• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 01 Nov 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
St James Park Football Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces432
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available at the Grainger Town Council owned Car Park and is free from 5pm until 8am. Car Parking charges apply after 8am and must be paid in advance of parking. Please ensure you are not in a Permit Holders Bay and are in a clear bay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Wireless Internet available
Premium Internet Fee£ 5.00 5.0  GBP

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of accessible rooms:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas
View More

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore.

Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room.

Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items.

Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.

View Less
Features
Highlights of our hotel include a city centre location, rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout and free car parking adjacent to the hotel from 5pm until 8am. Akbar’s Indian restaurant is across the courtyard!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 186 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room and service Stayed for just one night in executive room( 132).quiet room at back. Clean and large room with complimentary juice/ water etc.Had dinner in fratello's and it was a fabulous meal with great service. Lovely breakfast selection usual cereals, juices and hot food. Overall a lovely overnight stay to celebrate our 17th anniversary. Just 5 mins walk from jesmond metro and two stops from central Newcastle. 12 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by What a shambles I have stayed at this hotel several times now, trust me if I had a choice I would stay somewhere else. I have never had a room that didn't have some kind of problem. The latest disaster was the shower wasn't working, I was hoping to shower & change for an important dinner meeting & the shower control was stuck. I was offered another room which I did accept, however it was a hassle having to repack my bags & move, not the relaxing time I had hoped for after a 4 hour drive, Why oh why doesn't somebody at the hotel take responsibility for checking the rooms BEFORE they put guests in them. I have had rooms with no heating, no water, no internet, no lock I could go on, but I doubt it will make any difference! 12 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exactly what I needed My only complaint was difficulty finding my room and access to lift to get there but the room itself was excellent although it took me an age to find the temperature controls (and never located the hairdryer!). Bed really comfortable - bathroom well appointed - sound from outside well muted. Staff all very pleasant 11 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Every Saturday full of drunk people I have stayed 24 nights in this hotel. Rooms are a bit small, walls thin, you can hear your neighbour talking. Breakfast average, nothing special. Hotel staff kind and helpful. Great location, Metro 3 min walk, downtown 10-15 min walk. I will stay in the same hotel next time, but I will ask a room in the calm side of the hotel, as every saturday night, some or many people came back from bars, and I could not have rest, as they were shouting, laughing so loud. Hotel staff could hardly handle them, so had some nights missing 2-3 hrs of sleep. At check out they offered 500 extra points. Just not worth the time to fill any paper. Anyway, weekdays ok. 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the BEST Overall a cracking hotel with a great team of individauls that understand what it means to make customers feel valued. 04 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visitin our sons in Newcastle The situation is perfect for us as it's close to both sons We can also get easily into the town centre for a bit of quality shopping before setting off back home. We've always had a very friendly welcome and the staff have been very efficient. Thanks 14 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean tidy with great service We recently stayed at this hotel overnight which was near a hospital I had an appointment with. The hotel was very clean and comfortable with a vey good Italian restaurant within the hotel. All the staff were very proffesional with a very pleasant manner. The overnight stay with breakfast was good value for money but I did think the Italian restaurant was over priced for some dishes 12 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Staff very welcoming and good at solving problems. Our room went cold on the second night, and I should have rung reception immediately instead of grinning and bearing it, as it was sorted out immediately when I did say something. Very good service altogether. Note - you should not turn right into the hotel when coming from the coast road, nor right out of it going towards town. We didn't realise at first, but there is a restriction. Just go left and find a roundabout. 08 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay Nice room, it is worth upgrading to a club room for the extra space and comfort. Clean rooms, pleasant friendly staff. Stay on a regular basis. 03 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas Party Night We booked this as part of a Christmas Party night with some of the guests staying over in the hotel. The party function itself was fantastic. The function room was very good and the meal was perfect with all the staff being helpful and friendly. I could certainly recommend this hotel for a function. As for the bedrooms, I can only comment on ours. The room was a good size, very clean and a pleasant temperature. All the usual facilities were there and working. Even though there were other functions going on, our bedroom was very quiet and we had an excellent nights sleep. I have only two minor criticisms of the room. Firstly the shower was more of a drizzle, and secondly my wife was disappointed with the lighting. Apparently it is very poor for putting on makeup (ladies reading this will understand). Breakfast was good and plenty of it, but one or two of the staff were grumpy and unpleasant. That aside I would still recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Newcastle. 22 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable bed, modern room and good sleep A hidden Holiday Inn in the Jesmond area of Newcastle which balanced the needs of it's party goers with those of it's guests. Great sized executive room, modern decoration, excellent breakfast with real coffee and a fab, exceedingly clean, en-suite. One minor issue was that the car parking was a 'free for all' -it needs to be barrier entry and thus, controlled. 20 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not ideal for extended stay I have spent 3 weeks in Holiday Inn Jesmond. It is a nice place to stay for a short period but after a while little things can get really annoying. I heard the music from downstairs each day in my room. That meant no sleep until midnight on weekends and other days when any event was organized. The fridge was slightly broken, the lights didn't go off when its door was closed which also didn't help too much to have a good sleep neither. The solution was to switch it off. In the Bathroom there was no sufficient lights for shaving, I saw dark shadows on my face in the mirror, so I did not really see what I am doing. I believe the same don't help women neither when doing makeup. The staff, the breakfast and the services were nice but those didn't compensate for the inconvenience of the room. It is still ok for a short stay (3-4 days) but can be very inconvenient over an extended period of time. Maybe other rooms on higher floors are better. 17 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by celebration spent my bday here with my friends & family at zio's bar and stayed in a twin room. the foods are great, bar staff are great, they prepared the food in style. all my friends & family are very happy. I am surely be back here again next year. highly recommended place to celebrate important events. thanks to mark, bar staff at zio's bar and his male companion that night (my apology forgot his name# and ben, zio bar manager, and Lesley#events manager) who organized this event for me. thanks again 16 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comforable bed cant fault this hotel everything was really good complementaries in Fridge, hairdryer ironing board everything you need for a comfortable stay would definately stay again 30 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOVELY AND HELPFUL STAFF MY DAUGHTER AND I STAYED HERE AS WE WERE ATTENDING A WEDDING LOCALLY. THE STAFF AT RECEPTION WERE VERY HELPFUL IN EVERY WAY. ALL OTHER STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL TOO. ROOM WAS GREAT FOR WHAT WE NEEDED AND NICE BATHROOM. EASY TO GET INTO NEWCASTLE CITY CENTRE BY VERY CHEAP CABS! ALL IN ALL A WONDERFUL WEEKEND. 28 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel From the minute we arrived till the minute we left this hotel was excellent 27 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Again we (my wife and myself) stayed at the Holiday inn Jesmond and as usual the stay was everything we expected. We have been visiting this hotel since Holiday inn took over from the previous owners. Although we are not "long term stayers" in a hotel, we have been going for two weekends per year, usually March and November, for years. The quality and cleanliness of the hotel is second to none. The friendliness and respect shown by the staff are to be commended. Although we did not dine in the restaurant in the evening we had breakfast in the morning. The food was very good and suited my appetite, the dining room staff were very efficient and tended to us quickly and courteously. In short the Holiday Inn Jesmond is to be congratulated and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. 22 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by recommended Like this hotel well placed for the city and Jesmond. Rooms well appointed and comfortable. Quiet which is unusual for a hotel in Jesmond!!!! Unfortunately this time our bed was broken. It dipped in teh middle so neither of us slept well because we kept rolling into each other! Not had this problem with other rooms just don't book 131 21 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by weekend break Stayed Saturday and Sunday 16/17 November 2013 much better than a premiere inn but then again cost mire. That said you get what you pay for. Good food and nice rooms. I was very happy with it. And from there you can walk into the city centre. Will stay again for sure. 21 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by modern interior and comfortable environmenr Modern design, convenient location, sufficient parking space, helpful reception staff 21 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always very good I have stayed at this hotel once or twice a month for the past 2 years and have had a really good experience every time. there is always a friendly welcome, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the restaurant serves good food. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. 18 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient hotel for city centre The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and the bed very comfortable. The room was a little on the small size but adequate for our stay as we didn't need to be in the room very much. It had a good sized television and complimentary tea ,coffee, hot chocolate, orange juice and water as well as biscuits. I had difficulty using the heating system and the lighting was poor particularly in the area of the wardrobe and drink making shelf. 16 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All you could ask for Well appointed comfortable bedroom which the hotel let me check-into 2 hours early. There was a great, friendly atmosphere in the bar - champions league night - and the food in the Italian restaurant was excellent. I will certainly be back. 11 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great night As ever, the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We enjoyed a pre-theatre pizza (both of which were truly delicious). In our view this is the most stylish of the Holiday Inns we use. We will be back (again)! 10 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location hotel which we return to time after time! We love this hotel as it works well for us and our children.we all love the rooms and its great to be able to sit downstairs with the kids a little later on an evening.the food is great and kids eat free! 07 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant surprise This was a holiday inn above the rest. Excellent room facilities with complimentary mini bar selection. Room cosy and comfortable and of high standard. It was a pleasure to retreat back to the hotel when the weather was too bad to sight see. Perfect for a weekend away price wise, with added bonus of easy access parking - complimentary of course! Next visit to Newcastle I will be back. 07 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bed great and toilet nice and light shower great. this hotel is just like liverpool staff so helpful room was change as we like a view of what is going on around us.as it was the first time in newcastle for us so near the city centre, 03 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and excellent experience Staff made us feel welcome from the start. Rooms were really comfortable and loved the walk-in shower and the HD TV. Breakfast was first class and the location ideal for the City Centre. Couldn't fault it. 03 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and unexpectedly quiet The expectations for our one night Saturday stay were far exceeded by the easy secure parking, good sized room and peaceful night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy access to city centre with an approximate 10 minute walk with easy access to Metro for the less athletic! 31 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My favourite HI (but improve the internet please) Great hotel, close to both town and airport, great beds, friendly staff, v.clean, nice (although neverchanging) big breakfast. Close to big parks if you like jogging. Sweets and coffee in the room. Seems much nicer/fresher/roomier than other Holday Inns (from my limited experience). Acceptable restaurant for dinner, GREAT BURGER at ZIO. But please guys, seriously, do sth about your internet. It is free (NICE) and everywhere in the hotel, but why do you have to put the password so many times and why is it SO SLOW? I know about the limited speed of free internet but in reality it is worse than that. Ok for facebook and reading news but you'll have hard time listening to music etc. 30 October 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle city centre Reception at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Select to close.
Park, Stay and Go
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 01 Nov 2014)
Check Availability
Loading