Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 16 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 17 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 249 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by once i could get in my room - it was great! i checked in without a hitch. As usual, the staff were very polite and my room (114) was very clean etc. However, at about 10.45, i went to get some ice from the machine, but my keycard wouldn't let me back into the room. Got it, re-chipped by reception - still nothing! Reception then tried their master card - nothing! Then another machine to try to override it - nothing! So a locksmith was called, who had to break the door frame to get in..... at 1.00am!! However, I'm not writing this review as a complaint - how can you complain about a fault that develops in a security system?? No, I'm writing to commend the staff at the hotel for their customer service - they couldn't have been more apologetic and caring. Customer service is often lacking nowadays, but not here! The General Manager is excellent and his team were too - well done! 18 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service we enjoyed a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Colchester. The room was clean, bed comfortable hotel very nice. Staff helpful and friendly. Only minus, the hotel was difficult to locate, we were out near farmland and the hotel was tucked away behind a petrol station. Otherwise excellent. 16 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ok, but the breakfast was shocking What a spoiler....good welcome, excellent room, all spoilt by the breakfast experience. 9.30 on a Sunday morning and cold egg, lukewarm sausages and very little other choice bar toast... the table was dirty, I asked for a cloth and Mrs. Happy just came over and gave it a very wet up and down wipe...I then showed her with serviettes how to do it properly. I have stayed here 3 times (my daughter is at the Uni), so I think I will try the competition next time. Oh, and a memo to the management. As a Priority member, just put the chocolate bar in the room by the tea and coffee facilities. It was embarrassing for the receptionist to give me a Wispa bar as thanks for being a member. Oh dear. 09 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel for pit stops Our room & bathroom was impeccably clean, choice of soft/firm pillows as default and staff very helpful. Only downsides were the food and the bar/food area - the food from the menu was overpriced for the quality in our opinion and as the main seating/eating area is open to the main entrance is was consistently cold so not the most relaxing in the winter months. That being said at the early booking online pricing we were very satisfied with the overall stay. Only one other niggle is that on calling to get directions once on the A12 (forgot to print off of website) the lady couldn't tell us the answer to the simple question 'which junction off the A12 is the nearest to you' during our stay we brought this up and since then on the website they have put very clear instructions, so they just need the staff to know to go to the page and read them out! And just so people know, we were told they don't do food at the weekend in the evenings and nothing in walking distance other than the garage. 07 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and efficient, helpful service Overall, very impressed with the room, facilities and service. The only drawback was that it was a busy Saturday night and the room walls and door were not able to mask the noise from the corridor of other guests coming and going, (even for a heavy sleeper like me!) Other than that, it exceeded my expectations. 03 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top notch Very impressed with the Holiday Inn Express Colchester. Very clean and tidy. Bedroom and Bathroom very modern and clean. Good variety at Breakfast. Only niggly bit - on checking in staff at reception were involved in a private conversation and finally one decided she would come over to serve me!!!! Apart from that the whole stay was a pleasure. 28 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleased with our choice of accomodation. Spacious, clean and very comfortable room. Lovely bathroom with a superb shower. Superb value at £60 less than a central location. Complementary breakfast included too! Taxi fare £10 each way into town. 26 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value Booked two night weekend break in January (Before Snow!) Not too far out of Colchester. Friendly staff, very clean and excellent value. 20 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Immaculate This was our 1st time at a Holiday Inn. From check in to check out the experience was excellent. The room was immaculate and very comfortable, the bathroom spotless, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Only complaint was the positioning of the hair dryer. 08 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Very easy & straightforward experience. The room was clean and comfortable (although sofa bed in the family room was a bit hard & lumpy). Otherwise, lovely breakfast and overall reccommend. 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by review great service, friendly staff , comfortable bed, very helpful answer, when you have questions, however there isn't a ATM around. 20 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic value for money only negative comment - lack of written information about breakfast time checkout time etc. 16 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one night to remember! I just could 'nt fault it, warm welcome front desk staff (female &male) very professional very friendly. room, bed bathroom,excellent.good nights sleep, great choices for breakfast, newspaper tv wi -fi , great service. hope to visit next year.THANK YOU. 14 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay The Hotel from when Parking in the Car Park to leaving the establishment was a an enjoyable relaxing stay. The room facilities were excellent, the only small complaint was the mattress was a bit 'soft' for us, which is a personal comfort choice. The Dining Room was well laid out & kept clean & tidy. All Staff met were pleasant & dealt with any questions we had. A negative point, a sign from the A12 would be helpful if possible stating the Hotel is there. 07 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Roy and Wendy The best Holiday Inn Express we have stayed in, in this country and we have stayed in Many 07 December 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Blackout in Colchester Unfortunately there was a 3 hour power cut during the evening of our recent stay in Colchester. Very surprised that the HI Express had no back up generator so spent the evening driving round in search of a cinema or something but to no avail. After a busy day, was very tired and cold and in need of a hot drink and was about to check out and find another budget inn or lodge nearby but the power was restored just in time. Not Holiday Inn Express' fault - staff did their best and the bar remained open but a very disappointed customer. 03 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable I stay in HIEX's all the time up and down the country and this is one of my top three favourites. The only point that lets it down a bit is the staff ? They could ALL do with some customer training to improve their interaction with paying customers. 02 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best visit yet This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and was probably the best. The room was very comfortable and still looked new. The staff were pleasant, helpful and efficient. Breakfast was budget but perfectly adequate and possibly because we were staying on a week day not too busy. Another bonus is the proximity to Dedham which is a delightful village and well worth a visit 28 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent vfm Hotel was great value and spotless - couldn't fault the Hotel. 25 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable experiance Fantastic accomadation in a quiet surrounding despite its location,staff very helpfull and friendly,great value for money and will definitely use again. 23 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room space We have stayed at this Hotel three times since it opened. The rooms are really large, with very comfortable beds. There is a large shower in the bathroom. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. 22 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Really good example of a budget hotel. Clean, great position, staff couldn't do enough - very helpful. Super at breakfast for what was a big group. Would stay here again without question. 17 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by TV Amazed no Sky in the bar, there was football on and nowhere to watch it!! First HIEX I have stayed at where this was not available. 15 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel We planned to stay at this hotel for 1 night and ended up staying 3! the rooms are very comfortable, the staff are very welcoming, im not going to lie there was 2 small issues which was resolved very quickly (i.e. tv remote died and keycard wouldnt work). if you want value for money in a great location look no further! 15 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overview The rooms are great however the breakfast was terrible. It was badly organised short of staff and we had to wait in line to get the food which was very slow in coming. Accommodation great / breakfast poor. 10 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Duffield/derby. Very freindly reception staff , housekeeping did a very good job with our room. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice. All in all avery pleasent experience. Thank you to all. 28 October 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable,Staff helpful and friendly We have stayed at the Colchester Holiday Inn once before and were impressed with everything. We came this time to see some of the area which is quite stunning. The weather unfortunately was against us, but we have plans to return in the not too distant future. The Holiday Inn brand has always been a favourite of ours we stayed many times in the Lucerne Holiday Inn and were never disappointed. 28 October 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF, BUT...... SERVICE First of I have to say the staff were friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. They made the stay very relaxing. COST When I first seen this hotel in the paper it was part of an August Deal, however, when I made inquiries I was told that that offer had sold out for this hotel. I paid a higher price than advertised. ROOM Having dragged bags on and off 6 trains to get here I just wanted to unpack and relax. Unfortunately there was no drawers/cupboards in this modern designed room. Instead there was one metal clothes rail sticking out from the wall with 6 hangers thereon. I don't want to be lying on my bed looking up at my clothes. Looking around the room I seen plenty of spaces where storage could have been added. I spent the weekend living out of my bag. Not ideal. FOOD Had dinner here on the first night. My butter squash curry was tasty, however, my mothers Toad in the Hole was burnt and had to be sent back. Despite leaving the Yorkshire in for a shorter time it was still hard and inedible. We were told the Toad in the Hole was pre-made and heated up on site. Together with the Smash and Frozen Veg this 2 pounds worth of ingredients cost us £10. Never give a burnt Yorkshire to a Yorkshire woman. We ate out the next night. Having said that the breakfast ( included in the price ) was lovely. OVERALL This is a new hotel with fantastic staff . The room was modern and clean, however, could have been designed better. Breakfast was great, however, the quality of the dinner depends on what you order. A reasonably priced hotel that had a relaxed atmosphere. A few small changes would make this a fantastic hotel. 20 October 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, friendly staff. Booked three rooms for a local family Christening. Staff were very helpful. Overall, very impressed for the price. The only complaints were that the bar did not stock any dry ginger or Brandy, in fact very limited supply of drinks and mixers full stop and access to the hot breakfast food required three hands, with nowhere to place a tray while serving yourself. Apart from that, very satisfied. 19 October 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The room was immaculate I was really impressed with this hotel, everything about it was excellent. From now on I shall be booking Holiday Express Inn FIRST before I look at any others. What's more it was reasonably priced and With breakfast. Couldn't fault it. 19 October 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>