• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 23 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express NYC - Herald Square 36th St

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed. Maximum of 2 dogs, 50 pounds per room. Pets must be caged or taken for a walk daily for room cleaning. Rooms must be cleaned daily. Pet deposit amount 50.00 USD per stay.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Empire State Building
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:93
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:135
  • Total number of accessible rooms:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:19
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near
View More
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near The Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel's guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services, as well. There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or , visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Park, The Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel's guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City. You'll take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express 36th Street is uniquely located in the heart of the Fashion District between 5th and 6th Avenue. This Hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. We are minutes away from the Empire State Building, Times Square and and so much more.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 290 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Place to Rest in an Excellent Location Excellent location for a 3-star hotel, which basically is everything you want in New York City. You are in the middle of one of the greatest cities in the world, with easy access to the MTA subway, as well walking distance to the train system to NJ (via Penn Station). The cross street is quiet, so you'll get sleep without being interrupted by fire trucks or police cruisers trying to get across town. Plenty of deli's available just one street over, Korea town is also close. You're about 20 minutes walk away from Times Square and you might accidentally stumble on Empire State. Seriously, what a great spot! Inside is quiet and the rooms are large (for NYC). Updated contemporary furnishings, proper bath tub instead of a shower stall, and reasonable wifi coverage completes the ensemble. Free business center + printing means you can easily plan your day before leaving the building. The main downside is that there's only two elevators for a fair number of stories (I think it was 15+), so you might have a pretty long wait. Also the elevator and hallways are a little ancient in decor, but the lobby and rooms are recently renovated. All in all, location is top notch and you'll be comfortable at night. Top notch 3 star. 07 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean, first class service loved the room and personnel but the free pizza was the worst I have ever tasted. Microwave would have been better! 06 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful front desk staff Great location - loved the view of The Empire State Building at night from our room. Very comfortable beds and well designed bath. Mini fridge and microwave included. The only thing that would have made our stay more comfortable (since we arrived after 10 pm, would have been to have bottled water in the room. Will definitely stay here again. 05 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to relax and enjoy NYC The staff were wonderful, very friendly and caring. Location is nice too, near some great halal food carts the famous Macy's and the Empire state building. Rooms were very cozy, quiet and the bed/sheets/pillow were very comfortable. Will stay here again for sure. Rooms are small, but is this is expected for NYC. Didn't use the restaurant so I am unable to comment, but the prices seemed more reasonable than some of the other places. 04 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Everyone we encountered from the front desk staff, housekeeping, and restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful. Felt very safe and secure staying here. 04 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious for the city Slightly disappointed, our first Christmas away from home. No hotel holiday courtesies. We stayed 5 nights, our toilet broke, only 1 working elevator. Overall it was merely average. 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room and service was excellant My family and I had a wonderful stay during the Christmas holiday. Service was great staff was friendly, food was good. I would without hesitation stay again and would recommend this hotel to anyone. 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My favorite hotel across all brands Amazing front desk staff. They make every effort for a pleasant stay. You can't beat the location. 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and Clean Room I would recommend this hotel to all my friends. Great location with easy access to the subway. Nice view of Empire State Building and within walking distance of several attractions. 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Newish hotel with small but comfortable room and stylish bathroom. Friendly staff, especial the breakfast staff. Would stay again. 01 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay We found the hotel by chance and am so glad we did, from our arrival we were welcomed and looked after. All the staff were helpful and friendly, the location is great and we found it easy to get around. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New York in the future and we will stay again when we next visit the States. 29 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Accommodation and Locaction I travelled to New York on the QM2 and this was my first stay in the city. I spent ages reviewing hotels and locations! Eventually picked the Holiday Inn because it had very good reviews, close to Empire State Building and had free Wifi! I was not disappointed - the accommodation was first class - very clean and plush room. I managed to explore NY and all the main attracations were an easy walk: Empire State Building; Rockerfella Ct.; Central Park; Shops including Bloomingdales and Macys; Grand Central Terminal; Times Sq and finally the aircraft carrier Intrepid! Pizza was given free everyday which was an unexpected freebe - too large to eat on my own! The hotel booked me a car for my trip to JFK airport - to my surprise had a white stretched limo pick me up - wow what a treat and it only cost $70 + $10 for a tip! In summary would definitly stay in this Hotel again. 28 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. highly recommend staying here. rooms are a bit small, but you don't visit NYC to stay in room. Had problem with check-in being cancelled, (why, unknown not cancelled by me), but was quickly corrected. Last couple of nights problems with one elevator being out of service. (to me a minor inconvenience, room on 4th floor) But overall and outstanding stay during the Christmas Holiday. Thanks staff at 30-32 W.31th St----AWESOME JOB!!!!!!!! 27 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Nice, new, modern hotel. Excellention location. Hotel is 2 min walk to the Penn Herald Station subway, and a 15 min walk to Times Square. Beds were very comfortable :) 23 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable bed and quite area but yet close to everything Great hotel, good accommodations and close to everything 16 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay here again. 3 day weekend to shop and see the Christmas sites with my teenage daughter. Location very convenient, easy walk to Times Square, 2 blocks from Penn Station and subway. Very comfortable beds and bedding. Room size normal for NYC hotels. Used 2 nights on points...third night (a Sunday) was a very reasonable rate for the city. Front desk was helpful and polite. Would stay there again and recommend. 14 December 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Remember your shower shoes Although the room appeared newly renovated, the shower stall was slimy and the carpet was tacky, (sticky). I showered in the morning, before leaving the hotel, and by nightfall my feet were itchy and burning. I had to purchase a cream to cure foot fungus. In addition, I couldn't get to sleep. Either the water pipes or the air conditioning vents, (or both), sounded like marbles being rolled across the floors and walls. There was also a constant hissing sound. Around 2am it sounded like everybody on my floor slammed their doors at the same time. By 4am I finally dozed off only to be awoken by light streaming in from around the window blinds at the crack of dawn. I gave up trying to get any sleep and jumped in the shower, (which, of course, in hindsight was a big mistake without my shower shoes). 10 December 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Night in Manhattan I booked a room specifically requesting two queen size beds and was given a room with one king. They brought a cot into the room for the additional two people. The cot would only be comfortable for one person and it takes up a good deal of space in the room! Thank God my fourth person cancelled so the cot was sufficient. There was no hot water in the shower, there was no in room mini fridge and if you wanted ice you had to hop on an elevator and go to the basement for the ice machine. Speaking of elevators...one was down for repair leaving only one very slow elevator for the entire hotel. Additionally, there were shear curtains on the windows and stationary drapes which were just decorative..so in the morning the sun shone in bright and early. The paper products (toilet paper, kleenex etc) were also at a minimum. The kleenex had about five sheets in it and then was empty with no replacement kleenex available in the room. One with think that the housekeeping staff would check these things out before guests check in. 09 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice, clean room and perfect location! We were very surprised by the relatively modern decoration of the room and bath - it could easily match other much more expensive hotels. The location was perfect, allowing us to explore Manhattan on foot without any issues - we could barely think of any better location. Service was straightforward and very quick with everything, though a notch friendlier would have been great (like consistent greetings when coming into the lobby) - but that's really almost a non-issue - still very friendly during check-in and check-out. Internet Connection was free and reasonably fast. 05 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Midtown For someone who is not a city person the hotel was comfy and easy to find. Rooms small compared to other holiday inns I have been too but considering space is a luxury in the city. Hotel rooms beautiful and clean. Would stay there again! 27 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First bad experience with New Yorkers The hotel was comfortable, clean, surprisingly quiet and a great value for the location. The staff, however, was rude and condescending. I have been to NYC numerous times over the years to visit my sister and have always found New Yorkers time-focussed but willing to help. For the first time, I encountered the stereotype of a New Yorker - working the front desk. After 5000 miles in the air and 5 hours on the road, I was admittedly a bit bedraggled. If I was designer head to toe, I certainly wouldn't stay at a Holiday Inn. So, his condescending attitude was completely out of line and unprofessional. So, thanks for the real NY experience. 27 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location!!! Convenient location, excellent facility, very nice and comfortable stay. Staff is helpful with questions and directions. 27 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk clerk had "attitude" I stayed here with my boyfriend as a gift from my parents. I'm 24. I had never been to NYC. The hotel front desk clerk had attitude. I asked him if he could call a cab for me. I had never in my life hailed a cap in NYC before. I even asked him, in English "how does this work" and gave me a very flip response and was not helpful. Other than this front desk clerk (who worked on the 17th of December from 9am - 1PM) the hotel itself was fine, comfortable, all new kitchennette. No microwave but small refrigerator was helpful. I think the front desk clerk needed some lessons in manners - not everyone who stays in his hotel is from New York City. 23 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location for a tourist Stayed two days after Sandy for two nights. Down a quiet street this place suited us well. Easy walk to the Empire State and pick up point for the hop on bus tour. 15 minute walk to Times Square was no problem. Desk staff knowlegdeable and friendly, able to help out with directions etc. Used Priority Club points for this stay, great value compared to other Holiday Inns in Manhattan. All in all a great stay. Recommended. 21 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location!!! We had a pleasant stay. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The staff are helpful and friendly. The location is GREAT! Would definiely recommend this hotel for your stay in Manhattan. 17 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The location of the hotel is very good. The rooms are comfortable and updated. 15 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and great location I would recommend and stay at this hotel again while in New York. The location was within walking distance to Macy's, Herald's Square, the Empire State Building and other places. In addition to the beds being queen size, they and the pillows were comfortable. The only downside, there were four of us in the room and we were given towels for 2 - 3 people and had to request additional towels on 2 separate days. 14 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Near Penn Station Great beds and staff. The people at the front desk were awesome. Thank you!!! 11 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, nice property, rotten service Enjoyed the convenient location and nice rooms. Large festival on streets near hotel during my visit. I was advised by hotel to stay away until it was over (6pm) when i called to confirm my two bed room. I arrived 7pm to find my room had been downsized and there were no other rooms available. I got to sleep on the floor, great vacation! I wasted points and money! 03 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice was happy to get a early check in (came from a nt flight from hawaii) staff was always ready with a smile even the night staff. I am a property manager for vacation homes in hawaii. Honest feed back is very important for my busniess. Holiday Inn is a great place to stay.close to attractions and subway. The free internet was a plus since we spend the time to plan our day out. Beds were great. I would stay here again. 29 October 2012
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Select to close.
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District. Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 23 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading