• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 17 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 18 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 236 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I won't stay anywhere else in Birmingham As a family (with a dog), we find this hotel brilliant. We have used it no fewer than 9 times in the last 12 months and has never let us down. The staff are very helpful and will get you an answer to any query if they do not have the answer to hand. The resteraunt and bar are good, providing everything a family could need. There is also a up next door if the menu doesn't tickle your fancy, again very accommodating. 01 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok for 1 night Booked a double but got a twin, didn't ask for a room change as we were attending a concert and didn't know how long a change would take as the hotel was very busy we went to get a pint in the bar but there was no draught larger only bottles. I didn't do enough research and didn't realise I would need a taxi across to the LG arena or it's about a 30 min walk according to the staff Staff worked hard and breakfast was good 24 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable hotel This was a convenient place to stay for the NEC, just a short taxi drive away. A nice quiet hotel, clean, comfortable and a good range of choice for breakfast. 22 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate The staff were polite and helpful and the room was adequate for our needs as we were travelling with 3 small dogs. Unfortunately some of the other guests wanted to make excessive noise which meant a disturbed night. However the big disappointment was the quality of the food in the evening in the bar, a very second rate microwave burger and chips cost £9.45 and you would have been better going hungry. Also car parking at £7 per night is not acceptable. 19 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Revue My Friend and I stayed here for the last night of the Clothes Show, I rang the Hotel in the morning advising them that we would be late, when we eventually arrived at 10.30pm on Monday Evening, the staff were lovely, polite and nothing was to much trouble. The rooms were lovely and clean and warm, I would definitely recommend staying here xx 15 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good nights sleep stayed one night after a longish flight back of holiday and didnt fancy the long drie home late at night, checked in around 11.00pm, found room very bright and clean with all facillities you would expect in your room, and to top it all you can get limited hot food 24 hours we had the curry very nice, good nights sleep, a nice breakfast and then on our way, will 100% use thei hotel agian when using both the airport and nec. 14 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal stop over for the NEC Nice hotel, had few problems with room allocation and also faults with our room but where rectified by the staff after moving rooms. Reception helpful however nearly tried to over charge for parking after not reviewing our booking correctly. 12 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average The room we had was a twin, a couple of issues that I found in the room were as follows there was a cobweb above one of the beds,the headboard was dusty, the shower curtain had a smell when it got wet so obvious it had not been changed for a while, I know I am being critical but as a head housekeeper my self with an express these are things that I would pick up on.. Also on the corridor outside my room there was electrical cable debris lying on the carpet at the edges and they were still there when I checked out 2 days later We were in a room at the back of the hotel and on our first morning the noise from the bins being emptied was really loud I am not complaining about this as I know that not a lot could be done about this The staff on the desk and bar are a credit to you but housekeeping do need a little tweaking 11 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room, friendly staff We stayed here for 2 nights to visit the Good Food Show at the NEC. Its a nice hotel, the rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. The NEC is just at short taxi ride away, probably easily walked in the summer time. The food in the bar is ok - we ate here both nights - we were going to go to the pub next door one night but it was too full - probably best to book if you want to go there. The only thing that was a bit of a downer is I left my phone charger in the room and when I rang to see if anyone had found it, it hadn't been handed in :-( 04 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay for NEC The hotel is very convenient for the NEC, we left the car at the hotel and got a taxi as recommended by the hotel, only £5 each way. Friendly efficient service. The hotel was very welcoming, the staff friendly and helpful. The girls in the morning were very helpful in arranging taxi and giving advice, very pleasant ladies.. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The main bed was comfortable and pillows were good. The only issue we had was the sofa bed, being used for a 12yr old, that wasn't very comfortable, the mattress was rather thin and she could feel the bars underneath. However, once she had rearranged the quilt she had an excellent nights sleep. The bathroom was very clean, and the towels are good quality and a good size,big enough to wrap around you. The breakfast was very good, a wide selection of items for a complimentary breakfast, both hot and cold items. Made a good start for a busy day at the Good Food Show. Would definately recommend the hotel for events at the NEC, we would definately use it again. 03 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean & close to the NEC I would recommend this hotel as it's so close to the NEC. My only recommendation is to offer rooms with bigger bed options such as king size bed rooms. The Double beds are quite small & I felt like I was going to fall out of the bed. 02 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service from when i 1st signd in to i signd out this hotel was awsome the staff were very friendly & very helpful the bed & room were in very good condition & it was only a 10min walk from hotel to the nec & you could not get lost walking it was very easy to get to nec the food was realy nice all you could eat breakfast what set you up for the rest of the day & it had a realy nice pub beside it i will defo be going back here again next year 28 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worry free with perfect service... On arrival in our room just after checking in we noticed that the TV was not in service. We called Reception and someone was at the room within minutes. This member of staff tried her best to sort it but decided that the best option was to provide us with another room. This she did again within minutes and that room was in perfect working order. Thank you for the prompt efficient service. This is my reason for continually returning to the Holiday Inn hotel group. 27 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but Fawlty Towers service The location of the hotel was a bit problematic at first. The internet directions say that it is on the NEC complex. So we spent 20 minutes trying to find it only to find that it was directly off the roundabout leading into the complex. There was plenty of parking which was a bonus and I guess £7 for 24 hours parking isn't too bad for the area. On arrival the staff were pleasant and friendly and even showed us where the bar and breakfast were to be served. The room was perfectly funtional. However, the heater had a damaged grill and looked decidedly ancient in total contrast to the rest of the room. The TV channels were all over the place and did not bear any resemblence to the channel number locations printed on the card. When we mentioned this to reception the receptionist just said "well, you'll just have to flick through until you find what you want". Admittedly it was 8pm and maintenance had probably gone home but it could have been said a bit more diplomatically. We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was usual pub grub re-heated food and cold. When the server came and took our plates we told her and she shrugged her shoulders and took the plates away. Breakfast was the classic. Bearing in mind this is a hotel near to the NEC complex and most of the residents would be preparing for shows and therefore need early starts they seemed woefully under prepared at breakfast. A lot of the hot food was not there. When I asked if there was any more bacon I was told "There's sausage, what more do you want?". When there was more bacon there was a scrum to get it and then you had to wait again until the next lot came. The sausages were palid and the couple I did pick up were under cooked. Check out was efficient and she did ask if we'd had a good stay. We did point out the issue with the TV and the lovely waiting staff and the lady said she would have a word. To be honest I believed her. All in all we enjoyed our stay and the price is very reasonable so we would stay there again. Don't think I'd dare ask for bacon again though! 26 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not short walk as expected We booked this hotel as it was described as within easy walking distance of the nec/lg arena, as we were going to a concert, when we got there we were told it was too far to walk and not safe as along verges and main road. This meant we had the added expense of taxi fares there and back totalling 14 pound not 10 as told by staff. All the expenses added with parking to the bill turned it from a cheap night to a rather expensive one. 24 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always clean and helpful staff Have been coming here for at least 10 years, for the Classic Car Show. Started with a continental breakfast and takeaway menus for dinner. Now have a great choice of breakfast, lunch and dinners. Rooms have always been clean and tidy. Now take the kids with us too and staff are great at helping them set up X box in the room and sorting out internet codes. Will be coming back for many more years I'm sure. 22 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Great accommodation at a very reasonable price. Ideal if you're visiting the NEC as it's only a 10 - 15 min walk away. The room was very clean and comfortable. The self service breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. All of the staff were courteous and attentive. Will definitely stay here again soon. 13 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service with a smile Went for a nights stay after a concert at NEC. Staff were excellent and very helpful, room clean and well laid out. Will definitely stay again. 12 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good stay, will go back. Perfectly good stay for a night after a gig at LG, comfy bed clean room, staff very friendly. Breakfast was adequate. Only critisism was the random way of catching a supposedly 'booked' taxi back from LG - you just have to bully your way into one basically! we did feed this back to the hotel at the time. 02 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by chris,george we enjoyed our stay ,very help full staff ,we went to the nec motor home show, 26 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mrs c p Adams We arrived at 2am The night staff were wonderful so very kind and helpful Thank you Chris and Clive 24 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not for me :-( Came by train, paid £13.00 in taxi fares to and from the hotel to the station. Will stay in a hotel near the nec and station next time. Sorry, ok hotel other than that. Courtesy bus would of been nice. 23 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hard bed & being charged for parking The bed was very hard and uncomfortable, No Radio 4 and being charged for overnight parking means I would not recommend this hotel to anyone 21 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birmingham NEC : Keep a copy of your car parking payment A lovely stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Birmingham was only later spoilt by receiving a demand for £100.00 for none payment of overnight parking charge. I had paid charge with my bill and fortunately kept the printed copy of my bill . Not sure if I had not paid on the bill if I would have kept an old parking receipt . Hopefully this charge will be cancelled without further hassle. 18 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by relxed atmosphere very friendly stayed here on a visit to the horse of the year show. very clean well presented and they even sorted out the taxis for us to get back and for to the NEC. would definitely stay here again. The only comment I would make is that the lighting in the room was not very adequate when doing your hair etc. More lighting in the main room please. 17 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room and warm welcome Arrived on a very wet Saturday and welcomed very warmly. Room was very clean and spacious. Good choice of pillows too. Shame mattress felt lumpy :-( Great choice of various breakfast items from continental to cooked breakfast. Love the choice of hot drinks too :-) Would definately recommend this hotel chain. 16 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Light, Bright & Airy This hotel is relatively new, very clean and very modern. It is ideally located for visitors to the NEC or Birmingham International Airport. Breakfast was very enjoyable with a great selection of cereals, cooked foods, chilled yoghurt and hot & cold drinks in a clean and spacious restaurant. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. My only niggle was the car parking charges. Apart from that we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would definitely stay again. 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location - Great Staff Stayed a night with 3 business associates. Excellent location when visiting NEC. Comfortable and clean rooms. Particularly impressed with all hotel staff we encountered from reception to restaurant. Good breakfast. 08 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location and Friendly Staff One downfall easily rectified - needs better signposting from both direction North and South (in the dark is a problem). One side of building noisier due to M42. 07 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Reception staff good, room and bed comfortable . I felt that the there could have been another member of staff to help the barman as he was run off his feet when everyone returned from the concert ,he did a good job under the circumstances. Enjoyed the pub next door food ok. 04 October 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 17 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 18 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading