Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 23 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 24 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 73 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Immer wieder gerne :-) Ideal für einen City-Trip Ein sehr nettes Hotel, mit sehr gutem Service und kostenlosem Frühstück. Kinder bis 17 Jahren sind inklusive, genau wie das Frühstück. Und um es vorne weg zu nehmen, dass Frühstück ist sehr reichhaltig. Und in Anbetracht dessen, dass es inklusive ist, sehr gut. Man hat die Wahl zwischen verschiedenen Kaffeespezialitäten, verschiedenen Teesorten, warmer Milch, Kakao, Apfel und Orangensaft, Eiswasser und kalter Milch. Es stehen verschiedene Brötchen, Brot und Toast Sorten zur Auswahl. Croissants und Schokobrötchen. Es gab zwei verschiedene Käsesorten, Aufschnitt, Salami, Schinken und Hähnchenbrustfilet. Frisches Obst, Joghurt, Obstsalat, Müsli, Cerealien, Marmeladen, Nutella, Tomaten, Gurken und gekochte Eier rundeten das Angebot ab, Sicherlich habe ich noch das Ein oder Andere vergessen, doch dies ist wenigstens ein kleiner Eindruck, was einem erwartet. Es stimmt, Rührei, Bacon, Würstchen etc. fehlen. Doch dann muss man eben auch bereit sein, 16 - 24 Euro für das Frühstück zu zahlen. Dieses eben aufgezählte Frühstück ist kostenlos, und zwar für alle Gäste. Auch wenn man zu Viert in einem Zimmer übernachtet. Toll fanden wir auch die Frühstücks Ampel!!! :-) Der Service am Check-in war sehr freundlich und das Einchecken super einfach. Genau wie unser Check-out. Als wir Fragen hatten, wurde uns sofort und professionell geholfen. Das Personal im gesamten Hotel, war sehr engagiert und super freundlich. Bei Frühstück wurde ständig aufgefüllt und gereinigt. Und dies habe ich sehr selten erlebt, egal in welcher Preisklasse. Ein riesen Lob für das Personal!!! Die Zimmer sind modern, funktional und gemütlich. Doch bei ausgezogenem Schlafsofa, doch recht beengt. Unser Zimmer bestand aus einen Queen Size Bett und einem Schlafsofa für meine beiden Mädels. Schreibtisch, TV, Klimaanlage, Ganzköprerspiegel, kleinem Schrank, Telefon, Safe, Kaffee und Teezubereiter.Das Zimmer war sehr sauber. Kleiner Tip für alle die zusätzliche Kopfkissen und Decke benötigen. Housekeeping!!! ;-) Steht auch extra in dem Who is Who auf dem Schreibtisch. Ein, bzw zwei Kleinigkeiten hätten den Aufenthalt abgerundet. Ich hätte mir eine Minibar oder Kühlschrank gewünscht. Und einen Vergrößerung Spiegel im Badezimmer. Aber das sind kleine Luxus Wünsche, die in einem 3 Sterne Hotel kein Standard sind. Das Badezimmer ist nicht riesig, jedoch völlig ausreichend und ebenfalls sehr sauber. Da man die Badezimmer Tür, auch als Toilettentür benutzen kann, gab es keinen "Stau" im Badezimmer. Im Foyer des Hotels befindet sich eine Bar, Automaten mit Süßigkeiten und Getränken. Ein Automat für Heißgetränke und ein Eiswürfel Spender. So wie einem kostenlosen Internetzugang und Sitzecke. Fazit unseres Kurztrips zum 1. Mai: Das Hotel ist auf jeden Fall weiter zu empfehlen. Gerade auch für Familien. Die bei unserem Aufenthalt zahlreich vorhanden waren. Das Preis- Leistungsverhältnis ist sehr gut. Der Service hervorragend!!! Ich wurde sehr positiv überrascht. :-) 05 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Schöner Aufenthalt in Essen Waren "auf der Durchreise" und haben das Holiday Inn Express gewählt, da man hier ein 2-Bett-Zimmer mit Couchaufbettung buchen konnte - der Preis war super. Das Zimmer zwar sehr klein für 4 Personen, aber ok. (Eine Nacht zuvor waren wir im Holiday Inn Düsseldorf Airport mit 2 franz. Betten - das Zimmer war größer). Das Frühstücksbuffet war hervorragend - alles was das Herz begehrt. Würden beim nächsten Aufenthalt auf jeden Fall wieder dieses Hotel buchen. Negative Anmerkung: Über die Buchungshotline von Holiday Inn konnten wir das Zimmer nicht buchen, da man eine KReditkartennummer benötigt. Da wir keine besitzen, konnte man uns keine Alternative bieten. Direkte Buchung im Hotel war dann problemlos - netter Telefonkontakt zur Reservierung. 25 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Preis Ich kann dieses hotel nur weiter empfehlen, ich bin alle zwei Wochen da.es liegt direkt im Zentrum. Was will man mehr und das früstück ist super.sowie fast alle Mitarbeiter sind nett. 22 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good quality This hotel was one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels I have visited: very spacious areas, very comfortable beds, and spotless clean rooms. For the price I paid, including breakfast, I was very satisfied with what I received. I was also glad to learn that, as of July 2014, the IHG Rewards Club members will have free WiFi access. My special thanks to the staff that provided me free WiFi access complimentary, even though this campaign has not already started. I would like to request some kind of offer or reduction for the IHG Reward Club members for the 24-hr parking rate, which I consider as too high. Overall I enjoyed very much my stay there and I had some time to relax and to spend some quality time with my companion. 12 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel in einer perfekten Lage Das Hotel befindet sich in einer tollen Lage, die City von Essen ist fußläufig zu erreichen. Die Zimmer sind groß und geräumig. Das Frühstück ist bis auf die Brötchen vollkommen in Ordnung, es ist alles da. Allerdings waren wir von der Mitarbeiterin an der Rezeption enttäuscht, denn diese war schon beim Check-In sehr kurz angebunden. Wir hatten 3 Doppelzimmer mit Doppelbett reserviert, 2 Doppelzimmer waren mit getrennten Betten. Als wir die selbe Dame am nächsten Tag (Abreisetag) darauf ansprachen, meinte sie nur kurz, das sie uns darauf hingewiesen hätte, das war aber 100% ig nicht der Fall, wie mir die anderen Gäste bestätigten. Also da geht noch ein bisschen Freundlichkeit, sonst alles Bestens 10 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I have stayed at this hotel for 6 nights at the same time each year for the last four years. The staff have always been extremely pleasant and very helpful. Although it is a city centre hotel it is very quiet and makes for a relaxing stay. Cleanliness of the rooms and public areas is always faultless. The whole experience has exceeded my expectations on every visit. 09 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfekt Wir ( 2. P. ) waren " TOP " zufrieden !! Können wir nur weiterempfehlen .Wir kommen auf jeden fall wieder. 08 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sehr empfehlenswertes Hotel Nach problemloser Zimmer-Vorbestellung im Nov. 2013 erfolgte die Übernachtung vom 26. auf den 27. März 2014. Die Anmeldung an der Rezeption war freundlich. Das Doppel-Zimmer erwies sich als ruhig und einrichtungsmäßig völlig ausreichend. Badezimmer ebenfalls i.O. und vor allem war Sauberkeit groß geschrieben. Das Frühstück am nächsten Morgen ohne Beschwerde. Es wurde alles übliche in ausreichender Vielzahl angeboten. Noch ein Wort zur Lage des Hotels. Nur ca. 400 Meter vom Limbecker Platz entfernt, mit U-Bahn-Schlüssen etc. und einem Einkaufs-Center. Parkmöglichkeiten gibt es im Parkhaus direkt am Hotel. Freie Parkplätze sind dagegen schwieriger zu finden, man muß Glück haben, ist aber bei Anreise am späten Nachmittag wie bei uns noch möglich gewesen. Fazit: Wir werden dieses Hotel auf jeden Fall bei einer Übernachtung in Essen wieder buchen. 04 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Top weekend We had a great stay in this hotel, right in the center. Very nice staff. 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ein wirklich sehr empfehlenswertes Hotel Sehr freundliches Personal - ansprechendes absolut sauberes Zimmer - zwei unterschiedlich gepolsterte Betten zur Auswahl (hart/weich) - reichhaltiges Frühstücksbuffet... ich war sehr zufrieden und würde dieses Hotel jederzeit wieder buchen. Zudem hatte es sich sehr kulant bei der Buchung gezeigt, bei der mir ein Fehler unterlaufen war. 26 March 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what it seems Have just come back from a week long stay at this property. While initially choose it because it had been recently renovated, I was very disappointed with the overall experience. Here is why: *New rooms yet the AC takes its time to warm up the room and there is a draft coming from the (closed) window. *Full renovation but the internet is very slow and did not work properly in the lobby. Reported it and the Front Desk staff only said "sorry, there is nothing we can do about it" *Front Desk and Restaurant Staff was curt and dry in conversation, bordering on unfriendly. No recognition of IHG status at check in. *Breakfast was very simple (but have to admit the coffee was great) *HORRIBLE cell phone reception. If you market yourself as a business hotel, this is a big no, no. Had to walk outside to get reception, never in the room, hallways or parts of the lobby. On the plus side, there was one young Front Desk attendant that far outshone the rest of the staff in his customer service skills. The rooms were quite ok in size, good bed and pillows and ample bathroom. 02 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weihnashtmarkt in Essen Wir waren geschäftlich eingeladen zum Besuch des Weihnachtsmarktes in Essen, obwohl wir nur circa 30 Kilometer entfernt wohnen, haben wir uns für eine Übernachtung in Essen entschieden. Der Check Inn war förmlich, und freundlich! Das Zimmer war ein ruhiges Zimmer zum Innenhof. Ein klar strukturiertes Business-Hotel nicht mehr und nicht weniger. Der Service am Frühstücksbuffet war wohl personell fehlgeplant. Leider nur eine Mitarbeiterin, welche das Buffet nachfüllte und die Tische abräumte. 23 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay, nice price We stayed with our 2 kids at this hotel for 2 nights. The room wasn't very big, but it is absolutely one of the best HI Express hotels we've been to. The complimentary breakfast was good value for (no) money, the bed and sofabed were comfortable, the bathroom compact but spacious enough (good shower cabin), first time ever we didn't run out of kleenex tissues in a hotel room, considering the kids' running noses and the rainy weather. Only improvement would be to have some wardrobe hooks mounted to the wall near the entry of the room so you can hang your clothes/coats somewhere, because the available closet is in style with the room: small. And complimentary wifi would also be more in line with current times (I paid 5 euro for 24hrs connection). You need a little walk towards the shopping mall and city center which can be a showstopper for some elderly, but it didn't stop us from enjoying our stay. I always thought that HI Express hotels were max. 3 stars, but if you consider everything including the friendly staff, I can understand why it feels like a 4 star hotel, 29 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Wake-up call doesn't work The hotel is okay, but the wake-up call system doesn't work. I had to to call the reception to set-uo the call. In the morning instead of 5:00 AM the reception called my 5:50 AM. Unacceptable! I found out that other customers had the same issue. Less important, the mattress was way to soft. The sofa was also not uncomfortable. 13 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Choice of continental breakfast is good, but it would be nice to have cooked breakfast available. 11 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good central location Very well situated in the town centre but with parking on-site. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room with a choice of pillows which actually resemble what is shown on the label i.e. firm or soft. No flannel or shower mitt but sadly this is now usual in HIE rooms. Good choice of TV channels including several from UK. No dinner served but not a problem as there are plenty of eating places nearby. A good choice for a stay in Essen 05 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I was good time I went to Essen last week was a very satisfactory remember at hotel service. All staff was friendly, gave good service. The only thing, there is no fridge in the room was uncomfortable. However, even after I plan to use. 03 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent service in a clean, modern hotel Stopped for a couple of nights with some friends and we were all very pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms, the comfortable beds and the excellent service from all the staff. A short walk from the Limbecker Plaza shopping mall and the city centre this hotel was a real find and we all agreed that we would stay here again the next time we are in Essen. Highly recommended. 31 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by K-Show attendence This was my first stay in this location while attending the K-Show. I will be staying here for the rest of my professional tours. The staf was more than helpful, the central location to the subway system and shopping was very benificial. Thanks for the support! 28 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service Receptionist almost un-friendly when checking in. I asked about parking and she hardly gave her time to give an answer. 20 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business/ city trip choice Hotel is located close to pedestrian area of Essen, front-desk is friendly and supportive, rooms fair, ergonomically, clean. Efficient, but rather impersonal - good for business or 1-2 nights. Wi-fi works well but is charged extra, breakfast is poor - such a pity. All in all: OK, but nothing special to remember. 21 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Typical HI Express Typical HI Express, I like the new design. What I didn't liked is the fact that there is no real Elite Member benefit. The only thing is free internet which you would get in every IHG hotel world-wide and we only got one voucher for 2 people with 3 devices with the need for a connection. 09 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and quiet. Nice hotel in central location, with easy acces from autobahns. Comfortable bed and pleasant room. Good continental breakfast. 30 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another Enjoyable Stay This is the third time that I have stayed with the HI Express in Essen and I was not disappointed for choosing it again. I called the Reception desk a day before to inform them that I would not be arriving before 2100hrs and although my room was paid in advance so that my room was guaranteed the lady still placed a comment on the computer. Arrived over an hour later than anticipated and was met with a smile and a friendly goodevening. In less than five minutes, I had checked in and was in my room. This time around, I had a room looking over the front of the hotel, which could get noisy per other reviewers comments. I had no trouble at all. On the Saturday evening there was loud disco music but by 2230hrs everything was quiet. Hotel room was very clean. Breakfast was plentiful with a wide assortment of bread and rolls. For my taste it was exellent as I do not care for cooked/fried breakfasts. Thank you HI Essen for another delightful stay in a clean, comfortable room and bathroom. 27 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We had a great stay in this hotel. Close to the centre of town. 07 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Angenehmes Hotel Ich war positv überrascht über die gute Lage, Verkehrsanbindung, angenehme Zimmer, gutes Bad, gutes Frühstück. Parkgarage im Haus, sehr angenehm, etwas zu teuer. 31 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Essen City Centre Typisches Hotel für Geschäftsleute. Die Ausstattung ist zwar auf das Nötige oprimiert; dafür ist das Preis/Leistungsverhältnis exzelent, die Mitarbeiter sind freundlich und kompetent, die Zimmer sind sauber, die Lage ist - auch ohne Auto - bestens, mit Auto angeschlossene Tiefgarage. Nutze das Hotel seit vielen Jahren, früher auch für Tagungsgäste. Stets (!) problemlos. 27 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Clean rooms The stay was verry good, the rooms are clean the personal is verry friendly I was welcom as an Priority Club Platin Member. 10 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent We had an excellent stay in this hotel. Perfect was the near to the city center. The hotel was clean and the service good. 09 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by positiver Aufenthalt Das Zimmer war modern und in einem guten Zustand. Das Hotel ist für einen kurzfristigen Aufenthalt in Essen gut geeignet. 05 March 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>