• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 17 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 18 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 423 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All round good stay over Had an excellent stay and the restaurant staff are very good. The room was standard but clean and neat. the hotel is situated in an easy accessible area 28 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Not easy to find but worth finding A good Holiday Inn with excellent friendly staff. Hotel is not easy to find near New Street but up there with the best Holiday Inn in terms of the welcome you get and the comfort of the rooms. freevWifi is a great benefit 28 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The hotel is in a great location if you are travelling by train as New Street station is only a couple of minutes away (as is the shopping area). Checking in/out was quick and easy. The room was great - very comfortable bed. I would definitely recommend this hotel. 25 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent example of a city Holiday Inn Excellent all round. HI's can be a bit hit and miss but this one is a hit. Family room for myself, friend and he daughter was spacious and fresh. Location of hotel excellent. The only thing IHG might want to think about; as a platinum elite member we were offered a complimentary drink......for only one of us. This seemed a bit silly and churlish, we feedback to receptionist and he said that's what IHG want to offer, no flexibility... However over all an excellent stay. 25 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room and comfort able to relax Have stayed at the holiday inn a few times now,always had the best of welcome every time great location near all the shops and right by the new street station for all rail travelers which is very good,the staff as always been great to me and my wife and our overall stayed at the hotel as been great,and as i love my football & the wife loves the shops i am sure we will be paying another vist shortly in the future 25 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No disappointments Our second visit to this Holiday inn. As before no complaints at all. Room was spotless and spacious, staff were professional and courteous. Excellent central location, easy parking ( car use not required if your visit is within the city centre ) 24 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend away Booked a Saturday night with this holiday inn as we were running in the half marathon in Birmingham , really enjoyed the weekend . The rooms were everything you would expect and the staff were pleasant and helpful,even allowing us to use a room after the run to have a quick shower. The hotel is really well located for the train station,theatre area as well as the bullring shopping centre,if you are staying in Birmingham this is an idea base. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay (again) As I've mentioned b4. I stay here pretty often. It's very central. Close to New Street Station and close to all amenities including the Bullring, Mailbox, China Town, Theatres, etc. Staff on reception are always very friendly and efficient as are the bar and restaurant staff. Would recommend. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay As Usual Stay here pretty often. It's very central and close to all amenities, bullring, mailbox, theatres, etc. Staff are always very friendly and efficient. Would recommend. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, friendly, comfortable Stayed two nights, no problems, great room, clean , friendly staff & great breakfast, have stayed before & will definitely stay again 21 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay Our only problem was around midnight, on asking for a drink at bar, after order had been given we were asked for room number. We were then told there was no credit on room. No reception staff asked for this when we checked in. By the time we went and sorted this out at reception our order had to be reprocessed. In all it took well over 30 mins to get a drink. Barmaid on duty was not at all helpful and downright rude. 20 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service I stay at this hotel fairly regfularly and am now greeted by name at reception. On this stay I had to leave before breakfast to catch an early train. I was given a packed breakfast to take with me which was excellent and very much appreciated. 18 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service Great very clean modern. Unfortunately booked twin beds but did not receive them only double. The night staff were very good!! Eventually after trying 2 rooms he gave us a suite( very nice). Would defiantly recommend it. Great breakfast 17 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Positive Surprise A typical Birmingham City Centre building, you should not judge the hotel by its cover. I arrived too early for check-in, so I left my bags behind and returned later instead. Check-in was very efficient and I was upgraded to an Executive room. The room was very decently sized as was the bed. The location is very good with less than 5 minutes walk to Birmingham New Street station. 16 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service Stayed for 3 nights ,executive room The restaurant staff and food was excellent However the drinking water and shampoos had not been replaced for my room Other than that my 3 day stay was very enjoyable I would recommend this particular hotel to people looking for a place to stay in a city centre 15 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay for business Stayed for one night midweek. Staff were very helpful. Had a great room. Food was excellent. 13 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous reception staff Upon arrival at this centrally located hotel I was told I had been upgraded to a queen room which was fabulous! The reception staff and check in we're great. My room was large, modern and had a huge bed and television! Thoroughly enjoyed myself! 12 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The People Experience In contrast to the horrendous concrete monstrosity called Birmingham, there's an equally ugly hotel building which is now run by the Holiday Inn; and once inside, the warm and friendly staff greets you and look after you for as long as you stay. I thoroughly recommend those people and the hotel experience on offer. 10 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Best Time Had a fabulous time, food, rooms, staff Excellent......Only fly in the ointment was we were the only ones who didn't get the Birmingham fan club reduction.. I made the reservations in March 2013 and asked that we were put with the CLIFF Richard Birmingham fan Club guests... Unknown to me I had rang the Central phone number not the direct one to Smallbrook Holiday Inn???? I did say it was for the fan club do and was told that was fine.... When my friend and I came to book out we were told it should of been done at the beginning???? Very disappointed after enjoying the whole week-end with other CLIFF fans. 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An excellent, comfortable hotel with great staff. I recently stayed here with my sister.The Cliff Richard Fan Club of Birmingham also held their annual get together here and we all had a great time. The staff and the service was second-to-none! We would stay here again just for the breakfast. Excellent! 09 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An ok hotel Stayed here for a weekend shopping break, was a bit disappointed. Rooms aren't how they look on the website but its an ideal location for the city centre. Rooms are just ok, the breakfast is recommended in the morning though. Only negative thing I would say is ask not to be put in a odd number room as we didn't get a minutes sleep all night and the only reason we had booked a night away was because we have a young child and wanted a nice night away and SLEEP. I've read other reviews about the quality of the rooms being different so maybe we just got a rubbish room in a rubbish part of the hotel. 09 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3 nights in Birmingham City Center Holiday Inn Hotel was bust but always clean and tidy. Room was large and bed very comfortable. Food in the bar was great Burgers were large and tasty - good value for money. The restaurant menu was however was very limited and had big parties in most nights. i was advised i would have to wait 40 mins for a meal 2 nights in a row so i ate in the bar instead. 07 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good rooms and super service Very nice hotel middle in the city of Birmingham. Great staff, only the choices in breakfast were small.... 05 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by im very unhappy I'm very unhappy, infact im very angry because when i check my bank statement i saw charges that i was not aware of, apart from the room charges, i saw a charge of £31.95. During may stay at the hotel no one mentioned any thing about the £31.95, so when i saw it on my bank, i was very unhappy, because (1) if you are going to charge me for any thing i should be made aware of it. (2) it should have been mentioned to me when i was paying for my room. (3) you should never take money from peoples account without their consent or without making them aware of what they are been charged for. just because you have someone's bank details in ur system doesnt mean you should take money from their account without their consent. 04 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Good Hotel and near to new street station I had a nice stay at the hotel. There was no bottle of water once I arrived although there was a heater, coffee and tea. I bought one from nearby supermarket. 03 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room excellent facilities I booked a family room for a myself friend and her teenage daughter, was expecting a pull out sofa bed and got 2 large single beds and a double bed 2 bathrooms very spacious, clean and comfortable with 2 TV's etc the list goes on. The breakfast choice was excellent, well presented and tasty. If I were to come to Birmingham again I would certainly re-book and have already bragged about how good it was, value too. 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, great location, great price, great service Very impressed. Thanks. Staff were helpful and location was brilliant for shopping! 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb city centre hotel I really cannot fault this city centre hotel - and I have stayed at some of the finest 5 star hotels in the world. From its superb location (right by Birmingham New Street station and the Bull Ring shopping centre), to the friendly, helpful staff, it is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting the centre of Birmingham. The room, although basic category, was excellent and very good value for money. And I have very high standards! Spotlessly clean, cosy, very modern and very comfortable, with all the amenities you would expect from a far more expensive establishment. Staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. What more could you ask? If I ever find myself staying in Birmingham again, I would not hesitate to return to the Holiday Inn, and would highly recommend it to anyone. 01 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accommodation I stayed here for two nights Thurs-Sat of last week as I was attending a conference at the ICC which is close by. I was given a Executive room which was comfortable and spacious and the bathroom was spotless. I did feel that breakfast should have been included in my IHG rate but in any event I only had it one morning as it was quite average. Would I stay here again? Yes because of central location. 01 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good base to explore Birmingham City Centre We were very pleased with our quiet and comfortable room. room . Staying the night enabled us to visit the wonderful new Library, only 10 minutes walk away. A fantastic view of the City from the roof-garden. 01 October 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 17 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 18 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading