• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 02 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 03 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle - Metro Centre

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.72MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Polish
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in the hotel. No pets to be left unattended in bedrooms, pets allowed in public areas out of food serving hours. Please advise the hotel upon booking if a pet will be staying.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Newcastle United Football Stadium.
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Gateshead Quays. Baltic Contemporary Art Centre.
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Metro Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Angel of the North.
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free uncovered parking available. Space also available for coach parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:134
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:92
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:134
  • Total number of accessible rooms:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy easy access from the nearby A1 motorway at the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is 10 minutes' walk from the MetroCentre station with regular trains and buses into Newcastle city centre, 3.5 miles away. We're a 7-mile drive from Newcastle Airport and have ample complimentary parking. Surf the web with our free wireless Internet in the lounge area and Great Room.

Invite 30 people to
View More

Enjoy easy access from the nearby A1 motorway at the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is 10 minutes' walk from the MetroCentre station with regular trains and buses into Newcastle city centre, 3.5 miles away. We're a 7-mile drive from Newcastle Airport and have ample complimentary parking. Surf the web with our free wireless Internet in the lounge area and Great Room.

Invite 30 people to seminars in one of our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is located within 2 miles of The Watermark business park and Newburn Riverside Park. Companies such as BAE Systems and Tyne Tees Television are just a short drive away.

A Breakfastis included and is available each morning in our welcoming Great Room. Under-18s stay for free on the extra sofabed in our Family rooms when sharing with parents.

View Less
Announcements
For your entertainment and comfort, we offer Sky Sports for guests to enjoy their favourite sporting events! We also have a Lounge/Bar & Great Room area where guests can enjoy a meeting, coffee, or
View More
Announcements
For your entertainment and comfort, we offer Sky Sports for guests to enjoy their favourite sporting events! We also have a Lounge/Bar & Great Room area where guests can enjoy a meeting, coffee, or evening meal.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 193 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convient location Reasonable price,expesive Breakfast if you do not pr-book. 02 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newcastle Stay Excellent stay at the Newcastle Holiday Inn, leisure break with my children and we all had a great time, the staff were excellent and treated us very well. 01 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired, but acceptable There is nothing major wrong with this hotel, but it is in need of a bit of love in a few areas. My bathroom has seen better days, a bit of grouti was loose on the floor. That said the room as a whole was clean and comfortable which is the most important thing. The gym is tiny, I wanted to use the weights room but as one other person was in there that wasn't possible. The staff were lovely and the meal I ate was nice as well. One word of warning, I could barely get any phone signal inside the hotel (on 3) and wifi is incredibly expensive, if you want to use the Internet whilst you are staying take that into account before you book. Overall an acceptable hotel, if you can get a good rate. 30 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by As good as expected The standards expected of Holiday Inns were maintained, and although the Hotel was very busy the staff were as helpful as always. We shall continue to use these Hotels 29 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, obliging staff, everything catered for The hotel is well laid out, with good leisure facilities, staff were always obliging. Food was good, Excellent parking. Overall fitted our needs like a glove. 28 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for my requirements Good experience with especial praise for the reception staff. Good wifi at halfprice because I am a Priority member and good news that it will be free. A couple of nice country lane walks easily accessible from the hotel. 28 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bar/Restaurant and lobby freshly updated - a huge improvement Stay here often, so have been aware of the worn & dated nature of the public areas, but these have now been addressed and what a difference! The lobby, bar and restaurant have been given a complete facelift which has resulted in a remarkable change in decor and ambience. Long overdue but well done!! Highly recommended!! 23 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good but could be updated Me and some of my friends stayed at this hotel for my birthday. The service from the staff was really good. We had 2 rooms but saw that 1 of the rooms had an ajoining room attached so we asked at reception if we could swap, they were really friendly. 1 of the rooms was abit dated and the bath tap was leaking but overall, it was good. Reception offered a taxi service to get us into the city and gave us extra towels on request. Rooms were a reasonable price as we booked in advance. It was a little far from the city but I would stay there again. 17 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great lounge and bar with friendly staff Have stayed before and find it comfortable, clean and friendly. Food is very good. New lounge, bar and restaurant is very chic and comfortable. Lovely breakfast too. 11 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service, very nice rooms I would recommend this hotel highly brilliant rooms and the staff are very nice and helpful. The lounge area is very very nice, able to relax by the bar and enjoy a few drinks. Only downsides - Far from the town centre (entirely my fauly as i knew this before hand but bear in mind as taxi's to the town centre, there were 6 of us, was £20 on average) The location of our rooms (3 rooms altogether) was at the end of the longest corridor known to man lol) And lastly on our initial check in we were given our room keys for 3 seperate rooms, I walked into my room and there were PEOPLE IN THE ROOM! This was rectified however was very unprofessional and made the rest of the stay uncomfortable whenever we saw the people from the room! We didn't complain about this to the hotel as we wanted to just enjoy our weekend but definitely a bad point of the weekend! 08 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location & great service I stayed with my two teenage daughters for three nights over half term, We were in the area visiting family. Handy location to reach everyone. Room was spacious clean and very comfortable. I had one very small issue but housekeeping were fabulous in how and the speed they dealt with it. Would stay here again without a doubt. 04 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We had a great break basing ourselves at this hotel, the staff were friendly from the moment we walked through the doors, lovely to the children and nothing was too much.. Our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was one of the best, We will use again when we visit the area again, Thanks holiday Inn Newcastle 02 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Stayed with husband and two teenage boys for a wedding. We stayed two nights. Very clean. Breakfast great and pool and sauna used and all fine. Would stay again 01 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Great hotel, not top of the range and needs updating a bit, but good value , comfy bed and lovely breakfast. 31 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant Hotel A group of lads in Newcastle for a night out, you should have seen the shock on our faces when we arrived at the hotel! we was expecting a cheap budget hotel for the price but everything about this hotel is fantastic! The food the bar the staff and the room were all exceptional! would highly recommend 31 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Wifi! On the whole our stay was fine but I was disappointed with the fact that in the hotel it was not free wifi. I like to check on my emails etc constantly and was told I could only do this by purchasing a pass. This never happens at any of the other hotels we stay at on business I can pick up emails on my iPad everywhere else without extra charge. I could not connect to wifi at all. Also breakfast which although had a good choice of fresh food there was no staff to supervise - i.e to help with toaster and direct people to the proper coffee machine- in fact I saw many elderly people struggling to use the rather old fashioned toasting machine to no avail. 28 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Refurbishment The hotel was obviously in need of a refurbishment, and unfortunately for me it was being carried out while I was stopping there. A strong smell of paint fumes at reception, wet paint signs, alternative toilet facilities. A couple of coach parties were stopping there as well, and they took priority in the restaurant when I tried to book a table for the following day, I was told that I could not have a table until after 2030hrs even though I only wanted a table for one. The Restaurant Manager was not at all friendly or helpful, but all other staff were very pleasant. 22 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, excellent staff We reserved an executive room. The bed was very comfortable, the complimentary drinks and toiletries were of a good standard, and very welcome. The bathroom was tiny - but the shower was in very good order and the bath was adequate. The heater in the room was very easy to adjust and effective. It was good to be able to open the windows. The television was the best we have ever encountered in an hotel - easy to use, well positioned and a full range of channels. We found every member of staff we encountered to be friendly and helpful. All in all a good experience. And a very good location - not too far from the city and easy for further north. We enjoyed dinner on our first night - there were two coach parties booked in, but we dined at 8.15pm after which the restaurant emptied quickly. Breakfast at 7.45am on the first day was rather busy, but on the second day we left it until 8.30 which was much quieter. The food was good, and everything seemed to have been replenished. We thought the value excellent - only £10 extra each day for two of us. We would stay here again. 21 May 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Training Required When we arrived on a Sunday evening, the person behind the reception desk was unable to check us in. The only person able to do this was away "checking a room", so we had to wait 10 minutes for her return. At breakfast, it seemed that only one person knew how to deal with a breakfast voucher (not the one we gave them to). They also cleared the buffet away (on the dot) without asking if we had finished with it. Surely a breakfast finishing time is the latest arrival time, not a "customers must be out by" time. Extra staff training would seem to be required, so that there is more than one competent member of staff in each area. If the bathroom fans have been improved, they must have been pretty bad before. 19 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money I recently visited the hotel for a 4 day leisure trip. Prior to arrival I emailed with a query which was answered promptly, informatively and courteously. At check-in we were greeted by a friendly and welcoming receptionist and were offered a choice of ground floor or first floor room. The room was clean and in relatively good condition, and well-cleaned on a daily basis. The main drawback was the bathroom fan, which ran all day from around 7am until 10.30pm at night, and sounded like a waterfall. This unfortunately meant that we were woken early each day. The restaurant was good value, with a two-course meal for two, including a glass of wine for £29.99. The choice was good, and the portion size large and of good quality. Breakfast was also plentiful and hot, with an excellent selection. We used the health club, which was also very good, sauna and steam room both pleasantly hot. Plenty of parking, and despite the hotel being by the motorway, there was little traffic noise. I would recommend this hotel to others and would have no hesitation in booking again for future trips. 01 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Lovely big clean rooms and particularly friendly and chatty staff. 29 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel with Helpful Staff Very pleasant two night stay. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was excellent - a very wide choice of hot and cold items, and also cooked to order items like kippers, poached eggs etc. Room was very clean and comfortable, bathroom slightly cramped but clean and serviceable with good shower. We had dinner one night and opted for the £19.99 couples promotion which was excellent value for money and included two very decent sized courses and a very nice glass of house wine. Swimming pool and gym area was clean and well serviced, as were the sauna and steam rooms. We will stay again if in the area. 27 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location easy access I have stayed in the Newcastle area many times preferring to use Holiday Inn's at Gateshead (Metro) or city centre, for some reason I have been put off the Holiday Inn at Seaton Burn by the initial photo on the website, looks a bit dated. How wrong could I be, the location is excellent, easy access to the A1, for business or touring Northumberland or Durham and the setting is pleasant enough. The staff, public areas and food were excellent and very reasonably priced. The rooms were comfortable with good facilities. The only downside was that the carpet needed cleaning. Overall, an excellent base at a good price. 20 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service This has been my worst experience since using Holiday Inn hotels. I have always stayed at their hotels but the attitude of the management at their Newcastle upon Tyne hotel is appalling and taints the Intercontinental Hotel Group brand. I made a complaint after my first night that a bottle of wine and personal toiletries where taken from my room maybe during room cleaning. They promised to look into it and get back to me within three days of checkout (since April 1st) but still waiting. I do hope their management investigate this so it wont happen to another customer. I am deeply frustrated that this hotel doesn't take their customer complaints seriously. 18 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OVERNIGHT BUSINESS TRIP Large spacious reception Friendly welcome from receptionist Upgraded to Executive room Room clean, spacious and airy bathroom spotless Parking plentiful Location very easy to find 09 April 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay with Dinner My family used the Hotel to stay overnight before flying out to Malta the next day. Not Welcomed as a Priority Club Member despite making the booking quoting my membership number. Not asked for registration number of vehicle especially as vehicle was being left at hotel while on holiday..had to asked on morning of departure for car to be registered. In the Hotel was okay however what spoiled our stay was the attitude of the gentleman who received us at the restaurant seemed to be in charge..even after taking us to our seats anything we asked for seemed an effort for him and when he brought food & drink to table he just dropped it firmly onto the table..once again the next morning this person still treated us the same way and when we asked for anything it was greeted with a sigh and gave the feeling he couldn't be bothered..the restaurant staff looked very low and not happy at all, tables left for along time before being cleared,but that is understandable when they are not motivated by the person who seemed to be in charge...sad really as doesn't take much to improve and I feel down to one person who influenced my opinion....Customer Services should be a top priority !!!!!! Not Difficult !!!!! 07 April 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Badly in need of refurb General condition is very tired and worn. Bath dirty and sink cracked. Would only ever shower when staying here due to state of bathroom. Room itself has very dated decor with carpets worn. Some sort of aircon unit in room that doesnt appear to work. Heating on full blast when I arrived so room extremely hot. Not greated as Platinum member as I have been at other Holiday Inn locations. This hotel is NOT my first choice, use as last resort. 04 April 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor pool I booked this hotel because of its leisure centre, but the pool was extremely disappointing. (Very small & very shallow). The whole facility is looking very shabby & dated now. Shame, because I need somewhere equally well located, with a pool. Oh, and whilst I'm commenting, the restaurants menu is very unimaginative. 03 April 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good as other HI experiences Pleasant greeting at reception and efficient check in. Decor very dated and difficult to judge which piece of equipment controlled the heating/ventilation. Defintely in need of refurbishment! Kept tripping over small step in to bathroom! Room service quick and food hot. Breakfast service very poor with two waiteresses leaning on the lectern and neither offering to guide guests to a table or explain the self services. Overall OK for an overnight stay but wouldn't be my first choice when next in the area. 27 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Hotel Invariably I stay at this Holiday Inn when I am undertaking professional work in the Newcastle area. However, I am literally in and out of the hotel and do not spend time save for sleeping there. The staff have always been courteous and very pleasant. I have recommended this hotel to colleagues. 26 March 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 02 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 03 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading