• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 29 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 30 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:24
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Italian
  5. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals are accepted

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Tate Modern
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
London Eye
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Borough Market
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
The Shard
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:6
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of accessible rooms:24
  • Total number of floors:7

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room,
View More

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room, decorated in contemporary colours, and start each day with an Express Start Breakfast in our lively Great Room.

Getting around London is easy with London Bridge and Waterloo stations just a short stroll from the hotel. Cross Blackfriars Bridge to get to the London Stock Exchange, Royal Courts of Justice and Bank of England.

We're just minutes from the lively cafes, theatres and galleries that dot London's trendy South Bank. Walk along the River Thames to the Tate Modern gallery, housed in a converted power station, or stroll over the futuristic Millennium Bridge to elegant St Paul's Cathedral. Why not stop by Borought Market for food tasting en route to the Shard.

Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark's central location puts chic bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Ask staff to recommend their favourites or do your own research via free wireless Internet in our open-plan Lobby.

View Less
Features
The hotel is situated in an ideal location; 5 minutes walking distance to Southwark Tube Station and Blackfriars Station. Come and enjoy the most famous London attractions as the London Eye, Tate Modern, and Tower Bridge on the Riverbank.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 248 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Awful...and getting worse! No customer care....no care at all. Elevators appalling, rooms all smell of smoke. Breakfast was like feeding time at the zoo...absolute chaos and staff/management completely absent. No recognition of me as someone who has stayed before and is loyal to the IHG brand. 17 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by gute Basis gute Lage wenn man in Stansted landet, man kann vom Liverpool station zum Hotel gehen. Tube in wenigen Minuten zu erreichen DasHotel liegt an der Grenze des Buisinesszentrums zu einen älteren stadtteil, ein wenig " multi-kulti". Waren zufrieden mit Ausnahme dass das Zimmer für einen Familenraum zu klein wat und zu wenig Ablageflächen hatte, und das die Frühstücksauswahl ein wenig reichlicher sein könnte. Zusammenfassend eine sehr gute, sichere und saubere Basis für eine Aufenthalt der sich der Entdeckung Londons widmet und nicht der Erholung IM Hotel! 17 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Buena opción para familias Familia de dos adultos y dos niños (11 y 14 años). Estuvimos en el hotel 5 noches a principios de Agosto del 2014. El hotel es una buena opción para poder alojarse los cuatro en una única habitación, a un precio razonable, y con desayuno incluido, teniendo en cuenta las tarifas en la ciudad. El desayuno es poco variado y siempre el mismo, Seguramente un aspecto a mejorar Los niños durmieron en un sofá cama. La habitación es pequeña pero suficiente. Hay que desplazarse al centro en metro (Old Street) y hacer transbordo en la estación siguiente. La estación está a 5 minutos. Una opción más agradable es desplazarse en autobús como el 55 (para ir directamente a Oxford Street), y el 243 (a la estación de Waterloo) Se tarda una media hora.. También está próximo a la estación de Liverpool, dónde llega el tren directo del aeropuerto de Stansted. 17 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, breakfast, clean bath room, but sofa bed is not great. Everything was great at the Holiday Inn except for the sofa bed. It's smaller than a standard full-size bed, and sages to the middle. The breakfast is marvelous, more than just a continental one, but rather a buffet with many good selections. The location is also safe and convenient, with fast-foods and convenient stores around, and good pedestrian traffic at night, though it's a bit of walk with luggage from the nearest Tube station. 16 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay - very clean bathroom Was very impressed with this hotel. Bathroom and shower were the cleanest I've ever seen at a hotel and the room was very presentable. Hotel is in a great location, 2 minute walk to the tube. Breakfast in the morning was busy but the helpful staff helped us find a place to sit and made sure it was clean for us. Only problem I had was that I couldn't connect my phone to the wifi but as I was only staying one night it wasn't really a problem.I would defiantly stay here again. 13 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable hotel and very good location First time staying Holiday Inn Express and was happy with the choice. Double bed very comfortable but bed sofa not very good. Room and bath cleanliness perfect! Good service and breakfast! Location very good for visit London. 12 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and Great value The room is nice and clean but...when I was there I looked around and to my satisfaction everything was good. So I lay on the bed for 10 mins just plain-fully relaxing when I heard this noise. It was very disturbing, so I called the reception and asked for them to come and check it, So when a guy came, he told me that it was the air conditioning and that it will go on all the time. For a minute i was shocked. After a while of checking the receptionist offered me if I would like to change rooms, and obviously I said yes. So that is my story. My next room was nice and the same as the other room, so i recommend Holiday Inn Express to you. By the way the price is great if you're coming for a quick night 11 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Expres Old Street Appalling noisy airconditioning in what was a hot room and a poor breakfast in a busy place with no seats detracted from an otherwise fine room and very impressive bathroom. 11 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by so happy wonderful stay and staff. couldn't have been kinder to the kids! 09 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service and Conveniently located Excellent location within 1min walk from supermarket and 3mins walk to Old Street tube station. We were a family of four with two early teens so it was a squeeze into one family room but nevertheless room was clean and facilities sufficient for our needs. Staff were polite and provided good service. Breakfast a bit chaotic with number of visitors but nevertheless has a good range. 09 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for a couple. Helpful, friendly staff. Comfortable room for a couple but small for a family. Convenient location. 08 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really good service; room above usual standard The staff were very friendly, especially when compared to other London hotels I've stayed in. The room was great - love the choice of hard or soft pillows. Choice of breakfast was good without being exceptional. Really well located by Old St tube stop - very convenient for meetings in Central or South London 08 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel. Pity about the night time noise Stayed one night (Saturday) - hotel was great and staff very helpful. However, the hotel is next to a university residence and at night the drunken noise (shouting, swearing and constant revving of car engines) coming from the square behind the hotel went on unti 4 a.m. so didn't get much sleep which pretty much spoilt our stay. 06 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by would stay again great location First time staying Holiday Inn Express and was quite happy with the choice. Problems with air conditioning meant room was too hot for good nights sleep but the comfortable bed helped. Location perfect for getting into London and right near a Sainshury's express. Breakfast fab choice and good standard. Overall pleased.m 05 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service and helpful staff The hotel staff and management impressed me with their helpful attitude. Something had gone wrong with my online booking (only two people booked while we were three, and the sofa bed in the room could not open for a third person). The hotel staff tried very hard to find a solution, even it was late at night and the hotel was fully booked. A solution was found (extra bed was brought into the room), at no charge. Thanks!! 03 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not 4-Star Quality It didn't meet my expectations of a 4-Star hotel. Most of the staff were friendly, but the manager needs to work on her interaction with guests. Food was purchased with the accommodations, but we weren't permitted to eat on the first day due to limited space. The hotel definitely needs an upgrade. 01 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Good, attentive staff, pleasant and clean rooms, great breakfast efficiently executed. Good value overall. 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine for an overnight stop Apart from the ancient slow lifts, the stay was fine and not too expensive for a London hotel 22 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fullfilled our needs Noice was kept out when the window was closed but air conditioning was a little bit too warm to keep the window closed.. There was not enough room for keeping clothes. A simple wardrope could be suited at the place were the electric kettle shelf was. Or remove the wall between the shelf and coat rack and install a large wardrope instead of those. 21 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for family holliday The room was big enough for 4 people, it was clean and the bathroom was very nice. We could make our own coffee/tea in the room. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located near Old Street station, ca 3 minutes walk. There is an elevator, and free breakfast. We will use the same hotel next time. 18 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 enjoyable stay This was a good stay at one of the HI Express hotels. Thanks to Jakob for a welcoming reception and being responsive to my room requests. Rooms are clean and comfortable, also quiet (I had a room at the back, upper floor). Good value package. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum as seems to be the norm for HI Express but when this is open to all as 'free' then I suppose you can expect that. Food is limited in range but perfectly adequate. Early check out was a little let down by the receptionist who seemed to be having a bad day so felt like you had been summoned to the headmaster's office, not sure why. Will likely stay again. 17 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room, bathroom and breakfast The room was very comfortable and the bathroom nice. Hand and body wash was provided but no hair conditioner. The breakfast was continental with a good variety of food and drink. Would have been nice to have had an extra half an hour or so to enjoy this. 16 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Habitación cuadruple deficiente y buen servicio Precio elevado e instalaciones por debajo respecto a otros hoteles de la misma cadena . 15 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Overall good experience for the price. Breakfast buffet could use a few more fruit choices, but if you are an eggs and bacon kind of person it will be fine. Room was very clean, remember to bring most of your own amenities as hair conditioner and moisture lotion are not provided. Shower gel and hand soap were. If traveling from abroad bring your own electric adapter as the hotel has a very limited supply. 8 pounds at the vending machine is quite steep a price to pay. If taking the red eye and expecting to arrive early keep in mind there may be an issue with an early check in. 14 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, clean and comfortable rooms I stayed at Holiday Inn Express during my trip to London from June 30 to July 3rd 2014. Holiday Inn Express is clean and extremely comfortable with excellent location - closer to the old street station; restaurants; grocery stores. On top of all the hotel provides excellent complimentary breakfast and free internet. I would definitely like to stay at Holiday Inn Express again during my next trip!! 07 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Located in a convienient central point near the subway station. Comfortable bed, well-designed room, clean bathroom, quite good breakfast, friendly staff. The only problem we faced is that the are no electricity adaptors available at the reception for the common European pluggs, not even for a small fee rental. They are just on sale, which is quite unusual for a hotel of this category, especially if one counts on finding an adaptor, as it happens in most hotels. The price was a bot high for us, but all London hotels are like that anyway, even the really bad ones! 05 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor attention of staff and slow check in Reluctant to serve meal after 10.00pm when advertised as 10.30pm. Oblivious to me waiting at the bar until prompted and slow desk service. The rooms are OK and breakfast OK. Not a bad location for tube etc. but many staff really let the hotel down. 04 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location No refrigerator in the room but otherwise there is all you need. 04 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and comfortable stay, but staff needs to be re-trained. The positive rating is given for the clean hotel room, comfortable bed and pillow. Professionalism and basic customer service knowledge of check-out desk employees need to be checked and re-trained. The employee literally stopped IN THE MIDDLE of her sentence while helping me with check-out, walked away from the desk to help the other customer (who just walked up without lining up) before completing my check-out! I think this is BASIC customer facing competency, unless the other customer has an emergency situation, she should have told the later customer that she will be with him/her right after helping the current customer - Not leaving the desk in the middle of an unfinished sentence to help the next! 01 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 早餐 质量不错,但是品种较为单一, 菜单从不更换,给人厌烦的感觉。如果能定期做一些更换将会更好。希望有所改进以避免影响酒店品牌形象。 01 July 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Visit The Famous Tate Modern Museum, Only 5 Minutes Away London skyline Why Not Meet a Friend or a Colleague Over a Coffee or Drink Hotel Lobby WiFriendly Staff is Here to Help You Don't Miss Out and Visit Tower Bridge Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Southwark View of St Pauls Cathedral Stay Informed Watching the News in a Newly Refurbished Lobby View On The Green Wall Of The Hotel View on the Bankside Area and the Shard View Holiday Inn Express Southwark from Southwark Street Walk To The London Eye Along The Thames Riverside
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 29 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 30 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading