Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 261 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Location very handy next to A12.The hotel is always very clean and the staff are excellent 27 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good stay We stayed at this hotel at the same time last year and one year on the standards seem to have slipped a little but not enough to put us off. Room cleanliness was acceptable but everywhere could do with a bit of a wipe down, splatters from people making tea / coffee on wall, kettle etc, shower could have done with a further wipe and toilet could have done with a scrub (and a toilet brush provided for guests). We had to ask for toilet paper on arrival as barely 1/4 of a roll had been provided however upon asking we were given some quickly. Soap in shower did not appear to have been filled up also. There was a bag of rubbish outside our door for the day we stayed - odd. Minor things really. On the plus side, lovely room, light and airy, lovely big shower all you need for a nice relaxed overnight stay! Overall, good stay, nice staff, good location, good price, good parking and nice breakfast. Will be here the same time next year I expect! 26 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely staff, nice breakfast, old, sagging double mattresses Staff were generally lovely - we usually find they are at HI hotels. Breakfast was great. When paying to spend a night somewhere, I expect it to be close in comfort to my own bed - it's never quite the same, but still... I certainly expect it to be more comfortable than the camping mattress I've just spent the previous week on. What a dreadful night's sleep the Holiday Inn Express served up for us and with mis-represented booking information on Expedia as we thought we were getting a kingsize bed. When I book with Holiday Inn, I don't expect to have to spend extra time researching the bed sizes beforehand. Better book with someone who guarantees a kingsize in future then, I guess... 25 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Colchester Holiday inn express Excellent price, and the room was very comfortable. however breakfast staff could do with providing service with a smile, and spend less time chatting and more time clearing tables and replenishing the breakfast items. Overall quality excellent, with the bonus of free wifi, sadly let down by the lack of a smile. 25 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First visit was very good Down to Colchester for business and the Hotel made things easy. Especially friendly staff! 24 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I stay at this hotel at least three times a week. The staff are great. I would recommend using this hotel for leisure or business 22 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal place for a great family stay We had an amazing time here.All the staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to be helpful. Our rooms were spacious and of the highest spec, very clean and comfortable. Our weekend stay was for a family wedding and this hotel was in the perfect spot for travelling to Colchester. It was certainly a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it! 21 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money Clean comfortable rooms and convenient location for both Colchester and Ipswich 21 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dinner menu I stayed in hotel previously and there were a couple of chefs specials on the board. I had the chicken balti which was great, really tasty. No specials this week, I think because the menus is limited it would be a good idea to have 1 or 2 varied specials per week. 20 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value for money We chose to stay here as the offer for 2 nights on a B 19 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Food and Drink Very limited menu and drinks. Very basic food. Breakfasts are very basic and I just could not bring myself to eat the cooked breakfast. 16 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel Our recent stay was first class, the rooms were so much more than we were expecting, location was good and although we expected some motorway noise we didn't really seem to notice this at all. This staff are first class and cannot do enough to help, this is one of the cheaper chains I have stayed in but one of the best... 12 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed comfortable, pleasant staff. The hotel is rather difficult to find, especially if you arrive for the first time after dark, on the wrong side of the A12. The hotel is hidden behind the petrol station. Some signs giving directions off the A12, on both sides of the A12 would be good. This was my first encounter with a 'keyless' locking system, so I asked at reception "how does it work?" I was told to just push it in. This I did, and the door wouldn't unlock. I should have been told to push it in, then pull it out and this would unlock the door. Also I should have been told how to activate the lights in the room. If someone asks how does the 'key' work I should think it's pretty obvious they need proper instruction; not just push it in. Not everyone spends lots of times in lots of different hotels with different ways of entering a room. 12 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Modern Upon arriving, we were greeted by a crowd of people smoking outside the entrance. we had to walk through them to get to reception. Reception was quick 12 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight syay Good apart from the evening meal which I felt could have been improved in terms of quantity 07 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Super-thin mattress on pull-out bed The Super-thin mattress on pull-out bed caused the bed springs to dig into my back all night long giving me a very rough sleep. Also the staff were hardly to be be seen anywhere - I believe the hotel is operating on a skeleton-staff basis. The few who were on duty gave me the impression that they rather not be at work and were least interested in providing service (leave alone good service) to their guests. 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel A nice hotel it was a pity about cigarette ends on the ground and empty coffee cups on the seat at the outside lobby main entrance. Not a good image for a nice looking hotel. 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Essex wedding Hotel is quite new and clean. Rooms are good, and considering its proximity to the A12 no noise could be heard. From our experience the hotel seemed to be run by the one girl behind the Reception counter; didn't see any other front-line staff. Breakfast was appalling. I've covered it in my review. Terrible; can't say more. 01 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal hotel to use near to Harwich For anyone travelling to Europe via Harwich this hotel is just 30 minutes away. It is ideally placed, reception is great and paperwork was already waiting for me when I arrived. The room was good although I did find the bed a little on the soft side. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. I would recommend this hotel. 01 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beds menu needs updating with more selections both breakfast 01 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed Reception staff need to think about how they word things, on first contact. the first sentence led us to believe we didn't have a room. So conversation got a little stressed. Bed was wonderful, got a choice of pillow firmness. lovely clean room, would have like more breakfast choice. and breakfast area not monitored enough by staff re table wiping, spillage clearance and food and crockery top up 31 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Brilliant service Our stay at the Birchwood Road branch was was really good I would recommend it to anyone. The only problem was the bed. It wasn't very comfortable....rather thin mattress. 30 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort of beds The beds at this Holiday Inn Express are very soft and the settee bed mattress was very poor. According to the staff this is the standard of mattress now used on the main beds. If you have any type of back complaint avoid this chain. At breakfast there was only one member of staff on duty and even though he was running around as fast as he could he was swamped. The staff were friendly and cleanliness was good. The problems were more due to head office decisions rather than staff at the hotel. 09 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by First impressions are lasting impressions On arrival at this hotel which is tucked behind a shell petrol station we were greeted by cigarette butts all over the floor at the hotel entrance. On check in the man behind reception had difficulty understanding that I wanted to check in for only one of the rooms out of the five our group had booked. My husband mentioned to the senior member of staff at reception about the unsightly cigarette butts and was informed that smokers did not put the butts in the ashtray provided and the hotel was short staffed and unable to clean up. The hotel public areas were clean and tidy (with the exception of the cigarette butts) we had booked a family room which sleeps up to 2 adults and 2 children the room was clean with shower (no bath) but we knew this would be the case only 2 sets of towels 1 large 1 small were provided on request extras were provided promptly as well as extra pillows. The sofa bed mattress is not very comfortable you could feel the springs, the mattress on the double was far too soft for my liking. Apart from the hanging space with hangers provided there are no shelves or drawers to put your clothes. Tea and coffee facilities provided. Room has a Flat screen TV, full length mirror and table. Breakfast was adequate, I found it strange that there was eggs,beans and sausages but no bacon! in the hot section, yoghurt, bread to make your own toast, pastries, juices and hot drinks. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere the nearest pub/restaurant is a car ride away. A taxi into Colchester cost between £12-£15. 07 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room, good service We arrived a tad after 9pm and had to wait a little while to check in as the staff were busy serving in the bar/restaurant! But as soon as we were greeted and it was noted we were IHG members it was swift and professional as usual! Check out was the same the next morning! Only gripes are the sausages were not particularly nice, as they usually are and fresh fruit selection was apples! Plus wireless internet only available downstairs! But otherwise a great stay as we always do at the many Holiday Inns we have stayed at both here and abroad! Great value for money! Will be back soon! 30 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I have sent 1 review I have sent a review in reply to a questionnaire re my visit but have had no response When I arrived the TV was on with a welcome message that I could not get rid of as the remote control was not working. We had booked as a couple but the sofa bed was made up reducing room considerably The bathroom extractor was not working the shower gel dispenser was completely empty, I found out whilst in the shower. The bathroom door lock was broken and cold only be locked from inside so was constantly opening itself. The rad noise was loud and constant. Breakfast choice was not good and no ware to sit down as all the empty tables was cluttered with the previous person’s breakfast. I had to ask one of the staff to clean some tables so we could sit down. Worst H.I. visit I have had and surprised I have not had any response to my review 28 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay A very disappointing stay as I am a frequent guest at holiday inn express hotels. Room was not adequately serviced prior to our arrival ( but was addressed by reception staff). Hotel toilets by reception not very clean and the sofa bed was so uncomfortable, could feel the springs in the mattress. Reception staff were apologetic, not entirely their fault, but I do expect better as I enjoy staying at the hotel chain with my family. 23 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but mattress on bed not very comfortable. Great service,breakfast good.Sofa bed and bed mattress not very comfortable. 13 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Three Night Stay The reception on arrival could not be improved with a smart and friendly lady on duty who has good knowledge of the area. The room was very clean and the bathroom had the best shower unit of any hotel we have had in 50 years of holidays. The INCLUDED breakfast has enough variety for anyone to set you up for the day. I would recommend this Holiday Inn Express to all who want a base to stay to explore a very nice part of England. 13 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice dinners convenient to the highway surprisingly the dinners were quite tasty. This is a great place to stay if you are working in the area or vacationing. It is quiet the staff is Great rite on the A12 so a quick jaunt to London or the beach. 09 April 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>