Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 28 Nov 2014)
(e.g. 29 Nov 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 303 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly aceptable and inexpensive too We were a UK tour and this hotel was in the right place at the right time at the right price It was chosen because Holiday Inn Express Hotels are predictably clean and comfortable with free parking-as was this I don't find the breakfasts very exciting but at least one doesn't go away hungry. An unremarkable but totally acceptable stay. 10 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor lighting The hotel in general was very pleasant. The lighting in the bathroom was very poor. The mattress was like sleeping on a water bed. My wife was having a shower and i went to get a drink from the bar, so i took the room key out of the light holder. Only to find that all the lights switch off after a short time except the blue light in the bathroom. The wife was not happy! Maybe need 2 keys if one person decides to leave the room. Why do hotels only put enough coffee / sugar in the room to only make 1 cup? It was great to have free wifi, mine stopped working the next morning! 10 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Most uncomfortable sofa bed ever !!! We went to Colchester for my wife's birthday - a trip to the Zoo as a family and nice night in a hotel followed by lovely breakfast. Previously stayed in the Holiday Express in Epsom - which was excellent. The problem with this room was firstly the fact that we booked for 4 however this includes 2 small children. Previously we had been given a double bed and two small beds which works quite well , however both children sharing a bed ? This wouldn't really work - even with small children. I've no idea how families with larger children would cope...So adult to child was the only option with my wife and daughter in one bed and me and my son in the other. So not ideal but that's fine, we've managed before. The main problem however was actually as we got to go to bed we found that the mattress on the sofa bed was the most uncomftable thing in the world to sleep on with no support and springs digging into you. Even our 4 year old daughter who normally sleeps really well complained of springs digging into her. We wnded up putting the cushion parts of the sofa on top of he matress - these were much shorter than the actual bed but a better option. Breakfast the next day wasn't great - cheap , tasteless, sausgaes and cold scambled egg. Mmm lovely! Overall a really dreadful nights sleep, poor breakfast, didn't really see the staff but to be honest they weren't overly enthusaistic in my view and the experience has really put us off staying in Holiday Inn Express in the future. Sorry Holiday Inn Express - you need to do better ! 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent help from very friendly staff We loved our stay. It was peaceful. We are not city people so found the country setting excellent. Has we were visiting both Colcester and Dedham we found the location suited us. The staff were outstanding and made our stay easy. We will be more than happy to stay here again. Excellent car parking. Only 1 thing-it was a bit hard to find off the road 09 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel. Great value for money! Brilliantly sized room with a very large shower. Generous complimentary breakfast. Pleasant stay and great value. 09 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by JBSB The hotel is on the outskirts of Colchester on the A12 behind a garage so you need transport to get you into town. We had no complaints whatsoever with our room. Breakfast was ok with a reasonable choice. For what we paid in comparison to other hotels it offers extremely good value for money and would not hesitate to recommend it. 08 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent property except for the mattress We recommend this property as a convenient and modern accommodation in Colchester. All that was needed to make our stay perfect was a reasonably comfortable mattress. 08 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Colchester It is what you expect from a holiday in. Don't eat there if you can help it! 07 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good basic hotel stay We booked direct with hotel for a double room with up to 15 days parking. The car park was large and well laid out 06 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by average Good service and value for money bed was too small and very soft which was a let down. Breakfast was poor, rubber scrambled eggs and the drink selection was hit and miss depending on what was working on the machine. 04 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful and cheerful staff Check in took seconds as did the check out. Staff were helpful and cheerful. Room was good but breakfast was adequate rather than good. Taken as a whole that was a minor point. 01 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by weekend away We really enjoyed our stay and found the hotel and staff excellent in all ways. the only complaint we had was that the bed was rather lumpy but we still had pretty good nights sleep. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. The room we were given was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet considering the hotel is on an A road. We will definitely be back to stay in this hotel again. 28 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Location very handy next to A12.The hotel is always very clean and the staff are excellent 27 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good stay We stayed at this hotel at the same time last year and one year on the standards seem to have slipped a little but not enough to put us off. Room cleanliness was acceptable but everywhere could do with a bit of a wipe down, splatters from people making tea / coffee on wall, kettle etc, shower could have done with a further wipe and toilet could have done with a scrub (and a toilet brush provided for guests). We had to ask for toilet paper on arrival as barely 1/4 of a roll had been provided however upon asking we were given some quickly. Soap in shower did not appear to have been filled up also. There was a bag of rubbish outside our door for the day we stayed - odd. Minor things really. On the plus side, lovely room, light and airy, lovely big shower all you need for a nice relaxed overnight stay! Overall, good stay, nice staff, good location, good price, good parking and nice breakfast. Will be here the same time next year I expect! 26 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely staff, nice breakfast, old, sagging double mattresses Staff were generally lovely - we usually find they are at HI hotels. Breakfast was great. When paying to spend a night somewhere, I expect it to be close in comfort to my own bed - it's never quite the same, but still... I certainly expect it to be more comfortable than the camping mattress I've just spent the previous week on. What a dreadful night's sleep the Holiday Inn Express served up for us and with mis-represented booking information on Expedia as we thought we were getting a kingsize bed. When I book with Holiday Inn, I don't expect to have to spend extra time researching the bed sizes beforehand. Better book with someone who guarantees a kingsize in future then, I guess... 25 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Colchester Holiday inn express Excellent price, and the room was very comfortable. however breakfast staff could do with providing service with a smile, and spend less time chatting and more time clearing tables and replenishing the breakfast items. Overall quality excellent, with the bonus of free wifi, sadly let down by the lack of a smile. 25 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First visit was very good Down to Colchester for business and the Hotel made things easy. Especially friendly staff! 24 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I stay at this hotel at least three times a week. The staff are great. I would recommend using this hotel for leisure or business 22 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal place for a great family stay We had an amazing time here.All the staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to be helpful. Our rooms were spacious and of the highest spec, very clean and comfortable. Our weekend stay was for a family wedding and this hotel was in the perfect spot for travelling to Colchester. It was certainly a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it! 21 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money Clean comfortable rooms and convenient location for both Colchester and Ipswich 21 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dinner menu I stayed in hotel previously and there were a couple of chefs specials on the board. I had the chicken balti which was great, really tasty. No specials this week, I think because the menus is limited it would be a good idea to have 1 or 2 varied specials per week. 20 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value for money We chose to stay here as the offer for 2 nights on a B 19 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Food and Drink Very limited menu and drinks. Very basic food. Breakfasts are very basic and I just could not bring myself to eat the cooked breakfast. 16 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel Our recent stay was first class, the rooms were so much more than we were expecting, location was good and although we expected some motorway noise we didn't really seem to notice this at all. This staff are first class and cannot do enough to help, this is one of the cheaper chains I have stayed in but one of the best... 12 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed comfortable, pleasant staff. The hotel is rather difficult to find, especially if you arrive for the first time after dark, on the wrong side of the A12. The hotel is hidden behind the petrol station. Some signs giving directions off the A12, on both sides of the A12 would be good. This was my first encounter with a 'keyless' locking system, so I asked at reception "how does it work?" I was told to just push it in. This I did, and the door wouldn't unlock. I should have been told to push it in, then pull it out and this would unlock the door. Also I should have been told how to activate the lights in the room. If someone asks how does the 'key' work I should think it's pretty obvious they need proper instruction; not just push it in. Not everyone spends lots of times in lots of different hotels with different ways of entering a room. 12 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Modern Upon arriving, we were greeted by a crowd of people smoking outside the entrance. we had to walk through them to get to reception. Reception was quick 12 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight syay Good apart from the evening meal which I felt could have been improved in terms of quantity 07 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Super-thin mattress on pull-out bed The Super-thin mattress on pull-out bed caused the bed springs to dig into my back all night long giving me a very rough sleep. Also the staff were hardly to be be seen anywhere - I believe the hotel is operating on a skeleton-staff basis. The few who were on duty gave me the impression that they rather not be at work and were least interested in providing service (leave alone good service) to their guests. 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel A nice hotel it was a pity about cigarette ends on the ground and empty coffee cups on the seat at the outside lobby main entrance. Not a good image for a nice looking hotel. 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Essex wedding Hotel is quite new and clean. Rooms are good, and considering its proximity to the A12 no noise could be heard. From our experience the hotel seemed to be run by the one girl behind the Reception counter; didn't see any other front-line staff. Breakfast was appalling. I've covered it in my review. Terrible; can't say more. 01 June 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>