• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 27 Nov 2014)
(e.g. 28 Nov 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DTWN MANCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 15.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome Guide Dogs and request that you contact the Hotel prior to arrival.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Leigh Centurions RLFC
Distance From Hotel:0.01MI
Attraction:
Manchester United Football Club
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Extensive car parking shared with the Leigh Sports Village which includes eight accessible spaces that are located close to the hotel entrance. Complimentary car parking for all hotel residents

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:135
  • Total number of accessible rooms:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village.

It is ideally located at Leigh Sports Village and accessible from A579. The hotel is on your left five miles from the M6 motorway.

The hotel serves as a perfect base for visiting the Greater Manchester area, Warrington, Wigan, Bolton and Liverpool. The hotel has 135 fully refurbished bright and spacious modern en-suite bedrooms, all with air conditioning, a laptop safe and flat screen TV.

When you stay enjoy free Wi-Fi
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village.

It is ideally located at Leigh Sports Village and accessible from A579. The hotel is on your left five miles from the M6 motorway.

The hotel serves as a perfect base for visiting the Greater Manchester area, Warrington, Wigan, Bolton and Liverpool. The hotel has 135 fully refurbished bright and spacious modern en-suite bedrooms, all with air conditioning, a laptop safe and flat screen TV.

When you stay enjoy free Wi-Fi and breakfast is included - continental buffet breakfast with a selection of hot favourites. Great Room restaurant and bar offering unlimited dinner service plus outside courtyard is ideal to relax after dinner each evening. Six dedicated meeting rooms all with natural daylight and breakout area offers flexibility for your meeting needs. Ample complimentary car parking is available for guests visiting the hotel.

The Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village is well placed to make the most of some of the nearby attractions including Pennington Flash Country Park, Leigh sports village arena and local mill factory shopping. For many a day shopping in Manchester or at the famous Trafford Centre or the races at Haydock Racecourse is not to be missed. The friendly team at the Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village looks forward to welcoming you soon.

View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express Leigh Sports Village hotel is ideally located in Leigh Sports Village accessible from the A579. Just seven kilometers away from the M6 motorway the hotel serves as a perfect base for visiting the Greater Manchester area Warrington Wigan Bolton and Liverpool. The hotel has 135 bright and spacious modern ensuite bedrooms all with air conditioning a safe and flat screen TV.
Announcements
Refurbishment Works ongoing in hotel from Oct 2014 - Dec 2014. Please contact the hotel directly for further information

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 201 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room and bed everything about the stay was very good until the morning. going for breakfast (7.30 - 10.30)at around 9.15 we were a little dissapointed to find little or no continental breakfast and virtually nothing on the cooked station, no bread for toast,. just beans, hash browns and some overcooked sausages. Eventually more did turn up but the quality was not what was expected. I woud stay again but next time rise a little earlier for breakfast 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay Location suited us being close to the M6 junction & for visiting our relative in Lymm just off junction 20. Also competitively priced. 05 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good, handy, friendly hotel Just off the motorway. ideal for a stop over. friendly staff. 01 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend for location near to main routes Well positioned hotel for our needs. We did experience problems with noise during our stay and it was disappointing that the room had just a standard size double bed. Our concerns were addressed quickly and effectively by the hotel manager. 01 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay. I am a regular visitor at this Holiday Inn and the service has been great from the first stay. From reception with Sean, Bev and Jose through to the Restaurant staff Raymond and Christine who really go out there way with the rest of the staff. Well done to Paul the GM for having a great team. Look forward to my next visit. 31 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD LOCATION AND PANCAKE MACHINE AT BREAKFAST This hotel is located just off the motorway. Good for families. Kids stay and eat free. My sons loved the pancake machine at breakfast. Half the price on a Saturday night for room and breakfast than hotel at local theme park where we were heading. Free parking. Have stayed at several holiday inns before and never disappointed. 30 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great nights sleep. We recently stayed one night and had a bery good experience room wise. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was nice and comfy. Unfortunatley the breakfast was not so good. The cost of the breakfast was quite high but we assumed that the quality would reflect the cost. However we had to wait in line for 15 minutes even to get to the buffet and then when we got there there was not much food. The kitchen staff were doing their best but I must say it was not worth what we paid. 29 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Great Place to Stay I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Woolston, 3 weeks during October. I found the staff, hannah and Lianne especially, very welcoming and helpful.That is actually a little unfair as all staff were excellent whether at breakfast or evening meal they delivered a really high standard of care and assistance. I look forward to staying there again soon. One negative aspect is the service charge included in every bill when the restaurant is used. I like to tip but do object to it being mandatory and having to ask to have it removed. That said there are far too many positives for staying at this hotel. 28 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stop on North South trip. Good loaction with lots of things to see in local area. Staff are great, what more could you ask for. See you again soon. 18 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Conveniently located under a minute from Junction 21 of the M6 is the comfortable Holiday Inn Warrington. Plenty of parking space and a friendly welcome made for a good start for my business trip. Would be great if it had a swimming pool to relax in! The evening meal staff were incredibly friendly and I really wanted to rate them 'Excellent' but they accidentally messed up my bill which, although quickly resolved that evening, upon checkout led to my room having two restaurant receipts. Thankfully the wonderfully friendly front of house staff swiftly resolved the billing issue and they even gave me 300 bonus rewards for my trouble. I look forward to returning. 16 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and quiet My wife and I stayed at this hotel when visiting the Manchester Arena ,Trafford Centre and Lowry Gallery which is only 20 mins or so by car. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful, the hotel was spotless as was the room. Considering it is fairly near to the M6 it was a very quiet room. ALSO we could not hear other guests. We have stayed at other hotels where you could hear every noise. The food at breakfast was very good quality and plentiful,with free refills of tea or coffee. The drinks at the bar were not overpriced, the only critiscm was the lack of seating in the bar area, however there was a coach party staying over so this might have accounted for the lack of space at the time. We found we could really relax at this hotel, the satff were so lovely and friendly, it was almost as if we were old and valued customers rather than first timers. we would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying anywhere near Manchester, we will certainly be returning as we visit a lot of concerts in Manchester. 05 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Warrington visit September From Raymond on the front desk to all the staff in the restaurant both in the evening and for breakfast your team were very helpful and friendly. 25 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Way above what i expected and looking forward to another longer stay I stayed overnight at the Holiday inn, Warrington overnight, it was supposed to be for 3 nights but was cut short due to unforeseen circumstances. My only complaint was lack of free wifi, which meant i was unable to keep in contact with my partner. There was wifi available but at extra cost which was above my limited funds. Nevertheless i will be returning there on the 7th of October for the 3 night stay i initially had planned. But i will review based on my experience, which differs somewhat to the alarming reviews i had read on tripadivsor. I read a few reviews on here and was alarmed at what i read, as it was a pre paid business accommodation there was nothing i could do. When i arrived, i was shocked at how clean, Tidy and modern it was. Staff member " Beverly " at reception was amazing, very helpful, polite and friendly, and we chatted like we had known each other for ever. The food was way above the quality that i expected, meals were generous portions and professionally presented, flavourful and tasted more like fine cuisine as opposed to cheap motorway hotel mush. I recommend the potato wedges that come served in a deep bowl, with a side salad and numerous dips as a starter. The large battered fish and chunky chips with mushy peas or the Sausage and Mash with onion gravy as Mains and the profiteroles for dessert. For breakfast i had a fruit salad which you create yourself, i had Orange, Raspberry, Strawberry and Pineapple, along with a full english which comprised of Sausages, Bacon, both Fried Egg & Scrambled Eggs, Mushrooms, Grilled tomatoes, Hash browns, Black pudding and Baked beans. There was also a pancake making machine and toast grill, various cereals, pastries, danish etc But to be honest i was too full up from the full english they prepared for me to even contemplate eating anything else. There was chilled fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh cranberry juice that was plentiful. The waitress's were very friendly and efficient and a credit to the company. Every member of staff were smiling and friendly, and knowledgeable The internet was pricey at £5 per hour which is really my only complaint as i am on a limited budget which will be the only downside of my next visit next month. The room was large in size, with plenty of storage space. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of pillows. Plenty of lighting and sockets. Kettle and tea and coffee materials were complimentary as was the toiletries. There was also a trouser press in the room and an iron and ironing board was available upon request. The bathroom was very well lit, with a bath, shower, basin and toilet. Water was instant and hot Overall i thoroughly enjoyed my stay and am looking forward to having a natter and a catch up with Beverly. After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor i honestly didnt know what to expect other than a nightmare, and nothing could have been further from what i experienced there. What do people expect from one of the cheaper hotels that are available in that area? Normally you get what you pay for and at the prices you cant ask for much, But in this case it far exceeded what was expected. I would definitely recommend the Holiday Inn Warrington to everybody. If you want a swimming pool or sauna, go to a 5 star hotel that has those facilities, If you want a fantastic hotel for a few days then this is the one to go to! 24 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and service We had a very warm welcome as we checked in, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Had some food at 4.00pm and it was excellent as was the service, very impressed. Our room was spotless and it was the first time I've ever slept well in a hotel room, nice not to hear slamming doors. Breakfast was very enjoyable, nice to have such a selection. You should be very proud of such a lovely, friendly, welcoming Holiday Inn, the best place we've ever stayed in. 12 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lovely room A really well laid out room. Clean and comfortable . Great advantage was working air conditioning on a very hot evening. 06 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would Recommend Friendly, helpful, efficient staff. Room service dinner was delicious and quick. Breakfast was full of choice and quick to serve tea etc. we also took our dogs and felt they were also welcome. Would recommend. 03 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Freindly staff and wonderful service I am a regular frequentern of hotels for business and private use. The Holiday Inn at Warrington has the most friendly staff who provide great service. Everything is simple and good quality. Excellent value for money. 02 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff / Great bedroom / strange restaurant and poor food All good apart from the food, salmon tart starter rubbery and tasteless - defrosted and over microwaved I suspect! Steak ok, crumble too much cinnamon. 27 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by decent size room Stayed for 2 nights as part of gulivers package. All staff were lovely, breakfast was delicious and room was comfortable. Pub across road was great for kids. 24 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Great location near a motorway exit. Friendly staff. Great value. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn. 24 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our favourite holiday inn Whenever we are in the area we always book into this hotel, staff are so helpful and the food is excellent and we always get a good nights sleep 22 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Reception - great, Breakfast staff - terrible The staff that checked me in were lovely, very pleasant and welcoming, cannot say the same for the staff at breakfast the following morning. After waiting longer than necessary to be taken to a table, I didn't even get eye contact, the table I was taken to didn't have enough cutlery and wasn't particularly clean. The food was okay but the staff really let the hotel down, that is apart from the young man who checked me in! 20 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great stay I thought this place was more akin to the Express brand. The hotel is severely lacking in facilities and, in my view, does not deserve to be a 'Full Blown' Holiday Inn. Also, I had to complain about the staff in the restaurant being completely unprofessional. I have since had a response from the general manager, which was a good follow up. 18 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a night, but bathroom could be updated Lovely friendly staff to welcome us, room good for a night but very basic; bathroom could be updated. Provided cot for our little one. We had room only; breakfast would have been £14+ each if we had chosen to have it which we thought was rather pricey. But great hotel for what we needed; staff super friendly! 16 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff From the front desk through the bar and restaurant , I found all the staff very keen and accomadating. Only downside was only one seat in the room. Had dinner and breakfast, good food.! 14 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Most enjoyable stay. My wife and I spent 2 very enjoyable nights at this Holiday Inn while visiting the Tatton Park show in July. We had booked Thursday and Friday nights several weeks beforehand, but were forced to cancel our Thursday night to attend a family funeral. We tried to book for the Saturday night instead but the hotel was full. On check- in we asked Beverley if she would offer us any cancellation that might come along for the Saturday night, but didn't hold out much hope. To our surprise and delight she called us late on Friday evening and said a cancellation had come in and she had reserved the room for us. That's what I call service. Instead of having to look for another hotel for our second night we could relax and enjoy our excellent room and the services of this lovely hotel. Well done Holiday Inn and a special thank you to Beverley, a conscientious and thoughtful member of staff. 08 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay We booked last minute as we wanted to break up the journey to Chester Zoo, I'm glad we did it ment we enjoy ourselves, relaxed and did not have to rush around all in one day. Upon arrival the reception staff were friendly and swiftly booked us in, they also advised us about a great family pub just across the round a bout, Mascrat Manor I think it was called, great fun and a wacky warehouse, perfect for our toddler to run off some energy, had a great meal there. Room was basic, but clean and had all the amenities we needed, we requested some bedding to make up the sofa bed as our little boy was too big for the travel cot they had provided (he's a very tall 2 year old) they promptly brought the bedding upto the room and offered to make it up for us. We slept very well, it was a very warm sticky night but having air con in the room helped muchly. We stayed for breakfast which was fabulous but a little pricey, had everything you could imagine from full english, pastries, pancakes, cereal, fruit etc, our little boy loved the fresh pancakes and fruit :) he even received a sticker for eating all his breakfast which he was very proud of :) under 13's eat free.. The staff were brilliant, couldn't do enough for you, the lady at breakfast was fab. All in all can't fault the stay... 07 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor bed and pillows ruined overnight stop We stayed in this same hotel 2 weeks before and were hugely impressed. Great food, service and comfort. However, this time it was quite different. We had a room just 2 doors down from the last time but this had older decor and fittings. Not a problem though. The bed seemed fine. Food was great but service was not the same as they were setting for breakfast while we were eating. However it was the awful bed that was the real problem. The mattress created 'roll together all the pillows were awful (even some extra ones we asked for) so a horrid night's sleep was suffered. We were given some recompense by the hotel for this. This hotel can either be average or brilliant. It's still a nice place to stay in and the food is great. Shame some rooms are better than others. 04 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Rooms and great staff But poor value and choice in the food offering. The rooms are spacious clean and quiet - one glitch the tv was disconnected from both power and arial sockets so my first job was to pull out half the furniture in the room to get the TV operational. Personal note but having the calorie count on the menu would be an improvement to make an informed choice - Premier Inn manage it. The food choice is stodgy and with an automatic 10% service charge added - pricey for small portions. When on business I have a £25 limit and a starter main and one glass of wine took me over that limit on this visit. Plus point the front desk took the service charge off the bill when I checked out - hence my rating for the staff. Overall a good stay but could be better 31 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the usual Holiday standards :-( This is the second holiday inn that I have visited recently were it has felt run down and unloved. Check in was brilliant with a very friendly welcome was given but the breakfast staff were disinterested which let the hotel down. The breakfast itself was poor and served as a buffet style. The offer was very un-appealing so I stuck to cereal which meant it was an expensive brekie! The rooms are very dated and the bed very hard, so along with the constant banging if doors it meant I didn't sleep very well. 30 July 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Artist Impression - Reception
Artist Impression - Reception
Select to close.
Artist Impression - Reception Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Welcome to The Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 27 Nov 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 28 Nov 2014)
Check Availability
Loading