Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 13 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 14 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 315 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great time had by all. Excellent location and great value for money. Look forward to next visit. Thanking you for friendly service. 03 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service On a whole this hotel was great to stay at. However the tv in the room I had was faulty, when I went to reception to complain, they moved me to another room, which I was thankful for. Unfortunately the room I was moved to had a faulty tv as well. Other than that I had a great stay & would recommend to friends and family. 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bed I have stayed in 5 star hotels in Edinburgh, eg The Scotsman, Tiger Lily's, La Monde and I must say this hotel had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast was a bit basic but for price paid adequate. Would definitely stay again 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice comfortable stay A group of 6 of us stayed in 3 rooms, all rooms have lots of space and are clean and comfortable. The bar area is a little small but as its in the centre of edinburgh theres plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Overall a great night spent!! 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home from Home at Christmas We stayed here for 3 days over Christmas. We were given a warm welcome as usual. The Hotel Staff are always efficient and friendly. Our room was spotless. The location of the Hotel is excellent,just next to John Lewis store. and across from Playhouse Theatre. We always look forward to staying here when we are in Edinburgh 30 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel with unwelcoming staff The only good thing about this hotel was its location as it wAs within walking distance of all the city attractions. It was an average hotel with basic facilities but really unwelcoming and miserable front desk staff members. Overall opinion of this hotel is ok. 27 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cosy comfortable Hotel. We were delighted with our stay in this hotel. Cosy, clean bed and lovely room. Breakfast was ideal and the location is so handy for the theatre across the road. Staff were very friendly and obliging. Would highly recommend it and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you!!! 27 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Brandy After returning with friends to the hotel for a nightcap,I was amazed,indeed shocked to find that there was no brandy of any description in the bar. What made it more galling was that my wife only takes a small brandy on special occasions and was upset that this was not available. Poor show!!! 27 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Location very central for shopping or going to a show. Reception staff helpful and efficient and all at a reasonable cost. Great! Another plus from the last time we stayed in an express was the addition of some hot food at breakfast. 26 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We stayed here for 2 nights. The bed was very uncomfortable but the room was very clean and exactly how it showed it on the website. The staff were all lovely and happy to help. We didn't like the breakfast as you didn't get much but then again it is free so you can't really complain. The location is brilliant with restaurants and shops plus the theatre right across the road or 5 mins walk away. I would stay here again as it was cheap but was a lovely hotel. The only downfalls for us were the bed and the breakfast. However, we had a lovely stay here. 24 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very enjoyable stay. My friend & I stayed for 2 nights from 17th to 19th December. We booked because we felt it was close to one of Edinburgh's main shopping centres and we were doing Christmas shopping so it was ideal. We were very pleased with the place from the moment we walked through the door. Reception staff were polite and cheery and explained how to get to the room and all about breakfast. Our room was clean & bright with all we needed. The twin beds were very comfy and we like the choice of hard or soft pillows. We both slept very well. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. It was busy but the staff made sure all the tables were cleared & cleaned promptly and pointed you in the direction of a seat if you needed one. All in all a very enjoyable stay & we hope to stay there again the next time we visit Edinburgh. 23 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and good value for money 10 minute walk from Waverley station, good breakfast, room was clean and pleasant staff. One of the better holiday inns I have stayed in. Will book again in January. 20 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best one yet Just had a lovely night after lovely Christmas market trip.lovely hotel on main road but I didn't mind all,lovely room and nice breakfast.Really nice bar.Only fault is not much parking travelling on the train would be perfect for a break at this perfectly situated hotel.Can't wait to stay again. 18 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, disappointing hotel Having stayed at this hotel a few years ago, we booked it without hesitation for our next visit to Edinburgh, but were disappointed. It must be said that the staff were, without exception, very pleasant and helpful; however, the rooms are very similar to a well-known budget chain, but the price much higher. The breakfast (included in the price) was not good value, the seating accommodation overcrowded, and there was no bacon! We will not be paying the prices at this hotel again. 18 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location for a trip to Edinburgh This hotel is surrounded by restaurants, bars, and take aways. It is also close to a Tesco Express, a car rental place and is adjacent to the Edinburgh Playhouse which means no rushing about and more time to get ready. There is also a car park less than 5 minutes away where you can park your car (£15 for 24hrs). Edinburgh City centre is a 15 minute stroll from the hotel also. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to go back in the near future. 18 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel friendly staff, good breakfast, great room. would defo stay again 17 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall very good. This was my second stay and I arrived 2 hrs early and the very helpful and friendly receptionist had a room ready which was very welcome. The room is clean, comfortable , the bathroom is clean too though I prefer a bath to a shower but no doubt that is down to lack of space. The location of the hotel is excellent, you can walk to many of the main attractions. The only sour taste and why I have not given the staff an excellent rating is that on the morning I left a man at reception, who I'd not seen before, told me I owed money for watching a movie. I had not watched any movies, and was not even in my room at the time he quoted it had been watched. Rather grudglngly he dropped it but there was no apology,which was rude. Apart from that I would stay again, everyone else very polite. 17 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and well kept stayed at the holiday inn express Thursday 12/12/13 My mum has a wheelchair but when I asked for ramp access I was informed that the ramp was to the rear of the hotel and onto a cobbled street which would be difficult to mobilise with a wheelchair . We had to enter and depart by the main enterance where there are several steps . This was extremely difficult for my elderly mum and for myself as I had to negotiate these with the chair . Overall however we had a comfortable stay but found the lounge/bar area very draughty therefor couldn't wait to get back to the warm room after our trip to the theatre . Breakfast was basic but fine except again for the draught and cold in the dinning area. Staff all very pleasant and I would return . Better ramping / disabled access is a must or returning customers with mobility difficulties. Lynn Beck 16 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very affordable and convenient I like the hotel. Its really good for the price. The staff are very friendly and accommodating as they allowed us to check in early at 9am instead of waiting more hours which the usual check in time is 2pm. The only thing is that the hotel's name is very small. We were looking for the hotel when we reached the area by using the google map. We didnt realised that it was already the hotel across the street. The hotel's name is too small and could not really be read when you are standing far like across the street. Should have a bigger signage. Overall, its excellent. 13 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location ,location, Location We booked in for an overnight Sun/Mon stay....location great !..across from Playhouse Theatre...wondered about any road noise at front...none at all...windows well screened. Hot Breakfast buffet adequate...but area for seating etc very busy around 9 am...bit of a scramble getting table etc...but no real problem. For such a largish hotel...very clean & quiet inside. Secured Car parking at rear has only 9 spaces..so first come etc etc...and a charge of £13.50 x 24 hrs is not to bad for Edi city centre...(but still grudge it !) Nice Italian Restaurant next door 'Guillianos...and we got a 10 % discount for mentioning we were in holiday Inn Express...surprised as we were not aware ...so a nice surprise However if you want location for WALKING about Edinburgh...you cannot ask for more....and if needed..the Lothian Bus service is first class. ... 13 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! This hotel was very very nice and in a fab location (right across from the Playhouse and a 5 minute walk from the train station & the main shopping streets). We were a party of four women who booked a 'family room'... never again.... two grown women sleeping on the sofa bed just doesn't work... it's tiny + it's the most uncomfortable thing I've ever slept on BUT it's our own fault, we should have booked two single rooms instead!! We've now learned our lesson! The actual bed is very comfortable though!! We also accidentally booked a smoking room (didn't even know you got smoking rooms these days!!) so watch out for that because if you are a non-smoker you really do smell it! I'm pretty sure if it hadn't been such a busy time of year the staff would have moved us but as it's Christmas time we had no such luck... again, our own fault and it's a lesson learned!!! Breakfast is great too! Overall this is a fab hotel and we'll be booking again for next year :) 13 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff. Me and my friends stay here regularly especially if we are seeing a show at the Playhouse. It's ideally situated and the staff are helpful and friendly,the rooms are clean and comfortable and the price is excellent.I have recommended The Holiday Inn Express to many friends and they have all given positive feedback. 09 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room pity about breakfast This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at this Holiday Inn and once again staff were friendly and helpful and room very comfortable. Downside was breakfast they need to get a better system going people not knowing where to start so people going from both sides, fruit juice like coloured water, and no one filling empty milk containers etc., 09 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice for location and service This is an outstanding HI Express. From a friendly welcome and early check in to a busy but well organised breakfast service complemented by a super clean room and friendly staff in all departments this hotel helped make our short break in Edinburgh a great success. In short it is a great choice for value accommodation right in the heart of the city. Just one request and it is targeted at HI as a brand.....it's time to get 5ft beds into your double rooms! 09 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service was good, breakfast was poor The stay itself was good but quality of breakfast was poor, no bacon just sausage and it was hard n rubbery, very poor quality. 09 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff great location 5 min from the train station ideal for walking round city the bed room was nice bright and very clean the breakfast had a good choice and the hot food was hot the staff were really freindly and helpful and always made time for a cheery hello and smile we will be going back 09 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent as always We had another great stay. Hotel opposite the theatre, staff so friendly as was the duty manager who was very helpful. Room clean and comfortable and we slept very well even through the storm! We will continue to use this hotel when we are in Edinburgh 08 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location good service we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn this is our second time here and would definately recommend it. We will be back( hopefully) will watch for special deals. 07 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Edinburgh City Centre Had a great experience at this hotel. Nice, clean room, good facilities and amazing location. Directly across from Edinburgh Playhouse and less than 10 minutes from Princes Street. Would return here in a minute. 06 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room and bed Enjoyed our stay, grt location, clean and comfortable room, we were at the back and breakfast was grt too not a large cooked breakfast but sufficient amounts and choices, would definately use again, staff very friendly and helpful 06 December 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>