• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 30 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately our hotel does not accept pets but there is pet boarding conveniently located near hotel. Please contact Camp Diggity Dogs at :1835 Imperial Avenue San Diego, CA 92102 619 7024090 campdiggitydogs.com

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces94
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking available to all registered guests

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:91
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:46
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:91
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City is conveniently located off I-805 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), Sea World, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City is conveniently located off I-805 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), Sea World, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room, an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the ARCO Olympic Training Center, Sea World Aquatica Water Park, Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, shopping malls such as Westfield Plaza Bonita, Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are National City Civic Center, US Naval Base San Diego 32nd Street, Ball Automotive Group, NASSCO, General Dynamics, NMS Management, Inc. and Oxyheal Health Group.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in Americas finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Enjoy our Express Start breakfast buffet featuring a variety of signature items served daily, fitness room, outdoor heated pool, business center, on-site laundry facility and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Excellence I travel for my business and am in sales. Upon arriving and staying first time at this hotel. I got service starting from the enterance of the hotel. I must say the staff is great and deserve recognition. The location is great. Quick in and out of freeway. Restaurants walking distances. Down town San Diego is close by. I was very happy. 16 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff This Hotel was perfect for our needs. We have stayed in the area in other hotels. The service provided by this hotel and the staff deserves praise. We will any day stay here again and will recomend this hotel to others. 04 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room and Bed Comfotable ..a Little noisey The Interstate 8 freeway is within a stones throw , so the vehicle noise can be a bit annoying if you a light sleeper noteworthy are the 3 restaurants you can walk to from the front door 31 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! Great staff! When i first came into this hotel i saw there was renovations being done so in my mind im thinking there went my nights sleep right? But no the girl that checked me in was very very nice she moved and upgraded me to a great room away from the noise she made me feel right at home! I believe her name was adriana i was impressed by her great customer service! I also had the pleasure to meet and chat with both the cafeteria lady sandra and maintenance man armando who were both very nice and attentive. Everyone there showed lots of attention to their guests and i love that! The only person that lacked all of the above i believe her name was belen? I would express concern on certain things i needed and she simply didnt care, she needs to be replaced. Other than her i would most definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and all families. I will be sure to return and hope that my favorite staff is still there :) 23 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quick check in The service to get us checked in was speedy and the person was accommodating . 16 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well kept and good value We've stayed at this location several times when visiting in the area. Staff is friendly and helpful. Room, while "no frills," is comfortable and clean. Our only real complaint is the odor of whatever is used to clean in the hallways, which fortunately doesn't extend to the rooms. 16 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Small property but nice place. Location is great if you are heading out of town. Staff was polite, room was up to date, and breakfast wasn't bad. 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by La Mesa Holiday Inn Express Comfortable, convenient, quiet and secure. Excellent! Welcoming staff and management 10 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Night staff exceptional but building in need of much updating Walls and carpeting all down the hallway to our room dirty and not a pleasant smell at all. The walls in our room were exceptionally thin. Truly kept thinking someone else was in the room with us. We had to turn our TV up so we could hear it over the next rooms TV. It wasn't as if the next rooms TV was blasting, but hard to believe it wasn't in the very same room as ours. If I didn't have ear plugs I wouldn't have been able to fall asleep. I was embarrassed to use the bathroom knowing there was no way they couldn't hear me. I even contemplated going to use the one in the lobby. It was as if they were standing right there with me, No exaggeration. We were told we had a view. When I opened the curtains I couldn't believe how dirty the window was. I mean REALLY dirty enough to mask the view. The highway traffic was loud as well. A positive was the bathroom was updated and clean. 28 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by UNHELPFUL FRONT DESK CLERK When we checked out, we found the front desk clerk to be unhelpful. 16 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As usual, a great experience I've been staying here for over a year, on and off, and have always been impressed with the congeniality of the staff, the willingness to address any problem and fix it, and the comfort of the room. Breakfast is OK, better than most, coffee is good and always available -- in room or in the lobby. The chocolate chip cookies are delicious, by the way, hope they stay! 11 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Temporary Visitor Old hotel, deplorable carpets and lots of traffic noise. 06 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Will never stay there again. The room was literally a stone’s through away from a very busy, very noisy freeway. When I requested a different room I was told they were totally booked and none were available. I woke up with a head ach, which most likely came from the exhaust and pollution emanating from the freeway. The second day the staff locked me out of the room because they wanted me to sign some additional paperwork. Really?! –How about a phone call instead. Then, when a returned to my room it was locked from the inside due to a faulty latch. It took about 45 minutes to get the door open. While I was waiting I was offered a different room. In summery, the hotel is in disrepair, doesn’t smell nice, and has marginally attentive staff. I couldn’t wait for my two-day stay to be over with. 02 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Business Travelers beware! Pros: Front desk was polite. Breakfast room attendant was very polite. Cons: Room was very outdated. No extra plugs easily accessible next to bed. Room's layout I was in was very strange. Loud "clicking" noise coming from the wall for hours. Freeway is a stones throw away and created very loud noise that could easily be heard in the room. Hard to find off the freeway. Pretty much have to use Nav to find it. Pet peeves: Pool was empty. All floors of the hotel seems dated and in need of repair and touch ups everywhere. Overheard other hotel staff cursing while checking in. Towels were thin and not soft There is another Holiday Inn just a few miles down the 8. Might try that one next time, but I have to recommend this one be avoided until it gets some upgrades. (Namely noise resistant windows!) 01 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay! The location is convenient and the breakfast is good (lots of choices if you don't eat eggs and sausage). The window didn't open in our room (#420); I mentioned it to the front desk and hope it will be fixed since the room got stuffy. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel, grate location, renovated room, amazing service I love this hotel. Rooms are spacious in this hotel. Decor is cheerful colors and the bed was comfortable. Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Good recommendation about restaurants and shopping. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding HIE We stayed here 7 days and everyday was outstanding from the breakfast's to the room servicing daily. Move here after looking at a motel very near this place. There is no comparision. 10 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by happy in san diego i have stayed at this property many times. each time has been a good experience. rooms are always clean, staff is always friendly and parking is convenient and free!! its close to the freeways and continues to be my hotel of choice when in the area. thank you 09 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mr Excellent desk clerk's Clean Quiet and located close to all of San Diego amenities 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had fun What a nice staff! Thank you for such great service. They were even nice to my kids! 19 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good food - Thin walls - Fitness Room (needs work) The rooms here were clean and generally comfortable. The walls seemed to be a little thin. I do not think my neighbor had the TV very loud but it seemed to come through the walls and conversations were not very private. The HVAC system worked thankfully as both a temperature monitor and a sound buffer. I was able to use the fitness room. Both Treadmills are in need of repair or replacing. The control buttons are mutilated beyond recognition. I got them to work but through a workaround. Breakfast was great and the cinnamon buns are my downfall. 18 November 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience ever! So I booked a room here because others from our group were staying here. I arrived late for check-in, and upon my arrival I was informed that the room I got had no working shower in the room. My response was I would find another place to stay. After looking around there were no other hotels aviable in the surrounding areas, and since in was almost 1 in the morning I was forced into taking the room. My other friends starting at the property said I could use there shower. In sorts problem solved. After getting into the room I immediately noticed the room smelled like paint, so I went to turn I the a/c but apparently that didn't work either. I tired opening the balcony door but the noise from the extremely close freeway was unbearable. The noise with the balcony door closed was still very loud but with the tv on was tolerable. In the morning after talking with others from my group I found out the room had originally been given to another member of our group. That person was in the room for a long time before discovering the shower didn't work. House keeping didn't come back on a re-clean the room. Since I knew the person it wasn't the worst case but still unsettling. Also the hair dyer in the room only worked for less the five minutes. After that it turned off and wouldn't turn back on. 13 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good experience Overall, my stay was great. The housekeeping staff tried coming into my room even though I had my do not disturb sign, but that was alright. Breakfast was great and the lady handling it was very helpful and super nice. 09 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older facility but a great stay. Friendly reception on arrival and great to have laundry facility available to guests. Despite being an older building, the amenities were good. The breakfast room is a bit small (crowded) but still a good offering. Convenient to the highway without too much noise. 03 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and quiet rooms HIE always has clean quiet rooms and good breakfast. Staff is generally accommodating as well. 31 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and service Thanks to the Holiday Inn Express La Mesa team for going above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. As a frequent traveler, little items such as welcome gift basket, bottled water and choice of snack amenities, is truly a delight. I know it is not required, but it sure is nice after a long day of travel. Many thanks ans I will surely return. 20 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn and the Chargers! Pleasurable stay! Great Room and a very comfortable bed!! Friendly staff! Highly recommend!!! 18 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and ambiance and service had a great experience Had a great week at the Holiday Inn. Service was great My stay comfortable, food and snacks were yummy too. 15 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by location We made our reservation through 1-800 holiday and were on our way to a wedding on Coronado. Our room was very noisy due to freeway traffic. Sheila took the time and was VERY helpful in satisfying us with a MUCH quitter location. Each time I passed through the lobby she acknowledged me BY MY NAME. Sheila also referred us to the Mexican restaurant next door when we asked for a nice place to have dinner - Very good food! Thanks Sheila!!! 13 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for a comfortable night Was at this property arriving on a late night flight from the east coast. Was able to get a good nights rest and back to work early AM. The internet is a bit spotty and slow. 09 October 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel Guest Services at the Holiday Inn Express National City Sea World San Diego near the Holiday Inn Express National City Balboa Park near the Holiday Inn Express National City Refreshing and Beautiful Hotel Lobby Entrance Downtown Holiday Inn Express San Diego National City Hotel San Diego Zoo near the Holiday Inn Express National City
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 30 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading