Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 447 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

447reviews

  • 5 Stars
    286
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    17

Family Hotel

By

21 July 2016

Its very close to Legoland. Its a good hotel to stay at with little kids. Only complaint was that they were too full when I tried to check in before 4, but other then that, it was a great place to stay at.

Read More
Read Less

Nice stay

By

21 July 2016

My husband and I enjoyed out stay. We got what we expected from a Holiday Inn Express, which is good. The price was a little higher than we'd like to pay, but you can't beat the location and it was peak travel season!

Read More
Read Less

Enough table for breakfast

By

21 July 2016

club

There is not enough table upon breakfast timing, so many customers from 8:00 till 9:30 am

Read More
Read Less

Carlsbad Beach

By

18 July 2016

club

I am a regular customer of HIE and travel to multiple locations throughout the country. This hotel is not at the same level of other HIE's where I have stayed. Customer Service is well below that of other properties. I got the sense that the staff was not well trained or following HIE procedures. There was no "follow through" from staff on guest requests. They were friendly but not effective.

Elevators are extremely slow and there are no stairs for guests to use as an alternative. One elevator looks like it was salvaged and its dependability is questionable. Seemed out of place for the updated look of hotel and did not match the other elevator.

Food selection is adequate but not special. Pancake machine is slow given the number of guests trying to use it. Great Cinnamon Rolls!

Housekeeping was hit and miss. Getting wash cloths was a challenge for some reason, Tissue box remained empty for 2 days until we took it out of the cover and sat it on the counter in front of the sink... Some days bar soap was replaced, some days not... One bed frame sounded like it was cracked and made noise every time we moved.

With that being said, families with small children visiting local amusement parks might find the hotel acceptable as it appears to cater to that client group. Traveling youth sports team, etc. would also probably find the hotel to be adequate for their needs.

The hotel is not terrible but is also not fantastic. I would say average. Better staff training and faster elevators would greatly improve the quality of a visit to this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Hotel

By

14 July 2016

club

We really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Express - Carlsbad. It's right near the beach we go to, the rooms and common areas are very clean and modern. Thanks for the great hospitality and great room rates.

Read More
Read Less

Great staff!

By

13 July 2016

Great staff! They were extremely helpful. The front desk ladies were awesome! The only complaint comes from my son who slept on the rollaway bed. It was pretty uncomfortable. Everything else was terrific!

Read More
Read Less

Very accessible location

By

13 July 2016

Easy access from the freeway. Ample parking and very clean rooms. We had a very restful sleep. Free internet access to IHG members and breakfast is also provided with the room reservation. The breakfast items are very limited but enough to tide you over till the next meal. The staff is friendly and courteous but the front desk clerk should learn more about the various membership status and what privileges comes with each level. Nevertheless I still love the IHG family of hotels.

Read More
Read Less

great location

By

09 July 2016

club

this hotel was very clean and comfortable. It was a great location for us as I had family camping at the state campground and we could easily walk to the beach there and visit them!

Read More
Read Less

Great Experience

By

04 July 2016

club

The staff was very accommodating and gracious during our event. Rooms are in excellent condition with multiple areas to congregate for traveling groups.

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

29 June 2016

I made a reservation a month in advance and was told that since I was a Spire Elite member that I would have an upgraded room. We called and they told us we could have an early check in which was nice except we showed up and still had to wait until 2:30 to check in. It would have been better to just say sorry no. Our room was on the 3rd floor and smelt like barf and was not upgraded. The only other room we could get was on the 1st floor and also was not upgraded. I was upset and asked why we didn't get an upgraded room and they said they were only available if one was open and the 3rd floor was an upgrade. I've stayed at Holiday Inn a lot and have never payed extra to stay on the 3rd floor. The girl at the desk asked me if I want to cancel my reservation. I would have loved to but there were not other rooms around there and I a 11 month, 6 year old and 9 years old and didn't feel like packing it up again. I am not impressed with the Carlsbad Holiday Inn of the way the Holiday Inn in general treat someone they consider a Spire Elite "valued" customer.

Posted byCustomerCare
09 July 2016
Dear Kennedy1, Thank you for posting your comments with us regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your concern. I am glad to read that the hotel location was convenient for your needs. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience your room request as well as the poor cleanliness of the room issues may have caused. Your experience is certainly not representative of the high standards of service and quality on which our hotels pride themselves. It is also definitely not what you, as an IHG Rewards Club Spire Elite member should expect and deserve. Your comments is greatly appreciated as it gives us the chance to discern what we can improve on. Once again, thank you for your feedback and your patronage. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Zelyn N Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

Great Value

By

28 June 2016

club

We were in the area for a one night stay. We had not stayed in a Holiday Inn in some time and was pleasantly surprised by the value. Friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast, and complimentary internet access.

Read More
Read Less

always rooms to improve

By

25 June 2016

club

Make it easier with reward program. no points. only after number of stays get discount or free stay.

Read More
Read Less