Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 19 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 20 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 320 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Very kind staff and great service made the place feel like home. 19 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel This is the second time I have stayed at the Holiday Inn at Chester and once again everything about our recent stay was brilliant. It is located so conveniently so as to be able to easily walk into the city centre. The room was very clean and comfortable. All the staff we dealt with were very polite and helpful - we noticed that the young lady on duty during breakfast was very calm and helpful even though the dining room was very busy. We had a super weekend and will confidently recommend the hotel to friends. 13 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Had not stayed in a holiday inn express before so we were unsure what to expect. We had booked 3 rooms and asked for specific floor and view rooms, all of which we were allocated. Breakfasts were good, more choice than i had expected . Staff werre lovely and helpful and everywhere was clean. As appears in most of the Holiday Inn Hotels the rooms themselves and furnishings are becoming quite dated, but public areas very nice. Convenient to city centre. 10 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quick visit to Chester This hotel was ideal for a quick visit to Chester. We had a small issue in that we booked the room for 3 adults, when we arrived the guest bed was not made up, but the chap on reception quickly sorted it out for us. The bar was very welcoming and we enjoyed our evening. The towels are the best in any hotel I have ever been in, and I have been in a lot!! Fluffy and huge a real bonus!! Disappointed there was no bacon at breakfast, but the sausages were nice. There was quite a variety but I missed my bacon. Overall satisfied with our stay :) 09 November 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not the Best Stayed 1 night. Some staff need customer service skills. Small rooms, worst bed ever slept in. Breakfast tables not cleaned. Would never go back to this place again. As the staff did not even ask on departure if I enjoyed the stay we reminded them of the issues we had. Without question we were offered a part refund but stated we wanted a full refund and without question got it. This makes me think the hotel are used to problems. 06 November 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay 25th October Although the hotel was okay and the staff were on the whole helpful I do not accept that a room advertised with a TV should not have full TV services. I would expect to be able to watch BBC at 10.30. Although the staff did come to my room, I was asked to complain since this 'happens a lot'. 30 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by central to everything loved the hotel, right on the racecourse, stayed midweek so not overcrowded at breakfast either, lovely breakfast to, even tho they dont do bacon! 5 minute walk to the town centre, 10 minute drive to the zoo or aquarium, which was brilliant as we took our 8 year old, 10 minutes away from the fab cheshire oaks shopping outlet and the collisseum , highly reccommended, will definatly stay there again. staff were friendly even after a 12 hour shift, and the white horse pub just 1 minute walk away on the racecourse is also a place to go. 29 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value & Staff visit every month avoid room on gable end or road side for noise lack of air con in summer staff superb value for money room always clean 27 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chester day away. This hotel was chosen for its position which is ideal. Literally a two minute walk and your inside the city walls. Free parking at the hotel meant we could leave the car and enjoy a night in town without worrying about drinking and driving. The room and the hotel in general were spotlessly clean and fresh. The staff were extremely helpful on our early arrival providing coffee whilst the room was serviced. Excellent nights sleep in a quiet room overlooking the racecourse. The only problem we could see was the breakfast. There was never all the items for a cooked breakfast available at the same time and you had to clear the tables yourself like a cafe . With nobody wiping the tables down they gradually got very messy as the breakfast period went on. But it was a free breakfast after all. I would happily stay here again anytime. 25 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, good hotel We stayed one night in the hotel on the way home to Scotland from a holiday in the Cotswold's, so we could have a look at Chester. The hotel is ideally situated for the city, very reasonably priced and the public areas are very spacious. The room was neat, tidy and catered well for our needs. The only gripe I had (all though it is the same gripe I have with many hotels) is that the room is very warm to sleep in, and the windows barely open to allow for fresh air. Signs for the car park could also be a little clearer, as it appears you are going into the racecourse, and this is a little confusing. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location very good location 2 minutes walk from crowne plaza and another 3 minutes walk you will be either in the city centre or on the chester wall 19 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Nice clean friendly hotel. Excellent location for Chester less than 10 minutes walk into center. Free parking so no need to park and pay in town no stress. Great views of the race course. 16 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Location good Truthfully location was spot on but be careful if booking advance standard room I automatically thought you would get a double bed- I was gutted to find once we arrived we we're put in room 104 twin room which is so cramped I had to have the window open next problem is the traffic noise all night was shocking- I live in a village were its nice and quiet so didn't expect that. I won't stay again now after being put in a twin room with my girlfriend.the room wasn't clean either and even before I got into bed the bed sheet was ripped making me doubt whether it had been cleaned and things changed. Overall disappointed sorry to say. 13 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Why charged twice My credit card statement arrived today to find that I have been charged twice, not very happy. 12 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by recent 3 day stay almost complete comford & relaxation together with the benefit of en exellent & piping hot breakfast. however my very small inconvinence was that computor in the dining room was not working. this wase despite effort by the staff & a service engineer . i had to resort to using the loal library which despite having to pay 6£ ( 2days ) was not particulary very speedy. your staff front line & others were 1ooo% thank you . john r 11 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience from stafff I had great experience and the one of the best service ever from the lady staff at this hotel. She was most helpful and kind. 10 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recovery after Chester marathon Good hotel, clean and comfortable. Roadside rooms a bit noisy with window open but ok when closed. Bar terrace was just below my room - again a bit noisy for a while but luckily guests did not stay out late. Good- sized rooms, comfortable beds, good shower. No room service or food available - snacks are provided but not 24 hours. Racecourse restaurant and others nearby. Very convenient for the racecourse and the centre of Chester. Staff friendly and helpful. Bar area nice. Good breakfast. 10 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location This hotel was chosen because of it's location primarily as it was right next to the racecourse for the start of the Chester marathon. It was only a short walk from the centre of the city itself too which was very convenient. The room has been given average - it was clean and tidy but there were a couple of 'drawbacks' namely the lack of temperature control meaning it was too warm for comfortable sleeping, its proximity to the railway line which meant it was quite noisy (having to have the window open for air - with it shut, it was very quiet) and the pillows, although graded as 'firm' or 'soft' were less than comfortable and all the same. We also experienced our swipe card failing 6 times in the 2 days we stayed there, meaning we had to keep returning to reception to try to have it re-programmed. The breakfast choice was adequate: fruit and fruit salad, toast, croissants, small jam based pastries, toast, bread rolls, beans, scrambled egg and sausages, yogurt, 4 cereals, pre-packed cheese and drinks. It wasn't the best quality produce and things very quickly ran out meaning the one member of staff was racing round trying to keep up with demand and people were having to wait a while for things but it definitely filled a gap. It wasn't as good as some other chain hotels but it was included in the price of the room which was a bonus, although it was still quite a lot more than said other chain hotels...... 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great stay You will have great difficulty finding a brighter more comfortable hotel with such friendly helpful staff. Our weekend stay was a real pleasure especially with the location giving such easy access to the beautiful old city centre. 09 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and good facilities Excellent location, within easy walking distance of the city walls. Free car park. On the first night, our room was too noisy and I asked to be moved. Our request was dealt with efficiently and our belongings were moved for us. I asked for a different mattress as the one we had on the first night was dreadful, The receptionist promised to get one of the new ones put on our bed on the new room. It was definitely better, but still not very good. The mattresses were the one thing that let the hotel down but the customer service, free breakfast, free car park and location were all excellent and we would go back again. 05 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommended ! We very pleased with our stay. The staff are helpful & attentive, room standard is good & as expected. Breakfast choice is all freshly cooked & very good. Seating area for above is very good. Very good hotel location & room prices. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again. 04 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor customer care My IHG still doesn't work, despite many emails to the organisation I could not book using my member number, The check in staff were disinterested when I booked in, with little information provided, distinctly lacking a warm welcome ! The same can be said when checking out, making this the norm at this hotel. The check out male was more interested in discussing his forthcoming holiday plans than asking if everything was ok.! All I heard from him was 'put your card in there & enter your PIN' Lots of improvement on customer care, the staff are disinterested, slow, and surly. This carries through to housekeeping who don't even manage a 'good morning ' 02 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast vegetarian options would be very much appreciated.what would a vegan eat ?maybe some dry toast.no cereal as there isnt any soya milk.please look at what you are offering it is 20013 after all. 01 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Terrific location -Good Service An excellent location on the Racecourse and literally 5 minutes walk from the gateway into Chester, with the big added bonus nowadays of free parking on site !! The room was clean and comfortable with a soft but comfortable bed which my wife commented was the best nights sleep she has had. The only minor irritation was that our room faced onto the road so traffic was quite noisy if you opened the windows. Otherwise the room was excellent. Staff were extremely polite and helpful with a basic adequate breakfast buffet available. A small queue formed at our breakfast when both beans and egg ran out and were slow in being re-filled. Overall though an excellent choice if visiting Chester and would definitely stay here again. 28 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Watch for the trains All as good as usual,except I was at the railway end so had trains disturbing me until after 11 at night and started again about 5 in the morning. 27 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxed atmosphere We enjoy our stays at Holiday Inn Express. It is quite a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are always clean on entry. It is also nice to know where we will be eating breakfast. My only complaint is that the bed is much too soft. Thanks 10 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent value hotel spotlessly clean hotel throughout with very comfortable rooms. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast good with many choices No complaints whatever. 09 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience and comfort I was very impressed with this hotel and would say it represents good value for money, especially for those who wish to be close to city centre facilities in Chester. 09 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by better experience After almost cancelling because of a nightmare experience a few days earlier this stay was very good. The room was clean ( although hot) and peaceful. Breakfast fully stocked and hot. 07 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, friendly, very helpful staff I recently stayed at the Chester Holiday inn Express at the racecourse in Chester. I have to say my overall experienced was great. Its a brilliant location to the city and even better if you are going to the races. Our room was comfortable and the first room we were in did not have great WIFI access which we needed but we were immediately moved to a room with better access. The staff were very friendly especially the receptionists who were very accommodating, helpful and knowledgeable. Overall I would definitely return especially in time for the Christmas markets at the Chester Racecourse. 07 September 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 next>>