• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 01 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 02 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Seaworld-Beach Area

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals Only Please. Free of Charge.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
SeaWorld San Diego,San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces110
  • Car Parking Available
  • Safe and secured onsite parking is complimentary to all of our guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:65
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:113
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary full American hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room and an outdoor heated pool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, Marine Corps Air Station Miramar (MCAS), the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are CACI, SPAWAR, Raytheon, General Atomics, Booz Allen Hamilton, Qualcomm General Dynamics, and Caterpillar.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in America's finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Have breakfast on us daily by stopping by our Express Start Breakfast Bar fully equipped with hot buffet options like omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and even our signature pancakes! Also take advantage of our fitness room, outdoor heated pool, and business center. For your convenience we also offer complimentary WiFi and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 98 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place to stay I was very impressed with this facility. The tropical plants and architecture was so impressive when we walked into the pool area. It is a bit of a retro hotel that stole my heart immediately. The cleanliness could not have been more superb and the pool area was beautifully kept and a very nice place to sit and have breakfast or wine and cheese in the evening. It was quiet for sleep, the staff was very friendly and i would definitely stay here again when visiting LaJolla. It was 2 blocks from the beach which made it even more appealing. I certainly would recommend this hotel to anyone. 29 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location and nice staff It`s already at the top of my list to stay. Parking pal is very friendly. Front desk staff cannot be helpful any more. 28 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by the worst Holiday Inn Express Nightmare for visiting San Diego several days. After La Jolla experience with the lack of sleep, I could not do anything. I just needed to sleep. I could not enjoy my trip. I felt wasting money! 25 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Graet Location with clean quiet rooms and not overcrowded Great location the first impression will not represent the stay the only thing was under constuction with parking lot renovation going on. 24 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The grounds and pool area was outstanding. Enjoyed sitting outside at night by the breakfast area and having a good cup of coffee provided by the night staff. The rooms had just been remodeled and that also made are stay in La Jolla a great get away . The location was close to the beach area but far enough away from the main part of La Jolla for a good night sleep. 22 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Faily Stay This is our third stay at this facility and will be coming back for years to come. Cant wait to see what the expansion will bring. 21 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service This hotel is under going a remodel - The staff is attentive and it appears the construction project is progressing. Even the construction crew is considerate. This hotel will be better than ever once the remodel job is completed. The Breakfast in the morning is better than anticipated, Great selection of breakfast items. 20 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel. Wonderful location. Nice small hotel with excellent service and fantastic breakfast. 20 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Friendly Staff Solid Value Nice Hotel Very Good Location 1 block from the beach. Friendly Staff, we were able to check in early. That is always a bonus. Parking is limited. Valet available. Lot is actually across the street. That is actually close by. So it's not a problem as long as you know. Morning breakfast is provided. Big area well maintained, but selection is limited. It's great for a grab 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Getaway Great Caring Staff. Nice Pool. Very convenient. Sure you can may more and maybe get some elegant fixtures and furnishings around town. But I was with the kids and this hotel exceeded our family's needs and was very convenient. Being that the management is so nice...I have already been back once since writing this and will be back again. 17 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Nice location. Hotel is expanding. Great valet parking 14 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Walking distance from beach We were warmly greeted when we arrived by the gentleman at the front desk. It made up a little for the major construction they had going on. Although it was an eyesore, no one was ever in our way. 11 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience Yes! We love it. That is hospitality. From the first moment. Thank you 11 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great getaway Except for the parking lot construction going on, stay was really nice. Great breakfast - many choices. Complimentary valet attendants worked had to get cars to customers ASAP. Employees were pleasant and helpful. 11 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and amazing location! The windansea beach across the street was so clean and beautiful. Loved how close the hotel was to the beach and food. Very comfortable bed, appreciated the blackout shades and cold AC. Frustrating that the parking lot was under construction and my car got keyed even though it was parked in the first spot near where the valet guy sits. 08 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and walking distance to the beach My family and I enjoyed our stay especially only walking distance to the beach. We plan to stay there again in the near future. La Jolla is a beautiful and very clean city, enjoyed walking around the area, We felt very safe. 04 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable experience We are very pleased of our recent stay in this hotel. We stayed there during one week. Staff was very friendly: David and Lamie at the Front Desk, Rami for Breakfast and all the Housekeeping and Maintenance. At the beginning our room was too noisy but we could change for a quiter room. The first outside appearance of the hotel was not great upon our arrival as there is one aisle under construction but the management is trying to give a better service with a complimentary valet parking. (Usual parking is out of order as well as the lobby); The pool is very nice and complimentary breakfast is excellent. We would definitely recommend this hotel. 03 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Place of Quality The La Jolla Holiday Inn Express pampered us, took care of our needs and made us feel at home. The construction going on directly behind out room was barely noticeable. The hotel is older and that works to it's advantage. The rooms are bigger and the rooms feel better constructed with quality ceiling fans and real closets. My only complaints are typical of all Holiday Inn Expresses in that they need to ditch the food and go back to a true Continental breakfast and put a few more towels in the pool area. Thank you for a great stay HI Express. 03 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room We enjoyed our visit there and there is a great Mexican restaurant just across the street which was great to just be able to walk over for dinner and come right back to the hotel. 02 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Stay, Ridiculous price Paid less for a 4 star hotel on the marina bay in San Diego. 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room. Very clean. We enjoyed our stay. Despite the construction going on, everything was awesome. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean. Overall my three day stay was perfect. 27 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great place The room was dark and dank. The only lighting were two small bedside lamps for the entire bedroom. The bathroom lights were also inadequate with no space for toiletries. The air conditioner ran noisily all night with no perceptible cooling occurring. 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for family trip The hotel is not easy to find, since the the construction in the front and parking lot, however, the guest parking sign is easy to see. The staff is friendly and patient enough,even though we got there almost midnight, and had trouble find the gate to the hotel. The complementary upgrade is nice and the suite is spacious. Unfortunately, the TV is kinda small considering the distance to the bed. And again, the suite is perfect for family with little kids.The bathroom is also spacious, but it is shower only. Maybe it is not necessary to take a bath since the beach is just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The breakfast is nice and the great room is open all day, and next to the swimming pool. which I feel is very pleasant. Overall, my mom likes it very much. 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great rooms The best hotel in that area. love the area and close to sea world. 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great staff/ Great stay I mentioned, in earlier comments, how much we enjoyed our stay. It was not an easy time, with the hotel being under partial reconstruction. And, our initial room assignments were in inferior (soon-to-be-razed) units. When we complained, the staff went out of their way to adapt to our needs, and, within a few hours, were able to reassign us to 2 adjacent rooms, which were perfect. Throughout our stay, the staff was always at hand, always ready to help with anything we needed. This property is not akin to The "AAAA" Valencia in downtown LaJolla; but I would suspect that your staff does not play second fiddle to any service group in the vicinity. They seemed to be proud of their property and made a super-human effort for us to enjoy our time there. And, we did. 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE!!! Loved staying at La Jolla HIE, beach was walking distance as well as many restaurants. My only complaint was that the walk-in shower did NOT have a door to keep the water from splashing out onto the floor. Had to put towels down to soak up the water every time we would shower. Parking was a bit of a hassle due to the construction but not to terrible. The free valet was a good compensation. Enjoyed my stay very much! would recommend this place only AFTER the construction is completed. PLEASE fix the shower to have a door of some sort. VERY CLEAN ROOM! Was acknowledged for being a GOLD IHG member. GREAT BREAKFAST! Great location!!! 23 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location Enjoyable stay at this property. Limited weekend breakfast staff resulting in absence of items (e.g. coffee). Location is good for restaurants in both Pacific Beach and La Jolla. Heavy traffic to get through La Jolla, but I think I still like this property better than the Indego in Del Mar, even for access to Blacks Beach. There is a major construction project just starting at this hotel, but they are trying to still be accommodating (e.g. new concrete walkway to converted guest room being used as lobby, complimentary valet parking). Within walking distance to a small (crowded) beach and to excellent La Jolla restaurants. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quaint, a block from the beach and wonderful value! Don't let the outside facade fool you. Inside are quaint, roomy, clean comfortable rooms in a relaxed atmosphere only less than a block from the beach, shopping and the freeway. Service and breakfast complete a great value. 21 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Surprise construction-what a mess Booked the hotel to attend a wedding - would have been nice if the 1-800 person would have told us the parking lot was under construction and half the façade of the building was missing. We would have picked a different location. A bit of a mess walking out in our wedding attire trying not to get dusty. 13 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice affordable stay Despite renovations affecting the lobby and parking, we had an enjoyable stay. The location is great and the facilities and staff are very nice. I would stay here again. 08 July 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you
Select to close.
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior Experience the wonders that Historic Balboa Park has to offer. Stroll your way to a good time on the Pacific Beach Boardwalk Relax in Pacific Beach all year round with our amazing climate. The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area Exterior Have an Elephant size good time at The World famous San Diego Zoo Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. Our welcoming Front Desk Staff looks forward to meeting you. Just minutes away from The Amazing Sea World San Diego!
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 01 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 02 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading