• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 29 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 30 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle - Metro Centre

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.72MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Polish
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in the hotel. No pets to be left unattended in bedrooms, pets allowed in public areas out of food serving hours. Please advise the hotel upon booking if a pet will be staying.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Metro Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle City Centre.
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Eldon Square, Newcastle City Centre.
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Angel of the North.
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free uncovered parking available. Space also available for coach parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:134
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:92
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:134
  • Total number of accessible rooms:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy easy access from the nearby A1 motorway at the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is 10 minutes' walk from the MetroCentre station with regular trains and buses into Newcastle city centre, 3.5 miles away. We're a 7-mile drive from Newcastle Airport and have ample complimentary parking. Surf the web with our free wireless Internet in the lounge area and Great Room.

Invite 30 people to
View More

Enjoy easy access from the nearby A1 motorway at the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is 10 minutes' walk from the MetroCentre station with regular trains and buses into Newcastle city centre, 3.5 miles away. We're a 7-mile drive from Newcastle Airport and have ample complimentary parking. Surf the web with our free wireless Internet in the lounge area and Great Room.

Invite 30 people to seminars in one of our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is located within 2 miles of The Watermark business park and Newburn Riverside Park. Companies such as BAE Systems and Tyne Tees Television are just a short drive away.

A Breakfastis included and is available each morning in our welcoming Great Room. Under-18s stay for free on the extra sofabed in our Family rooms when sharing with parents.

View Less
Announcements
For your entertainment and comfort, we offer Sky Sports for guests to enjoy their favourite sporting events! We also have a Lounge/Bar & Great Room area where guests can enjoy a meeting, coffee, or
View More
Announcements
For your entertainment and comfort, we offer Sky Sports for guests to enjoy their favourite sporting events! We also have a Lounge/Bar & Great Room area where guests can enjoy a meeting, coffee, or evening meal.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 188 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired shabby motel style building with noisy rooms A tired and dated motel building with some modernisation to lobby area. Room quality is poor - the replacement windows wouldn't close properly! Disappointing! 12 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by smartie We enjoyed our stay and have already booked to return with our grandchildren in August to visit local attractions. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location A well situated hotel with ample parking and convenient location for the area. Helpful and attentive staff. Good range of facilities available. 10 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noise problem handled well. A great location for exploring Northumberland. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food in restaurant was OK and good value. We had a noise problem on our first night but the staff sorted it and the remaining 2 nights were noise free. Facilities are good - lots of asily accessible parking, nice pool, etc 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good communial areas and great food Only stayed for one night, however will certainly use again. So pleasant to have good communial areas and pleasant staff. The food was excellent and plenty of choice. 08 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service, very close to the airport! Stayed here for one night, following a spa session purchased from Groupon. The hotel is quite contemporary and the lounge area is very nice. The lunch time menu was good and the food tasty. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms were not quite as clean as they could have been (in the corners and on the skirting boards etc) but overall not bad. 08 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellrnt location We arried on 30th June for 3 days, we were greeted and treated very well, although hotel is currently being refurbished we were not disturbed by any noise or dust, Very easy to get to A19/A1 or further journeys, quite close to Airport and ideal hotel to stay prior going on vacation. 07 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by stop over hotel Fine hotel to stay overnight to break up a journey or to use as a base if car and travelling. Avoid if you do not have a car as it is £15 to town by taxi each way and there is nothing, absolutely nothing, in the area. 07 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We enjoyed our stay it was only for a couple of days room only but had a very stress free experience. There was some building work being done to the site but this did not influence our stay. Would recommend this hotel to any one. 04 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfactory for purpose Hotel is currently in a refurb programme so hopefully the hotel will rectify the water pressure issues. Don't try having a bath in a hurry as it won't happen, takes ages to fill and if using the shower - again no pressure. 04 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lone female traveller Good comfortable hotel, staff were very welcoming and friendly. I used the bar and ordered a pizza to take to my room as I had work to do. 01 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and great event We attended the annual Burns Supper with a group of friends and we all had a great time. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the new bar & lounge was perfect for some mid afternnon drinks. The Ballroom looked good and the food was even better than last year. We will be back! 20 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed review First impressions on entrance, very nice decoration and bar area. Room was a good size and clean, however the noise coming from the guys in the rooms next door and up and down the corridor made it almost impossible to sleep. Leisure facilities were ok but the gentleman shaving in the sauna put us off using these facilities, particularly when he left his razor lying around. Food and service in the bar was good, staff friendly and food lovely, same for the breakfast in the morning. Disappointed that when checking out the reception staff didnt seem interested in whether or not we had enjoyed our stay, didnt bother to ask. 14 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Booked last minute stay, was close to motorways so convenient for my purpose, one night stay was relaxing and comfortable. 14 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service If you want to get a good night's sleep then don't make my mistake and stay at this Holiday Inn. If you want to experience rudeness by the restaurant staff then this is the hotel for you. 11 June 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor hotel and a lack of service the food in the hotel restaurant is by far the worst I have been served with little improvement at the start of the day breakfast. once you have stayed there check your bank account to check the amount of times you have paid for your stay It can be many !! they havent got a clue! 11 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Service & Very Little Recognition of Platinum Rewards Member I have stayed several times at this hotel, usually on price, as it's cheaper being situated a little outside of Newcastle. I paid a not-so-cheap 3 figure Room Only rate this time for 3 of us in a twin double bedded room. The check in was slow and farcical. I had to wait 10 minutes whilst the 2 receptionists "sorted out" a family of 4 adults who had booked 2 rooms, but only 1 was available. The called a "Manager" who found a room for them and they sent them off to it. 30 seconds later, " you better go stop them, there's someone already occupying that room" was the statement from one of the receptionists. Thankfully, our room was available. As a Platinum Rewards Member, I was offered and accepted Bonus Points in Lieu of a free drink and headed off to our room. This was the only acknowledgement of my Member "status" by the Hotel. ( usually they offer me a room upgrade, extended checkout, free newspaper and believe it or not, Priority Express Check In". Also, Elite members do not have to pre-authorise a credit card, as it is booked and held on file on my account. We tried to order Room Service, but the phone didn't work in the room, so this was done by mobile phone and the Hotels outside line. When the food arrived we were told we couldn't charge it to the room but had to pay cash, as we hadn't pre-authorised a credit card upon check in. ( I wasn't even asked, so assumed they didn't require it) We reported this to Reception went we went down there and they apologised and said that it "wasn't their fault, being a Franchise, the office would know about the Membership Rules, but they'd authorise the room charge facility. Their Dinner had just arrived on 2 plates, so I should have known better. 15 mins later, I still had to pay cash at the bar, and when I returned from a Concert in Newcastle after Midnight, the bar was closed to Residents and no Night Porter Service in evidence or offered when I asked for drinks. Whats a Shambles of a Hotel this place has become. I will be copying this Review and submitting it to IHG as a complaint. Regular, Loyal IGH Hotel Users Beware of this hotel !!!! UPDATE: ( this review was returned to me un-posted, due to me mentioning the price in the original review. IHG have offered 10,000 points compensation with a promise that the hotel will email me "within 48 hours" to address my concerns. Guess what, 10.6.14 and still no contact from the hotel 5 days later ! ) 10 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, easy to access friendly hotel This is an excellent hotel, it is easy to access from the A1M, car parking is good. Even though the hotel is currently being refurbished none of the work was obtrusive in any way. All the staff were friendly 09 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Starting to look very Good! This was the second time I had stayed in this hotel and the communial areas had changed a great deal. The hotel is undergoing modernisation and it is starting to look really good. We were put in one of the older rooms unfortunately, but the staff told me that the modernised rooms are excellent. I guess it will take time to do all the rooms. It was a shame we didn't have one of the new modern rooms as the hotel wasn't that busy. The staff were outstanding in the Restaurant and bar areas. Very friendly and nothing was too much. As we were staying for 4 nights, I think we must have encountered two different chefs as one of the nights the food was not up to standard and it showed. I had the worst Chicken Caesar salad I had ever tasted. The other three nights, the food was really good. My only complaint was the portion size. The servings were massive. So much food wasted. I would have gone for quality over quantity! The pool, sauna and steam room were nice, maybe a little dated. But it didn't spoil the enjoyment! Overall a really enjoyable stay and lots to see and do in the local area!! 05 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Large room and excellent staff. Delighted with the large room with two double beds so much more accommodating than a put-u-up or sofabed. Staff were helpful and informed. Public transport, using the bus, into the city centre was effortless though the return service ceases rather early. Taxi from the city centre to the hotel was £16, exactly as described by the hotel staff, quite reasonable, if dividied between 3 or 4 guests. Breakfast was very good with a variety of cereals and fresh fruit together with the usual "full English," hot fare. I would have preferred some table service perhaps for the hot beverages rather than a total diy arrangement. 05 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable visit We enjoyed our visit. The pool was a great hit with our granddaughter as was the chocolate fudge cake. We were very warm the first night but the thick duvet was replaced with a thinner one when requested. 04 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but poor sleep Good location to stop over when going to Hull and leaving late from Edinburgh. Petrol station near by. Room too warm and climate control too noisy so I had not the best night sleep. Opening the window could have been a better option. I can compliment the staff and the breakfast was good. 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It's all about having the right sized bed! It's a great hotel, with great service and great food - but only if you choose a room that has twin beds! 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice quiet hotel We recently stayed for a two night break. Lovely quiet hotel. Downstairs Reception area and bar very modern and nice unfortunately the rooms were a little bit old fashioned and need refurbishing to a modern standard. But we all slept really well and would definitely stay again. 30 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beef up the Breakie For the purpose of my review bias, for the last 12 years I have stayed approximately 100 nights a year in the Intercontinental / Holiday Inn Group chain. Date of stay 14th May 2014 My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows: 1) Arrival was straightforward using the Sat Nav (TOM TOM) instructions 2) On arrival at the hotel the check in staff (Fay & Marian) were extremely pleasant and friendly. However it was noted as a Gold Priority club member I did not receive a complimentary upgrade (which since Holiday Inn changed their membership programme this year is sadly becoming the norm). I did receive access to the wifi and choice of a 300 priority points voucher or alternatively if you wish you may choose the option of a free drink at the bar instead. 3) All area’s including the bedrooms were always well kept, tidy and clean. It was also noted as a loyal priority member I did not receive my complimentary bottle of water and biscuit / snack in my room. 4) My room (room 178) was clean and well maintained ( See the photos) however it seemed to be styled in the mid 80’s with only a few modern recent alterations which keep it inline with the rest of the brand. As the hotel is one of the older style hotels it is closer to its American cousins in that, the rooms are much larger than normal in this case 2 king beds and plenty of room 5) There is a large free car park which surrounds the hotel 6) Breakfast is an additional fee (£14.95 on the day or £10 booked in advance or voucher purchased at check in) The quality of the breakfast was average for a Holiday Inn ; catering from the full English option to fresh fruit salad and yoghurts, sliced cold cuts and cheese & pastries. It was noted that frozen sliced bread was used instead of fresh un-sliced artisan bread served elsewhere in the chain and that Tea and coffee are served from Holiday Inn Express style vending machine rather than freshly brewed and served. 8) I did not use the evening meal service. 9) I used the gym facilities, which were clean, well maintained and air-conditioned but smaller than other Holiday Inns (I did not use the pool or the spa) 10) Location, The hotel is located just off the A1 which was ideally located for my visit but not for visiting the City center. 11) Check out, was straight forward and hassle free (I was served by Nicola) In summary the hotel scores 7/10 for an average to good Holiday Inn that just needs some better quality breakfast ingredients to match others in the brand. 19 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best holiday inn experience As a gold card rewards club member and having stayed in a number of IHG Hotels over a number of years you come to expect a certain level of service. Unfortunately this hotel does not come close to others I have stayed in recently. No recognition of reward club membership, no newspapers for guests unless you specifically order one the day before, food quite expensive and poor quality, no offer of bonus points or free WIFI. Pretty disappointing I'm afraid. 28 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience I recently stayed at Holiday Inn New Castle to compete in a World Championship. I read some old reviews that were not very good and going there was concerned. BUT, I don't know what they were talking about. The staff was friendly and VERY helpful. The service in the restaurant and bar were excellent. The room was clean and comfortable, and they were able to accommodate the demands on 300 weightlifters. I would recommend this facility to my friends and family. If there was only one small downside it did not have an elevator, but only 2 floors, so a non issue. 27 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by decent hotel location is about 8 miles from Newcastle center. No public transportation so you need a car. Rooms are like US hotels. Even have a bathtub. Price is reasonable for UK 24 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Experience Very disappointed with my recent stay at the hotel. No 500 points vouchers available upon check-in for being a Platinum member and apparanetly no upgrades available either even although I could go online and book one. Got checked in to a room which was already occupied, the poor guy in the room got the shock of his life when I walked in, particularly as he was half naked at the time. Was subsequently checked in to one of the new rooms currently being refurbished only to be told there were no keys available for guests and that every time I wanted to get into my room I would need a member of staff with me... I can appreciate some disruption during a refurb but surely a room key for the guests shouldnt be too difficult? New heating installed but it is very noisy.. Not sure it is the best system available and I am sure other guests will complain. Went for dinner on the first night with two collegaues and we had to wait 45 minutes for a table which we didnt mind as the restaurant was busy but then to wait an hour for a starter and a further 30 mins for our main was just not acceptable. On checking out I requested my 1000 bonus points for eating in the restaurant (local offer at hotel) and was advised that they still had none available and they would be posted out.... Still waiting on my 1500 bonus points... Overall a very disappointing stay. I stay in IHG hotels all over the world and have never once felt the need to complain. I am hoping it was a one off as I am working locally for a period of months so will try again before moving elsewhere. 22 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and great facilities The staff went out of their way to make our stay a great one. The food was excellent and the kids loved relaxing in the pool....will definitely be back 04 April 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 29 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 30 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading