• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 22 Nov 2014)
(e.g. 23 Nov 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
St James Park Football Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces432
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available at the Grainger Town Council owned Car Park and is free from 5pm until 8am. Car Parking charges apply after 8am and must be paid in advance of parking. Please ensure you are not in a Permit Holders Bay and are in a clear bay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Wireless Internet available
Premium Internet Fee£ 5.00 5.0  GBP

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of accessible rooms:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas
View More

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore.

Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room.

Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items.

Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.

View Less
Features
Highlights of our hotel include a city centre location, rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout and free car parking adjacent to the hotel from 5pm until 8am. Akbar’s Indian restaurant is across the courtyard!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 215 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by ok, but not ideal at all issues i have mentioned makes me now to re think where i stay in future 16 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just OK What you would expect from Holiday Inn Express, basic but adequate. Wireless connection almost unusable. Advertised as fast, its the complete opposite in the bedroom. 08 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely clean hotel throughout,staff are lovely,polite and friendly I stayed here with my partner an children,for a weekend away. The hotel was lovely and clean,staff were very polite and friendly always their too help,we all enjoyed our stay and the children made them selfs at home and wanted to stay longer. Everything about our stay was lovely our room was very clean,so was very happy about that,their is tv channels to watch,tea and coffee in your room a phone and a list if you want any dry cleaning,the room is cleaned daily an they put fresh bedding an towels every day for you.. the whole hotel is very clean. Breakfast is included in on your stay at reasonable times too and quite a bit to choose from hot and cold so that is good to with lots off different drinks too choose from too also hot and cold,They do serve other foods as far as im aware but we didnt eat here any other time only had breakfast as we eat out at the local pubs and restraunts that were on same grounds as hotel.. we could not complain about a single thing,we enjoyed our stay as a whole and will be going back alot more too,i would reccomend.. 05 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD FOR A SHORT STAY Room very clean, and staff friendly. Should just stick to continental breakfast as scramble eggs were tasteless and sausages were of the cheap variety. You get what you paid for and it is good value for a short stay. Not recommended for a romantic weekend away if you want luxury and pampering.. 05 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good City break The hotel was easy to find off the A1 with plenty of parking space. We were welcomed and offered a room well away from stag and hen parties. The staff were also helpful in giving us directions to the Metro Centre, it took us 13 minutes to walk at a good speed down a cycle track which we would not recommend after dark. There a plenty of places to eat, we enjoyed The Skiff for their quality of food and service. We could not fault the staff who acknowledged us every time we passed. The breakfast is fine, although there is no bacon there are plenty of other choices. The towels were big and fluffy. The only problem with the room was there was a dark stain on the floor. Altogether a pleasant stay. 05 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel I stopped at the Newcastle holiday Inn express30th and 31st August. The staff were very helpful, the room was very clean, the bed was a little to worn I think it had a groove in the middle! This hotel provides luxurious bath sheets, these are much better than the usual bath towels, exellent! The thing that suprised me more than anything was been woken up at 11.30 by dogs barking, more suprising as we were on the 5th floor. The breakfst was the usual fare and plenty of it. Very close the many of the major food chains and supermarkets. All in all I would recommend this hotel 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very comfortable overnight stop This hotel is in a good location, is quite quiet for being so close to a major city and offers good value for money, especially as a full English (but no bacon) breakfast buffet is provided. Friendly staff and easy car parking are added bonuses. 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient break on the long journey north. Excellent stay! Clean, quiet, good location, good breakfast, lovely staff. We used Reward Points to book this stay to break a long journey north. The hotel was easy to find and exceeded our expectations. The staff were efficient and friendly. The manager helped me sort out my computer when it wouldn't recognise the hotel's free WIFI. He knew what he was doing. Many thanks, we will be back. 02 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Central location for clubbers Good hotel for location to the Metro center. However also for night clubs. Clean, good breakfast, friendly staff but very noise during the night up to 5am with returning revelers. 28 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by holiday express review excellent service great comfortable beds lovely and clean 27 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very satisfactory We particularly like the blue night light in the bathroom. 27 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed with the level of comfort We stayed here as a stopover on our way to Edinburgh. As it was only a stop over we were not expecting too much. The rooms we were given were ok but being next to a room where there was barking dogs unsettled us. To be fair the staff managed to find the dog owners to get them to calm the dogs but it put us on edge. With a Holiday Inn Express you don't expect luxury but you do expect a minimum amount of comfort. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and none of us had a good sleep. Also with the breakfast we didn't expect top quality, but I found there to be a total lack of quality. I have stayed in a few Express hotels and this had the worst breakfast. So overall we were disappointed with the stay. The staff were attentive but the overall quality of the hotel made their jobs very difficult. 26 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Carpets and Sofa Staff excellent. Room scruffy and poor. Carpet stained and spotted with something. Unpleasant. Sofa looked like it had blood stains on it. 24 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by mr chris honeyford my family came for the weekend and we got a free night because we booked three nights, we took our little dog and she was welcome aswell, thank you to all the helpful staff. 23 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Just the breakfast let it down.Staff great,check in great,room clean and tidy,TV choices limited,secure parking and easy access to motorway network. 22 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff, good location I brought my parents away here as a base to see some of the NE. Great location for getting around. A fine breakfast to star the day off. I must say how exceptional the staff are here ... They even went to the trouble of contacting me to enquire about my preference for room location. Good pub with very good value food next door. Thank you 21 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable and good price Stopped here on our way up to Alnwick from a friends wedding in Sunderland. Room rate was cheap for a Friday night but the quality of the room was not affected by this. Clean comfortable room, plenty of space. Within walking distance of several places to eat (would recommend TGI Fridays) Would definitely stay here again if we are ever over this way! 19 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by brilliant Excellent accommodation..... would use again and find all the chain places are great. 19 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Convenient location and a gret break Hotel clean and comfortable. Parking sufficient and location very good. Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay and would recommend this hotel. 19 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Clean Hotel The hotel was clean and tidy and everything we needed was in the room ready for us. We stayed in a interconnecting room which was on the front near the main road, but you couldn't hear a thing from outside at all during the night. The mattress was a little on the soft side and the pillows weren't the best so next time I'll probably take my own pillows as I like to sleep with two and there were only two on the bed (one each). The only thing that I didn't like was breakfast, but that is only because I am quite fussy. I don't like sausages or egg so the only thing I could eat was the croissants and toast. However unless you get to breakfast quite early the croissants were quite hard and the toast was either like warm bread or completely burnt, there was no in-between. Saying that though my husband and 4 children thouroully enjoyed breakfast and it set them up for the day. Don't let my review of breakfast put you off staying here though, I know we'll be back next time we visit family in the area, in fact I'm just about to book a night for December. 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a safe bet. Clean, well furnished. We stay at many accommodation and we find this group is always clean, well furnished, well maintained and is a pleasure to stay in.... 17 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good experience I brought my parents with me, whose mobility isn't brilliant. We felt a bit rushed in the mornings to make the breakfast timings as our movements aren't exactly speedy, but it was noted that others were coming to the breakfast room after us still in their sleepwear. So I guess we weren't alone. Not everyone that books into a HIE is only there for business. More 14 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but let down by poor maintenance Good hotel overall and good bus links into the city. However, it is next to a main railway line which our room directly overlooked. As it was very warm we left the window open as it was when we found it. However during the night there were a number of freight train movements that disturbed our sleep and we then found that we could not close the window, a two inch gap remaining. The defect was reported twice during our two-night stay but not fixed although we were offered another room late in the evening of our second night but this was in another wing so we frankly couldn't be bothered moving at that time of night. Apart from that I would rate this hotel highly, with friendly staff and an excellent standard of cleanliness. Assuming that our problems were a "blip" we would happily stay there again, if only to eat at the excellent Skiff Inn next door. Oh - and if you decide to go into the Skiff then do ask about the fascinating story of Mr Clasper.... 10 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic hotel and stay the staff were very helpful with any queries that I had. they couldn't be any more pleasant always had a smile when you seen them and the breakfast was absolutely lush. 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Soul Toons adventure Having stayed at this hotel for the last three SOUL TOONS events here, I have no complaints what so ever. Very friendly staff who are more than helpful. Taxi to the Hotel from the Metro Centre takes 5 minutes and the Soul event is only 5 minutes away in another Taxi, so this is a great location. Although you do get loads of hen/stag parties there, they are never a problem. So I recommend this hotel for these reasons. Thank You :) 07 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Basic and noisy We were disappointed compared to previous experiences of this brand. Lots of noise from outside each morning with deliveries etc, not helped by us having to keep the window open due to it being so warm. Breakfast mediocre and overripe bananas each morning not appealing. 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel Comfortable, friendly and helpful staff. Great location, close to metro-centre. Restaurants within walking distance. Good choices at breakfast. Would definitely recommend. 06 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Gutes Hotel Gutes Hotel für einen Aufenthalt. Leider nicht Zentral dafür aber in der nähe der Einkaufs_Mal 05 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Soul Toons at the Lancastrian suite, Dunston We have stayed here on two other occasions and have never been disappointed at all. Staff at reception were very helpful and very courteous as usual. The rooms are tidy and clean and when we have had reason to call reception for any issues that may arise they have dealt with very efficiently. The lady at the reception even moved us after we had been put on the ground floor as this was full of stag/hen parties. We had another fantastic time at the Soul Toons event and a much needed nights sleep (we were probably noisier than the stag/hen parties). We have booked the same hotel for the August event already. Thanks you:) 05 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by easy escape A nice break, the staff were great. Breakfast was a bit sparce, but I came at 8:00, their busy time. 04 August 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle city centre Reception at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Select to close.
Park, Stay and Go
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 22 Nov 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 23 Nov 2014)
Check Availability
Loading