Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 29 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 30 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 278 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location and very comfortable rooms Fantastic location, curteous staff and very comfy rooms. Best nights sleep I have had in a hotel. Only downside is the terrible breakfast but hey it's free! 01 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend this hotel My first stay in this hotel - and it was a very pleasant one. The staff were so kind and helpful. I travel to Portsmouth, circa ten times a year on business - and the HIE is sited bang in the middle of GUN WHARF where I need to be. Great value at a great price. 31 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal for shopping I have used this Hotel several times and always happy with room, Customer service and locality. It has excellent adjacent parking , excellent shopping and the hotel has free Wifi which is a must these days, Free breakfast which is good. 31 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by uni visit Aunty and cousin visit to cousin/niece at Uni. Excellent location. Beautiful weather helped. Central location enabled mixed events for the group and different time schedules - brilliant breakfast as always and room for 4 meant we could accomodate the students after their night out and we all spent time and breakfast together - much comparable to other venues of the same date. Staff were all exceptionally helpful and kept our bags the next day until we'd finished shopping. Definitely recommend. 30 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location We chose this hotel for a short break to Portsmouth primarily to visit the Historic Dockyard which is only 5 minutes away. So glad we did - great location close to shops, restaurants etc. Staff were very welcoming and although the hotel is close to the nightlife we heard very little noise from outside. Parking is convenient and very reasonably priced. Already planning our next trip to Portsmouth and we will definitely be staying here again. 30 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service I fully recommend this hotel for a short family break in Portsmouth. The customer service on arrival was personal, friendly and helpful - they connected with the kids straight away. The family room is a double bed with a sofa bed. We had asked for a further bed to be put in the room as we were not sure our two children would want to share a double sofa bed, and this was sorted without a problem. They also suggested we stay on the 'quiet' side of the hotel as we had children. The hotel was clean, modern and in a fantastic location. Free parking for guests - right in the heart of Gunwharf (2 mins walk from Spinnaker, 5 mins from HMS Victory). Breakfast was good, plenty of it and lots of staff (not a full English though, no bacon). I fully recommend it and will return. 29 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gunwharf The location of this hotel is excellent for the retail outlets at Gunwharf, situated in the centre of the development. It has parking facilities at the neighbouring car park but you need to get your ticket verified at the hotel £5 for 24 hours. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Room was clean (ignoring stain on carpet). Had a very good nights sleep and heard no noise at all despite the room overlooking the Main Street. The only real let down was the lack of bacon from the breakfast menu... Couldn't believe it!!! 28 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Perfect Stay The hotel was exactly what I needed. I was attending a function in Gosport and needed to be close to the Ferry for access. It afforded me clean, comfortable and modern facilities, with added attraction, value for money. I would recommend it to anyone. 16 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location but too expensive for the price The best thing about this hotel was the location. The harbour was a stone-throw away plus the retail outlet is by its doorstep. The staff were friendly & tried to make us feel welcome. There was free wifi & the breakfast was included in the price. However, the overall cleanliness & facilities were not impressive. The size of the room was average for 3 adults. The carpet was stained especially in the room we stayed in. The sofa bed was old although still ok to sleep into. Noise from the corridor could be heard loudly too. The ice machine took a long while to dispense ice & the lift was slow (there were two but only one was in use). Although breakfast was acceptable the quality of the hot food (sausage & egg) was not something you would look forward to have again the following day. Overall, I think Holiday Inn Express in Gunwharf Quays is too expensive, you'll pay more because of the location than the hotel itself. 15 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Night We spent one night in hotel no on site restaurant but loads of places to eat within walking distance 14 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff , nothing too much trouble. Very clean and comfortable rooms, and good choice for breakfast.In the past year or so as my wife has health problems she has suddenly been taken ill on two occasions while having breakfast, the staff on each time were so helpful and managed to find a wheelchair to help her back to our room after making sure we did not need a doctor or ambulance. On our recent stay we found the manager, Shaun, very very helpful with any queries we had. We would not have any qualms in recommending this hotel to anyone. 09 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay, Breakfast as always was shocking This is the second time I have stayed at this holiday inn. Portsmouth is not well known for accommodation so choice is limited hence why I have revisited the hotel. Staff are always polite and professional however the breakfast is always awful. I suggest going out for something to eat in the morning. Cooked breakfast looks like it has sat under a heater for about 6 hours and the continental part is non existent. 09 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed needed replacing, very slow internet & limited hot water The location of this hotel is by far the best feature of this hotel, being right in Gunwharf Quays you have excellent shopping and a plethora of food choices right on your door step. I stay here most of the time I visit Portsmouth (which I do semi regularly) Perhaps it was a bad room but on this visit the bed I had was well past its best, every time you sat or lay on it the springs creaked and twanged, in definite need of repair. Plus in the morning the hot water ran started to run out after a short shower and would not have lasted for 2 people. Breakfast is standard HI Express fayre, so I can't give it any more than average. What is most irritating for is something I am finding more and more across all the UK IHG hotels and that is the speed of the internet being provided with the free wifi is slow. With even basic internet pages e.g. facebook & amazon taking minutes to load it is below acceptable standards for 2014. 08 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, pleasant staff. Free Wi-!fi Breakfast ok, but scrambled eggs were awful and no bacon. 30 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant and helpful staff A nice hotel in a convenient location for all the attractions. The reception staff are excellent We had an enjoyable return visit. 27 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 mark and christine great stay location was very good, breakfast was good with lots of choices. no complaints and would not hesitate in returning to the same hotel 23 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Best Holiday Inn Express This is the best Holiday Inn Express we've ever stayed in, both in terms of Location and Quality of accommodation and service. In fact it's better than some Holiday Inn's also. We love our visits to Portsmouth and staying here is part of the experience. Service with a smile, and it does make a difference ! 22 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Stayed for one night enroute to the Isle of Wight for Easter planned to shop at Gunwharf Quays so was ideal. Rooms were great perhaps a little tired, burn mark on bedroom carpet and stains on the corridor carpet, but all very clean. Had a noisy night as occupants of next room came back very drunk managed well by hotel but did disturb our sleep. Breakfast was a very good start to the day. Lift was out of order but helpful staff on reception carried cases. All in all a successful stay, and will be back. 21 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location and facilities A great place to stop because of it's location, right next to the historic dockyards of Portsmouth,with varying venues, and the new shopping facilities. The hotel was clean tidy and the staff very helpful, parking no real problem, and cheap! 20 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great for a short break This is the second time I have stayed here with my family to do shopping at the outlets. Great location, parking brilliant and staff really helpful. only issue is there are no rooms with baths which would have been lovely after a day shopping. Otherwise I would definitely recommend this hotel. 12 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Situated in the most attractive part of Portsmouth Ideal location to stay. Very centralised to most of the historical attractions, shops & restaurants. Breakfast during the week was a very relaxing affair but Weekends are a nightmare, so much so my wife & I breakfasted at a Waterfront Cafe. A lack of selection , food all over the floor from children was enough to put us off. 10 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience Having stayed in the HIX at Lincoln the beginning of this week we were very suprised to find that Portmouths level of customer service exceeded Lincolns. From the initial greeting to the time we left the staff couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. This is the 2nd time I have stayed here and I would readily recommend the hotel to others. 09 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Four of us (two couples) spent a few days with you and we had no complaints whatsoever. We received all that we desired from staying at the Holiday Inn Express Gunwhard Quays. Staff, rooms, breakfast etc were excellent and the position of the hotel was well placed for the naval museums, Mary Rose, Spinnaker Tower, nice shops etc. Would stay again and recommend the hotel. 07 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service As tourists to UK, Portsmouth is one of our choices. Our stay at Holiday Inn Express was enjoyable due to the convenient location and largely to the helpful staff. Being travelers who mostly arrange our own sequential sites to visit; often from local advice, we appreciated extended help from the concierge staff; 'James' congenial assistance being pleasantly remembered. 26 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Stayed here 14th-16th March for the weekend. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Room clean. Great view overlooking the front. Location is great, all shops and restaurants of walking distance. Will definitely stay here again. 19 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for shopping, bars and resturants. Took a bit of working out how to get in the hotel, very strange that the reception is on the 1st floor not ground! Very clean room, good bed and nice range of pillows. Very strange that room price was £5 cheaper than friends who booked the same room on same day. Hotel is in a great location for shopping and resturants. Breakfast was slightly disappointing, no bacon, mushroom or hash browns. 19 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location for us and lovely staff Only did an overnight stay, ahead of a university visit with my daughter, we had looked at lots of options but on arrival it was clear we had chosen the best location, right at the top of Gunwharf Quays. Staff were really friendly and helpful, we were given a number of discounts to use locally, we had booked for an evening out at a nearby resturant and we were very pleased to find out it qualified for a 30% discount. Will definitely return with hubby on future visits when daughter starts at uni! 19 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A massive thank you! We stayed at the Holiday Inn Gunwharf Quays on the 7th March, on arrival the staff realised that our booking date was in the past! The Manager (Samantha) was nothing more than brilliant, she sorted out the room confusion which was nothing to do with Holiday Inn Express and at the same time made us more than welcome. Our stay was fantastic and above all one of the best express hotels we have ever stayed in. Samantha and her team deserve a very big pat on the back for a sterling effort. On a personal note we would definitely return in the very near future and book with Holiday Inn Express Gunwharf Quays - Brilliant XX 10 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and excellent location First time at this location but this Holiday Inn Express suited us perfectly. Ideal location for catching the catamaran to the IOW, centrally located for shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions, good parking and the staff were really welcoming. We weren't troubled by any noise in the late evening and the only disappointment was the limited hot breakfast buffet. I am sure that on my previous Holiday Inn Express stays, the choice was greater than sausage, scrambled eggs and beans. Slightly disappointing end to the stay but on balance a pleasurable stay. 08 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely romantic stay Perfect stay, only fault was the cleaner trying to access our room at 9.00am while I was in the shower & my husband was still in bed! Other than that we had a fantastic stay & can't wait to book again. 04 March 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>