• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 17 Apr 2014)
(e.g. 18 Apr 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0
Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our free Breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 142 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room. Poor breakfast. The room and the staff were great. Certainly better and more comfortable rooms compared to competitors at the same price. However , it was all let down a bit by the breakfast. The choice was poor for the sort of continental breakfast I like. The english breakfast was available in masses, but did not look appealing. I would not of had a problem with an english breakfast if it had been more appetising looking. 14 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by overpriced lLooking forward to relaxing after trade show, staff good, Room poor, rubbish in both bins, bed looked like it had had someone rest on it. floor gave the appearance of not been hoovered. tear in duvet cover.. Overall impression well overpriced, could do with an upgrade 12 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It's OK, but Pros: Clean and fresh room and fairly quiet at night Cons: 1) In room kettle worked intermittently, had to use wedge for it to locate to boil 2) Mean with tea (2 teabags, not good if you and 2nd person like to have more than 1 cup of tea each , rubbish cartons of milk in room 3) En suite - push up plug in sink broken 4) Breakfast - (please note I am vegetarian, so comments apply ONLY to NON MEAT items) 5) Scrambled egg was dry and rubbery 6) No proper butter, only some rubbish butter blend 7) Poor quality sliced bread and poor quality preserves 8) TV channels - poor - HIEX could not even supply all the FREEVIEW channels Other than that, HIEX was conveniently situated for business trip and more importantly room, en-suite and facilities were clean. So probably will stay there again, just for the convenience. 09 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No hot water!! Took me 3 attempts to get into my first room which smelt and the bathroom light didn't work. I was given a new room, went out and crashed. It was only in the morning I discovered there was no hot water so ended up having a cold shower. Went for a lateish breakfast (8.45 a.m) and found a very limited choice - i.e. a couple of cereal options and toast. I've stayed here before but won't be doing so again. Only saving grace is that the receptionist was very nice and helpful. 07 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Second time I've stayed here and both times were great. Very handy location for events at the NEC. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay again. 31 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very nice people in reception. Very nice hotel. The beds are not to good ,but it is not to expensive to stay. Breakfast is good but not super ,because the price is low. 19 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice room and service; food needs work A comfortable stay in a pleasant and well located hotel; bedroom was clean, comfortable and quiet, although the lighting at the desk area was minimal. Microwaved bar burger with fresh chips was both expensive and mediocre; breakfast was OK but could use a better choice. Staff were excellent and helpful. 17 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by FOOD Evening meals of poor quality, food served still frozen, inadequate untrained staff, half of menu not available. poor value for money. 11 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Room was a decent size and was spotless. The bed was really comfortable so apart from a slight noise emanating from the heater we had a good nights sleep. On the negative side it took quite a long time to get served in the bar (only one person appeared to be serving) and it took 40 mins to be served with a light snack which meant we had to eat it up fairly quickly in order to catch our taxi to the LG Arena. Breakfast was plentiful and the choice was OK but it was overcooked (especially the bacon) but it did not stop us from eating it. All in all we would still choose to stay there again should the occasion arise. 21 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Was dreading staying here after reading some of the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised & the staff were VERY HELPFUL especially when we couldn't get our iPad to connect to wireless.. Breakfast was OK but to be fair we were very late for it. It is not a 5 Star hotel so don't expect 5 Star experience. We had a good time overall. 20 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice of hotel Only had an overnight stay, but would stay here longer if needed. Staff on reception were so helpful when asking about going into the centre of Birmingham, printing out directions and places to park. Breakfast was good only could have been hotter, but we were late going down. Room was clean and comfortable, however bed was soft, but this s a personal preference. 19 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another great Holiday Inn Express We have previously stayed at another HIE in Manchester for the first time so we knew what to expect. Check in was quick but friendly. The room was exactly as the Manchester room. Love the tea and coffee facility, little things makes all the difference. Bathroom tiles need replacing but other than that all good standards. We stayed because of the location to the LG Arena, which was only a £5 taxi ride away. Breakfast was varied and plentiful ; hot and cold options (and the sausages were lovely). Very clean work surface with lovely staff making sure you have all that you need. For a budget hotel I would defiantly recommend Holiday Inn Express. I was previously Crowne Plaza customer. 14 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would return Made to feel very welcome and staff were helpful. Very convenient for the NEC but taxi is about £8 12 December 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by never again! dirty room and a sorry excuse for a breakfast buffet. 11 December 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by VERY AVERAGE AND VERY COLD The rooms are always really cold in this hotel and the little heater is poorly positioned so, even on the highest setting, it is never cosy and warm in the room and I have always been told there are no blankets available. I asked about the shuttle bus to the station the next day and was told the times. When I turned up at that time I was asked for my token as I should have booked a seat. I was never told about the booking and/or £2 charge as this had always been free in the past. Also very overpriced. 07 December 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by All been said! Location/shuttle bus £2) all plus points. Room / Bathroom clean and bed comfortable. Room cold on entry but thermostat allows adjustment and after return from dinner was warm through a cold night. Main bone of contention as is obvious from other reviewers is the standard of the "inclusive" breakfast. Lack of staff to clear dirty items/tables and supplies of the various items which generated cold food all negative points. The scrambled egg was obviously made from egg powder and was pretty solid. The in evening house food from comments seems poor but there is a first class pub/eating house adjacent to hotel which provides a good selection of first class food/drink. No problem booking in or out. Consider hotel expensive for what it is and at best is average. However would use it again. 02 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good position, friendly staff comfortable hotel with helpful staff. No complimentary WIFI which is definitely a downer in this day and age. 01 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff the staff in the dining room, where do I start. could nt be bothered came to mind. we asked for clean cups. response I will see if there are any ready. 10 mins later the same person we asked again. eventually she did bring some out, we pick up a few a they were dirty. Breakfast was cold and they were running out all the time. other people were complaining regarding this. The reception staff on the other hand. nothing was to much trouble, they were all very polite and a credit to the company. 29 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Grossly Overpriced Booked this hotel at short notice to attend the Classic Car show at the NEC. Robotic service from the check in girl with the word thank you only uttered once. Room 117 was a disaster. Stains on the sofa bed, cobwebs above the bed, kettle did not work unless you jammed it at an angle with a coffee sachet, the desk supporting leg was broken and jammed at a silly angle, mould in the shower, cracked tiles on bathroom floor, extractor fan that sounded like a washing machine on full spin all night! (Pictures attached). The rules prevent the price we paid being published but for just over half the amount, we could have stayed in an executive room at the Zoo Holiday Inn, Edinburgh. Bar area quite pleasant, slow service but nice lad serving. Girls on the desk seemed preoccupied with preening constantly rearranging their hair. Tables were cluttered with dirty plates and glasses. Eventually all was cleaned up. Breakfast area large and roomy. Orange juice so weak as to be tasteless. Chose a croissant but so hard and stale was inedible - really was like cardboard. We did not try the cooked food. Check out fast and no mention of rewards points. It seems we now have 3 accounts because Holiday Inn cannot sort the problem out. Emails are ignored because we cannot find the the 3 sets of numbers and don't have a clue what the security codes are. We are actually platinum but we get a new account at every hotel it seems, so we are shown as club. We are at a loss to understand why Holiday Inn cannot resolve this after so many stays at their hotels in the last few years. 23 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3rd stay We have stayed at this hotel now for the 3rd year and again everything was very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we'd definitely stay again. Do feel that standard room rates are a bit high for facilities on offer. 20 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor impressions When we arrived, the family room was not made up. The member of staff on reception did her best but having to make your own bed isn't the best start. We then went to the bar and what awaited any guest was pleasant. The whole bar area was covered in dirty glasses. The staff didn't get around to clearing the bar / restaurant area for nearly an hour after we sat down. (2115). Breakfast wasn't much better. The hot breakfast, hot drinks and bread kept running out. There was a lot of upset people. We didn't go down to breakfast until after 9-30 but it was hard to find a clear table and a plate was a thing to dream about! The second morning wasn't much better. This time there was less food available and the wait was unacceptable. Overall, the staff we met where brilliant and did there utmost. It was very clear that this hotel needed more staff at busy periods. Keeping food and drink topped isn't rocket science, just better planning is required. 19 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unsatisfactory customer care We had booked a room for 3 adults. When we arrived there was no bedding for the third person. We went to reception who tried to put us in a room where someone had clearly been sick so we were moved back to our original room we were told they would send up extra bedding etc we had to phone 3 times to get towels for third person, which was taken away by the cleaner. We were then charged for parking which we felt could have been removed considereing the problems with bedding/towels etc. 17 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal for Nec Whilst the hotel was comfortable and clean,very convenient for the NEC, the food served for an evening meal was appalling and because of its location there was little choice but to eat there. The front of house staff were courteous and helpful and special praise goes to the driver who drove the hotel courtesy bus 16 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience Coffee was the most discusting ever drank. - breakfast average Bar area lacked comfort. Staff friendly Would stay again to go to Little owl pob next door 16 November 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not good On arrival we went to our room and my daughters bed was not made up I had to ring for bed linen, then we went out and came back to have a meal next door at the pub and when we got there they were fully booked and was told we should have booked. 4 months before when I booked I asked about the pub and was not told about the booking for a meal , then I rang a week before we went and asked again still nothing. On returning to the hotel to look at the menu for bar meals the staff then took the menus off the tables and told us that it was a curry night and as we do not eat curry we were with out a meal for the night. I rang and spoke to the duty manager no help there, so I contacted the complaints line and was told they would sort it and I would here from the hotel with in 5mins one hour later I rang again and was put through to the USA where a nice lady sorted it out and the staff got in touch with me and arranged for us to order what we wanted and told us it was on them. After that we went to bed and left the next morning if I was to be asked if I would stop again it would be no but when you look under the bed and see wrappers under the put up bed and dust it is not on I have booked else where next time ! 16 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great deal for the night Altogether a great stay - went to the NEC. The people in the next room talked all night, but we didnt think to ring reception, who told us in the morning that they would have rung them and asked them to be quiet. Will know better next time! Very pleasant hotel and staff and good pub next door. 12 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money Very handy for events at the NEC. Comfortable rooms. Great value for money, especially considering breakfast is included. Large bar area with a good atmosphere. Lovely pub next door too. Only downside is that you have to pay £7 to park your car on the carpark. 11 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Awful food Admittedly we arrived at 9.30pm and they stopped serving food at 10pm but it was terrible. My partner and son ordered cheeseburger and chips, the chips were under cooked oven chips and the burger was just as bad. Wouldn't be so bad if this was reflected in the price but at £8-£10 it wasn't. Breakfast was even worse, there was only scrambled egg which was white and very poor quality sausages. No bacon! It was my partner's birthday too so he was very disappointed. Even the croissants were cold! Some of the staff were helpful and friendly but most were disinterested at best. We chose the hotel as it was said to be in walking distance of the NEC, it was close but the NEC is so big that you have to drive to get to the car parks anyway. For the sake of 10 minutes in the car, I would definitely recommend somewhere else. If you are going on holiday and looking for somewhere convenient to stop for a few hours then maybe but otherwise don't stay here. Definitely the worst hotel I've ever been to. 09 November 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Annoyingly poor. This hotel could and should be rated higher. Unfortunately the friendly check-in staff and the clean rooms (though we'll come to the linen later) are basically undone by the breakfast "service" which comes straight from Fawlty Towers. If you are going to advertise that there is a selection of hot food for breakfast, then please make sure there is. Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend and on both mornings there was a distinct lack of hot food (specifically sausages) but also NO glasses for fruit juice and NO mugs for coffee on either occasion. The latter did eventually arrive, but not many. So it was a question of elbowing other guests out of the way and just grabbing! Same with the ubiquitous sausages - only more so. The kitchen seemed unable to realise that once one lot had come out, they should put another lot on. Also there was (on the Saturday morning), no-one apparently clearing tables - I did a few. I'm sure that the "snippy" attitude of the breakfast staff was due to stress.........I was only trying to point out that the tray of sausages she had just brought out was virtually gone once I had taken my 2. Not that the cold buffet selection was anything to write home about either. Again, it was a distinct lack of volume as it wasn't being topped up. On to the rooms which at first appearance were clean. However one of the bath towels had 2 holes in it - about the size of a 50p and the sheet on one bed had some sort of (purple?) stain on it. Overall, I think the Hotel needs a Hotel Manager and a Kitchen Manager to get the place up to the level it should be at. Shame really. 05 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent express service Very good in terms of staff, rooms and comfort. I will be reccomending this hotel to my friends and business colleagues. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the shower/tiolet room, and the bed was very comfortable. The heating took a lttle time to overcome the low outside /inside temp, but it was a minor problem. Excellent value for money. 03 November 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Reception Entrance Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.