• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 02 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 03 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 446 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Room A very relaxing atmosphere in the room and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The quality of food and staff attitude in the restaurant need some improvement. Tables should be cleared regularly as guests indicate they are done with some plates, etc. 01 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor room quality I usually stay Holiday Inns when I go away.My this stay unfortunately was not relax and enjoyable as the room quality was very poor. Thank you 01 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by theatre and shopping weekend stayed at holiday inn for shopping and theatre weekend.Will definitely stay again. Staff, rooms and breakfast were excellent.. Have recommended hotel to my Daughter and Boyfriend for her 30th Birthday in July. 30 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great central location and big spacious room Location was great. Right in the centre. 5 mins to town square, Bull Ring etc. Room and bathroom were very spacious. Very clean. Breakfast was quite good and plentiful but it was very very busy (Easter weekend), so bear in mind to turn up fairly early (9am ish) otherwise you will have to queue. As it was very busy, it took a while for things to get replenished, especially the English breakfast section. Although the hotel looks nothing special from the outside, the inside feels quite luxurious. Would definitely come again and recommend it to others. We also got a great deal via HolidayInn's own website. Tip: in a little side street, John Bright Street, nearby on the way to the town square there 3 nice places to go out: a great little cafe, pub and caribbean restaurant. great cocktails at the restaurant ;o) and it's less than 5 mins to the hotel. 27 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We stayed in this hotel for an overnight stay and we were very pleased with overall experience. I would certainly stay here again and I would also recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Bermingham. 24 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay as Usual Stayed 18-20 April. Stay here pretty often. Hotel is in a great location in Birmingham city centre. Close to New Street station, The Bullring & shopping in New Street. Close to theatres, restaurants and China town. The Mailbox shopping 5 minutes walk. Broad Street, Brindley Place (canal district) is only a 10 minute walk away. Always a warm welcome from Ahmed & Jana on reception. Also, thanks to Pawl from housekeeping for sorting out a few minor problems in the room. Breakfast is always good at this hotel and a bargain at weekends as it's 2-4-1. My IHG Rewards status is always recognised and I was upgraded to executive room. Always appreciated. 24 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff and comfortable Bed Only stayed for one night . Hotel ideal for new street station and hippodrome. Bed very comfy room clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast lovely good choice. Reception staff very friendly nothing was too much trouble. Silly thing to say but you need to change your flags outside the hotel they are very shabby! but this obviously would not put us off staying again. 23 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience This is my preferred hotel to stay in Birmingham, it is close to the Theatre and all the bars and restraunts in China town and the Gay village. The staff on reception are very helpful and cheerful with a smile. The room was upgraded to an executive and was a good size with good facilities. Well done Holiday Inn Birmingham City. 23 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Hotel excellent service Just back from a fantastic weekend stay at this hotel.Every member of staff I had contact with couldn't do enough for us.Rooms are very spacious,clean and comfortable...everything you need is in the room,iron&board,hair-dryer,washing liquids,fridge,tea-making facilities Breakfast menu was super suited everyone.Hotel is close to the Bullring,Train station,and plenty more will definitely be returning.Thank you 21 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great city centre location I spent 2 nights at this hotel with my disabled sister. Everything was great, especially the staff who were all fantastic. The only negative I would comment on is the "disabled" rooms have no wheelin showers, and the toilets are a bit low for a wheelchair user. 21 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for Birmingham Not much to say, it's a holiday inn so it comes at a good standard Staff pleasant breakfast freshly cooked Bar ok but they have got rid of the premium lagers so lost all our trade to other local bars 20 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location. Friendly Staff. Stayed 28-30 March. [Sorry for delay with the review] Stay here often. Hotel is in a great location in the city centre. Close to New Street station, Bullring & shops in New Street, theatres, restaurants and China town. Mailbox shopping 5 minutes walk. Broad Street & the canal district is only a 10 minute walk away. Always a warm welcome from Katy on reception. Breakfast is always good here and a bargain at weekends as it's 2-4-1. My only gripe is that they need a larger selection of cold meats, smoked salmon and cheeses. My IHG Rewards status is always recognised and I was upgraded upgraded to executive room. Very much appreciated as always. 18 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a great breakfast The room and service was great, but what a fantastic surprise breakfast was. Really excellent 17 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay for NIA Show Recently stayed for one night to see a show in the NIA. Stayed in a family room (Not sure if they are all the same layout), 2 teenage kids, 2 adults - was pleasantly surprised with the room, it had a partition wall down the middle, with x2 single beds to one side and a double bed to the right. There were also x2 bathrooms, one for each side of the room - kids are getting to an age now where we consider booking an extra room to give them (and us) more space as pull out beds just don't cut it anymore! All in all a very comfortable stay, staff were very helpful and friendly, and although the exterior of the hotel didn't look up to much the interior decor was modern and in good condition. Would definitely stay again...... 15 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, but little things let this hotel down This hotel scores because of its location in Birmingham City Centre, just a couple of minutes from New Street Station, and easy to drive to as well. But when we arrived by car, although we had booked a parking space outside the hotel, there was a chain across the entrance and we were sent round to the NCP by a man in uniform. It was only when we were checking in and mentioned this that this was put right, and we still had to pay for the time spent in the other car park. The corridors leading to the rooms have very irritating energy-saving sensors which mean that the lights only come on once you are about half way down a stretch of corridor. A word to the unwary that once you have managed to get the room door open, you then have to activate the light switches by sticking your key card into a socket some distance from the door. What looks like a nice wide balcony is not available to guests, only the pigeons outside! And don't expect nice toiletries in little bottles - there are rather grim dispensers of Dove liquid soap fixed to the wall!! Very disappointing!!! This seems to be a very large hotel and somewhat impersonal. Reception, bar, and restaurant staff were all friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good value, on a help yourself basis. If you want somewhere right in the heart of Birmingham City Centre this is a good choice, but remember to bring your own soap and shower gel!! 11 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great central location and comfortable rooms Located just outside Birmingham New Street railway station this is a comfortable and great value location for a stopover in your journey or a longer stay in Birmingham City centre. Also only 10 mins from Birmingham International Airport by train - would work just as well as most off airport hotels. 08 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday weekend We stopped over for my husbands birthday which included a show at the Hippadrome. Thank you for the up grade to executive suite, this was a lovely surprise for a celebration weekend. We will certainly use the hotel again less than 3 mins walk from the theatre! Staff friendly and helpful! Great weekend! 05 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice time Our stay in Birmingham was all we could have wished for 03 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Birmingham City Centre In the heart of the 'Gay Village' this is a comfortable hotel with quite a few rowdy parties on a saturday night, but that's why you go to Brum on a saturday night. Excellent breakfast :-) 03 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good quality hotel and comfortable Two rooms booked for our stay and we were all very pleased with the comfort of the rooms. Staff very friendly and professional and food very good quality. Will definitely stay again! 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and comfortable Two night stay last weekend with my young daughter. Our 4th floor twin room was comfortable, clean and great value for money and very convenient for the city centre. The staff were very friendly and interacted well with my daughter. Breakfasts were great with plenty of choice and were unrushed. I would definately stay here again.Couple of minor niggles: city centre street noise woke me a few times first night - cotton wool in my ears helped this for the second night; a cold drinks vending machine needed in foyer; check out queue was painfully slow on Sunday morning though friendly and efficient once I reached the counter; £3 for a machine made hot chocolate is extortinate and clear directions and named exit from New Street station needed on website. 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Experience The staff were very attentive from the time we arrived until we left. Our Priority status was recognised immediately and an upgrade offered without having to request it. This hotel is very conveniently situated for the Bull Ring area of Birmingham. The broadband speed in the rooms was very good, a small thing often overlooked in some hotels. Whole experience was excellent. 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfy bed slept well great location for a top meal in the Chinese quarter just round the corner 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Smallbrook Great place to stay in.Wonderful staff who give the best welcome. Good food. Very central. What more could you want. 22 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room keycard problems As usual a great stay except this time on 3 occasions we could not access our room. The cards would not work. We had to keep returning to reception to get the cards working. This was a nuisance as one of our party was 80 years old. There was no reason given although the staff were as helpful as they could be. 22 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Friendly Hotel. Stayed one night as we were going to see a show at the Alexander theatre. Very convenient location for the theatre. We stayed in a Superior Room on the seventh floor which was well appointed and comfortable. The room was very spacious and well laid out. Everything was spotless including the bathroom.All luxury items supplied including Bathrobes. We also booked a parking spot which was located right beside the main entrance to the hotel and undercover. All staff were very well mannered and helpful.We arrived over an hour before check in time. However the room was ready so we were allowed to occupy it there and then.Will definitely stay again when visiting Birmingham. Well Done Holiday Inn. 22 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service clean rooms, great staff service, good city center location. Would definitely stay again! 19 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel. A pity about the guests. Great location for our shopping and theatre trip. The hotel itself was great and the staff friendly and hopeful. A pity then that out sleep was disturbed by rowdy guests who thought it acceptable to party in their room till midnight then run down the corridor in the early hours banging on doors and laughing loudly. 19 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall - disappointed I understand that the check in time was 14:00, arriving at 12:00 in the hotel doesn't guaranteed the room availability and will be ready so I have to wait for two hours but I've noticed that guest arriving were given the room. But when I asked, the receptionist insist that I have to wait because my room is not ready yet. Not even recognised as a Gold members. Quite unfriendly. Location was great but the hotel is old and tired, in need of refurbishment. Hotel atmosphere not very pleasant. 19 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Referb has freshened the place Only stayed as I could not get my usually place. Clean,fresh,spacious accom. Bathroom a bit compact and I would have preferred a walk in shower. Over all a pleasant experience.. 17 March 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 02 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 03 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading