• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 24 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 25 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 460 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This hotel is very conveniently located close to New Street Station. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The room was comfortable, a decent size and clean. It was great to have a choice of pillows and the bed was very comfortable. We did not eat at the hotel but used the bar which is very nice and has a roof terrace. As we had booked in advance we got a very reasonable rate. We would certainly stay here again when visiting Birmingham. 29 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast The quality of your sausages had definitely dropped since I was there last year. 29 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location Stayed here before. Very convenient for Birmingham New Street station and Birmingham Hippodrome. Consistent standard. Will return. 27 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Noise We were happy with the level of service from the staff, who were polite and helpful. However, on the Saturday night,/Sunday morning, there was a crowd of loud uncontrollable people who disturbed our sleep for 2 hours. When I complained to the reception staff, I was told that this was a common occurance at the weekends. I was offered an alternative room, but no compensation for the upset, so wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone requiring a relaxing break at weekends 27 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent weekend break couldn't really ask for better my boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend break. It was perfect, the room was very spacious and the long side of the room was floor to ceiling windows. the bed was very comfortable. the bathroom was really nice with a powerful shower. the fact that they provide proper sized cups for tea and coffee is also a bonus. the breakdast was really really nice very large variety and really enjoyable. location is excellent, just a few minutes walk from the bull ring and nightlife. the only downside is the parking! it's a few minutes walk from the hotel and is £24 for 24 hours. This is discounted by 50% but isn't very convenient. They have also blocked off the walkway which would gave been so easy for hotel lodgers to walk through from the car park but instead have to walk all the way round with all your bags. 24 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Holiday Inn Birmingham I really enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham. The room was large and excellent value for money. The room was well appointed and the staff were very courteous at check-in and helpful during my stay. The Holiday Inn Birmingham is well situated to explore the city. 24 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good central hotel Close to railway station and easy walking to theatre and central shopping area. Good clean hotel with pleasant bedrooms. 23 June 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Very Good Ive stayed at this hotel a few times and had good experiences and written good reviews, however my latest stay was the total opposite. Firstly the hotel has decided to put a fence between the NCP car park and the hotel's front door, which means if you use the NCP you have to walk right around the next building to the hotel and get caught up in streets of traffic etc - whoever decided to block this walk way direct from the car park needs to re-consider their action. Every room ive been in previously has been very modern / plush and clean with great facilities unlike many other holiday inn's However on this visit I was put on to floor "SP" which is the lowest floor with rooms on, numbers all start 10, my room was 1018 but on the lowest floor which had very poor standard of room. Firstly I couldnt even see out the window, see photo, this wasnt dirt particularly it was just very poorly maintained, the level of the window meant you had to bend down to see the actual glass The quality of the room was awful and nothing like every other floor ive stayed on - wooden curtains etc which none of the other floors have and basically when closed it blocks out mobile coverage, lumpy bed, poor maintenance in the bathroom etc, it felt like two hotels in one - this awful floor and the rest are good, not sure if this has been missed out of an upgrade plan but the other floors were done some time ago Im a platinum priority club member and asked for an upgrade at check in (1730) and was given a flat "no we are full" response and told "ive given you a nice room on another floor" so wondering whether this lady put me on the this poor floor deliberetly because I asked for an upgrade - later in the bar I overheard a lady at the next table say she had just checked in (2000) and been upgraded so I was obviously told nonsense by the lady who checked me in Seems to me the recognition of loyalty has dropped as two colleagues who are not even IHG members ended up on the much better floors and they checked in at the same time as me Not impressed at all and will probably stay elsewhere next time, despite the good location 22 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in good location Perfect for city centre visit - near train station and local amenities. Comfortable with friendly staff and excellent value for money 22 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel...shame about the traffic noise The hotel offers all the usual facilities and standards, plus lovely comfortable beds. They have very limited parking, so book before you go. However if fail to do this, there is a NCP just at the back of the hotel its a bit steep at £25.00 per 24 hours.....(it soon adds up over a long weekend!) however the hotel will stamp your ticket when you are leaving, and you will get 50% discount off the cahrges...just remember to ask. The location is very central and a bargain to boot, but be aware, despite being on the 8th floor and having lovely views over Birmingham, you cannot escape the noise of traffic. If can sleep through it, then yes I would definitely recommend this hotel. Enjoy 20 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Big rooms and comfortable bed with clean linen I would definitely come back again and recommend the hotel to my friends. 18 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No longer suitable if you travel by car Someone has decided to block off the direct route from the hotel reception to the car park. This means you have lug your luggage along a route ten times as long. The pavements along St Judes Passage are not ideal for this (one side is blocked by wooden debris and the other pavement has a street lamp in the middle of it). This result is that you have to walk in the road and negotiate the traffic. This is not funny, especially when it is raining. The situation was made worse because the car park lift was not working (again), which means carrying luggage up and down the stairs. Location is ideal if you travel by train, but no longer a good choice for car drivers - there are hotels with better access. When I checked into my room I found it overlooks the shops and takeaways where everyone hangs out, drunk and making loud noise, until around 5am. Last time I had a room on that side of the hotel, I got no sleep. I went back to reception, and was moved . However, I am very surprised that the hotel tries to put people in the noisy rooms when other rooms are available. 16 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfektes Citiyhotel Schon etwas älteres Gebäude, aber innen top renoviert. Sehr zentral zum Bahnhof und der City. Nettes und zuvorkommendes Personal, was auch mit Tipps zur Innenstadt helfen konnte. Wir hatten einen sehr frühen Check-In (10.00 Uhr) und konnten bereits ins Zimmer. Für einen Städtetrip nach Birmingham perfektes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. 15 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An all round good experience We were pleased with all aspects of our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were first class and there was something to suit everyone's taste. The staff always had a nice word to say in passing. A very pleasant visit. 14 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home from home I am a regular visitor this hotel but it says something about the staffs attention to detail when a male receptionist notices your hair colour has changed. Always very happy at this hotel nothing is too much trouble for the pleasant staff.. 13 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Good 3 Star Hotel, Right in City Centre Overall I was very happy with this hotel especially for a 3 star. Clean room with tea making facilities and even a fridge, only complaint about room was the mirrors, no full length mirror! The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice, only negative is that they cram the tables and chairs in a bit too much so you are disturbing people to get round them. Finally only other negative is the hotel bar, terrible choice of red wine and what I did have was awful and at £7.25 a glass wouldn't buy a second glass. Very central location and from outside of building looks like you are staying at a dump but it isn't, well worth money and would stay again. 13 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Halal breakfast for Muslim customers Good location and friendly staffs. However, it will be perfect if the hotel could provide Halal breakfast for Muslim customers. 12 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Very good location, close to train station, Bull Ring shopping centre and The Mailbox with lots of restaurants. However, we thought two cups of tea in the bar for £6 was very expensive! 12 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply great place and service :-) Everything exceeded our expectations. We had very relaxing and comfortable stay. Hotel is well looked after and in great location. All staff members were welcoming and very helpful. 11 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Girlie reunion Pleasant stay at this Holiday Inn. The room was very warm as was the building. Breakfast was wonderful,coffee not so nice,but could have tea instead. The staff were attentive,especially a young man in the bar. He was perplexed when we asked for diet Pepsi cocktails! Pepsi, ice and lemon with an umbrella. The hotel location was just what we needed to be able to shop and walk to canal area for dinner.I would recommend this hotel for very good value and ease of stay.Thankyou. 11 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family room is great We were booked into the family room, which I thought was really good value. The hotel thought our son was much younger, so I am not sure what age someone needs to be to sleep in the other part of the room. We will be staying at least once a month on business. Hopefully next time we won't have wasted 7 hours in traffic and will be able to use the restaurant for dinner the night before work! 10 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay Everything was fine. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly. I would have no problem returning to this hotel. 10 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Uncommonly Great Service Being in the centre of Birmingham it isn't much to look at 09 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value in Good Location We enjoyed our stay, the hotel is well looked after and in a great location. The check-in staff were great and couldn't have done more to help. 09 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Weekend stay Very comfortable and relaxing stay. Customer care was accommodating Only disappointing aspect was the selection and quality of food on the restaurant in the evening. 06 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Perfect hotel for a weekend stay in Birmingham City Centre 05 June 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Really bad experience and over priced very poor. Had a terrible sleep could hear noise from out on the street all night eg traffic noise people shouting at night. Could hear people talking and walking around in the other rooms. Food was terrible everything had been siting on the buffet for hours. 05 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAY Everything met or exceeded my expectations. Reception, room, buffet breakfast. Free wifi in the room a bonus from my last stay a year ago. 05 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good n bad Great staff room and food Until the war zone out the front started Then from mid nite to 6am it was painfull on the ears Resolved thus in future by requesting a room at back Fingers crossed 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Car Parking If you get the NCP parking ticket stamped at reception the cost of parking is half price. This is not mentioned at the reception and I was not asked on leaving if I had needed my ticket stamping. 03 June 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 17 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 24 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 25 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading