• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 01 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 02 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MIDTOWN MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a 75.00 USD non refundable fee per stay. Pets only allowed on certain floors.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Macy's Herald Square
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Madison Square Garden
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Broadway Theatre District/Times Square
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
5th Avenue Shopping
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces25
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel negotiated discount rate with Little Man Parking located at 221 West 29th between 7th and 8th Avenue. Negotiated rate is $30.00 for 25 hours for car, extra $10.00 per night for SUV/Mini Van/Oversized Vehical. No valet parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Business Center

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:228
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:146
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:82
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:228
  • Total number of accessible rooms:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:13
  • FEMA Property Number:NY5171

Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms.

Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access,
View More

Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms.

Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses.

Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby.

During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

View Less
Features
After enjoying the complimentary hot breakfast, plan your itinerary with the free high-speed Internet access. Then, tour the city and see the sights and sounds of New York City, all without venturing more than a few miles from our hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 290 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well pleased I booked this over the internet from UK, and I am always wary of this, but upon arrival was pleasantly pleased with my choice. Staff were very friendly and were quick to help us. Lifts to rooms were responsive to request for use, and the rooms were the standard sort for this type of hotel, but clean and well decorated. we had an added surprise when we looked out of the window to see the Empire State Building looking over us. all in all an excellent location, bit expensive but well worth it. 11 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Room in Midtown New York Having spent Christmas listening to fire trucks and car horns at 2.00 am in the morning in lower Manhattan. Sleeping in the newly renovated 31st street hotel was the peace that we were seeking. Even the air conditioning was whisper quiet. This may be the city that never sleeps but you are assured of a good nights rest at rooms located at the rear of this hotel. Even the bed with choice of soft or hard pillows was conducive to a good nights rest. Added to which the room rate was great value for money. Certainly would stay here again. 10 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by excellant location Superb location to most sites. Everything in walking distance so no need for added taxi fares. Staff friendly and helpful. Special mention to Brenda the chirpy , happy waitress ,where nothing was too much trouble. The only downside was the early closing times of the bar/restaurant. Would go again 03 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Average Average all-round, not the most memorable experience. 02 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Well located and big room - horrible bathroom and shower - staff impolite Well located and big room - horrible bathroom and shower - staff impolite - I strongly review your invoice before leaving the hotel 28 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I Love this place I travel extensively for work and this is by far one of the best Holiday Inns. I stay here every time i am in NYC and have never been disappointed. 24 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in NY Staffs are really nice and kind. Room is clean and service is professional. Location is perfect to leisure at NY. It's near the Empire and Korean Street. If you have plan to go to NY downtown, this hotel is perfect for it. Breakfast is worm and enough for adults and kids. 23 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great and modern NYC hotel - but something is missing... Holiday Inn 31st. was a better hotel than expected. The hotel was modern, with friendly staff and nice clean rooms and bathrooms. We enjoyed our stay and had a good nights sleep in the comfortable beds and did not hear any noise from the street or other rooms during the night. The only problem is that I booked and PAID for a 25 K bonus points package - that I haven't received. I've called the front desk twice and the response was that I had to wait a week or two before the points would show up. But now it has almost been a month since my stay - and nothing has happened! (reason "Value" is rated "Poor"). 18 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great, As Long As You Stay Away From The Restaurant! I went to the hotel restaurant for dinner on Monday 12/9. There was one other table of about 8 people that was already getting their checks and leaving when I arrived, so I was the only person for the majority of the time. The bartender/waiter checked on me once after 5 minutes of waiting to get me a diet soda and take my order. After 45 minutes of waiting for my food and never being checked on for a drink refill, the waiter came over and told me that he, the kitchen staff and hotel manager could not find the cook to make my food. I pointed at the chef sitting at a booth in the back corner of the dining room and asked "is that him?" At this point everyone started shouting at each other about the whole incident and I just got up and walked out without anyone ever saying anything to me or apologizing. I told the front desk about what happened and they did not seem to care, and nothing further was done. I didn't bother going back for the rest of the week and took my business elsewhere for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. This was the most appalling service I have ever experienced in a restaurant and honestly the only time in my life that I can remember making a formal complaint about because of how disgusted I was. The rest of the stay was fine - the room was nice (by NYC shoebox room standards), the rest of the staff was nice, the price was reasonable (again by NYC shoebox room standards), and there was surprisingly good soundproofing for any hotel I've been in, which was especially nice being in NYC. 16 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location Helpful staff and nice clean room. This hotel is close to all the major attractions and close to the subway. Great place to stay. 15 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service This was our first trip to New York and the staff at the holiday inn could not of been more courteous and helpful. Rooms are small but who is going to stay in there room when most of the attractions are right there. So glad we made Holiday Inn on 31st our choice!! 11 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic The hotel was new, modern, and clean. The staff was above and beyond friendly and helpful, especially Alma at the front desk. The rooms are larger than normal NYC hotels and the location was great, with walking distances being short for the Theater district, Times Square, etc. 09 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NY expensive Excellent location for my business trip. Pricing was too high, but it was New York in the week of the Rockefeller Tree Lighting, and all the hotels jack up their rates I guess. Internet was sporadic and kept kicking me off, and I would have to sign back on. That's irritating when you are trying to work from the room in the evening, I had similar issues last time I stayed there, I guess they can't or won't fix it. 08 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean boutique like rooms in a convenient location I generally avoid Midtown hotels as they are too small and in cluttered areas. This property is a nice one since the rooms are new and clean, and the furniture inside is the same as what you might find at certain boutique hotels. It is also nice to be right across the street from a chocolate and wine bar (Ayza) and within walking distance of the Macy's and subway/Path stops at 34th St. 07 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay! Knowledgeable staff met us when checking in. The location is great for seeing the sites in NYC at a reasonable price. The room was tastefully decorated. 05 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and Central For a short trip very good choice. Nice staff, Central to NYC main Points of interest. Clean rooms, all you need for a pleasant stay. 05 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff Reasonable price compared to other hotels, friendly staff and good service, rooms clean but small. Location very convenient and close to all the must see attractions in Manhattan 01 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Overall Facilities are in fine shape with pleasant staff all around. The walls between rooms are thin so if you are unlucky enough to have a noisy neighbor, you will hear it. Would gladly stay there again. 26 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice I needed to find a hotel room at the last minute. Have had great experiences at Holiday Inn stays in the past. This was the location best suited for my purposes. Excellent hotel. Very clean, quiet and everything in order. Staff very knowledgeable when posed with questions. Easy check-in and check-out process. Would definitely stay here again when in the city. 24 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Perfectly Sensible Place to Stay Great location in Midtown near Macy's - the largest store in the world they say. A good walk to either Time Square or Union Square. I was there 8 nights for a mixture of business and leisure. My room was clean, comfortable, and big enough for my needs. The laundry service was very quick. The blind came down to shut out the light, and my room was at the back so no street noise. The bed was big, and there was a choice of pillows (hard or soft). Occasionally, you can hear your neighbours coming and going, and bizarrely through the vent in the bathroom. The bar behind the lobby is compact and there is no great drink selection. I looked at the restaurant but didn't eat there as the menu was limited. But hey, there are plenty of places to eat or drink in the area. All in all I enjoyed my stay and I would go back. 22 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed but small room Excellent comfortable bed, great location, slow wifi and small room anyway a good stay and I'll recommend this hotel. 17 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT Hotel! I was so impressed with this Holiday Inn.. I needed a hotel in NYC and this was close to my office in the City. I am so happy with the cleanliness of this place, and the staff was so helpful (they gave me a shoe repair close to the hotel- and THAT place was amazing as well). INCREDIBLE. From a Minnesota traveler on business -- I almost hate to rave this much as I do not want to share the 'secret' of this place! 11 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Front Desk, Room and Quiet Everything thing was above expectations and the front desk was particularly helpful and friendly. Areas to improve: The casual chair wasn't necessary and was more an obstacle than welcomed. Not a big deal, but I'd prefer to walk around w/ out it. Restaurant service is extremely poor. With few people in reasturant, we weren't checked on, orders were incomplete, milk and cereal showed up 15 min. apart. Just took too long. Refills of coffee, etc. verrrrry slow. 09 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Quick and Reasonable Great Hotel for a quick weekend in NYC. 1 Block from Penn Station and a slew of subway lines. Impressively clean and priced right. We'll be back. 07 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good NYC hotel I stay in hotels every week and this HI with its newness is on/above par with any of the value hotels in NYC. Hotel staff is great. Location is very good as well. Staff very friendly & efficient. 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel Fantastic little hotel!! Clean, comfy and spacious rooms with an incredible view of the ESB! Staff were friendly and accommodating! Amazing view from the rooftop bar! Location is really convenient between 5-6th Avenue. Near all my favorite things: flower district, koreatown, wholesale shopping on 6th ave... Can't think of one bad thing to say about it. 24 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Bed was comfortable, nice to have microwave and mini-fridge. I was only on the 3rd floor and other reviewers have commented about the noise from the street, but I travel with a noise machine and never heard any outside noises. Not much room to maneuver, but I understand that is typical for motels in Manhattan. Desk service very helpful. Great location.... only one block from subway station. Can't comment on restaurant or bar as I did not visit either one. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Clean Hotel I would recomend this hotel to my friends and family. It was clean, comfortable and had very friendly staff. Wilma, Bryan, Durrell were all fabulous. Especially Wilma who helped us around the subway system. Our view of the Empire State Building was incredible. The room was bigger than what I was expecting after reading so many other reviews for hotels, thought we were going to walk into a cracker box. Our room was perfect for the two of us once we unpacked. The bed was comfortable but soft. A bit too soft for us but nice just the same. Shower was roomy, sink area bit tight but we made it work. Great location to pretty much everything. We had the best time in NY and it started with checking into a great hotel!! 22 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and great Location The Hotel staff were very attentative and friendly. The room was very very clean, stylish, welcoming and great views of Empire State building which lite up at night and different colors each night. Location was great, I was next street from Empire state building, next to Broadway and 5th ave, not too close to Time Square which was good as I did not have the noise from the streets there. There was lack of movies to watch and it needs a bar fridge to place any drinks and snacks if one feels like snacking during the night. overall great hotel and location 19 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Impeccable Service, and Comfy Room! I stayed at this hotel just for one night but it really was a fantastic hotel! It is walking distance to a lot of shopping, restaurants, and tourist spots! The room was super clean, the bathroom was chic and modern, and the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating! When I asked the lady at the front desk if I could have more shampoo and conditioner (me and my sister have long hair and one bottle would not be enough for both of us) she gave us four bottles of each! The staff also gladly held our bags after checkout so we could do some more sightseeing around the city. It was also great having a refrigerator and microwave in the room. It seems like so many hotels don't offer those anymore! AND, last but not least, the beds were extremely comfortable and the windows were well insulated. You could barely hear any outside noise at all! All in all this is a great hotel and I recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Midtown! 16 October 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Early Evening at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Early Evening at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 01 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 02 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading