• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 29 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 30 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle - Metro Centre

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.72MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Polish
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in the hotel. No pets to be left unattended in bedrooms, pets allowed in public areas out of food serving hours. Please advise the hotel upon booking if a pet will be staying.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Metro Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle City Centre.
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Eldon Square, Newcastle City Centre.
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Angel of the North.
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free uncovered parking available. Space also available for coach parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:134
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:92
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:134
  • Total number of accessible rooms:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy easy access from the nearby A1 motorway at the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is 10 minutes' walk from the MetroCentre station with regular trains and buses into Newcastle city centre, 3.5 miles away. We're a 7-mile drive from Newcastle Airport and have ample complimentary parking. Surf the web with our free wireless Internet in the lounge area and Great Room.

Invite 30 people to
View More

Enjoy easy access from the nearby A1 motorway at the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is 10 minutes' walk from the MetroCentre station with regular trains and buses into Newcastle city centre, 3.5 miles away. We're a 7-mile drive from Newcastle Airport and have ample complimentary parking. Surf the web with our free wireless Internet in the lounge area and Great Room.

Invite 30 people to seminars in one of our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is located within 2 miles of The Watermark business park and Newburn Riverside Park. Companies such as BAE Systems and Tyne Tees Television are just a short drive away.

A Breakfastis included and is available each morning in our welcoming Great Room. Under-18s stay for free on the extra sofabed in our Family rooms when sharing with parents.

View Less
Announcements
For your entertainment and comfort, we offer Sky Sports for guests to enjoy their favourite sporting events! We also have a Lounge/Bar & Great Room area where guests can enjoy a meeting, coffee, or
View More
Announcements
For your entertainment and comfort, we offer Sky Sports for guests to enjoy their favourite sporting events! We also have a Lounge/Bar & Great Room area where guests can enjoy a meeting, coffee, or evening meal.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 197 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by lovely hotel a lovely hotel and the staff were fantastic very good value for money i would definately recommend to anybody 10/10 18 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, good service, very good location This hotel looks very good and is located excellent in the city centre. The staff is very helpfull and the room was clean. You can come back from cafe or club at any time you want, there is Always (security) staff to help you with problems or questions you might have. The breakfast was also good. there was enough choice of food and drinks. We had a great time in this hotel and in Newcastle centre also. When we come for a second time, we will go to this hotel again. 06 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Just what I was looking for as I had to book a hotel for my daughter and her friend for a quick visit to Newcastle for an exam. The breakfast was fantastic and the hotel staff were very helpful to 2 young ladies far from home. Also excellent service from the advance payment office in offering me the best value. Great Choice! 29 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Sleep Room very good, well appointed - no complaints. Breakfast a bit limited with only beans, sausage & scrambled egg available though. Very close to centre and to station though, which was very handy. 27 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, cheerful staff Stayed on business. Very conveniently situated close to station. Room clean, comfortable and everything worked. Breakfast utilitarian but still quite good value. 23 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect for the city night and shopping Excellent accommodation cannot thank the staff enough for making our sons graduation run so smoothly Will definately revisit the next time I'm in Newcastle staff are so wonderful and everyone says hello a real credit to this chain of hotels 23 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 A Great Geordie Welcome Having arrived at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre after an international flight, we were warmly welcomed and quickly checked in. We were soon relaxing in our very compact, comfortable, and quiet room. The front desk staff provided some great suggestions and easy directions for dining. For our initial two-night stay we felt very comfortable and appreciated the convenient location. Consequently, we changed our reservations for the days at the end of our trip when we would be returning to Newcastle (and cancelled our reservations at two other Newcastle hotels). We were very happy to return to the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre for an additional four nights; it was like coming home. The location made this hotel the ideal spot for exploring Newcastle by foot or public transit. The staff even provided breakfast a bit early on our last day so that we could make it to the airport for our early flight. 21 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by CONVENIENCE AND COMFORT AND VALUE From the efficiency upon arrival to the courtesy on departure all highly recommended. Very comfortable room. Location very convenient with car park next door. I would not hesitate to stay again and would propose the hotel to friends and colleagues. 21 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Staff fantastic, friendly and helpful. Comfortable and practical room, would recommend the hotel. 17 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and good location Staff were very friendly, helpful and cheerful. Hotel is simple and down to earth but well run with a nice lounge and breakfast area. Good location near shopping area, football stadium and main routes. Free wi-fi was good although out of service on one evening. 17 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Up to standard Stayed for one (Sunday) night en route to the Northumbria coast, the hotel as easy to find and plenty of reasonably priced parking for a city centre. The staff on the reception desk were both friendly and helpful. The hotel is fairly new and the facilities and room were very well presented. Down side we only had 1 bath towel, although I had stated 2 guests, also the pillows were not up to the normal Holiday Inn standard, being rather firm. This aside I would recommend this hotel for anyone transiting through Newcastle 09 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best yet I have stayed at holiday Inn hotels and express, and i must say this was the best so far. Location helpfull and friendley staff we could not ask for better we will be back again for sure. 08 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and very friendly, helpful staff. I spent one night with my son prior to a university open day. The staff could not have been more helpful. The room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. Parking couldn't have been easier. We will definately be back if my son gets in to Newcastle. 05 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great location and lovely staff Really lovely, friendly and helpful staff, for my daughter's visit for Uni Open Day, provided maps and best route to walk there. Room good, clean shower/loo good, temperature perfect and soft pillows! Recommmended. 03 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous place to stay We stayed at the Newcastle HIE during a family trip to Hadrian's Wall Country. Location was excellent for the train; staff were friendly yet professional, and they quickly acknowledged our 6 year old adventurer. Our room was ready (with the sofa bed prepared) even though we arrived early, without advance notice of early check-in. Exactly what a HIE should be- and friendlier than some we have stayed in. Thanks, if going that way would NOT hesitate to book again. 23 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Central location and convenient Central location with car parking facility adjacent to the hotel that was not very expensive. Free wi-fi in room, friendly and helpful staff. Neat, comfortable and reasonably priced. 20 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice cheap & clean excellent budget hotel with friendly efficient staff and very clean modern rooms. 4 minutes walk to China Town - great Chinese buffets to be had! 19 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Not very good Tinned peaches are not fresh fruit no bacon 19 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic city centre hotel Dont book anything else until you have tried Holiday Inn Express in Waterloo Square Newcastle! Fantastic value great location 5 minutes walk from station metro shops restaurants and nightlife. Comfy beds spotless spacious rooms nice bar lounge and free breakfast! Marvellous staff make it extra special for a perfect city break 18 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Central location & good service Needed accommodation close to Radio Arena. Seen some poor reviews about city centre hotels due to 'hen and stag' residents. No designated car park, but available one was next door to hotel, easy to find and only £5 for the night. Room was clean, quiet. Reception staff helpful and recommended a local place for a meal before going to the show - good food and reasonable price. Hotel 10 minutes walk from the city centre shops, station, Radio Arena. Would certainly stay there again. 17 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by All good except wifi connection Everything was as good as expectation. Only the point which was not good was the wifi internet connection. I had call to the call centre and it took over one hour before I could start to use wifi. I hope the hotel will adopt a better service like Holiday Inn Newcastle Jesmond. Smooth connection with wifi is very important to me. 14 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Good clean friendly place to stay, great staff - only real negative is smokers blocking main entrance! 14 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good bed and breakfast Stayed here for night out in Newcastle, good bed and good breakfast. Room was excellent. Slightly on the more expensive side. 06 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff We arrived early, and were allowed to leave our luggage while we went out for a while (having not yet checked in). The staff did everything they could to help us log in (Iphone issue, not theirs!), and the laptop worked just fine. We arrived on a bank holiday, so not much was open for dinner, but they helped us find what we were looking for. Breakfast was warm and good - selection just what one would expect, nothing exciting but all very tasty. Room was just what one expects from Holiday Inn: clean, functional, and certainly served our needs. Finally, it is very close to the rail station (good), without any of the noise one might expect (very good). 05 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service All of the staff that we came into contact with were really helpful and were instrumental in making this family holiday one of the best we've had recently. The hotel is well located for the local amenities and car parking is available next door at very reasonable rates. 04 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel great location Hotel was very nice and close to everything and only a two minute walk from the train station. The room was standard HIE. Top floor room meant that there was no noise from the traffic (or other guests). Breakfast again was standard HIE fare. Could be better but palatable enough. Bar prices were extortionate in relation to other places in the vacinity of the hotel. (almost double the price). Staff were friendly enough without being over zealous. Will definitely stay here again when in Newcastle. 03 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous hotel My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night on a bank holiday, what a FABULOUS HOTEL, it is central to everything you need-food,shopping and a good night out in town. On arrival we were booked straight into our room with no waiting time the staff were so attentive and helpful a good geordie welcome by John,Lee,Lauren and Kimberley all a credit to the hotel. The rooms were spotlessly clean everything you need for a good stay over,comfy beds and tea and coffee making facilities, a well looked after hotel with a good breakfast in the morning will definitely be coming back. 22 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit t Newcastle The hotel was a walking distance from the station. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we found security of the hotel well organised. We would strongly recommend this hotel to our friends. Although our room faced the main road we weren't disturbed by traffic noise. Hope to spend more time next visit. 19 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by pleasant stay We enjoyed our stay, but were quite disturbed bij the large number of ambulances/policealarms!!! Also found that the fold-out bed made the room very small - would have been better to have twin beds. The double-action door in the bathroom was a nice surprise: really inventive! We would have preferred to have an earlier check-in time. 17 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent customer service excellent customer service, really forthcoming and helpful. clean room (a tad small for a tripple). surprisingly quiet for a busy stag/ hen hotel, but perfectly adequate for families too. very convenient for central station. special mention to staff member from Albuquerque (sorry, didnt get his name). 13 May 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 29 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 30 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading