Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 24 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 25 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 271 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Room was clean and the staff was great. The location was perfect. Easy walking to everything 20 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Guest service Absoutely everyone that we had the opportunity to interact with was very friendly and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. There were however 2 events that really stood out in separating your hotel from any other. While walking on the Royal Mile on Thursday I realized that my diamond earring was missing. Having no idea where it could be I wrote it off thinking I would never see it again and when I got back to the room it was laying on the shelf. I was amazed. I travel for work and stay in hotels more than 250 nights per year and left hundreds of dollars worth of items that were never recovered. There was also a young man working the night shift both Wednesday and Thursday night that was wonderful. There was a strange guy hanging out around the door and he was very concerned about the safety of all of the guests. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. 15 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in great city Great location. Helpful, friendly,polite,courteous staff. Comfortable, quiet rooms. Love free internet. Highly recommend in a great city. 13 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location. Personnel very friendly. Excellent location as to the sights. 08 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central Hotel with excellent service Very nice hotel with parking close to the hotel - a bonus in Edinburgh. Very clean and compact with excellent staff and very welcoming. Good hot free breakfast with ample choice. Only criticism is that I would upgrade quality of sausage and change supplier. Perhaps also extend breakfast time by 30 mins at weekends. Very central for many attractions. Platinum Elite Ambassador 08 May 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not good The room was fine sized, but the rest of the hotel was cramped, even for Europe. The hotel staff were average at best. The cleaning staff did not take dirty glasses out of the room and did not do a great job cleaning the bathroom, but did clean the rest of the room very well. I was with my father in law who was waiting for a package to be delivered of medication. He began leaving his name and room number two days before package delivery with the staff at the front desk so they would remember him, and take the package for him. It did not work, when the package came to the front desk the staff said there was no one here by that name (because the room was under my name) and sent the package back. When my father in law returned to the hotel and ask the staff why they didn't take the package he asked for all he got was "no one wrote it down", but he saw staff members make a note of his request. Breakfast was bad. No variety and taste was bland. Coffee was good though. I would suggest to make minor quality improvements and better variety. Everyone in my party thought the same so it was not just me. When it was time to check out my in laws went down stairs and were basically accosted by the staff that it was checkout time and that we needed to pay. It was a little embarrassing that mu in laws had to come to me to say the front desk was looking for payment. I guess they don't have express checkout and use the credit card that is holding the room, I suggest that they should do this. Location was great, it was right on the Royal mile and near a public transportation. However, not a great stay. It felt more like a motel than a hotel. i have stayed in many HI and HI Express, this is by far the worst one. There really wasn't anything to this hotel other than 4 walls and a roof. If I ever go back to Scotland I will stay at another hotel in the same area. I would also like to say this is my first review of a hotel ever, I think my stay was that bad. 25 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff The most friendly and helpful reception staff I have encountered in any hotel I have stayed in. The room and bed were very comfortable, although there was some noise during the night/early morning from other guests in the corridors. Very conveniently located for all city centre attractions and a short walk from Waverley train station. Breakfast fairly simple but more than adequate. 21 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Professional Staff The staff was friendly, helpful and recognized that they were dealing with tourists and the patience that required. An example related to one of the front desk staff who went out of his way to insure that we had a smooth booking for a National Rail ticket from Edinburgh to York. He assisted us in getting to the right web site to book the tickets, helped us cost and finalize the tickets and just tolerated our inexperience dealing with the British rail system. He was fantastic and worked with us for a long period of time. The hotel is in a great location centrally located right off the Royal Mile. 20 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Nice hotel, excellent location , friendly staff. Would I recommend the hotel - yes. Stayed April 2014. 17 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice family hotel Great location easy to walk to royal mile. We had a family room, the second bed for children is very old pull out sofa with no mattress had to ask for an exta duvet for my son to sleep to try and soften the hard surface. Noticed other people on trip adviser also complained about this. Breakfast was basic but fine. Staff extremely friendly. Would stay again if we got a better second bed. 12 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality hotel. From the welcome to departure our experience was first class. We were treated as welcome and valued guests ,made to feel as if we were not just another group.. room was good clean and tidy ,tea and coffie available ,which was very welcome. Staff went out of their was to accommodate us with all the requests we made ,even to helping print out boarding passes for our plane trip onward.breakfast more than adequate Altogether. A very satisfying stay with holiday inn hotels and most certainly first on our list for future trips when looking for a first class holiday accommodation Thank you holiday inns and your staff ,first class. 11 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not great service but comfortable. We have stayed at three Holiday Inns recently - Chester, Glasgow and now Edinburgh. We found that the Edinburgh hotel was not up to the standards of the others particularly Chester. For instance, the others offered complimentary 24 hour beverages (not just tea/coffee in the room) in the lounge area and also fruit was always available. We were surprised that there were no umbrellas available for guests to borrow. The staff, though generally helpful, were not as openly welcoming as other locations; also one of your front desk people (male) was unable to provide driving directions when we were leaving Edinburgh. Not earth shattering but some room for improvement. 07 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming staff and great location Great hotel..near everything the city has to offer. Quick and efficient service,did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Prompt check in and check out. Rooms on the small side but very clean and beds really comfortable. Staff outstanding. Will definitely return if ever in Edinburgh again! 03 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff in great location really impressed with the reception we received - almost as if the receptionist recognised us from the size of our party - and checked us in very efficiently - gave us good advice and a really useful map. Hotel has a great location - within easy walk of castle, Holyrood, Waverley station, grassmarket and all old town attractions. Breakfast room bigger than other hotels of a similar size so consequently plenty of room for those attending - not waiting for tables, replenishment of food items was carried out before there was a desperate need - only slight moan would be there was only one coffee / tea machine = which at busy times caused a queue to form - but overall an enjoyable stay - special mention to karalina on the housekeeping team who excelled in her duties - thanx 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really good central Edinburgh hotel I was after a hotel close to Waverley station and this met the bill being less than a 5 minute walk away. The hotel is quite small and compact but offers everything expected of an Express Holiday Inn. Couldn't fault anything about the place really. Rooms were clean, staff friendly, breakfast good. All in all a really good central Edinburgh stay. 27 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff I want to especially compliment two of your staff. There was a young lady named Ann and a young 18 year old young man who made our stay with you very enjoyable. The young man stated that he is or will be attending the University to become a paramedic. I am sorry but can't recall his name. We never met the Manager. These two young people were a joy to talk with and were very helpful. A great tip for you.....these two young people would be a great asset to your company in future years. 25 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay A very big thank you to the staff at this Holiday Inn. I have not stayed at a hotel where staff have been so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location was excellent.Very close to lots of local attractions. We got to see so much of Edinburgh. Our rooms were perfect, very clean and we were able to have a hot shower anytime of the day. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. You can help yourself to what you want. and as much as you like. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Keep up the good work staff. Many Thanks Joanna 24 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by royal mile this hotel is listed as royal mile but it is actually in cow gate confusing, the beds are a bit soft ,but the pillows are terrible, however .clean room ,nice breakfast,recomend this hotel for a stay 20 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff in great location This was our third stay here and just as good as the first two times. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is very convenient for all of the sights in the centre of Edinburgh. We like the choice at breakfast, especially the fact that there is a hot food option. The only downside was that the free wifi didn't work well even for casual use. For a short stay this wasn't too inconvenient and it would not put us off staying there. In fact, for the price it would be hard to beat. 07 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Old Town Great location in Old Town. Staff most helpful. Room spotless and comfy. 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location to see sights hotel is ten minutes walk from princes street and is in a quiet location away from the main hustle and bustle of the city. Train station only ten minutes walk as well. Staff were very friendly and willing to help with directions. Breakfast was as usual very busy due to half term holiday, but staff were very calm and opened up extra dining room for guests. Nice pubs for food five minutes away especially the advocate, fantastic food for price and friendly staff. whiskii bar 3 minutes away, great traditional music some nights and modern other nights, fantastic variety and atmosphere. Only minus, you have to walk up quite a steep hill to get to these places or walk a different way to the main part which would take at least 20 minutes, also vagrants on the street on what seemed every corner of the main street but not anywhere near hotel. 02 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms esp the disabled bedroom We were in the easy access suite which made me feel very safe. A quiet and very comfortable overnight stay. Great welcome from well-trained and very cheerful staff 28 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, convenient central location, good facilities From the moment of welcome (smiling and attentive), everything was good - close to Royal Mile, comfortable bed, breakfast of scrambled egg/sausage/baked beans, all good! 27 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Good location, easy walking distance from Edinburgh Waverley Station. Also east to walk to South Bridge where many buses depart from. Not actually on Royal Mile, but parallel one street apart, which is convenient but makes it nice and quiet, path alongside hotel goes straight through to Royal Mile. Breakfast best we've experienced at Holiday Inn Express. Hotel was clean and smart. Room usual good standard. As an IHG Gold Member I was offered either a voucher for a free drink at the bar or 200 points. I'm not sure why IHG only ever give 1 voucher when you've booked 2 in a room, I had the same in New York, they gave me free breakfast vouchers, but only for me not for my husband! I would certainly use this Holiday Inn Express again if I needed a hotel in the area. 15 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fine, but nothing special Location was great, and overall it was fine. However, the room was very small for three people; the breakfast was OK but all very standard, awful coffee, reconstituted scrambled egg, etc, and wiFi never worked. Nowhere, apart from a very small impersonal space in the foyer to 'relax' over a drink. staff were friendly. Room was clean, so all in all depends what you want out of a hotel room. It was overpriced for want we got. 12 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was was like I'd never been away Great service from a wonderful hotel situated just off the Royal Mile. Staff were superb and helpful as always. To say it must be around 2 years since I stayed here the staff recognised me and made me feel at home. Eva on the front desk was her typical friendly,cheerful self and is a credit to the hotel. Great place to stay for business or for exploring the delights of Edinburgh. 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bacon for breakfast please! Excellent stay, but please, please, please, bacon for breakfast! Is there such a thing as the "Full Scottish/English" WITHOUT bacon?! All our American friends travelling with us were so looking forward to it #as you can't get decent bacon over there#, BUT THERE WAS NONE #also a fried instead of scrambled egg occasionally, and the odd mushroom wouldn't have gone amiss#. Leave it with you. Apart from the "bacon episode", great hotel/location and staff. Thank you. MH Calcutta Cup Trip Organiser. 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ANOTHER FAULTLESS STAY This is the third time I have stayed at Holiday Inn Express in Cowgate Edinburgh, and on each visit have found all the staff exceptionally nice, polite and professional. The hotel is in a great situation for both The Festival Theatre and The Playhouse Theatre as well as many other attractions. It is very good for connections with local buses and Waverley station is only about a 10 minute walk away. There is a good choice of bars and restaurants on The Royal Mile and in The Grassmarket only a stroll away. When coming to the city centre to stay this will always be my choice of hotel. 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice comfortable room, nice service and nice breakfast ! 06 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay Unfortunately we only had an overnight stay but for the short period of time we had a warm welcome from attentive staff and a welcome back, which we hope to do very soon'. I would like to highlight the reception staff as examples to your hotel as they showed a high level of customer care. Thank you again 05 February 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>