried bread? Nope Mushrooms? Nope Would I stay again? Yes Would I have breakfast elsewhere? Most definitely! You have been warned! 26 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Smart hotel with great staff Very handy hotel when working at the NEC for a few days. Smart reception and very warm greeting from the staff. Room was very clean and spacious with all the usual amenities. Was given the option of ground, first or second floor which was good. Great to have vending machines for snacks, drinks and also toiletries and other extras. Having said that, it was very nice too that there are complimentary toothpaste/brushes, cotton wool, sewing kits etc available on request - nice touch. All the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Great value stay altogether. On the negatives - I found the pillows to be very uncomfortable and, despite being labelled "soft" and "hard", they all felt the same to me and gave me a stiff neck. TV has only a few channels. Although the menu in the room had quite a few choices, it was entirely different on actually going to the bar where there was a much more limited choice - I had decided what to have before going to the restaurant so it was a disappointment to find none of them available. This was the same every night. The food, such as it was, was fine. Breakfast was included and was very acceptable - sausages, scrambled eggs and beans in the hot section but lots of fruit, toast, pastries, yoghurt, cheese etc. All in all a very good stay. 26 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Good Stay I have stayed here before it was good last time, this time was better they have improved the room, comfy bed and free wifi that works well. Staff were helpful and friendly. 22 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfy bed Lovely friendly welcome from ladies on Reception.. Hotel in a great locaton for visiting N.E.C. Dog Friendly Hotel. 14 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast I have stayed here several times in the past and this was the most expensive in terms of cost and by far the worst in terms of value. Breakfast on both days was of VERY poor quality and extremely limited in choice. I did not arrive late for breakfast so the lack of supplies was not as a result of this. On each day, there were sausages and beans, neither of which I like. Poor quality, scrambled eggs were available on day one, but not on day two. When asked, the staff said there weren't any eggs at all! The containers of fruit held a few unappetising floaters, so we were left with toast. I understand that breakfast is available to all, but this was probably the very worst breakfast I have ever had in any hotel ever. 13 March 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by food on the morning of our departure, we went down for our braekfast, guess what NO SAUSAGES or BACON. TOTAL FARCE, no refund so far. 13 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay but disappointed with breakfast This is the second time we have stayed here while attending Crufts and although the hotel was very busy the staff coped very well, the only disappointment was the breakfast, they could not cope with hot food demand. 13 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by welcoming and convenient Close to NEC. Rooms comfortable and clean. Was looking forward to good hot breakfast with friends, but we were disappointed. No eggs left by 9am, only sausages left. After your current advertising campaign this was not what we expected!! Reception staff said it was a stocking issue. Pity - this review would have been 5* otherwise. 13 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An average stay Chose the hotel because of the location and a visit to Crufts at the NEC. Most hotel staff tried their best to be polite and helpful although they didn't cope too well with the number of guests. We ate in the hotel restaurant and had to wait 55 minutes for the food to arrive after being told it would be 30 minutes. Was disappointed to hear a member of staff swear twice behind the bar as there were children present. Toilets in the reception area were not clean but despite these issues I would here again! 12 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and a great atmosphere We stayed here with our dog for Crufts and we're very pleased with the service. Check in was done in minutes and the staff very helpful. The atmosphere was super and we are looking forward to staying again for next years event. 11 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dog friendly Great hotel for Crufts but a cold foyer/sitting area and room was cool was there for two nights would not recommend longer. Paying for car parking didn't seem to have a reason. All guests could have a free pass if they didn't want outside abuse of car park Pub next door food was a hit and miss wished eaten at hotel at least food might have been cooked through Ideal for nec. Fiver taxi fare to it. Could not fault staff Just heat the place or make a cosy sitting area 10 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable, quiet room Reception service was friendly & efficient - useful parking for NEC 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for the NEC Myself and my Wife spent Two Nights here for the Furniture Show at the NEC,having used it before,a clean modern Hotel,with everything you expect and need for your stay. 26 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by shame about the guests love the hotel, but on the night of my stay there were a large amount of guests staying who were involved with a motor show at the nec there were doors slamming and a the noise level wos terrible until about 3am 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and helpful staff Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, despite the fact that the lights kept going off in the 1st room I was given. The lady on the desk wasted no time in allocating me a new room. This room wasn't as warm but the bed was so comfortable that I slept really well and even slept through breakfast!! I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it. 04 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Large clean rooms but take a fleece! Large clean bedroom and modern bathroom, the shower strength was on the weak side through and the variable water temperature was a real disappointment.. The bathroom extractor fan did very little, so we had to resort to opening the bedroom window, which wasn't really a good move as the electric room heater could only just about cope when it was closed.. The bed was comfortable and the choice of pillows was a nice modern touch, but the thin quilt that was far to small for the bed, caused more than a few problems. The real let down and probably the only thing that we will actually remember about the HI Express NEC is that it was cold, really cold. The public areas are large and spacious with a modern feel, but there was no warmth anywhere. It was cold in there at breakfast time and still cold in the evening. It was not a place you could sit and linger in, despite it having a smart bar area / TV with Sky Sports and comfortable lounge style seating. Would we recommend it? Yes, but only to those planning a stay during the warmer months of the year. 02 January 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 17 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 18 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading