Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 01 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 02 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 289 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay This is about nine times we have stayed at the Express and found this stay as good as the first, our thanks to all staff with making it all well. 06 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too hot and noisy The hotel is in a lovely position overlooking race course. Entrance lobby and facilties including breakfast are great. The problem we encountered was the room was far too hot, no air conditioning and the extractor fan on the roof came on from 7am and did not go off until around 9.30pm. The hotel is also next to the tran track and trains came along every 20 minutes. The hotel is not a good choice if you want to relax in the afternoon or early evening. We was on the top floor so am not sure what other rooms are like 05 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by coisty my husband and I have been to the holiday inn express 6 times and have enjoyed it every time the service is excellent location is great the last time we were there was last week I was a bit disappointed we were allocated room 330 the frame of the bed was badly stained I didn't complain but think this should be looked into as this might put other people off, but wont stop us coming back 04 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great raceday deal Excellent value esp car park and location at race course. Staff most friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Clean an comfortable 02 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall v.f.m spot on as always room at the rear overlooking the racecourse 01 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing I booked a double room but was quite upset to be given a twin room and told as the hotel was full that was all that was available. Breakfast next morning had a very poor choice of hot food and the cutlery and glasses were dirty. I booked the Holiday Inn as I thought a large chain would provide a good experience for an overnight stay but was very dissatisfied 01 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All round Good clean hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Sunday stay was spoilt by a bunch of rowdy girls in and out of rooms, shouting and slamming doors. Monday was better and had a good night. 30 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by if you want to sleep dont stay here I WAS NOT GOING TO WRITE A REVIEW AS I HAD SENT A E MAIL TO THE OPERATIONS MANAGER OF THIS HOTEL A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO BUT HAVE NOT RECIEVED A REPLY AS OF YET WE BOOKED INTO THIS HOTEL FOR TWO NIGHTS ONLY STAYING ONE AND BOOKING OUT EARLY BECAUSE OF LACK OF SLEEP PLEASE BE AWARE THAT THIS HOTEL IS BETWEEN A RAILWAY AND A MAIN ROAD AND IS NOISY AND THERE IS NO AIR CON IF ITS HOT THE STAFF DO THERE JOB AS YOU WOULD EXPECT WELL SOME DO ON THE NIGHT WE STAYED I HAD TO GET OUT OF BED AT AROUND 3 45 AM TO ASK AYOUNG MAN TO STOP BANGING ON A ROOM DOOR HE HAD BEEN BANGING FOR ABOUT 30 TO 40 MINUTES WE OPENED AWINDOW AS IT WAS TO HOT ONLY TO HEAR TRAINS PASSING OUR ROOM HAD A DOOR TO THE HALL RIGHT OUTSIDE SO THAT WAS SLAMMING MOST OF THE NIGHT FOR THE PRICE YOU PAY I WOULD EXPECT A TOILET ROLL HOLDER THERE WAS HALF OF ONE THE ROOM SMELT THE BED BASE WAS STAINED TO SUM UP NOT AGOOD EXPERIANCE I HAVE HAD BETTER SLEEP QUALITY ON A PLANE OH AND IF YOU READ BACK REVIEWS YOU WILL SEE REOCURRING PROBLEMS DONT STAY HERE IF YOU WANT A SLEEP WITHOUT BEING disturbed 29 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by short break Nice hotel, shame it did not have a swimming pool or spa, needed for when it rains. 27 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, free tea/coffee and soft drinks 24/7 Great location, would definitely stay again. But would ensure I get a good nights sleep the day before. The room we stayed in was facing the main dual carriage way, and cars going past and motor bikes early hours in morning was not what I wanted. Hence an awful sleep, if any sleep at all. Bed was a bit uncomfortable too. Aside from that, the price, staff, drinks (soft) and breakfast was all great. So much so, would stay again. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tidy, comfortable and modern... First time at Holiday Inn Express and was pleased with Hotel and all services provided for our 5 nights stay. All staff were pleasant and and eager to help where needed. Modern room with all things provided, room overlooked the racecourse too. We will definitely recommend this Hotel... well done! 19 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service From when we arrived on the car park we were greeted with excellent service. Check was very quick and efficient with our room ready. We had stayed in another holiday in for same price 4 weeks before in Farnborough, and this room did not meet expectations. The room was so hot with no air con. Very odd wet room bathroom that smelt far to strongly of a swimming pool. It was missing a plug socket on the dressing table so for getting ready ladies, not the best. Also hanging rail only fitted 4 items on. The bed was very comfy, and when we returned at 1:30 am the staff were brilliant and we were able to have a last drink. Breakfast was very poor. Farnborough had the full works, this chester had sausage and egg and beans. That was it, on a very odd canteen lift the screen service. There was no water to be had and selection of cereals was poor. Check out was fab, pay on arrival is much easier 17 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor bed Bed was terrible it needs replacing ASAP. Staff did not highlight IHG discounts available to Gold level member. Plus no gold check in point 17 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small but perfectly formed Ideal position to explore Chester. Very nice setting and close to the wall for a walk around. Room was smallish but well worth the money, clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was rather warm however and window would hardly open at all. 16 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION My wife, 3 daughters and I had a VERY enjoyable stay at Chester Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast was very good, staff helpful ( I recommend the zoo entry available at reception for fast track entry), rooms comfortable and location brilliant - easy to find, free parking and a short walk from Chester City centre. 15 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Very comfortable stay, a stones throw from the town centre, would stay again, quick and good service. Lovely breakfast, would recommend to friends and family. 14 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Ideal for Shopping and Races Rooms okay, could do with fans in all rooms, room gets very warm, disappointed to receive notification that we had to vacate our room early as we were a wedding party who had arranged to go to the races caused us problems, if we had been told on booking would have stayed somewhere else, staff very good 13 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too warm in hotel The hotel in general is clean and tidy but on the day we stayed the stairwell, lift, corridors and room were like a sauna. The need for air conditioning should be considered in extreme sunshine not just reception. Room was comfortable but could not open window any wider than it did so a very uncomfortable night due to extreme heat from the sunshine during the day. 12 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't expect to sleep Well where do I start. Nice clean hotel with unique bathroom layout. However it is located next to a main busy trainline which has freight trains on all night. The noise was horrendous as we had to have the window open as the room temperature was unbearable. To make us even more comfortable in bed despite been in the middle of a heatwave you get the thickest duvet ever. Bed was not very comfy either. As for breakfast if u like cold sausages and beans its ok. They don't do bacon!!!! 08 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay We have stayed a few times at the Express Inn Chester and as usual we found all the Staff first class as was everything else. 05 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better than normal Holiday Inn Express Great position in Chester for town centre. Staff very helpful and accommodating, Free Broadband as well 05 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Everything about this hotel was good but failed reach the excellent grade due to no air conditioning found out on last day (of 4) there had been limited number of fans available 04 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money On arriving we were checked in promptly and courteously. Our room was clean and spacious with a great view of the race course which I had requested. We had a drink in the bar which was extra cold (A real plus for us) and the staff were very helpful and informative. We didn't eat in the hotel at night but had a drink when we got back in which was still open even though it was quite late. The beds were very comfortable and there was no noise so we had a good nights sleep. The breakfast in the morning was adequate, which as it is included in the price we wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was. Overall it was an excellent value for money hotel which is close to the centre with all the comforts you expect from Holiday Inn. 04 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and fab service This is a typical Holiday Inn Express, although rooms are smaller than others I have stayed in. The staff were superb, very friendly and helpful and efficient. The breakfast was typical HI express, no frills but adequate and efficiently topped up. The hotel is very conveniently located within easy walk to the city and nice to be on the edge of the racecourse within easy access to the wall and restaurants to walk to. The rooms were boiling hot!!! This was my big complaint and everyone else's, even the staff. I would not stay in this hotel again in the Summer. We had rooms on the side of a busy main road so having the window open also made it quite noisy. The staff provided a fan although this was small and with no electrical socket near the bed it was fairly ineffective. By the last night i had the ironing board set up next to the bed with the fan on top so it wa closer to the bed. I hardly slept for 5 nights. This hotel needs to invest in air con in the bedrooms and the staircase area which is like a greenhouse as it is 3 floors of glass. 02 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Stayed two nights 25/26 July Good location on the racecourse and easy walk into the town centre Comfortable room with tea and coffee making facilities There were some adverse comments about the breakfast on some of the web sites but there was plenty of choice on the continental Breakfast and sausage egg and beans if you wanted something hot The staff were exceptionally helpfull and polite I would definitely stay at this hotel again 02 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Summer Heat Wave This review is not going to be as good as the hotel was, simply due to the heat. The hotel was built with a large glass front entrance area, which must add needed warmth in winter time, but during the recent heat wave in the UK acted more like a sauna or greenhouse. None of the rooms were built with AC, and the staff doesn't have enough fans for each room. Couple of items I would have thought a hotelier would offer in light of the difficult environment would be: 1. Have someone from the staff offer to procure more fans to ensure more guests were safe. 2. Add bottles of water in rooms to make sure guests were hydrated while sleeping at night. (I know bottled water is not a standard Holiday Inn Express amenity and not saying it would be long term, however this thought would have gone a long way with guests, all of whom were complaining about the heat. 3. Put a little fresh lemonade (US type# in a pitcher at the counter for guests to partake of #stole this idea from Holiday Inn Express Swiss Cottage later in the week) and cool day. Just a little something to say "we know it is hot and we are doing all we can". I slept most nights on top of the bed and only after preparing for bed with a cold shower and cold cloth to keep near the bed. Okay, having said that, the ladies at the front desk and breakfast room were very accommodation and helpful. Each morning, knowing loads of us would come down with comments, they were smiling and projecting the hospitality that you would expect at a much finer hotel. Their recommendation of the White Horse, over at the Race Course, was a great one and we loved the restaurant. These ladies made a memorable vacation for my family. I thank them for that. Again, this visit the property isn't rated as high as I would like, but I could see the team is very capable of offering an excellent stay and I wouldn't hesitate to come back here again should I be in the area. 31 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean, quiet and lovely staff. Myself and my husband stayed here for a night to celebrate his birthday in Chester. I managed to get it at a very reasonable price which included breakfast and (most importantly) - free parking. Perfect location for the city centre and although right on the main road was surprisingly quiet. Staff were brilliant on arrival and check out, room was lovely and clean and the overall hotel appearance was lovely and clean. Only 2 downsides were that the room was ridiculously hot (it was on one of the hottest days, but there was no-way to cool it down so had a pretty disturbed and sweaty sleep), also the breakfast wasn't brilliant especially for the 'normal' price charged. But other than that it was great. Would definitely recommend to stay there. 29 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No air conditioning I've stayed at this hotel before so was happy to book it again, however, with this very hot spell were experiencing the lack of air conditioning made sleeping difficult, also the staircase with it being a huge glass wall was like a greenhouse. On the positive side, the staff were extremely helpful. When I realised that the room was a twin instead of a double I was moved to another room without any fuss. 27 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, Clean and comfortable Good hotel for visiting Chester. Clean and tidy. Very friendly staff.Rooms on road side a little noisey. No air conditioning for summer months. 26 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by no happy this time The stay here on this visit was bad , and we use holiday inn's very often as we gold priority members. We took along friends for a special occasion and was very disappointed as the rooms had no air con and were small in size to usual . The room was over looked by a railway line which were were not informed of. The cost was way to over priced for the stay The staff were not at all helpful when making a inquiry about a few things just advised to wait till the morning and speak to the manager, not helpful at all. we have never had to make a complaint at all on all the stays we have had with you brand but this has upset myself and my wfe and spoilt the whole stay, we did send in a complaint on the night via email but had no response as to date ? 26 July 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 next>>