Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 23 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 262 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding attendance I was attending a wedding in Colchester. I utilized this hotel because of experience in other Holiday Inn Express hotels. Excellent quality. 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for a good value break! My partner and I came to stay for a long weekend as we were visiting friends in Colchester. We found the whole stay brilliant, the only gripe we had would be poss the cooked breakfast could have been more varied. Also as it was a beautiful weekend we would have liked to have sat outside on our return but there was no grassed area with a bench to sit on! But overall it was brilliant! Thank you. 11 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Slightly disappointed Room was clean and well presented, bathroom was good and nice power shower. The main disappointment which was a big one was the bed, the best way to describe it was like a water bed. Whilst I have never slept on a water bed, I envisage it would be like this, the mattress was to soft and if me or my wife happened to move or rolled over, then the other would also move, as both suffer from back pain on occasions this could have aggravated matters (fortunately it didn't). Also surprised no bacon in cooked breakfast, plus sausages and eggs were cold. When we arrived we were asked for our initial impression (having just walked through the doors) but were not asked anything when we checked out, apart from that, staff were friendly and helpful 08 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet accessible hotel This hotel is a very tranquil one just off the A12 however it is a little difficult to find if you are not too sure or do not have a sat nav. I got lost on a couple of occasions, and one was quiet worrying driving about te Essex countryside late at night. The hotel is well laid out and just far enough from the A12 to cut the noise but close enough to it to get places easily. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant but what turned me off was the hot food at breakfast. The cereals, toast, drinks etc at breakfast was great just the scrambled egg put me off. Dedham was close by with great pubs and at a pinch you could walk (I did). The room was large and had all the facilities but not a lot of storage space. If I had stayed one night then it was ok but 2 nights and a few shelves would have helped me. The places to go includes Dedmha sorry it should be Dedham, this is on the website and the TV. All in all a great place to stay and to get out from just needs some tweaking 06 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditionig a plus This was a very clean Hotel, all the staff from desk clerks to the cleaners were very helpful especially when we didn't know how to make the lights to switch on,(it's the key card you use to open the door. its so you don't leave the lights on, very energy saving). Because i get very hot at night and have sleeping problems the air conditioning was GREAT, i can't remember the last time i slept so well, i will be going back for that reason, even if my wife has to wear pajamas. The breakfast was nice but an English Breakfast is not English if there is no bacon but there was a wide variety of things to eat.. 05 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Sofa Bed Sofa bed had a poor quality mattress with springs that could be felt. It needed at least a mattress topper. Poor attitude of receptionist. Set of towels short, requested another but they never turned up. Noisy volatile neighbours throughout the night. Breakfast good but no staff in attendance to answer queries. 04 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Night away Nice hotel, friendly staff, but disappointed with my reception for my mobile phone. I understand it isn't the issue for the hotel, but in its place was the hotel WIFI, which in itself was poor and in my room, ground floor close to the reception desk, I had no mobile signal nor picked up the WIFI for the 24 hours of my stay. The breakfast seemed very processed, but edible and thats in complete contrast to the numerous other HIEX hotel breakfasts at other stays, which seemed fresher and laid out better. Clean room and comfortable......... 31 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Loation Great hotel I found this hotel to be ideally situated for my destination the availability of the dates were good the appearance of the hotel was good and parking outside the entrance was ample upon arrival the receptionist took several minutes to find my reservation a lift to the second floor was available which I found useful upon approaching my allocated room the hallway was obstructed by housekeeping trolleys as they were still cleaning well after check in time inside the room a fold out bed settee was laid out with bedding although I had not requested it, this prevented me from using the chair and desk as there was no room and later that day I had climb over the bed settee to close the curtains, and again to open them 30 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, quiet hotel - although resturant could be better I'll start with the bad points - (1) Phoned prior to arrival to ensure a cot would be in the room. When we arrived there wasn't one and so needed ot request one from Reception. (2) Upon arrival, no acknoledgement of Rewards club memebership, or bounus point offer. (3) Resturant choice limited and no children's menu. No lunch menu so had to walk to the petrol station to get sandwhiches. Breakfast choice limited, but that's a common issue with Holiday Inn Express. Good points - (1) Staff resolved the cot issue very quickly. (2) Staff were able to direct us to a great family pub/resturant for dinner. (3) Staff were able to prodive us with a great taxi firm to take us into the centre for the wedding we were attending and wasa resonable price. (4) Nice, out of city centre lcoation which si great for getting kids off to sleep and not being disturbed by drunken clubbers. 28 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed not comfortable mattress very worn out Having stopped in 4 holiday inn ( express) over 4 nights this was the most uncomfortable bed , also the bed was not made up as good as the other hotels it still looked unmade , even so it did not spoil our stay, good breakfast, helpfully staff good price and good location for Colchester. 27 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean & Friendly with some minor issues Staff were very friendly and helpful, we were allocated room 104 which just so happens to be above some sort of plant room. This had a constant noise coming from it which was a bit disturbing as we had travelled nearly 500 miles and were a bit weary so I would avoid this room if I go back. The mattress sagged a bit which took a bit of getting used to. Breakfast was much better than what I have read in some reviews however on Sunday morning we were on a schedule and when we went for breakfast there was no places available so we had to give breakfast a miss. The only other complaint would be that I bought a pint of lager and a cup of tea from the bar and was charged nearly £7. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would use again when we come back to Colchester 27 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by pull out sofa bed very uncomfortable, springs in my back all night. but explained to Reception staff, a duvet was put over the mattress + good night Very helpful staff, very clean rooms, nice breakfast, good location. No drawers or wardrobes so room looked untidy as clothes spread out on room desk!! Would stay again. great Wedding, lovely weekend. Thank you. 26 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable for the price Price and comfort were good but my wife did not get a good night's sleep. This was due to the pillows not being comfortable and some outside noise. The breakfast was adequate but not as good as normal Holiday Inn where we have stayed at Colchester. The coffee provided in the eating room was dreadful. In future, when I again visit relations, I will probably pay more to stay again at the main Holiday Inn in Colchester. 25 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not the greatest I signed up to the rewards scheme as have stayed a few times before with this chain and thought I would certainly be staying in other hotels but I have to say after this visit I may change my mind the staff I encountered gave the impression they would rather not be there and small little things in the room overlooked as if room had been done last minute. I had booked a room with dinner I know the choices would be limited but there was a sign with check out our specials but when asked I was told most of those were eaten the night before so forget them and reading between the lines got the distinct impression I was being told the food was not the greatest so ended up eating out which again was limited due to location of hotel all in all not the greatest of hotel stays. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service As before we had a great trouble free stay at this Inn. Staff are very helpful and pleasant. Room kept clean and tidy. Excellent position off of the A12. 22 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by it does what it says on the tin Weekend to stay near friends. Everything was good. Obviusly not catering for meals as only 4 things on menu, like fish and chips or pizza, so dont go there for a splash up meal, Would have like to have seen a full english on the menu, but plenty of other options. A good stay though and would go again 20 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by As expected I stayed for 3 nights whilst on business in the area. It is easy to find if going southbound on the A12, a different matter if going northbound. Basically, it is right next to the southbound Shell garage but if your going northbound come off at the exit just after the northbound shell garage, take the first right, first right and finally first right to get to the southbound shell garage! Colchester town centre is about 15 minutes away by car and easy to get to. The football ground is about a 5 minute drive too. Lots of free parking and check in was easy. Staff recognised my iHG membership which was great, so thank you. Rooms are well equipped, clean but beds are soft and not to my liking. All has been updated but the showers when turned on leak water everywhere, even when I wasn't in it! I did report this and I think its something to do with the design as I had the same problem at HIE in Germany! As previously mentioned, breakfast although free isn't great. Considering the size of the hotel, there is very little choice and very little of that, it soon runs out. They have a bar and limited restaurant menu on an evening about 4-5 choices, which I guess is to cater for the usual one night stays. Staff were all polite and helpful. Although none on show at breakfast, which is probably why food choices run out as they are not replenished quickly enough. Overall, a good hotel for a one night stop off. 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very relaxing stay Enjoyed our family visit, we booked two rooms as we visited with our Son. Daughter-in-law and Grandchildren .Booked to visit Colchester Zoo which was only 15 minutes drive away, thoroughly enjoyed our stay including free Breakfast, although we both found beds a bit hard and we tended to roll into the middle of the bed. Otherwise experience was Brilliant.... 17 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast What a nice hotel ! I really enjoyed my stay but if I am to say anything I must mention the breakfast; eggs, sausage and beans doesn't constitute a cooked breakfast (in my eyes). Everything else was brilliant - I hope they take note of my comment about the breakfast ! 17 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Need new matteress Really nice place, nice staff, only one problem, mattress needs replacing in room 162, you could feel the springs in the mattress, had to sleep on top of the quilt to make it bearable, cleaning staff very kindly gave us an extra sheet to sleep under. Otherwise all very good. 17 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk, breakfast staff Front desk staff, excellent-polite and interested and efficient. Breakfast staff didn't engage with customers/us - area could be tidier, staff could be more approachable. Cooked breakfast scrambled egg was horrible!! 12 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms good breakfsat give it a miss Nice staff good clean comfortable room. breakfast is poor. No bacon cheap sausages and dry scrambled egg. Love my food but could not finish it. 10 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay A great place to stay the staff are top draw. Can you please serve Porridge for breakfast with warm milk. Try and move the outside smoking area not very welcoming 10 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another nearly perfect Holiday Inn Express Holiday Inn Express is a very high standard of hotel at a very good price. if only the breakfast included some bacon it would be near perfect. This visit was just marred by one incident where on trying to pay for a round of drinks by credit card, I was also charged for seven meals that another member of my party had already requested be charged to his room. When I asked for a receipt to clarify what I had actually paid for, this took nearly one hour to produce. 10 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money Great value for money let down only by an uncomfortable mattress and less than appealing breakfast. Free internet was a bonus but it turned out to be an essential because the area seems to be a dead spot for mobile phones and dongles. 08 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Odd location! We chose this hotel as we booked a very late cruise from Harwich and decided to stop over the night before. The hotel was pretty good for our stay, staff were excellent from start to finish. Room was great and very clean, bed was unfortunately not very comfy as in many of the Holiday inn express. Disappointed with breakfast not as good as others we have stayed in, quality was not good. But my main gripe is what a strange location set back behind a petrol station on the A12 with no signposts (although I did find out this was not the hotels fault) and a trip round the houses to get back from Colchester, you will need sat nav or a good map. Overall stay was fine but I do not think I would stop again just because of the odd location. 08 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid room 134 Avoid room 134 - broken mattress and box springs. Staff was courteous but should have not booked someone to sleep in this room until the furniture was fixed. We did get moved and the following night the room was fine. 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Over all very good but the breakfast could have been better. I would use them again 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly welcome We arrived late, after 23:30, after a long journey from the North West of England to a very friendly welcome from the staff on duty who were interested in where we were going on Holiday and gave us advice regarding the ferry we needed to catch the following morning. There was only a disabled parking bay available but the staff insisted on us using it as we were the last guests to check in that night. The room was very clean and comfortable and we had a great night's rest and a lovely breakfast in the morning. We would highly recommend this Inn. Thank you! 06 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and modernhotel - great bathroom! This hotel is clean and modern, the rooms are comfortable and the bathroom is lovely. Only small criticisms are that the light in the main room could be brighter for getting ready and the air con a bit more efficient. Other than that a very convenient and nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. 06 August 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>