• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 11 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 12 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0
Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our free Breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 374 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worthy every penny and a great experience An experience that will stay with me for a lifetime. The hotel was so comfortable and the staff was very welcoming. The whole experience was worthy more than the money I paid to stay there. Welldone Holiday for providing good place for your customers. It felt like home. 06 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy Shoppers Everything you would wish for for a Christmas shopping weekend. Friendly, clean, convenient and all the luxuries required after a good days shopping. 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good for a weekend Stayed here for a weekend. Had good experience. From check in to check out reception staff were very nice and helpful. Had the buffet breakfast which was plentiful and had a good choice, waiting staff were very pleasant. Plenty of time to get brekkie as served 'til 11.30. Room wasn't huge, although the bed was! Room was very clean, bed comfy. No view but hey it's a city centre hotel. Overall enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend or to stay here myself again 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A First Class Hotel In Birmingham City Centre I recently had a fantastic stay in this hotel it's 2 mins away from New Street Station and the customer service and the room was absolutely fantastic. Would definitely recommend to anyone and the price was fantastic too. I look forward to staying here again. Thanks Tom 05 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Standard Business Hotel Average Holiday Inn, no frills but comfortable. Parking in nearby multi storey, not sure if i'd advise the experience for women arriving late on their own. 04 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisy We were in a third floor room faceing the street and woken up regularly by shouting , sirens and car horns all of Saturday night. Also disappointed restaraunt was not open Sunday which we were not adviced of this when we booked direct 04 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, but wifi usless the hotel is great, but wifi is slower than dial up! 04 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Food and door The service was poor at the restaurant ,waited so long and is was not what was written on the card.No one came to ask us drinks.We were asked on our way out when I was making payment .The card door didn't work the following morning ,had to wait for someone to open for us. 31 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location Having stayed at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre before the hotel does not dissapoint. Great location from Birmingham New street railway station less than 5 min walk. The Bullring and The Mailbox centres, restaurants, bars, clubs all within easy walking distance. The hotel itself is in a prime location, very friendly staff, it looks like the rooms have been updated from our previous visit and look great. Only downside this time was the room we were in, faced the rear of the hotel which meant if you wanted to keep windows open at night because it does get a bit warm, it can get it bit noisy from shouting in the streets below, however saying that you get the same from the main road side but ironically it seems quieter, probably drowned out by the sound of traffic. Definitely stay here again, very reasonably priced, but its biggest asset location every time.. 30 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal position good value if you get the right price! Enjoyed our 2 night stay although quite a lot of noise from a big male group on our floor. 30 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Room, Comfy Bed, Friendly staff Good location for town centre. Our stay was for a surprise trip for my 5yr old daughter to see Disney on Ice. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the room was a nice size, clean, comfy beds, kettle in room, and a nice touch - some coloured pencils and a kit kat for my little girl. I got rudely awaken around 3am by a very loud voice droning on - which turned into more loud voices, and laughing - it sounded like a party elsewhere had continued into the room next door to us. It went on like this till 5am. I could tell the accent - a Geordie accent! At breakfast the next morning, a great selection, and good food, then the Geordie men came down to breakfast and over took the dining area - around 20 of them - all looked to be in their late 40's and 50's - all bragging about their drunken-ness and antics of the night before. I'm far from being a prude, but didnt want my little girl hearing it all, and being a little on the tired side from having lack of sleep we left. I advised the reception area, who told me i should have rung down to them and they would have sent the night porter in - hindsight is a wonderful thing! Overall, we had a lovely stay, for a lovely visit to the city, only marred by these drunken men not being considerate. My stay was Friday 25th Oct 2013 for 1 night. 30 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All round good stay over Had an excellent stay and the restaurant staff are very good. The room was standard but clean and neat. the hotel is situated in an easy accessible area 28 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Not easy to find but worth finding A good Holiday Inn with excellent friendly staff. Hotel is not easy to find near New Street but up there with the best Holiday Inn in terms of the welcome you get and the comfort of the rooms. freevWifi is a great benefit 28 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The hotel is in a great location if you are travelling by train as New Street station is only a couple of minutes away (as is the shopping area). Checking in/out was quick and easy. The room was great - very comfortable bed. I would definitely recommend this hotel. 25 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent example of a city Holiday Inn Excellent all round. HI's can be a bit hit and miss but this one is a hit. Family room for myself, friend and he daughter was spacious and fresh. Location of hotel excellent. The only thing IHG might want to think about; as a platinum elite member we were offered a complimentary drink......for only one of us. This seemed a bit silly and churlish, we feedback to receptionist and he said that's what IHG want to offer, no flexibility... However over all an excellent stay. 25 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room and comfort able to relax Have stayed at the holiday inn a few times now,always had the best of welcome every time great location near all the shops and right by the new street station for all rail travelers which is very good,the staff as always been great to me and my wife and our overall stayed at the hotel as been great,and as i love my football & the wife loves the shops i am sure we will be paying another vist shortly in the future 25 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No disappointments Our second visit to this Holiday inn. As before no complaints at all. Room was spotless and spacious, staff were professional and courteous. Excellent central location, easy parking ( car use not required if your visit is within the city centre ) 24 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend away Booked a Saturday night with this holiday inn as we were running in the half marathon in Birmingham , really enjoyed the weekend . The rooms were everything you would expect and the staff were pleasant and helpful,even allowing us to use a room after the run to have a quick shower. The hotel is really well located for the train station,theatre area as well as the bullring shopping centre,if you are staying in Birmingham this is an idea base. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay (again) As I've mentioned b4. I stay here pretty often. It's very central. Close to New Street Station and close to all amenities including the Bullring, Mailbox, China Town, Theatres, etc. Staff on reception are always very friendly and efficient as are the bar and restaurant staff. Would recommend. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay As Usual Stay here pretty often. It's very central and close to all amenities, bullring, mailbox, theatres, etc. Staff are always very friendly and efficient. Would recommend. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, friendly, comfortable Stayed two nights, no problems, great room, clean , friendly staff & great breakfast, have stayed before & will definitely stay again 21 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay Our only problem was around midnight, on asking for a drink at bar, after order had been given we were asked for room number. We were then told there was no credit on room. No reception staff asked for this when we checked in. By the time we went and sorted this out at reception our order had to be reprocessed. In all it took well over 30 mins to get a drink. Barmaid on duty was not at all helpful and downright rude. 20 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service I stay at this hotel fairly regfularly and am now greeted by name at reception. On this stay I had to leave before breakfast to catch an early train. I was given a packed breakfast to take with me which was excellent and very much appreciated. 18 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service Great very clean modern. Unfortunately booked twin beds but did not receive them only double. The night staff were very good!! Eventually after trying 2 rooms he gave us a suite( very nice). Would defiantly recommend it. Great breakfast 17 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Positive Surprise A typical Birmingham City Centre building, you should not judge the hotel by its cover. I arrived too early for check-in, so I left my bags behind and returned later instead. Check-in was very efficient and I was upgraded to an Executive room. The room was very decently sized as was the bed. The location is very good with less than 5 minutes walk to Birmingham New Street station. 16 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service Stayed for 3 nights ,executive room The restaurant staff and food was excellent However the drinking water and shampoos had not been replaced for my room Other than that my 3 day stay was very enjoyable I would recommend this particular hotel to people looking for a place to stay in a city centre 15 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay for business Stayed for one night midweek. Staff were very helpful. Had a great room. Food was excellent. 13 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous reception staff Upon arrival at this centrally located hotel I was told I had been upgraded to a queen room which was fabulous! The reception staff and check in we're great. My room was large, modern and had a huge bed and television! Thoroughly enjoyed myself! 12 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The People Experience In contrast to the horrendous concrete monstrosity called Birmingham, there's an equally ugly hotel building which is now run by the Holiday Inn; and once inside, the warm and friendly staff greets you and look after you for as long as you stay. I thoroughly recommend those people and the hotel experience on offer. 10 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Best Time Had a fabulous time, food, rooms, staff Excellent......Only fly in the ointment was we were the only ones who didn't get the Birmingham fan club reduction.. I made the reservations in March 2013 and asked that we were put with the CLIFF Richard Birmingham fan Club guests... Unknown to me I had rang the Central phone number not the direct one to Smallbrook Holiday Inn???? I did say it was for the fan club do and was told that was fine.... When my friend and I came to book out we were told it should of been done at the beginning???? Very disappointed after enjoying the whole week-end with other CLIFF fans. 09 October 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Reception Entrance Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 11 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 12 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading