• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 29 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 30 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Seaworld-Beach Area

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals Only Please. Free of Charge.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
SeaWorld San Diego,San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces110
  • Car Parking Available
  • Safe and secured onsite parking is complimentary to all of our guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:65
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:113
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary full American hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room and an outdoor heated pool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, Marine Corps Air Station Miramar (MCAS), the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are CACI, SPAWAR, Raytheon, General Atomics, Booz Allen Hamilton, Qualcomm and General Dynamics, Caterpillar.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in America's finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Have breakfast on us daily by stopping by our Express Start Breakfast Bar fully equipped with hot buffet options like omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and even our signature pancakes! Also take advantage of our fitness room, outdoor heated pool, and business center. For your convenience we also offer complimentary WiFi and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 118 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Staff Excellent stay during a business trip. All available amenities and services were top notch. 19 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convinient I rest really well thanks, great staff and restaurant, i liked everything 12 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, convenient No complaints during our stay in March '14. Good -sized room and more to walk to around there than you might think. I would pick this over the hotels further over in Mission Valley because of all the vagrants. Probably better for couples and business travelers than families. Worked for us! 26 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Not what I expected, prefer holiday inn express The staff was not very friendly or efficient. They didn't offer parking information or dinning amenities at check In. At exit the clerk was rude when I asked her to clarify the policy for movie purchases we had to purchase movie twice because we fell asleep halfway through and were told movies are suppose to be available 24hrs from purchase. The hallway to the room smelled like gas, but at least the beds were comfortable and food was great downstairs. 19 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This is an eeceptional property, easy to get to and get around with out using the congested interstates. I also like the restuarant and bar, not the usual breakfast buffet Will be back! 17 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The people are really helpful, and the bar and restaurant are small but the service and food quality is super. Don't miss the burgers! 10 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest staff you’ll find I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar are fantastic. Breakfast and dinner menus will meet anyone’s desires and the food is outstanding. Rooms are quiet and well maintained. Garage parking is easy. The property is very conveniently located. 10 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff ***** Location is surrounded by great stores and restaurants. If you like mexican food, ask the staff for the address for the mexican restaurant near the airport. its only five minutes from the hotel. 02 March 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Questions The hotel and staff were fine. BUT...during my stay I had an issue. the room and taxes were to be paid by my company and I was to pay the rest. Mid week during a one week stay the hotel charged the entire stay to my card instead of the company card faxed to them...the hotel seemed upset and concerned and said they would credit me and add an additional 5000 points (never saw those). The hotel seemed like they wanted to correct issues but never did. My company west coast offices are right there...guess I have to find another hotel! 26 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service great service with room service, lounge personnel, restaurant and front desk. friendly and make you feel comfortable 03 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value This hotel is close to Montgomery Field and Qualcomm Stadium. Upon check-in, I received a choice of welcome bonus points or a drink voucher. My suite was large and well-lit. It had an atrium with wet bar (fridge and microwave but no sink), living room with sofa bed, flat-screen TV, sitting chair, desk with chair, and patio. The separate bedroom was large and had a comfortable king bed, flat-screen TV with HDTV channels, vanity, and separate water closet with shower. I enjoyed the drink and appetizer happy hour specials in the hotel restaurant. The hotel has a fitness center and outdoor pool. I liked the flexible cancellation policy and the availability of bonus point packages. I also like the ample complimentary parking for hotel guests. I got a good night's rest. 28 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff!, Have stayed at this hotel many times due to its convenient location to intersecting freeways and the Jack in the Box. On site restaurant is very good too. Staff is terrific. Front desk staff always made a point of recognizing us by name whenever we walked by. Made us feel valued. They do their best to resolve issues, really care about your comfort. This time "Sally" really worked hard to make us comfortable. However, I think corporate is tying their hands on some things. A consistent problem with this hotel is very poor bathroom vanity lighting. The lights are flourescent. Our first room had sockets for 2 light bars, but only had one installed. Husband thinks they remove one on purpose to save money. Really? Fluorescents are terrible and only pennies to operate. They graciuosly moved us to a suite, which had both florescent bulbs. Old room bulb never was replaced. Maybe hubby was right? Rooms are very low on natural light. Quit using fluorescents and add a small lighted wall mounted magnified vanity mirror by the sink (a cheap fix). Ladies, there is not enough light to properly put your make up on. You emerge looking garishly over done or with not enough. If lighting was better, would have given room 5 stars. We stayed on 3rd floor, and had to travel down to 2nd floor for ice each day - the 3rd floor machine had been totally removed. A real pain, and a long way to travel. Glasses - please quit putting drinking glasses on the bathroom sink. Sink is TINY and was very cluttered with 4 glass drinking glasses and a couple coffee mugs and a coffee maker! First - Gross! You have several people brushing their hair and teeth around all those dishes. Unsanitary. Move the coffee maker somewhere else in the room (maybe table or dresser), replace all cups with a stack of individually wrapped disposables! Even left a note for housekeeping to take them away. Note was ignored. 26 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noise level We were placed in a suite which usually very appreciated But the location of this room adjacent to another suite Was unfortunately not very good. We were awake for approximately 2 hours due to the noise level of the people next to us at 11:30pm-1:00am. We could hear every word, door slam and cough. We did call the front desk and a security check was done. We really feel it was just unfortunate and that it wasn't the fault of the hotel persay, but we will make sure we're never placed in that room again. Very pleased that the fan noise has been fixed in the garage. 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Staff were very hospitable and eager to help and provided excellent service. 11 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never Again Think Twice before you stay here. The hotel appeared clean when I checked it. The itching in the bed and the small black (salt like) grains I found in the bed and on my skin made sleep uncomfortable. As I prepared to check out I noticed the black specs on the sink were not part of the design... instead they were moving (ants). Fortunately, I kept my hygiene items in my suitcase and not on that sink. I did not report it... I just got out of there quickly. Finally, the hotel charged my card in error for 79.84 cents. The staff was very nice about taking it off (after I asked 3 times). Again I was grateful I used a prepaid card with immediate text alerts when charged otherwise I may not have noticed the error in time to have it corrected while I was there. The best part about this hotel.... The staff. 09 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Couldn't have been happier! We ate in the restaurant after attending a local football game. The barmaid was so accommodating and friendly! The food was wonderful. It was a nice atmosphere and I would definitely stay here again. 02 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, but dated bathrooms Located was great but bathroom pretty old and run down. 02 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location with simple food choices nearby... Upon arrival I noticed several parking spots that were barely wide enough for my super small, compact car. If other cars were parked in the adjoining spots and weren't perfectly centered/aligned, there was not space to park or get out of your car. Check in was great and I was upgraded to a very nice room. A few things happened in the room, the air conditioning unit didn't cool down to a level that I expected, the bath tub faucet leaked quite noticeability which surprises me that the person cleaning the room never reports this and no manager ever checks the room. Lastly, every day or two, at 6AM, the garbage truck arrived to bang around the metal dumpster and make all kinds of noise. That would be fine I I wanted to wake up at 6AM. Maybe they should be scheduled at industrial sites that early in the morning and then come to the hotel later in the day. There is a nice managers happy hour one day during the week, the bar also looks nice and there is a restaurant in the hotel. There is also a pool and hot tub area to relax. 26 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little noisy Our room was right on the road and the noise was annoying. Had to sleep with the fan on full blast to get some rest. Staff was excellent 03 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place I have stayed here over the years and have never been disappointed. The rooms have always been clean and the staff is great. I love the location (close to the freeway). Highly recommend! 02 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ehh!! Staff was nice but I had reserved two beds and when I got there they only had me down for one. They claimed the beds were queens but they were super small for 2 people and definitely weren't queen beds. There was no complimentary coffee, you had to pay for it which I thought was weird but the rooms were clean and it was in a good location. 28 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience Very accessible to interstate, helpful staff and good exercise room. Worked out problem with rewards points. 22 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurants While the hotel doesn't mention any local restaurants other than the one on-site, there are several restaurants nearby (within a block, and most just across the parking lot), including an excellent Thai restaurant, a few different "fast-food" chains, a buffet chain, etc. Surprisingly, the on-site restaurant actually had some rather tasty offerings, and had specials for some evenings. Pricing was still the typical proud pricing found at Holiday Inn attached restaurants, but when one could take advantage of the specials, they can get a reasonably priced tasty meal. Aside from the restaurant information, the rest was pretty typical Holiday Inn fare as described on their website. Addressing traffic noise reviews - windows appear to be just single pane, so depending on the side of the building and floor you are on, traffic noise can be distracting, but I didn't think it was bad. 18 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away from Home I travel to San Diego for business on a regular basis. The Holiday Inn - Mission Valley is where I stay. My wife often travels with me, so I am keenly aware of how comfortable she is during the day. We find this particular Holiday Inn to be exceptional in it's staff and accommodations. The staff always makes us feel special, from the front desk to the breakfast staff (Richard always starts my day with a laugh). Our room is always clean and the maids are considerate. We will continue to enjoy our "Home Away from Home" as long as work takes us to San Diego. 18 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean, friendly staff Enjoyed staying at the Holiday Inn. Friendly staff 13 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid Do not stay at this hotel. Avoid at all costs. Hotel is on top of the 15, and you will not sleep a wink regardless of the room that the front desk places you. Waste of money if you can't sleep. The traffic on the 15 stays at a consistent high volume level regardless of whether the time is day or night. 24 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by worse holiday inn I stayed at I paid for a suit room, fridge didn't work sheets were dirty, no soap, shampoo, any amendities were in the room. Staff was friendly and tried to be helpful but not worth the money and will never stay at thatlocation again. 22 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet - personal - great experience I stayed at the Mission Valley Holiday Inn Express this past week. The staff was very helpful and always available. Even though it is in a bustling area, it was quiet and easy to relax. Will definitely come back! 06 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Slight Problem BUT, management FIXED the problem! Great location, moderately priced, GREAT Property, CLEAN, COMFORTABLE! NICE STAFF! I ran into a bit of a problem HOWEVER, I went to management and, THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM! This is what makes ALL the difference! GREAT Hotels offer GREAT solutions! There will ALWAYS be problems in life. Problems in life are UN-AVOIDABLE! INEVITABLE! The trick is; GREAT SOLUTIONS! That is what makes GREAT hotels stand apart from the average Hotels! YES! I DO Recommend this Hotel! I have stayed here before and, I WILL come back again! 04 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate Hotel There is not enough parking on the premises and even then trying to navigate anything larger than a small vehicle around the parking lot is difficult. My room wasn't ready when I arrived and being a priority club member didn't seem to mean very much. A good hotel, but not somewhere I would visit again, unless I absolutely had to. The cost was much more than I would have anticipated for the level of hotel service. 28 September 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior
The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior
Select to close.
The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. Have an Elephant size good time at The World famous San Diego Zoo Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. Stroll your way to a good time on the Pacific Beach Boardwalk Relax in Pacific Beach all year round with our amazing climate. Experience the wonders that Historic Balboa Park has to offer. The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area Exterior The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you Just minutes away from The Amazing Sea World San Diego!
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 29 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 30 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading