• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 23 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 24 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London - City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. Czech
  3. German
  4. English
  5. Spanish
  6. French
  7. Hindi
  8. Italian
  9. Punjabi
  10. Polish
  11. Portuguese
  12. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets accepted with the exception of Guide dogs and Hearing dogs.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces9
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car parking located at hotel £30.00 per day FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 30.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:169
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:224
  • Total number of accessible rooms:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted
View More

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted Airport, is a 10-minute walk. Take a taxi to London Heathrow Airport in 45 minutes.

Holiday Inn Express London-City is a quick stroll from Bishopsgate and Finsbury Square's businesses and local offices. Host training days in our 5 air-conditioned meeting rooms and ask our friendly staff to arrange catering. You can link to wireless Internet throughout hotel.

Hop on nearby number 8 bus to reach world-class Oxford Street shopping in 20 minutes. Spitalfields Market, packed with boutiques and stalls, is 10 minutes' walk and Tate Modern gallery is 15 minutes by Tube. Catch concerts at Barbican Arts Centre, a 10-minute stroll from the hotel.

Holiday Inn Express London-City's smart Great Room is the ideal spot for your all inclusive buffet breakfast Settle into leather chairs and banquettes in our lobby bar to catch the latest big-screen sport action.

View Less
Features
Guests of Holiday Inn Express London-City enjoy discounted use of the stylish Market Sports gym, a 5-minute walk from the hotel. Work out in the cardiovascular and weights rooms, cool off in the chlorine-free swimming pool and unwind in the sauna and steam room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 297 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI Express Southwark A girls weekend in London, fantastic value, used my IHG points. Friendly and courteous staff, loved the location. Enjoyed breakfast and very comfortable bed 30 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend getaway A really good stay the staff were brilliant nothing was too much trouble,the hotel was very clean throughout and breakfast was fairly good. I would be happy to stay at this hotel again 15 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff, good location, great value Londoners have always been polite, helpful and friendly people, and the staff in this hotel are no exception. Very good quality breakfast (I'd rather have potatoes instead of beans, and a fruit salad instead of grapefruit but that is just because I'm not easy regarding food choice). The room was very ok, comfy and noise-proof. My wife and I were very satisfied with everything and will definitively return. 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The most accomodatiing, caring staff. I stayed there for two nights becuase of a conferrence thet I had in the vicinity of the hotel.Great location, walking distance to Tate Museum, London Bridge, conference centers and more.Both Blackfliares and Southwark tube stations within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The train station at Blackfliars is even closer which makes it a great location for whoever-as I did-needs to get to Luton. A non frill hotel, with basic clean rooms , comfortable beds and great free breakfast.There is no restarant in the hotel but it is located 2 minutes walk from Blue Fin Building with nimerous choice of restaurants as well as a chinesse and French simple restaurant accross the street from the hotel. What however makes it so very special is the staff.Unbelievable.They remenberred my name, my room number and stood ready to do whatever it takes to cater to my requests in a friendy, caring accomodating way, as if their all purpose was to assist me.A real homey feeling.I have stayed there twice during 2003 and I will defenitely come back. 11 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay in London Our stay in the hotel was very good in all aspects except we were disappointed on two counts. 1) Breakfast was monotonous ,same menu everyday. Asked for boiled egg for a 5yr. old but was not obliged. 2) We were there during Christmas for 7 days with a 5 yr. old. A complimentary gift should have been given to children below 10yrs. on Christmas Day as a goodwill festive gesture. Breakfast on Christmas Day should have been special. 09 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All was well except breakfast The small room was to be expected for a European hotel at this price level. The room was clean, bed was comfortable. Location is excellent. The staff was friendly and always wiling to help. However, breakfast was quite terrible. The scrambled eggs looked nothing like eggs and had no taste. The sausages were overcooked and dry. The croissants were old and refrigerator-cold. We stayed a total of four nights at the hotel, and every morning the breakfast was just as bad as the day before; coffee was the only thing worth going down for. 08 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy New year !! We stayed at the Holiday Inn Southwark over the New Year Holiday. It was a fantastic location to base ourselves with good links to the underground network and walking distance to see the fireworks at midnight. The staff were all very helpful, and supported every request we made of them. Where they could not answer a question on things happening in London, they took the time to find out and got back to us. The room was clean and practical, as with most hotels in the ICH chain. The only downside was the rooms only take 2 people, and as a family of 3, it made things difficult. Thank you and Happy new Year !! 06 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable hotel, can recommend staying here Everywhere was very clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable with crisp bed linen. The triple glazing ensured a quiet room with a good night's sleep. The breakfast was satisfactory, with fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, sausages and very nice scrambled egg - and all replenished at regular intervals. The prices in the small bar were very reasonable. There are good bus/tube links within a 10 minute walk, so you can stay in this quiet area yet get to major sights/venues very easily. Good restaurants within a 10 minute walk, and a Tesco Express five minutes walk away was very convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel. 04 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Family Stay We went here on the weekend between Christmas and New Year so hotel prices were expensive however Holiday Inn Express was very reasonable and in a good location so we thought we would give it a try. The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel is in a good location situated between London Bridge Station and Southwark tube station. The bus for Covent Garden also stopped outside the hotel with Borough Market just a short walk away. We took our little girl and on numerous occasions we have turned up to a room only to find our bed made up and not a third however this was not the case with this hotel which after a 5 hour journey down which normally takes 2 it was very welcomed. The room was clean and in a quiet area however the only criticism is that there was not a plug near a mirror so I struggled to do my hair so take an extension lead case space willing. Overall, would recommend this hotel. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by yes! I spent 7 nights in the hotel with my family. We are very happy with the staying, The room was very clean and calm. Breakfast included hot dishes and fresh fruits.Position is very good, close to Tate Modern, the Globe theatre and Borough Market. Staff were very helpful and kind. I like to thank here once again Giorgia and Csaba from the reception that helped us with kindess and professionality with a delayed luggage problem. I will reccomend this hotel to anybody. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, very clean We stayed here for 5 nights during our London visit. Great hotel located about a 10-minute walk from the Southwark Station on the Jubilee Line. Rooms were clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms were a little small for more than 2 people once you open the sofa bed but we didn’t spend much time there. There are only a few restaurants in the area. Free Breakfast was very good with eggs, sausage, cereals, and pastries. The coffee machine makes a great Latte!!! They have a computer where I could print my train tickets. I have no complaints!! Would stay there again. 31 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent, helpful staff We stayed a week at Christmas 2013, needing 2 rooms for us and our children, so we wanted a convenient location at an affordable price. This more than fit the requirements. It was a 10 minute walk to the Tube, a 30 minute walk to Westminster Abbey & Parliament. The rooms aren't huge, but sufficient. The beds are comfortable, water pressure is great. My only complaint about the room is that the lights are pretty dim, making it difficult to read if your eyes aren't great (like mine). The staff was fabulous -- very friendly and helpful every step of the way. Breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay here again. We stayed here for a couple of nights 4 months ago, too. Highly recommended! 30 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff, nice room, horrendous night The hotel is very well situated, within walking distance of St Paul and Tower Bridge. The staff is very nice and the rooms are fair for the price, taking into account that you are in London. Everything went fine until 2 or 3 AM when the heating started making as much noice as an alarm clock. After I opened the valve, let the heater warm up and become silent again to finally close the valve, we could fall again into sleep... till it did it again. Eventually, at the 3rd episode, I went to the desk at 4:30 to get another room where we finished the night. In the morning, our kids that were staying in another room on the same floor told us that their heating had been noisy too during the night, though not as much as ours. As I said, nice location, nice staff, bad night. If you go there, make sure the heating problem has been fixed ! 25 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Co-operative and helpful staff The overall expierence of staying at the hotel was very good,the staff was very co-operative. The room was very clean and cosy. It was very clean. Inspite of being a pure vegetarian we could enjoy a nice stomach full breakfast. And in every way a fulfilling experience. 23 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HI Southwark We only stayed for one night but the hotel was clean and facilities were good, breakfast was good too. The only problem was the noise in the morning from the construction site next door which started at 8am! We did mention it on checking out as we were asked how our stay was, apparently they had been asked not to start works until 10 am at weekends but obviously didn't take much notice. 17 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location, Hotel Bright and welcoming. Stayed here the night before going on Eurostar to Christmas Market in Brussels. If you stay here you must go to Borough Market by London Bridge, for the pubs, restaurants & People watching. different nights of the week have different produce on display in the centre. Eat at Bills or the main Clink St Restaurant. 17 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay - again Hotel only a 10 min walk from Southwark Underground and 5 mins from Bankside. Hotel staff are excellent and room was very clean and nicely furnished. Would stay again 15 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean,comfy beds and friendly staff. This was an ideal location for our overnight stay. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean, the shower hot and the beds comfy. 07 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, comfy bed and awesome shower! Very nice hotel within easy walking distance of a tube station. Friendly staff, very welcoming. Room very nice, good TV service, lovely powerful shower. Only downside for me was no bacon at breakfast. The free breakfast is very good, nice choice of cereal, muffins, pastries, toast and hot food. Will stay there again. 07 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, family friendly and affordable! Just spent a long weekend at this hotel with my 12 year old son and 20 year old daughter. Great location easy access to tube station and walking distance into the city centre. Room spacious and comfortable. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful even managef to find us some great savings off local attractions. The complementary breakfast was welcomed with such a great variety. No downsides at all to this hotel. We will definately be returning again and will recommend to friends. Great hotel, even better price!! 05 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location !! Found this hotel using Hotels.com which I used when looking at central hotels in London over a weekend. This hotel have a perfect location , close to many London attractions (London Eye,O2, Picadilly etc) and good restaurants close by. Comfortable beds, good breakfast and service. I will return to this hotel when ever I will visit & stay in London !! 04 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, comfortable stay Good hotel. A bit to walk after late night shows and shopping 02 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by CONSTRUCTION WORKS AT THE REAR OF THE HOTEL This is a well located hotel, within walking distance of some of the major sights in central London. I stayed on business and arrived late - friendly staff, welcoming reception area and a clean and tidy room however, I woke at 6:30 to the most awful noise. The windows of the room were literally shaking. I complained to the staff and thankfully, Charlie the customer services manager was really apologetic and extremely helpful, pointing out that although it’s not the hotel’s fault, he was doing his best to manage the situation. I recommend either a room in the front of the hotel or avoid for the time being until the work is finished. 29 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by For one night only Generally pleasant stay with rooms being very comfortable...beds good...the only downside was the so called free breakfast as I had to ask for replenishment of many items which had run out...This took far too long and a fair few people werent impressed . Dining area refurbishment very poor in my opinion ; bare walls floor and mostly plastic uncomfortable chairs . the previous decor was really nice...will not be returning... 27 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff Hotel was in a convenient location, breakfast hours were great, staff was very accommodating to our requests for help in handling excess luggage. Computer access is lobby was helpful- only (minor) complain is lobby is cold due to door opening directly to outside. 25 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and helpful staff Front desk staff was very friendly and interested in helping us enjoy touring London during our time there. 22 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Service excellent, Staff were very keen to ensure we had a good stay. They catered for a gluten free breakfast. They were extremely pleasant and very friendly. We had booked four rooms and they ensured they were on the same floor. 17 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Remembrance Day and Lord Mayors show We stayed for two nights at the holiday inn express in Southwark, we found the staff very welcoming friendly and helpful. It was easy getting around London as we were very near to at least two tube stations. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others and would certainly stay here again. 14 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and service I stayed here with my 2 sons. One of whom has autism. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the minute we arrived. Staff are very friendly and keen to help with my questions about onward travel. Our room was very comfortable, with everything we needed. The shower was really good and spacious. Luggage room available, which I didn't need on this occasion, but would definitely be useful on future stays. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others 13 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very good location and service not only close to the underground, you can even walk to the main amenities in London. staff nice & helpful 09 November 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior By Day
Hotel Exterior By Day
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior By Day St Pauls Cathedral Reception Desk Hotel Exterior By Night Entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 23 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 24 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading