• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 30 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 01 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately our hotel does not accept pets but there is pet boarding conveniently located near hotel. Please contact Camp Diggity Dogs at :1835 Imperial Avenue San Diego, CA 92102 619 7024090 campdiggitydogs.com

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces94
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking available to all registered guests

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:91
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:46
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:91
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City is conveniently located off I-805 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), Sea World, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City is conveniently located off I-805 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), Sea World, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room, an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the ARCO Olympic Training Center, Sea World Aquatica Water Park, Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, shopping malls such as Westfield Plaza Bonita, Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are National City Civic Center, US Naval Base San Diego 32nd Street, Ball Automotive Group, NASSCO, General Dynamics, NMS Management, Inc. and Oxyheal Health Group.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in Americas finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Enjoy our Express Start breakfast buffet featuring a variety of signature items served daily, fitness room, outdoor heated pool, business center, on-site laundry facility and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 180 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by La Mesa Except for the ants in the bathroom, a very pleasant visit. 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient loctiation and good customer awareness Location was close to my work. Unfortunate that you are requesting more comments as this seems in contrast to your positive customer service and desire to make guests comfortable.. 10 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close Enjoyed my stay. Hotel was close to my destination at a reasonable price. Front desk people were friendly. I recommend it. 02 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and very comfortable Had a very pleasant experience staying here. Quiet room and very comfortable bed. Brought my own pillow. Staff pleasant and responsive. Very friendly and made you feel welcome and appreciated. Only complaint was the restaurant food could be better. It wasn't that inexpensive and the quality should be better. Ants in the restaurant around the tables. People had to be moved. This can happen, so I really don't hold that against them. 29 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and very friendly staff. I have stayed at this hotel before. The beds are amazing and the front desk staff is very helpful and friendy. I will definitely stay here again. 28 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff - Problems with Room Staff was nice and friendly and helpful. There were 2 holes in the wall above the bed -- looked like bullet holes. No bathtub. Refrigerator was broken. Forgotten wake-up call. Holiday Inns have been a staple in my family's traveling plans, but this hotel was disappointing... I drove 4 hours in bumper-to-bumper traffice from Los Angeles to La Mesa. It was disappointing that the refrigerator was broken (I had perishables)... and I was looking forward to a nice, hot bath.... and there was no bathtub. Had to get up at 6:30am to go to a training seminar... I did not get the wakeup call I had requested the night before... luckily the morning light woke me up. 27 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will come back I was very pleased with my stay at the Holiday Inn, La Mesa. I was appreciative of the cleanliness of the room and the entire hotel. I felt safe with the parking and in my room. It's close to a lot of stores. Staff is very polite, upbeat and helpful. I have nothing negative to say about my stay at the hotel. 27 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by CLEAN AND CONVENIENT THE HOTEL WAS CLEAN, CONVENIENT AND EASY TO ACCESS OTHER RESTAURANTS. WAS DISAPPOINTED THERE WAS NO HOT TUB. MY MOTHER STAYED ON THE BOTTOM FLOOR AND SHE COMMENTED HOW NOISY IT WAS DURING THE NIGHT AND EARLY MORNING. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND STAYING ON THE FIRST FLOOR ADJACENT TO THE LOBBY. 26 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Quietest Holiday Inn Hotels Stayed for 1 night prior to a workshop. Located in a quiet residential neighbourhood. To reach hotel, one would certainly need a vehicle. Wifi signals were strong and was FOC. Even though my room faced the carpark, it was quiet. The only negative was the unavailability of free newspaper which I had got to enjoy in other IHG hotels. The room air-conditioner probably will need servicing to eliminate noise. Overall it is a good hotel for a mid-stop or for business travellers to the La Mesa area. 23 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and great service We were in town to visit family. This hotel was in a convenient location for a reasonable price. 17 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate room and bed but noise conducts Room and bed were adequate. But noise from heavy walking in the room above easily conducts to room. Woke me up. 15 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and friendiest staff The beds and bedding were so comfortable. My kids had the best sleep. The staff is great and so friendly. The front desk staff are courteous and attentive and very welcoming and friendly. We are big Holiday Inn fans. Our only complaint is better lighting in the rooms and particularly in the bathroom. But we understand the need to use energy efficient lighting . The only reason our sleep quality was not top notch was due to hallway noise (inconsiderate guests). We understand that this is not the fault of the hotel. 13 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean hotel Very nice, clean hotel. I was there for a funeral so did not use any amenities. They were close to mall, stores so was easy to get anything we forgot to bring. We had multiple families staying for the funeral. It would have been nice if they had some kind of small bereavement or multiple family discount. 12 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Its fine I stayed here for 3 nights. Upon check-in, they gave me keys to the wrong room. The keys didn't work, so they made new keys, which got me into a room that was already occupied (nobody in there, but lots of luggage opened). They got me into my proper room, sincerely apologized for the issue and gave me coupons for free breakfast at the hotel (worth $20 each so $60 total). However, the coupons don't cover tax, so my "free" breakfast was still like $2 each day. The room is fine, its quiet there, the entire hotel is non-smoking. this hotel is on the highway frontage road so its back far enough from the highway to be quiet. There is a shopping mall up the street with lots of restaurants, starbucks, movie theatres, etc. The food in the hotel restaurant is very good quality (surprising for a hotel restaurant which are usually only eaten at by "trapped" guests without a car to go elsewhere). Breakfast was excellent. I had a very good ribeye steak one night there. They only have one waitress, so it can be a delay in getting served. overall, I would stay here again. 11 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay for Business Hotel itself is fine. Clean, comfortable, friendly front desk. The restaurant is awful. Service and food. Did not get what I ordered, salmon overcooked and dry. Asked for tarter sauce which did not come for 10-15 minutes. I am sure there must be other decent restaurants in the area, but was too tired to venture out. 10 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Place to Stay Family vacation good place to stay with kids. Friendly Staff. Clean Room. 02 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation Great hotel but it should have at least a continental breakfast 01 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comic con in comfort Clean and comfortable room. Close to both the Trolley and Freeway (in a good way). Close to local restaurants. 29 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent Hotel We pretty much exclusively stay at Holiday Inns and I use my IHG Rewards card when we do. My daughter had friends come down from LA for Comic Con so I decided the La Mesa location would be perfect for them to stay. I wasn't wrong.The staff were wonderful, friendly and always smiling. Rooms were clean as is the hotel throughout. The location is perfect and is about 1 minute from the 8 freeway. There are two trolley stops minutes away too if you don't fancy driving. All in all they loved their stay and had a great time. 5 stars all round!! 28 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Stayed there for 3 nights, used my member reward nights, It is very good location out side of San Diego, but it is close driving distance away from all major attractions in San Diego. It is newer hotel, and there are couple eatery near by, good place with decent price. I would stay there again when I visit San Diego 24 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Near lots of stores and restaurants My husband and I went to San Diego for vacation to visit the beach and Sea World. This hotel was about 15 minutes away from both destinations; however, it was a reasonable distance. The hotel rooms were very nice and clean. However, we stayed on the first floor and it was quite loud. You could hear the traffic right outside and people walking above you all night long. This made it difficult for us to get a good night sleep. However, I did like the fact that there are places very close to eat and shop. I would stay again; however, I would not stay on the bottom floor. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service at a great price. We really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Express La Mesa. Clean hotel with excellent service. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to individuals wanting to stay in the San Diego area. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay The location and value of the hotel, in comparison to others, was good for my needs to work in Mira Mesa as well as visit Tijuana during my business trip. Taxes here are also lower than closer to SD. However, there were two stand out items. 1. The Internet service on this trip was excellent. Best in any hotel I've been so far, felt one step under Verizon Fios. It makes me rethink staying at Hiltons or Marriotts for business (aside from atrocious prices) but this will be my go-to hotel on visits in this area from now on. 2. There's a 24 hour taco store next door with amazing food. Check it out. I have not been to the restaurant or bar here, so you'd have to check other reviews, but it's attached to the hotel. Otherwise, I recommend checking it out. All other amenities were decent, as far as I know. This area will require a car to access, however. 22 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff The staff were very polite and welcoming. I have a few issues with my room and the staff and front desk manager took care of quickly and efficiently. I loved staying at this hotel I felt safe and the room was clean. I would recommend staying here for vacation any time of the year. 17 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff I thought I had reserved a room at Holiday Inn Express. Staff here were very friendly and helpful. Will probably return to the Express, really like the breakfast in the morning. 17 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service the employees at this hotel are very friendly and efficient. It is conveniently located next to restaurants, and shopping. Room service was on time and good food. the bed was very comfortable, and the room was very roomy and comfortable. 16 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old and dingy The entire facility was old, dark, and dirty. The only electrical outlet for the whole room was located in the bathroom. 16 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and comfy bed We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn/La Mesa for five nights. The room was roomy and the bed was comfy. We would definitely stay here again! 14 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good! Good Hotel to stay! The Price is bit higher. But i would recommend this hotel. If they reduce the price little bit, i think it will be one of the best hotel to stay 09 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Miserable Stay My first room had ants all over the bath room, we were unable to really use the bathroom because of the ants. Thankfully they were able to move us to another room at about 8am in the morning so we were able to clean up and start our day. However the new room being ant free had an air conditioner that rattled loudly. Needing to start our day I was able to prop furniture against it to quiet it down. When we settled down in the evening I was unable to stop the noise from the air conditioner, I was awake all night constantly getting up to try to stop the rattle and bury my head in the pillows to try to get some sleep for the long drive ahead of me the next day. My first stay at this hotel was nice, so that is why I chose to stay here again. But I will never stay at this hotel or even recommend it again. I probably would have had a better stay at a one star hotel, and paid a better price. The management did credit me a nights stay, but the sad thing is that the staff never even made notes about changing my room. I turned in two sets of keys and said well there's my proof. 09 July 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel Guest Services at the Holiday Inn Express National City Sea World San Diego near the Holiday Inn Express National City Balboa Park near the Holiday Inn Express National City Refreshing and Beautiful Hotel Lobby Entrance Downtown Holiday Inn Express San Diego National City Hotel San Diego Zoo near the Holiday Inn Express National City
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 30 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 01 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading