• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 25 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 26 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately our hotel does not accept pets but there is pet boarding conveniently located near hotel. Please contact Camp Diggity Dogs at :1835 Imperial Avenue San Diego, CA 92102 619 7024090 campdiggitydogs.com

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces94
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking available to all registered guests

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:91
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:46
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:91
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City is conveniently located off I-805 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), Sea World, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City is conveniently located off I-805 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), Sea World, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room, an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the ARCO Olympic Training Center, Sea World Aquatica Water Park, Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, shopping malls such as Westfield Plaza Bonita, Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are National City Civic Center, US Naval Base San Diego 32nd Street, Ball Automotive Group, NASSCO, General Dynamics, NMS Management, Inc. and Oxyheal Health Group.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in Americas finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Enjoy our Express Start breakfast buffet featuring a variety of signature items served daily, fitness room, outdoor heated pool, business center, on-site laundry facility and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 192 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent Hotel We pretty much exclusively stay at Holiday Inns and I use my IHG Rewards card when we do. My daughter had friends come down from LA for Comic Con so I decided the La Mesa location would be perfect for them to stay. I wasn't wrong.The staff were wonderful, friendly and always smiling. Rooms were clean as is the hotel throughout. The location is perfect and is about 1 minute from the 8 freeway. There are two trolley stops minutes away too if you don't fancy driving. All in all they loved their stay and had a great time. 5 stars all round!! 28 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Stayed there for 3 nights, used my member reward nights, It is very good location out side of San Diego, but it is close driving distance away from all major attractions in San Diego. It is newer hotel, and there are couple eatery near by, good place with decent price. I would stay there again when I visit San Diego 24 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Near lots of stores and restaurants My husband and I went to San Diego for vacation to visit the beach and Sea World. This hotel was about 15 minutes away from both destinations; however, it was a reasonable distance. The hotel rooms were very nice and clean. However, we stayed on the first floor and it was quite loud. You could hear the traffic right outside and people walking above you all night long. This made it difficult for us to get a good night sleep. However, I did like the fact that there are places very close to eat and shop. I would stay again; however, I would not stay on the bottom floor. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service at a great price. We really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Express La Mesa. Clean hotel with excellent service. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to individuals wanting to stay in the San Diego area. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay The location and value of the hotel, in comparison to others, was good for my needs to work in Mira Mesa as well as visit Tijuana during my business trip. Taxes here are also lower than closer to SD. However, there were two stand out items. 1. The Internet service on this trip was excellent. Best in any hotel I've been so far, felt one step under Verizon Fios. It makes me rethink staying at Hiltons or Marriotts for business (aside from atrocious prices) but this will be my go-to hotel on visits in this area from now on. 2. There's a 24 hour taco store next door with amazing food. Check it out. I have not been to the restaurant or bar here, so you'd have to check other reviews, but it's attached to the hotel. Otherwise, I recommend checking it out. All other amenities were decent, as far as I know. This area will require a car to access, however. 22 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff The staff were very polite and welcoming. I have a few issues with my room and the staff and front desk manager took care of quickly and efficiently. I loved staying at this hotel I felt safe and the room was clean. I would recommend staying here for vacation any time of the year. 17 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff I thought I had reserved a room at Holiday Inn Express. Staff here were very friendly and helpful. Will probably return to the Express, really like the breakfast in the morning. 17 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service the employees at this hotel are very friendly and efficient. It is conveniently located next to restaurants, and shopping. Room service was on time and good food. the bed was very comfortable, and the room was very roomy and comfortable. 16 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old and dingy The entire facility was old, dark, and dirty. The only electrical outlet for the whole room was located in the bathroom. 16 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and comfy bed We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn/La Mesa for five nights. The room was roomy and the bed was comfy. We would definitely stay here again! 14 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good! Good Hotel to stay! The Price is bit higher. But i would recommend this hotel. If they reduce the price little bit, i think it will be one of the best hotel to stay 09 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Miserable Stay My first room had ants all over the bath room, we were unable to really use the bathroom because of the ants. Thankfully they were able to move us to another room at about 8am in the morning so we were able to clean up and start our day. However the new room being ant free had an air conditioner that rattled loudly. Needing to start our day I was able to prop furniture against it to quiet it down. When we settled down in the evening I was unable to stop the noise from the air conditioner, I was awake all night constantly getting up to try to stop the rattle and bury my head in the pillows to try to get some sleep for the long drive ahead of me the next day. My first stay at this hotel was nice, so that is why I chose to stay here again. But I will never stay at this hotel or even recommend it again. I probably would have had a better stay at a one star hotel, and paid a better price. The management did credit me a nights stay, but the sad thing is that the staff never even made notes about changing my room. I turned in two sets of keys and said well there's my proof. 09 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cant sleep well The walls seemed so thin that you could hear everything in all of the rooms around you all night. Above you, on the sides of you, everywhere. The staff was very nice and courteous and the lobby area was nice but I'm not sleeping in the lobby. 07 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation Great safe property Staff were awesome I would recommend to everyone 07 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location... beds not very good. Stayed at this Holiday Inn beginning on 6/30. The property is decent. The location is pretty good. I ate at the restaurant and it was pretty good. My major complaints about my room are that the bed was extremely hard and the pillows, even those labeled as "Firm" are way too soft and not very stuffed. The AC also went in and out. 07 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a great time during my stay at La Mesa Holiday Inn The room was clean and comfy. The staff were very nice courteous and helpful. 06 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff The hotel services was very good. Our only issue was dining at the La Mesa which is attached to the hotel. We had hamburgers which had been frozen and still had that frozen meat taste. 02 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family Stay Overall, my family enjoyed the 6 nights we stayed at the hotel. The room was clean, nice and updated. The only major complaint was our shower. The first night we noticed that the shower was either extremely hot or extremely cold. No variability existed. I called the front desk and was assured that it would be put on the list for the maintenance crew the next day. The following day it still wasn't fixed. I didn't initially call again because it was late and I thought that they may still be looking into the matter. The following night was the same result - extremely hot or extremely cold. I immediately called the front desk about the issue (probably should have pressed more about the continuing problem#. They assured me that it would be fixed the next day. I noticed the next day that they changed out the faucet valve #left the package trash on the counter). Being a son of a plumber, I knew this was the problem and can be changed relatively easy. After that, the next 2 days we enjoyed the shower. I really liked the place, but I was just surprised that a simple fix took 3-4 days of our 6 day stay. 01 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ok hotel for the price Convenient location and good price. Rooms and bathrooms need additional lighting and an upgrade. Window opened only half way, needs to be fixed. Air conditioning system is old and noisy, but works well. 30 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and very comfortable room I have been staying at this Holiday Inn for many years because it is close to family and a good value with great service an a very comfortable room. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn to San Diego visitors. 29 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great East County hotel We stay here every time we come to La Mesa. Its conveniently located to all of East County, easy to access from I8. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the bar person remembered us from last Oct. 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff Very clean very nice hotel, very friendly staff, parking is a little tight. Upon checkout we noticed our bill wasn't right we took it to the front desk, Joshua went out of his way to fix the problem and more than made up for it, even though it wasn't his fault he kept apologizing to us he did fix the problem. Would highly recommend this hotel. 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Great customer service made a week long stay at a hotel feel more like home. Conveniently located near the highway, a mall and several restaurants made this location desirable. 25 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant experience The restaurant was quite small but the service was very good. The service personnel did an outstanding job. 18 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience and customer service We had a good stay at this hotel June 9-June 16 2014. Andre (front desk) was exceptional with A-1 customer service. Hotel is in a good location and property upkeep was good. The room was nice. Overall very friendly staff. Cons: Room was open one day we returned but the front desk handled the problem. The hotel policy no pets allowed only service animals. We saw a guest sneak a dog in and I reported it to management and he did nothing. 18 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value and Service!!! The employee at the front counter was very nice and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. 17 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great access within walking distance to stores and restaurants; adequate hotel parking 16 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nights sleep everything was very good. Good room, good beds, very quite and comfortable. Bathroom lighting was a little dim for our needs, but that's not a problem. 10 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Staff here was top shelf. Josh at the front desk went way above and beyond to make sure we were kept smiling and I was very pleased with the location as well. The hallways, elevators, "business/computer room" and outside grounds are a bit tired and could all use some love.....actually...a lot of love...as could the exterior and the grounds. The rooms & bathrooms are as expected and fairly appropriate for the price. 05 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great staff Room was very comfortable. Easy access to highway to go either towards the beach and /or inland. Nice restuarant /bar. GREAT staff. were Johnny on the spot when we had any problems. 03 June 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel Guest Services at the Holiday Inn Express National City Sea World San Diego near the Holiday Inn Express National City Balboa Park near the Holiday Inn Express National City Refreshing and Beautiful Hotel Lobby Entrance Downtown Holiday Inn Express San Diego National City Hotel San Diego Zoo near the Holiday Inn Express National City
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 25 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 26 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading