• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 22 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Seaworld-Beach Area

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals Only Please. Free of Charge.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
SeaWorld San Diego,San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces110
  • Car Parking Available
  • Safe and secured onsite parking is complimentary to all of our guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:65
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:113
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary full American hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room and an outdoor heated pool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, Marine Corps Air Station Miramar (MCAS), the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are CACI, SPAWAR, Raytheon, General Atomics, Booz Allen Hamilton, Qualcomm and General Dynamics, Caterpillar.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in America's finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Have breakfast on us daily by stopping by our Express Start Breakfast Bar fully equipped with hot buffet options like omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and even our signature pancakes! Also take advantage of our fitness room, outdoor heated pool, and business center. For your convenience we also offer complimentary WiFi and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 80 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room We enjoyed our visit there and there is a great Mexican restaurant just across the street which was great to just be able to walk over for dinner and come right back to the hotel. 02 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Stay, Ridiculous price Paid less for a 4 star hotel on the marina bay in San Diego. 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room. Very clean. We enjoyed our stay. Despite the construction going on, everything was awesome. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean. Overall my three day stay was perfect. 27 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great place The room was dark and dank. The only lighting were two small bedside lamps for the entire bedroom. The bathroom lights were also inadequate with no space for toiletries. The air conditioner ran noisily all night with no perceptible cooling occurring. 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for family trip The hotel is not easy to find, since the the construction in the front and parking lot, however, the guest parking sign is easy to see. The staff is friendly and patient enough,even though we got there almost midnight, and had trouble find the gate to the hotel. The complementary upgrade is nice and the suite is spacious. Unfortunately, the TV is kinda small considering the distance to the bed. And again, the suite is perfect for family with little kids.The bathroom is also spacious, but it is shower only. Maybe it is not necessary to take a bath since the beach is just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The breakfast is nice and the great room is open all day, and next to the swimming pool. which I feel is very pleasant. Overall, my mom likes it very much. 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great rooms The best hotel in that area. love the area and close to sea world. 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great staff/ Great stay I mentioned, in earlier comments, how much we enjoyed our stay. It was not an easy time, with the hotel being under partial reconstruction. And, our initial room assignments were in inferior (soon-to-be-razed) units. When we complained, the staff went out of their way to adapt to our needs, and, within a few hours, were able to reassign us to 2 adjacent rooms, which were perfect. Throughout our stay, the staff was always at hand, always ready to help with anything we needed. This property is not akin to The "AAAA" Valencia in downtown LaJolla; but I would suspect that your staff does not play second fiddle to any service group in the vicinity. They seemed to be proud of their property and made a super-human effort for us to enjoy our time there. And, we did. 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE!!! Loved staying at La Jolla HIE, beach was walking distance as well as many restaurants. My only complaint was that the walk-in shower did NOT have a door to keep the water from splashing out onto the floor. Had to put towels down to soak up the water every time we would shower. Parking was a bit of a hassle due to the construction but not to terrible. The free valet was a good compensation. Enjoyed my stay very much! would recommend this place only AFTER the construction is completed. PLEASE fix the shower to have a door of some sort. VERY CLEAN ROOM! Was acknowledged for being a GOLD IHG member. GREAT BREAKFAST! Great location!!! 23 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location Enjoyable stay at this property. Limited weekend breakfast staff resulting in absence of items (e.g. coffee). Location is good for restaurants in both Pacific Beach and La Jolla. Heavy traffic to get through La Jolla, but I think I still like this property better than the Indego in Del Mar, even for access to Blacks Beach. There is a major construction project just starting at this hotel, but they are trying to still be accommodating (e.g. new concrete walkway to converted guest room being used as lobby, complimentary valet parking). Within walking distance to a small (crowded) beach and to excellent La Jolla restaurants. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quaint, a block from the beach and wonderful value! Don't let the outside facade fool you. Inside are quaint, roomy, clean comfortable rooms in a relaxed atmosphere only less than a block from the beach, shopping and the freeway. Service and breakfast complete a great value. 21 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Surprise construction-what a mess Booked the hotel to attend a wedding - would have been nice if the 1-800 person would have told us the parking lot was under construction and half the façade of the building was missing. We would have picked a different location. A bit of a mess walking out in our wedding attire trying not to get dusty. 13 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice affordable stay Despite renovations affecting the lobby and parking, we had an enjoyable stay. The location is great and the facilities and staff are very nice. I would stay here again. 08 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by jaunita Juanita was amazing and very sweet, all the staff were on their A game, the hotel not so much, deff. could use some updating and deep cleaning. Our room was very small and outdate, fridge didn't work, micro smelled , bathroom smelled and sink was leaking. 02 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Construction issues We came to San Diego for our 28th Wedding Anniversary. Having never been to this area before, the hotel was very difficult to find. There was no sign on the street indicating a hotel was even there, much less open. There are construction fences everywhere. We drove by three times before realizing it was the place we were looking for. Finding the valet parking through the alleys and side streets next to the hotel was very frustrating too. When we arrived, we had asked to be near the pool, but were told since we were one of the last people to check in that night, they couldn't accommodate us. Our room keys stopped working three separate times and had to be replaced. The staff seemed to blame everything on construction. We won't be returning to this location. We'll find somewhere more friendly/responsive and with working key cards! 26 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Under Construction This is a very old location that was under construction. We did not know that it was under construction and very difficult to enter. There was 20 yards of gravel and dirt that we had to carry and drag our bags. The room was very damp smelling with large gaps in the door to the outside. The air conditioner was located less than 3 feet from the bed and blew directly onto the bed. The overall size of the room was small and cramp. I would never return to this site and would never recommend this location. 25 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant staff. My stay was pleasant. The only negative is that the hotel is under construction so it was not as convenient. Perhaps more of a discount would have been better. But I was able to sleep comfortably. 25 June 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel I've stayed at It should be closed own during construction. I would have never booked this location if I had known half of the hotel was demolished because they were adding more rooms. 19 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and location. Although the hotel was in the beginning stages of new construction the hotel staff was very attentive and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable and the proximity to the beach was excellent! 16 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Holiday Inn Express La Jolla The hotel was difficult to find. I passed by it 2 times while using my GPS. The Hotel was dated with old furniture and the bathroom was dated as well. 14 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Location for this hotel is excellent. It is close to the beach and within walking distance to restaurants. If you're inclined to walk, then the main shopping and beaches are within walking distance. The hotel is comfortable with a decent breakfast to start your day. 09 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a platinum treatment After a long trip getting here, I was not even offered a bottle of water! Not what I expected for platinum member, where as other properties I get a welcome basket! 11 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Management and Staff are true professionals I had a small problem which was addressed immediately by the hotel manager, he was professional and most importantly he listened. I want to thank the manager as well as the staff for making my experience a very positive one. Everyone who I came in contact from the hotel was courteous and very respectful. I never take the time to write a letter but I wanted to thank everyone for my great experience. I have lots of options on where I can stay but I can say without a doubt that I would stay at this hotel as well as recommend it to all my friends and family. Simply put I wanted to say Thank you 28 April 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beware the traffic noise!! I was given a room right on the street. Incredibly noisy all night long. The sidewalk is literally right outside the window and the 5-lane major road no more than 10 feet from the window. Heavy trucks and buses and all manner of traffic running through the night and increasingly loud and busy in the dawn hours as rush hour began. I had a hard time sleeping, despite being exhausted. No mention of this fact was made when I made the booking nor when I checked in. As a Platinum IHG Rewards member I think they might have tried a little harder to give me a quieter room. A room away from the street would no doubt have been much quieter. In the morning, the woman staffing the front desk merely shrugged when I asked why I got the streetside room. She couldn't have cared less, apparently. Also, the entire parking lot was ripped up and a giant excavator and massive tandem dumptrucks were busy loading concrete and asphalt in the morning. Otherwise, it looks like a quaint and unique property that might be just right for other travelers. Also further from UCSD than I was led to believe. 21 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very close to Beach Very nice area. Safe and clean rooms. Breakfast was what you can expect from Holiday inn Express. 14 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice place Staff was great and helpful. Within a good distance to hospital 09 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Not your typical Holiday Inn Express Although this is not a typical four story HIE we were pleasantly surprised by it's charm. We had two pool side rooms in the one story section of the motel which were very clean and had character. The outdoor pool and hot tub area were very nice and the staff throughout the motel were very friendly and helpful. The only drawback to the rooms was there were no bathtubs for the young children but the showers were nice sized so it really was not a problem. 07 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Spot, Some Quirks Good location with decent parking. Older rehab'd building with old-style central pool & hot tub area was nice for wife and kid. The college age kids drinking beer and smoking in it at night were less pleasant. The internet in the room was horrible. I ended up having to spend 2+ hours outside on a bench behind the main office to get a decent enough signal to finish my business tasks each night of the stay. Not what I expect from an IHG property. The room was good, the kitchenette was a nice addition. The lack of a shower door must be a "California" thing. I found both IHG properties that I stayed at in San Diego recently lacking. 03 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Again This was at least our fourth stay; and we plan on staying at the HI Express in La Jolla again and again. Great amenities and very friendly staff! 29 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location Somewhat dated facilities,otherwise nice stay-great location and food 23 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay Very clean and nice,great location will definitely be back 06 January 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior
The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior
Select to close.
The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. Have an Elephant size good time at The World famous San Diego Zoo Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. Stroll your way to a good time on the Pacific Beach Boardwalk Relax in Pacific Beach all year round with our amazing climate. Experience the wonders that Historic Balboa Park has to offer. The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area Exterior The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you Just minutes away from The Amazing Sea World San Diego!
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 22 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading