• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 20 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
St James Park Football Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces432
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available at the Grainger Town Council owned Car Park and is free from 5pm until 8am. Car Parking charges apply after 8am and must be paid in advance of parking. Please ensure you are not in a Permit Holders Bay and are in a clear bay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Wireless Internet available
Premium Internet Fee£ 5.00 5.0  GBP

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of accessible rooms:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas
View More

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore.

Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room.

Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items.

Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.

View Less
Features
Highlights of our hotel include a city centre location, rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout and free car parking adjacent to the hotel from 5pm until 8am. Akbar’s Indian restaurant is across the courtyard!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 177 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed The room was very clean and tidy - the mattress was very soft and a little uncomfortable for us. The curtains in our room 425 were different lengths - didn't really matter. The staff were helpful and friendly . The breakfast was good. 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service and very good value Staff were great, breakfast was a really good choice and the room was as good as some four star hotels abroad We had a really good experience and would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the area Amanda on reception was very helpful and overall the staff were great TGI close by is a superb restaurant and well worth a visit 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly greeting from staff on arrival Lovely welcome. Clean and quiet hotel. Really great getting free breakfast - thanks 02 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cold but OK The room was cold so it was a rather chilly night. i did ask for a heater but was told they can't be used for health & safety reasons so i just had to freeze! Good location for the Metro Centre. 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean, excellent shower. Friendly staff. The only problem is the quality of the mattress. It was so uncomfortable, it dipped in the middle and we only had 40 minutes continuous sleep.We recommend the hotel invests in good quality mattresses. We have to come back in February and June. We will have to inquire about the mattresses before we book here.The reason being it is essential we have a good night's sleep when we are driving 16 people back to Sheffield. 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location to metro centre & st James park Friendly staff, comfortable room & perfect location for shopping & going to 'the match'. Breakfast is good value for money! 30 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor nights sleep Great location, great staff and a great breakfast. However, the bed was SO uncomfortable that we barely managed any sleep. Booked in for two nights but left after one due to the winter storm and the poor sleep quality here. Without doubt the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever experienced in a hotel and as it looked pretty new I can only assume that HI Express are going for ultra cheap. Unlikely to stay with HI Express again as it simply fails to compare with other hotels in this 'class'. 26 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Shopping... A lovely hotel close to The metro centre and a stones throw from some lovely restaurants. Nothing too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast was lovely. will stay again 18 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by To good to be true Well this was to good to be true not a thing out of place you do not get that at most hotels for the price we payed we asked for some think and the answer was yes yes yes a young lady called Sharon went well out of her way at breakfast for us so a big thank you to Sharon and all the rest of the staff at the holiday express metro centre will def come back to see you all. Yours b douglass 13 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money, but a bad nights sleep! A great hotel and excellent value for money but a very bad night sleep, the beds are way too soft. If the beds were more comfortable I would have no problem giving a 5 star rating! 10 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room but a nightmare to get into! Lovely hotel and have previously stayed here but this stay was ruined by the card entry system used on the door to the room. Had to return the key several times to be "re-swiped" to make it possible to try enter the room. After a long drive for myself, this was not what I expected and I was extremely disappointed. Eventually after a few times of returning the key it worked only once. We then left the room the following morning to get breakfast and returned for the key to not work again. The man on the reception desk explained to us that the hotel was at full capacity and they were using emergency keys and this was probably the reason for the problem but in my opinion there should be enough keys for each room you have and they should work to an acceptable standard. Apart from this, I did enjoy my visit but I would not like to experience this kind of hassle again. 03 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Old bed and a cold night We've stayed at this Holiday Inn many times and we always come back. Disappointing this time - the room heater didn't work and the bed felt ripe for renewal. This year, we've visited a few Premier Inns and they've really upped their game. Leaves Holiday Inn Express trailing in their wake, I'm afraid; sorry guys! Having said that, we'll probably come back next year and give it another go. On another note, the whole IHG Rewards thing seems a shambles - I don't know if I'm in the scheme or not! 03 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff A good budget hotel. Nice staff who seem to do their best for their customers. My last room had a mattress which needed to be replaced as the springs where starting to be uncomfortable but that is the only time I have noticed this. Some rooms have Sky tv which is an extra bonus. It is a basic hotel but the staff make it a favourite of mine. 02 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff very friendly and helpfull great position, nice staff and a excellent breakfast. would recomend 26 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff & very clean rooms When arriving at the hotel to which I found very easy & the directions were spot on. I was great by very friendly knowable staff who made the start to my weekend feel very relax & enjoyable. After a quick check in we went to our room which was very clean & very spacious. The bathroom was very clean & the shower was so powerful. The only 2 bad points I have is that the room backed onto the rail line & the room wasn't warm enough. The hotel is In a great location & excellent if u want to visit the Metrocentre. There is plenty to do around the hotel in the evening. Many thanks to the staff at the holiday inn Newcastle 23 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved our stay Stayed here for two nights with three elderly parents and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely reception staff, comfortable rooms and beds. 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, very helpful staff, pleasant stay My sister and I booked this hotel for a shopping trip at The Metrocentre. It was perfect, close enough to walk (take the path not the road!) and very easy to get into the centre of Newcastle by both bus and train. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, enough to set us up for the day! The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The only thing I missed was a thicker duvet, I wasn't cold, I just prefer them for comfort! I would go back, great value for money! 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall enjoyable stay First visit by my wife and myself. Close location to metrocentre and Newcastle area very good. Bus stop outside hotel extremely convenient. Hotel staff were very helpful and amiable. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fairly basic but sufficient and enjoyable at the same time. We will stay again and have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great find Used this hotel for metro centre what a good choice good sized room, clean, staff friendly and informative ,good breakfast ,what more could you ask for 19 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Good We regularly stay at this hotel, our visit this time was for four nights and we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. 18 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service Only one guy behind the desk had to serve the bar as well as welcome guests on a Saturday night, waited 15 mins to be checked in. When we got to the room there was no remote to work the TV. On returning from the front desk to get a new one it wasn't necessary because the TV didn't work anyway. Phoned the front desk and said it would take 5 minutes for it to get fixed and I'd get a call back. Still waiting for that call and the TV didn't work. Bathroom door latch didn't work and so it went on... Sorry to report for the first time that I will not be returning to this Holiday Inn. 17 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Fast check in & great quality good value hotel in great location, friendly staff and very clean 17 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable. Another great stay. So easy for shopping at Metro Centre already planning our next visit. Would recommend. 11 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not the best our check-in was great no problems at all . the first problem that we had was that the bed sheets didn't fit the bed properly. I let the staff at the reception know and someone was sent to rectify the issue. ( double up sheets. not the best) . A family room was requested at time of booking and the room was that small that we struggled to move between both beds. Both beds were really uncomfortable the mattress was very uncomfortable on the main bed and the other bed was a really uncomfortable sofa. At breakfast my son had to ask for muffins and was told that there was none left. I know that the breakfast is free but they should provide enough for everyone. thanks 10 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Accessible and reasonable accommodation Although I had emailed in advance to make sure one room had 2 single beds this was still not communicated to staff.however they rectified this. Overall clean and comfortable stay and have been several times 06 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by quite noisy Unfortunately I could hardly get any sleep as other guests of the hotel were very noisy throughout the night. The bed was extremely uncomfortable as well. For us the location was ideal and the price good. 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by shopping trip stayed for two nights, very clean, comfortable, all staff very friendly. will definitely stay here again. 04 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average service and poor sleep quality due to excessive noise Stayed for 2 nights and each night was woken up in the early hours by other unruly guests. Lots of shouting, laughing, banging on doors/walls and even trying to gain entry to our room. Joined in a complaint with another couple on the first morning and then had to phone reception on the 2nd night at 4.30am to ask if they could 'reclaim' the 4th floor as our sleep was being constantly disturbed. No noticeable security or management around to remedy the situation;consequently wouldn't stay here again and certainly wouldn't recommend. Poor overall experience. 04 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would certainly stay again A very good Holiday Inn Express. Ample parking. Check in was friendly and straight forward. The room and bathroom were a good size. The bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay again. 02 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming Always treated as an important elite member always remembered Love the location and the proximity of eating places 31 October 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle city centre Reception at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 20 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading