• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 01 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 02 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Seaworld-Beach Area

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals Only Please. Free of Charge.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
SeaWorld San Diego,San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces110
  • Car Parking Available
  • Safe and secured onsite parking is complimentary to all of our guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:65
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:113
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary full American hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room and an outdoor heated pool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, Marine Corps Air Station Miramar (MCAS), the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are CACI, SPAWAR, Raytheon, General Atomics, Booz Allen Hamilton, Qualcomm and General Dynamics, Caterpillar.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in America's finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Have breakfast on us daily by stopping by our Express Start Breakfast Bar fully equipped with hot buffet options like omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and even our signature pancakes! Also take advantage of our fitness room, outdoor heated pool, and business center. For your convenience we also offer complimentary WiFi and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 106 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent. Only down side was with a room on the freeway side of the building, the nonstop traffic noise made it difficult to sleep. People on the other side didn't have that issue, so something to keep in mind when booking. Other than that, would have given a 5 rating. 09 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel. Bad restaurant The hotel and staff were very good, except for a gentleman (not so gentle), Richard I think, in charge of the restaurant. The breakfast service was definitely slow and we had to ask for our things several times, even though our breakfasts are more than simple (toasts and cereal). When we left we told this man about our dissatisfaction and he answered very rudely. ( Hope that in Argentina you receive a better service !!) My answer was that YES in Argentina we are treated very politely at every hotel. We had dinner on our first night, breakfast the next day and we NEVER returned to the restaurant. Always went out, even though we would have preferred to stay in. I travel with my mother (aged 91) and my grandson (aged 1). We would have preferred to use the hotel restaurant, but we don´t like rude people. I recommend ANAI from the restaurant, and the girls in front desk, specaily SALLY. They are up to the Holiday Inn standards 07 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm, friendly service I was on an extended business trip to San Diego, and stayed at this facility (during the work week) for approximately seven months. (I did not know at the start that it would be for more than a week or two.) I expect courtesy and competence at any hotel. At Holiday Inn Mission Valley it was more like being a family member or friend of every staff member. I was given VIP treatment from the first week I stayed there, until the day I left. I never asked them for special treatment. I didn't need to. They seemed to anticipate all my needs and provided me with efficient and comfortable service. This is not the newest hotel in San Diego, but it is well-maintained and excellently staffed. I don't know where they found their staff members, but any hotel would count itself fortunate to employ even one of them. That they have been gathered (and kept) at a single hotel also says good things about the management. I've just retired but, needless to say, when I'm next in San Diego I will be staying here. 31 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by manager THIS HOTEL WAS EXELLENT MY WIFE, GRANDKIDS AND I ENJOYED SAN DIEGO VERY MUCH BUT ESPECIALLY OUR STAYED AT THE HOLIDAY INN IN MISSION VALLEY WAS VERY GOOD. I WANT TO THANK ALL THE STAFF FOR THE EXCELLENT WORK THEY DO. SEE YOU GUYS THERE NEXT YEAR. 28 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel While the hotel and rooms were quite clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful, we were a bit disappointed with a few issues. There was no fridge or microwave in the room, you had to pay extra for these, and with the cost of the room each night, we feel it should have been included--at least the fridge. Also, we received vouchers for breakfast in the restaurant--for a family of 4 we got a $20 voucher for each morning, but breakfast in the restaurant was expensive and we ended up paying another $25-$30 out of pocket each day. It would have been cheaper to pay the cost of a fridge for each day and buy our own food. Lastly, we were on the side of the hotel where there was lots of traffic, so it was a bit noisy at night. And speaking of noise, the air conditioner from the room above us, was dripping all night onto the ledge outside our window. The next day we opened the window and put a towel on the ledge and that took care of it. Overall, you're average hotel, but I wish we had known ahead of time, what was not included. 24 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room was extremely Hot when checking in The location is pretty good but the fast food place next door at night had some less than desirable people hanging around. My biggest complaint when checking in was not having the room set at a comfortable temperature as many other places do. It was very muggy in the room and it took some time for the room temperature to come down to a desirable level. The facility was adequate and the staff recognized me as a Rewards Club Member and upgraded our room without my asking so that was nice. 22 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I just want to let you guys know how GREAT Leah is. I encountered her several times in my two day stay at your hotel. Every time I saw her she was always smiling and would ask how we were doing. She was more than helpful in helping us navigate the area. Working in guest service is definitely a difficult job; but Leah is absolutely amazing. You guys have a wonderful employee. Thank you so much. 12 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Week This is one of the best Holiday Inn's my wife and I have stayed in. We enjoyed every minute in the hotel. Our suite was well designed and furnished. The staff was courteous and friendly. The food was great and reasonably priced. We will definitely stay here again. 10 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Affordable Group Pricing We recently stayed at HIMV for a lacrosse tournament and found the pricing to be very affordable and the accomodations comfortable. The manager Janina was very hospitable and made sure that my children and I were going to be happy with our stay. I signed up for the IHG Rewards and the in room fridge I needed was provided FREE OF CHARGE. Awesome! Parking, wi-fi and breakfast for us were also included in the low rate. Thank you! 05 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by poor customer service we were part of Lacrosse group that came for a tournamnet. upon booking the room i was told that breakfast and free parking are included in the group deal. When we wanted to get our free breakfast, we were told that we were not eligible to get a free breakfast, as the group code was not correct. I tried expaling the front desk supervisor that my daughter has 3 games that morning, and she has to eat breakfast on time. The supervisor was not nice, kept insisting that she cannot offer breakfast. it was a humiliating experience to stand there like beggers, as all other group members were having their free breakfast and driving their kids to the field on time. we asked to speak with the manager - her name was on the wall - V.K. at first I was told she will be there at 8am. then she was late. then they said she is out of town. obviously the supervisor was lying. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!! I WILL NOT RECCOMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!! 05 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by quiet place it would have been better if there's fridge and microwave for the little ones who wants to heat up snack and store milk formula. 05 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy, youth gone wild....not good after a long, all day drive We travel to San Diego fairly frequently and booked our stay based on reviews. Turns out the hotel was rented out to youth teams that were noisy, running up and down the halls having pillow fights. The hotel staff had to come and supervise the hallways. I felt sorry for them. We had a suite on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and next to the stairway leading to the pool and gym area. But after dinner the pool area was overflowing, kids were running up and down the stairwell and the guests above were stomping around. We waited until 9:00 pm....but the noise was even worse! We were then offered a room on the third floor on the opposite the pool area. So we packed up and moved. It was on this floor we encountered the hallway pillow fight as we hauled our luggage to our new room. The staff were very gracious and accommodating so I'm guessing this behavior was not a regular occurrence. We were offered a comp breakfast....but unfortunately the service was so slow that we got finally requested just some coffee to go. We do not plan to stay at this hotel again....However, it is a convenient location and reasonably priced. Just bring earplugs! 21 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Very comfy! The hotel was great. The room smelled slightly like it used to be a smoker room but other then that it was great. The beds were soft and comfy, the shower and head was fantastic, and the staff was smiling and helpful. We'd stay again! 31 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything perfect Always met with a smile...comfortable and clean rooms and surroundings! 17 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Room on Side of Hotel Opposite Freeway Other reviewers cited the problem with freeway noise, but if you ask for a room facing away from the freeway, you won't hear a thing, The room was nothing exceptional, but it was very clean and perfectly comfortable. The bed was a little on the firm side, but I still slept well. Customers are given a choice of softer or firmer pillows. I'd be willing to stay there again if the price were right. 03 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service It was a fun friendly stuff that check me in during my stay. My room had a beautiful deco with a equally nice king bed. I woke up well rested the next morning, and that's very important to me because I'm traveling for business. 02 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Enjoyed every aspect of my stay at the Holiday Inn Express at Mission Valley Stadium, San Diego. Room, food and service was great. One issue was there was only two luggage carriers that were never available. 15 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An unusally friendly hotel My room 309 was spacious and comfortable, and the wi-fi worked well. I especially appreciated the location of the Holiday Inn next to an Arco station that has the cheapest gas in the region. I appreciated the friendly staff and the make-your-own omelet at the egg station. I didn't like the other guests that were staying in the room across from mine, but the hotel is a winner. 16 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Customer Service by Desk! The woman at the front desk during my stay was FANTASTIC! She helped with all my needs and when I had forgotten my phone charger offered me her personal charger for the evening! She made my experience! 27 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Attending a Football Game We were able to walk the two miles to the football stadium from the hotel. The walk would not be for everyone since there were no sidewalks part of the way. 27 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay` This is a nicely kept Holiday Inn. The staff it this location is very friendly and curtious. I have stayed here several times and the staff is the one item that stands out. The rooms are basic Holiday Inn rooms and are clean. I would recomend this location for the value and closeness to the stadium. 25 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and spacious It is located in a nice area. Easy access to all San Diego sites and venues. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. 18 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Hats-off to the ladies at the front desk; they truly made my experience worthwhile. It is because of them that I keep returning to this property. Amenities-wise the hotel could be a lot better. 17 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Accomodations Hotel is up-to-date, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Room is nice and the bed is very comfortable. Small minor issues that I have encountered have been taken care of immediately. Hotel is very conveniently located as well - easy access to the highways. I highly recommend this location. 09 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by WORST EVER WE HAVE BEEN STAYING AT THIS HOTEL FOR 20+ YEARS AND THIS WAS THE WORST EVER. WE HAD TO TRAVEL 12 HOURS. WE ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL 1 HOUR PRIOR TO CHECK IN AND WERE TOLD THAT NO ROOMS WERE CLEAN YET SO WE ASKED IF WE COULD WAIT IN THE LOBBY AND BE NOTIFIED AS SOON AS ONE BECAME AVALIABLE. WE WATCHED 4 SEPARATE PARTIES CHECK IN ONLY 15 MIN. LATER WHILE WE HAD TO WAIT AN HOUR. THE FRONT DESK PERSON WAS RUDE. EVERY MORNING WE WERE WITHOUT HOT WATER, WE HAD TO CALL THE FRONT DESK AND WERE TOLD THAT THEY WOULD HAVE THE MAINTENANCE MAN DRAIN THE COLD WATER OUT OF THE PIPES THIS WENT ON FOR THE ENTIRE 5 DAYS. THE HEATER IN OUR ROOM WAS VERY NOISEY, FAUCETS LEAK AS WELL AS THE SHOWER. 08 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional New Year's Weekend! We visited our kids in San Diego, stayed at the Holiday Inn Mission Valley, just off of Aero Drive at I15. The staff was friendly & helpful throughout our 3 day stay. The hotel is clean, and housekeeping was excellent. The room was quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. The location is convenient to everything. What more could you ask for? 06 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Must Request Hot Water The hotel is ideally located for my purposes. I have stayed several times before, but never have I needed to request that the hot water be turned on in my room. Guests should be told PRIOR to booking that they must request hot water to take a shower. 02 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by stay away from this place i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. the cleanliness and the look of the room was good. the main con was the heating unit. at random times it would make a lot of noise which would wake us up from out sleep multiple times at night. seems to me that it was a really old unit. it was supposed to be a relaxing weekend for me, but if you can't sleep, its not a relaxing weekend. i would def stay away from this place. 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Staff and Good Facility Overall, had a good stay.Staff are attentive and want to make your stay comfortable. The facility is modern and in good repair. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone. 25 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and great value Very much enjoyed our stay beginning with the the enthusiasm of our welcome by three very accommodating and friendly young ladies and continuing through the restaurant service and our final checkout. Very pleased with the experience. 09 December 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior
The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior
Select to close.
The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior Our Guest Service Agents always ready to welcome you! Have an Elephant size good time at The World famous San Diego Zoo Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. Stroll your way to a good time on the Pacific Beach Boardwalk Relax in Pacific Beach all year round with our amazing climate. Experience the wonders that Historic Balboa Park has to offer. Just minutes away from The Amazing Sea World San Diego!
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 01 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 02 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading