• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 25 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 26 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0
Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our f Breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 389 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel. A pity about the guests. Great location for our shopping and theatre trip. The hotel itself was great and the staff friendly and hopeful. A pity then that out sleep was disturbed by rowdy guests who thought it acceptable to party in their room till midnight then run down the corridor in the early hours banging on doors and laughing loudly. 19 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall - disappointed I understand that the check in time was 14:00, arriving at 12:00 in the hotel doesn't guaranteed the room availability and will be ready so I have to wait for two hours but I've noticed that guest arriving were given the room. But when I asked, the receptionist insist that I have to wait because my room is not ready yet. Not even recognised as a Gold members. Quite unfriendly. Location was great but the hotel is old and tired, in need of refurbishment. Hotel atmosphere not very pleasant. 19 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Referb has freshened the place Only stayed as I could not get my usually place. Clean,fresh,spacious accom. Bathroom a bit compact and I would have preferred a walk in shower. Over all a pleasant experience.. 17 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for City Centre Stay Could not fault the Hotel for a city centre stay & the staff are a credit to the chain. Only really needs a vending machine in reception or water etc; & not only for small personal items. 16 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would definitely stay again Although we only stayed for 1 night to attend a concert in the city we would book this hotel again the next time we are in Birmingham (for whatever reason). The staff especially on check in/out are really pleasant & helpful & cannot fault the service & quality of the breakfast. The only fault I can think of is that there could be more amenities in the reception area i.e vending for water etc as I could only find 1 for essential items. I.e toothpaste etc. however The bedroom & cleanliness of our room could not be faulted, full marks to the management of the hotel. 15 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal Location My wife and I stayed overnight after a visit to the Alexandra Theatre . Ideally situated for theatre or city centre . 07 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Central Location Clean rooms, well appointed, good value for money - friendly and helpful staff - would stay again 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent as always. Stayed 21-23 February. Stay here quiet often. Hotel is in a great location in the city centre. Close to all shops, theatres, restaurant and China town. Broad Street & the canal district is only a 10 minute walk away. Always a warm welcome from Katy & Adrian on reception. Breakfast is a real bargain at weekends as it's 2-4-1. IHG Rewards status is always recognised. We were upgraded to executive room. Much appreciated. See you all again soon. 06 March 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Food very good and price was reasonable. We always stop at the Holiday inn at least three times a year so very surprised and disappointed at the response from staff to a request to up the heating as the bar area was very cold. It was very difficult as we had recommended friends to stop over with us . The bar area was so cold and when on two occasions we asked for the heating to be hired up we were told that the staff serving behind the bar were warm enough. We then went into the restaurant it was a lot warmer in there and mentioned it to a further member of staff. Stayed in the restaurant for as long as we could tried the bar area again no change. I noted people sitting in coats. A visitor was sat in the piano area with a coat on . After a day out you expect to sit and relax not have to go to bed to get warm. There were very few guests drinking such a shame I understand the opening of the door constantly for smokers to go outside let's the cold air in but we stayed before Xmas and the bar area was nowhere near as cold. Reported it to reception staff on leaving Sunday and advised Duty guest relations manager would ring me the following day no one was available. This did not happen rang today to be told you do not have a guest relations manager but someone would contact later. So far very poor customer service. 04 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location Good location for the centre of B irmingham , but rooms on the road side are noisy with traffic and revellers. Request a room at the back 27 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value experience Another comfortable holiday inn, all the staff were very helpful and courteous, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you all 26 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by disabled facilities I stayed at the hotel with my daughter who is confined to a wheelchair. The facilities and staff were first class 26 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn consistency We always enjoy staying at Holiday Inns as they are consistent. We were very impressed with the shower, which I think is a new addition. Room Service sandwiches were nice. Only fly in the ointment, and not the fault of the Hotel, was the very loud traffic and sounding of horns until 6am from the street below - awful night's sleep on the Saturday, better on the Sunday night. If we stay again, we will insist on a room at the back of the hotel which is apparently much quieter. 26 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 2 night stay I always try and stay here when in Birmingham. I have never found any member of staff be anything but polite and efficient. The rooms are comfortable, clean and the bathroom spotless. The location is perfect for the station and a short taxi ride for places such as Broad Street. I cannot comment on the food as I haven't eaten there. I feel very happy to recommend here and will stay again myself when I am next in the area 25 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and Helpful Staff We arrived late as our train was delayed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and easy. Beds were wonderful and even though we overlooked the main road there was no noise. Food was good although a little pricey unless you eat a large breakfast. It was brilliant that we could leave our luggage until our train departure in the evening allowing us to have an easy day, Overall a wonderful break 24 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good value It's a good value hotel and close to station. Comfortable room 23 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great central location! I stayed with my partner for only one night as we we're watching the ballet at the Hippodrome, the location for this was excellent. The hotel itself was very nice with comfortable beds, a good size bathroom and we didn't have any problems with noise. The room was clean and all essentials we're provided. Would definitely recommend the hotel. 17 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice spacious room and good decor, sadly wifi poor The room was well designed and had everything we needed. The bathroom could have done with smelling fresher as it smelt like stale water. We found the free wifi to be very weak and even when paying the extra £5 still was no better. The restaurant was well decorated and layed out. We had a nice welcome. The hot buffet was not as hot or as plentiful as I expected so we ended up not eating it, which was a shame having paid the extra. This hotel is a good location for the city, there are some factors which would make this excellent. 16 February 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Big room but smallest bed breakfast staff close service without warning. Food not great to begin with plus this service. Big renovated room why put a double bed when have enough space for queen or king bed. Reservation for king bed, Upon check in, room with double bed, what a joke for a platinum member, not even an apple nor chocolate treat. This is a holiday inn EXPRESS. 12 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Review An overall very positive experience, was very pleased. The only thing I would say is that I checked out at around midday. I wanted to relax in my room until the last minute but there were several occasion when the chambermaids kept knocking and trying to come in to clean the room before midday. 12 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Shopping and relax My mom and I stayed at this hotel and although it was very busy at the time of check in and out, the staff were very efficient at reception and on making a request for earl grey tea bags for the room they made sure they were brought up to the room which was lovely for my mom. We arrive on the train at new street and was only a short 5min walk to the hotel to drop our bags off and start shopping. We had a lovely breakfast, even though it was very busy everything was fresh including the pastrys which can sometimes be stale. On check out we we're asked if we enjoyed our stay, which was nice to know they were concerned . 29 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location This hotel is located nearby main train station and also the shopping centre. There also many restaurants within walking distance. 23 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by on the ball Only my second stay at this property and would thoroughly recommend it. I asked for the same room as my previous stay and this was done without question. On arrival check in was friendly and efficient and the room was very clean and well presented. All membership benefits delivered If I had any gripe it would only be the parking charges but I guess this is out of their control 21 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice position Nice hotel just outside New Street Station and Bullring. Nice room. Everything was ok, just the wifi was too slow unless you an extra. 20 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The overall service from the staff was excellent. The staff was very flexible, and they offered me breakfast even though the time had expired which is highly appreciated. The room was big and the shower amazing. Very isolated rooms as I could barley notice any noice coming from my neighbours. The network speed was limited though. Good enough for checking emails. The room, staff and entrance was the highlight here. The floors and corridor between each room could use some improvement and better lighting. Bear in mind that I do not write re-views at all. Just throwing my thought out there. Cheers 17 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overnight stay Wanted somewhere central for an overnight stay. This hotel met our requirements at a very affordable price. 16 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Fav in Birmingham Well, from someone coming to BGham fromLondon once a month by train, Holiday Inn is just the near perfect deal for me Located 2mn walk from New Street Station, room big, comfy, clean...Staff pleasant and helptful...lovely buffet breakfast...I am in love with my Holiday Inn Express 16 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good staff very friendly and helpful good sized beds very good breakfast 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this hotel I thoroughly enjoy visiting this Holiday Inn. The front desk are attentive and polite. Always recognising my Platinum Status. This time, my room was upgraded before arrival and I was offered an e-post of 500 IHG points at check in. My room was upgraded to a Superior Room (613) and was exceptionally well presented. A nice touch is that power sockets have been installed either side of the bed to permit mobile phone charging. Tea tray was well equipped with a nice selection including biscuits. Bathroom had been upgraded and was very modern. I particularly like the green night light under the basin which helps if a nocturnal visit is to be made. Well done Holiday Inn Birmingham - I am a very frequent traveller and recognise when it is good. 11 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Do not recommend breakfast, only one lift working, u comfortable bed & smelt of Indian Breakfast was awful, cold not cooked, tasted of rubber & most items not available. Bed I comfortable, the floor smelt like a Indian restaurant and one lift was out of order & took 10 mins plus to get up & down. Originally booked hotel indigo but this one was cheaper but should of paid the extra I think!!! 08 January 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 25 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 26 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading