Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 20 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 21 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 360 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room lovely and warm comfortable bed too Couldn't fault this hotel at all. We were at playhouse which is directly across the road. Room was well worth money and breakfast was fine. Something for everyone. Would definitely return . 26 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and double bed but pull out double sofa bed awful We stayed 3 nights last week. The hotel is very well situated just a 5-10 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Princes Street and Waverley train station (enough to be away from too much evening noise if you have children to consider as we did with our two young sons). There was a Tesco Express foodstore about 50m along the same road too. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms very clean and tidy, and the hot and cold buffet style breakfast included had something to suit all tastes. The only negative feedback/comment I have is that the double sofa bed in the room was extremely uncomfortable with two very evident 'bumps' (slats) at about halfway and just below again across the base. This made for very uncomfortable sleeping for my two sons (my wife and I ended up taking turns to sleep with one of our sons on it to ensure we all managed to get at least 1 or 2 decent nights sleeps on the standard double bed (which was very comfy). Overall, I would recommend the hotel and we would use it again (but would ensure the fold out double sofa bed was better!). 25 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Break The room was clean, functional and quiet. The Hotel was near the main shopping centres so eating out was cheap and varied and in walking distance of the train station, with a city centre supermarket virtually next door if you needed any extras. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we were able to leave our bags after we'd checked out so that we could enjoy the City before catching our evening train. Highly recommend this hotel, a very pleasurable experience and fantastic value. 24 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by faultless A great place to stay, was doing family history research at Scotlands People on Princes Street. Just a five minute walk. Only two minor faults, scrambled eggs and sausages could have been a bit hotter. My room was first class not "budget class" spotlessly clean and comfortable. i thought it was a shame that the bar/lounge was not used a bit more, it is so comfy and relaxing and had a good chat with the duty manager the night that I had a few malts to drink. I hope to come back at a later date but this time with my wife. Denboy Aberdeen 24 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service I just wanted to take the time to say what fantastic service I have received from all the staff during my stay at the HIExpress in Edinburgh. I have been staying at this hotel over the last couple of months on business, and wanted to highlight how great the staff have been. It makes a big difference to have cheerful, happy and helpful staff when you are away from home for long periods. Their attitude and smiles have made for an enjoyable stay and I would definitely return and recommend to others. Thankyou! 24 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location with friendly staff We loved the location ideal for walking around the city and seeing all the sights.Helpful friendly staff.The breakfast choice was excellent for all our family.Only one complaint uncomfortable mattress 23 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great convenient hotel Great convenient hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Good atmosphere 23 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by superb stay I thoroughly enjoyed my stay from check in to check out at the edinburgh city centre hotel- the location was perfect for the leisurely trip i had planned. There are restaurants, a cinema, theatre and shopping centre right on the doorstep. I only made the most of my included breakfast one morning out of three because they stopped breakfast at 9.30am and i was not up by then which was my own choice, if i was that worried i would have set an alarm. The staff i encountered were all friendly, my room was spacious and had a good view and the facilities were good. 23 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Place To Stay Stayed here as going to the Playhouse which is directly across the road. Staff friendly and helpful, spotless throughout, room was comfortable, teas made in the room. Central point to go out and about. Hot breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, sausages, beans and toast, (a bit of bacon would have been nice but that's just my preference), plenty cereal, yoghurt, fruit, etc, spoiled for choice. Would definitely stay here again and will definitely recommend it. 22 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Handy for Playhouse and parking Comfortable bed. Good breakfast choices. Great system for discounted parking 21 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality of Service We stay fairly regularly at Holiday Inn hotels and at least one every year at Picardy Place. We are always impressed with the attitude of the staff who are friendly and polite. We are also certain that the room will be very clean and comfortable and this is a consistent quality of Holiday Inns in the UK Staff respond promptly to enquiries and issues. We reported that our kettle wasn't working and within an hour a maintenance engineer came to the room. I also like the provision of Broughton Ales in the bar, which is a local beer. Not all Holiday Inn stock such local, almost specialist beer. 20 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent HIX Excellent stay in a great location in Edinburgh. Staff excellent and friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay here again review by Platinum Ambassador. 15 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend away First time we have stayed at the Holiday inn, we enjoyed the location of the Holiday Inn. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Lovely lady on reception when we checked in, very helpful advising where we could eat as we were late checking in. Been to Edinburgh lots of time before so we do know our way around. We would stay again most definitely. : ) 09 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice for a weekend break Great location for a weekend break. Very comfortable room and adequate breakfast to set you up for a days sightseeing. great value for money 07 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable , value for money I was amazed at the service and quality of the Hotel . I had stayed at the Hilton in SanFrancisco last September and I find it difficult to believe that this modest Hotel came up thrumps in comparison to a well known brand . Will definitely use the chain again . Location was great, it was adequate for the 2 nights stay and having breakfast on site was really handy . Slight criticism is the lack of an extractor fan in the bathroom ,which upon first entry into the room makes it smell a bit damp/musky . However it becomes less obvious once you are settled in or shut the bathroom door. 04 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good large room great shower. Booked on line with ease room ready on arrival. Given twin room instead of double but as only staying one night it was no problem. Staff friendly and very helpful booking in and out offered to keep luggage if needed. Breakfast was Luke warm but plenty of it. Would use Holiday express again and recommend it to others. 04 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First class location The location is excellent with Edinburgh city centre right there. We were lucky to be able to park in the hotel car park and the rate was well worth it. The room was spotless and very comfortable with no external noise. Breakfast was an added bonus. We will certainly stay here again and have no hesitation recommending this hotel. 02 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for city and theatre A perfect stay, we stayed for 2 nights. Quiet and peaceful nights sleep. 31 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cheeky night in Edinburgh Stayed at this hotel for the first time using my points. 3 of us in the room and the room was more than comfortable enough (my wife and I plus my 16 year old son). Hotel is in a fantastic location, is easy to find and the the overall standard is much better than other HIE's I have stayed in. Breakfast is free, so hard to complain about it and certainly plenty of choice. Heating on everywhere made the hotel very hot for a local - but then with a lot of foreign visitors from warmer climates maybe that is what they needed. Huge waste of energy though! Fancy a weekend in Edinburgh, for the price, given the location and quality, you can;t really do any better. 30 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Stayed for two nights,very clean and comfortable,staff made you feel very welcome,room totally adequate for our needs. Breakfast set us up for our visit around Edinburgh,the hotel is very well situated for the center of Edinburgh. We will use this hotel again, highly recommended . 29 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value The location of the hotel is excellent right in city centre across from playhouse. Staff friendly and polite. Room basic but very clean and what I would expect for the money and star rating. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. 29 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcomed & Looked after We were welcomed from the moment we walked in, until we departed...staff were pleasant, helpful & courteous. The location was ideal for walking anywhere in Old or New Edinburgh, and it was only 30-45 mins walk down to Leith. The rooms were clean, facilities more than adequate...sufficient breakfasts...and all very good value. Would recommend to anyone...we've used Holiday Inn Express before...and will use them again in future. 27 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value The room was was perfectly adequate for our needs and the double bed very comfortable. Slept like a log after each day walking round Edinburgh! Great value for money for B&B. Altho after 2 days I was a bit bored with the hot choice of scrambled egg, sausage & beans again for breakfast it was still very good value for money. Hotel was in a good situation to get to town (10 mins walk to centre) for shops, train or bus to Airport. Plenty of restaurants/take aways around. Plus a small supermarket a few doors along for essentials. Overall excellent value, would come again.. 26 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 wi-fi very poor wi-fi [free] every 2 min dont work.everything its very good,location ,exellent,and the next time a stay here 26 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mini break with friends Spent last Saturday night with two friends at this fabulous location! handy for shopping, eating out and theatre. Could not fault anything, thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone spending time in Edinburgh. 20 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and helpful staff This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express so we didn't know much about this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised. The staff at reception were very helpful even telling us breakfast was complimentary [the breakfast was excellent] Our room was spotless and very comfortable and we would certainly use H.I.E again 19 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time stay will definatly be back This was the first time iv stayed here could not fault this hotel everything was perfect 17 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded Expectations We stayed at this hotel for two nights and are very happy to recommend it. The location is excellent: walking distance from Waverley station, the castle, and many of the city's tourist sites, shopping locations and entertainment venues. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the staff are extremely helpful. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean, though fairly small - which did not really matter for our short stay. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Not a great variety but quite enough to start the day - and, as with the hotel in general, it exceeded our expectations. Our only criticism was the constant loud music in the lounge/breakfast area. It's probably set to one (high) volume level regardless of how many people are in the room, but we found it quite intrusive. Our daughter lives in a tiny apartment just a short walk away from the hotel, so we'll certainly stay at the hotel again, particularly as the room price is substantially less than that of other hotels and B&Bs in the area. 17 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Had a great time in the hotel from the minute we booked in the girl on the desk was very friendly and explained everything , made you feel very welcome The room was clean had everything you want if not you just have to ask ! Bed was comfortable plenty hot water for our showers Breakfast was good had plenty of choice checking out was simple 16 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not enough space for breakfast and bed really uncomfortable Hotel in good central location and overall kept clean. First morning there were hardly any tables left for breakfast and people were bumping into each other as dining area was too cramped. Both toasters weren't working and staff took ages to get it sorted. Room was adequate although a little small. Bed was very uncomfortable. Very disappointed that none of the staff were Scottish which was shocking considering we were in Edinburgh!! Think hotel groups need to start recruiting people from their local communities and give something back to local economies. Overall very disappointed even for a budget hotel given that I have stayed in two others this year alone!! Would not recommend at all. 15 January 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 next>>