Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 23 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 349 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service at breakfast poor Enjoyed the stay But....breakfast poor. Milk, coffee empty. No staff to be found and when eventually found another lengthy wait for refills ... needs to improve 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was very comfortable Enjoyed our visit location was excellent very nice clean homely hotel will sure book again . 05 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable stay This hotel is in a perfect location for Playhouse theatre. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and tidy and bed was comfortable. Only 5 minutes from Princes St and station. There is some traffic noise due to location but not as much as I was expecting . We had no problem getting a table for breakfast and plenty of choice. 05 November 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor As an IHG card holder I received the usual quick check-in because my details were all filed. I was handed a letter (unsigned) telling me the wonderful advantages of Gold membership then found ALL were available to anyone. The free newspaper was actually "i", a 20p cheapo I would never consider, a pile of these were lying around available to all. So much for the benefits of Gold Membership. On to the room. My stay was in the middle of the miraculous heatwave so the absence of air con was not welcome. The only cooling in the room was a fan set in an enclosed shelf and hard wired so it was impossible to move to a position where it might actually cool something. Breakfast - what a farce! Far too small area with too few seats/tables and a tiny self service area for collecting food which was always mobbed. Having to put bread through the toaster 3 times to make it slightly brown did not speed things up. Altogether a most painful stay at an inflated price. 04 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Could not have been better located for the theatre, train station, shops and pubs. Would highly recommend and definitely stay here again 03 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Hotel is in a good position for looking round Edinburgh. Room was comfortable & staff were polite & helpful. I will be going back 03 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Central Location Great stay at this central hotel , we were staying to go to the Lion King which is in the theatre opposite the hotel. Lots of bars and restaurants close by and rooms were very clean and comfortable . 01 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by edinburgh stay Ideal location for theatre which is why we chose this hotel. Bar service and prices what you would expect for city centre hotel. Breakfast was shambolic. Ran out of sausages knives cups eggs .One drinks machine not working. Could have done with more staff and some organisation. Assume no manager present that day 31 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great venue for going to playhouse Great venue, comfortable rooms, the only complaint is that it is a bit chaotic on a Sunday morning, not enough mugs, glasses or cutlery. I think everyone goes down at the same time. Other than that, the choice is ample. 30 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Forget Breakfast Great location comfortable and clean room. Breakfast a free for all. Extremely bad layout and poor quality food. Better to have breakfast elsewhere 30 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location This hotel has a good location but the rooms are far too small! No space at all. I booked a room for 3 adults and we were extremely cramped. Breakfast is an absolute fiasco and they would be as well dropping the price and offering room only. You cannot get anywhere near any of the food for people queueing in front of all the dishes and no available tables! No coffee in the flasks.no restaurant in hotel either.Far better value to be had in Edinburgh. 28 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value From the moment we entered the hotel we were well taken care of and the location was excellent, only a few minutes walk to all Edinburgh's attractions. 27 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal hotel Great location, staff helpful and friendly Surrounded by restaurants and a short walk from train station My only negative was the room I was in wasn't great for an undisturbed night, room 1 on the ground floor, next to the car park and communal entrance doors to the floor, it was noisy at times but that is the fault of other guests not the hotel Would stay again and would recommend 27 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short break Excellent value for money, compares well with other budget hotels. Great location. Despite being near a main road , couldn't hear any outside noise. Would definitely stay here when next in Edinburgh. Although the hot breakfast is limited, there is an ample choice of other items available. Some reviewers have mentioned tbe breakfast room can be busy but we chose our breakfast then took it down to the bar where there was plenty of space! 26 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by B&B Room OK Location Good Breakfast the worse I have ever had. 25 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Doubt I'll be back! I arrived at the hotel with my mum for an overnight stay to visit the Edinburgh Playhouse. The staff at reception were courteous and we were looking forward to our stay based on the lovely reception area but unfortunately our room stank of stale smoke. As soon as we opened the door the smell hit us! Being non smokers we found it disgusting but as it was only for one night we thought opening the window may help. On returning to our room that night it still stunk which gave us an uncomfortable nights sleep as I kept waking up sneezing and coughing. You could also hear every creak and noise from people walking through the corridor and in their rooms. Breakfast was a disaster! Far too small a room for the amount of guests staying there! There were no seats available at 8.30am & again when we tried at 9am and we overheard a staff member say that they were going to extend the breakfast hours to 10.30 as it was busy but that didn't suit us and we were really unimpressed with the whole thing. Very disorganised! We grabbed croissants (which we threw away as they were too hard to eat!) and coffee to go and left. I was dissapointed in the stay as it was part of the whole experience as a treat for my mum. Going to see a show and relaxing in the hotel before sightseeing in Edinburgh but unfortunately we didn't relax, didn't get a good breakfast which left us both a bit grumpy. Due to the excellent location for the Edinburgh Playhouse I may consider staying here again if we are going to see a show but if there are any other hotels near I would choose them before here unfortunately. 24 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent We were in Edinburgh to see the Lion King which was playing at the Playhouse. The hotel is across the road from the theatre and next to numerous eating establishment. The location is excellent, the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Whilst waiting to check-in the gentleman who subsequently dealt with us had to deal with a particularly "challenging" foreign guest with patience and politeness which I could not have done. Our rooms were ready early and were spotless, the breakfast was very good. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel whilst visiting the city 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Thoroughly recommend this hotel. It's the 2nd time I've stayed here and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Even at a busy breakfast time everything ran smoothly and efficiently. The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. Can't wait to enjoy another stay! 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Place To Stay The staff greeted me with smiles. They were able to answer all the questions I had about the area. My only complaint would be that the room was too hot, but after opening the window and leaving it open- I was very comfortable. It had a great bar and wifi worked well. 22 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by spotlessly clean lovely room Lovely hotel. Breakfast was a bit chaotic. Staff very nice. Very clean and comfortable. Would definately go back. 21 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but poor breakfast facilities for size. Hotel is in great location and own car park (extra cost but worth it). Staff friendly although only one when checking in and guests queuing. Room was good size and clean. Bed comfy and good nights sleep. Inadequate breakfast facities. So queued felt pressured so didn't see exactly all the choices. No seats upstairs or down. First time I've stood at a bar to eat breakfast. Although we were lucky some people with young families just stood there not knowing what to do. Really need to extend dining area or dining times. I have read similar reviews so can't say didn't know. If you're not bothered about breakfast I would still book. 19 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location Pleasant stay, nice and clean room. Unfortunately pull out bed wasn't made up and when member of staff came to do it and pulled it out it was horribly stained, nobody wanted to sleep on it. When mentioned staff member shrugged it off and said that 90% of their beds are stained by drinks. It did not look like a drinks stain to me! Have to admit, it has put me off staying again and would suggest they use some form of mattrass protection. Other than that it was very good value for money. 18 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Hotel is in a great location. Friendly staff and the room was basic, but clean. 15 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location and Helpful Staff Our 3 night stay at the hotel was very comfortable and as advertised, the location is a short walk from Princes Street, the railway station and the Royal Mile. A beautiful building from the outside, clean and modern inside. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful in providing an additional supply of tea bags when we returned in the evening after a long day out exploring Edinburgh, thank you for that. The breakfast options offered a good variety to suit all tastes and set us up well for the days out. Thank you for a very pleasant stay. 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very good holiday inn express This is one of the best Holiday Inn Express Hotels i've stayed in, great location, very good rooms, excellent staff. Downside is the tiny carpark, be prepared to walk quite a way if you need to park and there are no spaces... 05 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Comfortable and quiet.Services fine. Close to restaurants and bus and rail services. 30 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Little pricey, but great room and great service I don't really have anything too complain. The room was nice and well-provided with everything, service and reception were as good as they can be. Free internet worked flawlessly, though video streaming like YouTube was unfortunately blocked. The view out of my room wasn't the greatest, but the location itself was nearly perfect. Overall, I can recommend this location, at least if you're ready to pay a little more. 25 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Express Edinburgh Was very impressed with the efficiency of the liaison between central booking service and the hotel. My booking was made very last minute indeed. Everything worked well in respect of the room and staff- practical fixtures and fittings and comfortable bed. Worth getting to breaksfat early as the bacon appeared to run out but i would recommend any visitor stay. 25 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable One night stay Hotel is in a good location about 10 mins walk from Waverley station, we required a room for 4 persons (3adults&1child) the room was a good size, and more comfortable than expected. The sofa bed was ok for 1 night and 1 person and the amenities were sufficient. Our only bother was due to each floor having steps from the elevator, not easy for ladies with heavy prams. Would recommend! 24 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money Great location, this hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station. Opposite the hotel, in the Omni Centre is a range of chain restaurants perfect for refueling after a days sightseeing or shopping. Main tourist attractions are just a few minutes walk from this hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. What really makes the Holiday Inn Express, Edinburgh City Centre excellent value for money is the complimentary breakfast. The wide range of items, a three hour breakfast window and the ease of buffet selection is a great way to start your day. 15 September 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 13 next>>