• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 26 Nov 2014)
(e.g. 27 Nov 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately our hotel does not accept pets but there is pet boarding conveniently located near hotel. Please contact Camp Diggity Dogs at :1835 Imperial Avenue San Diego, CA 92102 619 7024090 campdiggitydogs.com

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces94
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking available to all registered guests

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:91
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:46
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:91
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City is conveniently located off I-805 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), Sea World, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City is conveniently located off I-805 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), Sea World, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room, an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the ARCO Olympic Training Center, Sea World Aquatica Water Park, Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, shopping malls such as Westfield Plaza Bonita, Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are National City Civic Center, US Naval Base San Diego 32nd Street, Ball Automotive Group, NASSCO, General Dynamics, NMS Management, Inc. and Oxyheal Health Group.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in Americas finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Enjoy our Express Start breakfast buffet featuring a variety of signature items served daily, fitness room, outdoor heated pool, business center, on-site laundry facility and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 203 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and very comfortable room I have been staying at this Holiday Inn for many years because it is close to family and a good value with great service an a very comfortable room. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn to San Diego visitors. 29 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great East County hotel We stay here every time we come to La Mesa. Its conveniently located to all of East County, easy to access from I8. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the bar person remembered us from last Oct. 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff Very clean very nice hotel, very friendly staff, parking is a little tight. Upon checkout we noticed our bill wasn't right we took it to the front desk, Joshua went out of his way to fix the problem and more than made up for it, even though it wasn't his fault he kept apologizing to us he did fix the problem. Would highly recommend this hotel. 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Great customer service made a week long stay at a hotel feel more like home. Conveniently located near the highway, a mall and several restaurants made this location desirable. 25 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant experience The restaurant was quite small but the service was very good. The service personnel did an outstanding job. 18 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience and customer service We had a good stay at this hotel June 9-June 16 2014. Andre (front desk) was exceptional with A-1 customer service. Hotel is in a good location and property upkeep was good. The room was nice. Overall very friendly staff. Cons: Room was open one day we returned but the front desk handled the problem. The hotel policy no pets allowed only service animals. We saw a guest sneak a dog in and I reported it to management and he did nothing. 18 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value and Service!!! The employee at the front counter was very nice and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. 17 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great access within walking distance to stores and restaurants; adequate hotel parking 16 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nights sleep everything was very good. Good room, good beds, very quite and comfortable. Bathroom lighting was a little dim for our needs, but that's not a problem. 10 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Staff here was top shelf. Josh at the front desk went way above and beyond to make sure we were kept smiling and I was very pleased with the location as well. The hallways, elevators, "business/computer room" and outside grounds are a bit tired and could all use some love.....actually...a lot of love...as could the exterior and the grounds. The rooms & bathrooms are as expected and fairly appropriate for the price. 05 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great staff Room was very comfortable. Easy access to highway to go either towards the beach and /or inland. Nice restuarant /bar. GREAT staff. were Johnny on the spot when we had any problems. 03 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff I would recommend this property without any reservations. I only stay here when I'm in the area. 01 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Times My family and I went for the weekend. As I checked in I was promptly helped and was checked in quickly. Staff that evening were very friendly and have excellent customer service. We had breakfast in the Mesa Grill which also had excellent service. When in San Diego in the future I will definitely stay at this hotel. 29 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location and excellent service The Holiday Inn La Mesa is conveniently located near SDSU. It's reasonably priced and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We opted for the breakfast package and were impressed with the delicious breakfasts. Overall, we were very pleased with the room and our experience staying there. 22 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 good value and very clean An excellent stay near San Diego State University which was important as we were going to attend our son's graduation. However the taxi cab drive was almost 50 dollars. The hotel was very nice and it was an easy walk to pick up some shoes. We also had a good complimentary breakfast. 21 May 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn I've stayed at Everything except the Mesa Lounge Restaurant was Dirty. There was a big white stain on one of the chairs in the room. The air conditioner rattled every time the compressor went off, waking me up each time. I didn't have the time to change rooms, very compressed for time. There were signs for exterior elevator maintenance on each floor, but no evidence any work was being done to correct the terrible condition of the entrance to the elevator on each floor. 19 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience Friendly staff, restaurant on site. I would recommend this location to friends and family. 18 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by san Diego Outstanding and clean no recommendations at this time very well maintained. 12 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well worth the money Nothing fancy or gimmicky here. Just clean rooms good staff and excellent prices. Another plus is it's proximity to the freeway , shopping and restaurants. This is one I keep going back to. 07 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Construction and parking The property overall is nice and in a convenient location. Not sure if it was construction or what but for a woman alone, I was not comfortable with having to park in back after I returned from dinner. I would still give the place a good rating though, the staff were great and polite and the room was clean. When reservations are made, construction should be disclosed if it was not in this case. Not sure if this was the case, as I did not make the reservation. 27 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! I stayed at the Holiday Inn during my Spring Break and had an amazing experience. From the moment I checked in, everyone was very welcoming and accommodating. This was my first time staying at this Holiday Inn and I definitely have plans to come back again next year. 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WONDERFUL STAFF! I can't begin to tell you how wonderful your staff was during my one- night stay at your hotel! Greg, Joshua, Ceasar, and Raul helped me through a difficult time by accommodating my every need! They made a difficult situation stress free. Also, the room was clean and helped me feel relaxed and comfortable. The room service was great as well! I would definitely recommend this hotel to the weary traveler. Thanks again for taking care of me during my brief stay!!! 01 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay It started with the desk clerk, I believe his name was Joshua but I can't be certain. Anyway, I can't remember another hotel stay where I've been greeted with such a warm welcome - kudos to him for that simple yet often overlooked courtesy. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the hotel was in a seemingly good location. My only concern was the safety of my car because of the dim lighting on that side of the building (behind the 7-11), though that was unwarranted because nothing happened to my car or possessions. Overall, I would gladly stay there again. 29 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Winter Break Grounds were clean, Room was clean and well kept. Staff was very professional 17 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best hotel for value in La Mesa/El Cajon area This was my second stay at this Holiday Inn property. Enjoy the location and easy freeway access of getting from hotel to various locations in San Diego area. Room was spacious, clean and shower is roomy. (Like it when the shower curtain does not touch you.) Selected a king room away from the elevator and slept wonderfully, very quiet. (Found out that during my stay the property was completely sold out.) King bed was firm and just right. Liked the choice between soft and firm pillows already on the bed without having to ask. Front desk is excellent and really tries to help you. Joshua and Andre both went out of their way to ensure that my return visit was just as good as the first. There is parking in front and behind the building. Parked in front and felt very secure. Last time as Priority Club member got breakfast vouchers. This time was told program had changed and no vouchers. Would like Holiday Inn to reinstate the breakfast vouchers. Breakfast at this property is really good! 23 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay! I'm so glad that I picked this hotel for my 4 nights stay in San Diego. It was about a 15-20 minute quick drive away from all our activities and the staff up front was so accommodating. From bringing us extra towels after hours, finding us an extra phone charger, helping with itinerary ideas to printing out directions, they were more than helpful. This hotel is super clean, quiet and in a nice neighborhood next to good shopping. If you're looking for a great hotel...this is it! 27 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay ive stayed here several times, and will continue to stay here into this next year. the room is always comfortable, clean and the staff is always very friendly. on occasion they give me a room upgrade which is greatly appreciated. thank you for your great property 11 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good, spacious clean rooms and great service The rooms are large and comfortable, nice to stay in. I felt very sick in the morning with a terrible headache, so I needed to extend my check-out time. The staff gave me three more hours. The downsdide is that they did not have and would not get me an Advil or similar, so my wife had to walk to a 7-Eleven nearby in order to get it. But if I was alone there was no way I would have been able to take a pain reliever, this is something to consider. I believe all hotels should have those OTC medication in cases like this. 08 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by King sized room coffee at Mesa shop better then starbucks. All were well trained and efficient 02 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My stay Hotel location is very convenient and rooms are very clean. I had an issue with billing, what was confirmed at the time of reservation and what was billed was not same. The difference was $20 per night. I was in a hurry while check-out and later I found the issue when I found the receipt in my email. The hotel staff couldn't help and I need to wait for a day to speak to the manager. Finally the manager corrected the charges. I wonder these billing issues with such a big hotel network and I need to forward my original reservation to prove the rate. I need to mention that I made my reservation directly through ihg.com. Except that hotel is great for all purposes, staying with family or on work. 31 December 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City Hotel Guest Services at the Holiday Inn Express National City Sea World San Diego near the Holiday Inn Express National City Balboa Park near the Holiday Inn Express National City Refreshing and Beautiful Hotel Lobby Entrance Downtown Holiday Inn Express San Diego National City Hotel San Diego Zoo near the Holiday Inn Express National City
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 26 Nov 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 27 Nov 2014)
Check Availability
Loading