• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 20 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express NYC - Herald Square 36th St

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed. Maximum of 2 dogs, 50 pounds per room. Pets must be caged or taken for a walk daily for room cleaning. Rooms must be cleaned daily. Pet deposit amount 50.00 USD per stay.
Pet deposit amount  50.00    per stay

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Empire State Building
Distance From Hotel:0.3

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:93
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:135
  • Total number of accessible rooms:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:19
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.

Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in
View More

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.

Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near The Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel's guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services, as well.

There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or , visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Park, The Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel's guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City.

You'll take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express 36th Street is uniquely located in the heart of the Fashion District between 5th and 6th Avenue. This Hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. We are minutes away from the Empire State Building, Times Square and and so much more.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 290 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overall Stayed at this property for two nights while in midtown on business. The rooms are good sized and clean with minimal (if any)wear, and they give you the standard water and chocolate upon check in. The location isn't especially central to food, entertainment, etc., but there are good restaurants a few blocks north in Koreatown, and good coffee and restaurants a few blocks south. I wasn't thrilled with one of the front desk staff who told me to go outside and hail a cab when I informed him that I needed a car to the airport, but another employee (very nice female whose name I unfortunately can't remember) called a car service for me. 14 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a good place to stay excellent location . clean. comfortable you have everything that as a guest you need: microwave a fridge coffe machine good internet access 11 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything Picked hotel for its close proximity to many sites.We were able to get a North facing room with an excellent view of the Empire State Building! 09 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience, except... This hotel had terrific location for me, only 1/2 block from the building where I had meetings all week. The staff was outstanding. They helped me on several occasions during my stay in ways that were out of the norm. Helping me to get color copies printed, helping me track down the computer charging chord I left at home. The food was good and the rooftop bar was fantastic, and allowed me to enjoy the nice fall weather New York was experiencing while I was there. The only negative was the internet service. I was there for 11 nights, and the internet was a problem for about 1/2 the time. Three times I had to call technical support -- and the response wasn't that quick. I was there on business, and internet connection is critical to me. To truly make this hotel outstanding -- upgrade the internet service. 30 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet Location, room and staff were excellent. Unfortunately the wifi left much to be desired. It was mostly slow at times unresponsive. The speed had a direct impact on my ability to get work done which was the primary purpose of the visit. Until the speed of the internet increases where it is usable will not be able to stay at this hotel again. Too bad since I really liked the hotel and it's location 23 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best in IHG Group I expected much when Reading all the comments, but was disappointed from that Hotel, too expensive, no Flair, each Day different prices, cheapest Price in Internet at arrival Date, but could not change the preordered rate. No Upgrade available, 22 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel near all of the activities of NYC! I just generally like this hotel due to its modern feel. It is a newer hotel in NYC near Times Square, Empire State Building, MSG and numerous other spots. Since it was my first time in NYC I did a lot of exploring and could not comment on the hotel or food since I wanted to live like a New Yorker while there. King Size Bed was very comfortable along with LCD TV, Microwave and Mini-Fridge. Cost was a little steep but was due maybe to myself booking late and rooms was going fast the weekend I was there. I would recommend if anybody like newer hotels. 22 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The location was great. Elevators were fast. Showers were big. The Room was small. No shelving in bathroom to put toiletries. No place to put luggage. BUT, my biggest complaint was that it is advertised that parking is $30 a day and when we arrived we were told by parking gargage it would be $40 a day since we had a SUV. When we said something to hotel personnel they had NO IDEA about that!! We were not recognized as IHG rewards members. 21 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Splendid The best though the male receptionists are rude. If I have the opportunity to travel ten times in a year to New York, I will definitely stay in this hotel. 19 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT CHOICE Excellent location for shopping . Not as busy as Times Square. Staff very accommodating to priority members. Loved my stay. Would definitely return. 19 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Property Brand new look and feel; well equipped room, very comfortable bed. Very good value in NYC. Very convenient location. 18 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good location Very good location, Empire State Building and 5th Avenue is just 5 minutes and Times square is 15 minutes walking. Fantastic view from the Roof Bar to the ESB. The room servise is great we spent a super week in New York City. 14 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Members Service - Disappointing As a person that travels all over the world and enjoy the experience of the Priority Club Platinum, this hotel falls short. 1. Even after requesting for early arrival- 9:00AM (coming from Italy), I wasn't able to get into the room till 2:00 2. There is no concierge services 3. Room was really small ( smaller than Asian and European) rooms 4. Gym: Three days in a row without any water and at times not cleaned. 11 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and comfortable room Finding a hotel on Manhattan and working for a cost-conscious company is always fraught. Labour Day helped as the room rate was significantly cheaper and mitigated the second and much more expensive night. The room was average Manhattan size - small - but modernly furnished. It is a small hotel with not that many rooms so feels more like one of the boutique ones.. Great location as not far from Penn station or Macys. 09 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable beds ! Good value for NYC, location, Roof top bar very nice. Nice and quiet. One downside the rooms very small Would recommend. 05 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but reservation system needs help Clean, comfortable room. Good sized shower, but the bottles of shampoo and conditioner are so small you can only wash one head of hair before it's gone. I booked the room by phone by calling Holiday Inn's direct reservation number, was quoted an autoclub rate and told to show my membership card at check in. However, the email I received had a rate $20 higher... I figured it would be taken off when I proved I had the membership card. When I checked in the person at the front desk said, No Way, you have to do it at the time you make the reservation. I can understand this policy if you are paying in advance through a reseller, but when you book directly with the hotel, they should be able to adjust the rates. The front desk person was not friendly even though she was not busy. All other staff we encountered in halls, on the elevator, on the roof deck were pleasant. I have also been an IHG member for over 3 years, but can't get the system to recognize me, or the site is down....so not earning points toward rewards, oh well. The roof deck bar was nice, though the views are nothing spectacular. 04 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We had 2 very relaxing nights in this hotel. Great staff, very clean, comfortable layout, no noise from the street, windows can be open (very important feature for us), and absolutely unbeatable location ( close to all that matters for us). The only thing would be nice to improve is to add the luggage rack and a small refrigerator to the room. Thank you, we'll be back. 04 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average They do not offer luggage racks and we had to lay our luggage on the floor and constantly bend down to get things. Room was small. 30 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, excellent location This hotel is in the best location for all the tourist spots. The room was clean, well maintained and the view of the Empire State Building really made the stay special. The fridge and coffee machine in the room were also very useful touches. Food in the restaurant was delicious and good value. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone else making a trip to New York. 30 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Room Our only complaint: no ice machine except on the lobby level. Otherwise, a great place, nice clean attractive room, and very helpful and friendly staff. Restaurant had limited hours and we weren't able to eat there. 29 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Stayed 2 nights at this location. The room itself was very nice and comfortable. The location is great, its actually et behind the empire state bldg. There's a cool rooftop bar with a tv and lounge type seating. 29 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, but major shower issues The good: --great location, comfortable walking distance (for our group of 2 adult women and 2 teen girls) to Times Sq, The Village, and 5th Avenue stores -- and everything in between. We never once used a cab, and used the subway only a couple of times. --quiet -- our 7th floor room had no major problem with street noise, building noise, or noise from other guests --fast elevator speed The not so good, but expected: -- typical tiny NYC hotel room -- occasional long wait for elevators -- We got the pizza deal, but didn't have the pizza until our 3rd(last) night. it was undercooked, but basically tasty otherwise -- a descent snack. The bad: --Shower water was unpredictable. 1st day it was adequate in temperature and slightly low in pressure. 2nd and 3rd day the pressure was still slightly low, but there were major temperature issues: the water temperature in the shower was either scalding or no heat at all, with absolutely no ability to control the temperature. There were fleeting seconds every few minutes when the water went from hot to cold or back to hot where the temperature was tolerable. --Room was not cleaned very well after our first night. Clearly it was not vacuumed, as I found potato chips that we had dropped on the floor the first night after it was cleaned the next day. 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Place to Stay I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a great time and everyone was so friendly. Joey, the roof bartender was fantastic, and Lisa Marie, the manager, was great too. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. Thank you everyone. 28 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room Great hotel, with a superb location. Friendly staff and a nice room, only downturn was that Diners Card is not accepted 26 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was fine Three times I have mentioned that the coffee pot is not placed any where near a plug and that is very annoying. It would be MUCH simpler to have the pot,tray,wtc placed near the lamp with an outlet rather than in front of the tv where there is not an outlet. Also, the bathroom counter space is very cramped. 25 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely great hotel!!!! Easy check-in and check-out. Very clean and nice hotel. Only a few minutes to Korean Town and within walking distance to Times Square. Definitely book it again if ever come back to NYC. 23 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and Great service I loved my stay here. Convenient location, close to everywhere. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Midtown Location Very nice, modern, clean hotel. The staff was very helpful with all of our questions about where to eat and how to travel in the area. The rooms are on the small side, but this is not a con, as you will only be using the room for sleeping after seeing all of the wonderful sights in New York. The Empire State Building is a very short 2 block walk up 5th Avenue. The entrance to the 34th St - Herald Square subway station, that can take you anywhere in the city, is located at 32nd St. and Broadway just one block over. This is a great location for being in the heart of the city and having access to everything. I would definitely stay here again. 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I enjoyed my stay The hotel staff was always very friendly and helpful, the restaurant food was good, the size of the room was not large but adequate(standard for NY) but it was clean and comfortable. Most of all the beds were comfortable. It was a good experience and I would certainly come back. 18 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Stay in NY Really nice hotel. I can definetely recommend it. Fantastic view from the rooftop bar. Wi-Fi works properly. 16 August 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Select to close.
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District. Front Desk
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 20 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading