Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 18 Dec 2014)
(e.g. 19 Dec 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 331 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and convenience at a reasonable cost My husband and I stayed here for three nights so that he could go to a conference. I was free to sightsee and work on my master's degree courses. We slept well in a comfortable King size bed with enough pillows and adequate heating/cooling. We had paid parking below the hotel and left our car there during our stay, walking to all the places that we wanted to see in the downtown area. I used the free hotel shuttle to go to the San Diego Zoo and appreciated that very much. It is in a part of town that is convenient and feels safe. The hotel pool was clean and well-kept, but small and not deep. Better for kids than for lap swimming. Breakfast was better than continental although some of the food was not of the highest quality. Still we were grateful to get fruit, milk and cereal. Disappointments: no fitness room and wifi that did not work for me AT ALL. If you need these you should book elsewhere. Appreciated: fridge and free safe in room. 30 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The Staff was great, about making sure we could use the kids car seats when, we were taken to the the zoo and, they made sure they brought them back to us.very nice staff! 29 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel staff Spent 5 days/nights at this hotel and experience was 4.5 stars. didn't experience any issues and location was perfect being in center of town and minutes from airport. Shuttle took us to locations we needed to be at and easy to walk to others. 28 November 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for reasonable price. Walking distance to the Gas Lamp and MTA. Convenient location and comfortable room. 27 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great San Diego Hotel Great hotel value, very clean, incredibly helpful staff, nice neighborhood. 27 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for San Diego The San Diego Downtown Holiday Inn Express was a great stay and great experience. Ideally located and close to everything I wanted to be near. I only stayed as part of a promotion, but would definitely stay at this location again, and would be more willing to stay in Holiday Inn Express's in the future b/c of my experience. Great attentive staff, great breakfast, and free internet for IHG members. 27 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Choice I was in San Diego for a conference at the Convention Center. This hotel was a good choice for me. Although it was further from the Convention Center than I wanted, the access to downtown was easy. It was about a half mile walk, so I walked it everyday. But if someone didn't want to walk, the trolley stop is only a short distance from the hotel, giving easy access to downtown and the Convention Center. Plus, the price was much better than the hotels in the Gaslamp district itself. The staff was friendly and helpful and the shuttle was a great help. Breakfast was good, and clean, which I appreciated. I would definitely recommend the hotel. 27 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for location Good value for the location to downtown. Facility is a bit old, although has been updated to modern standards. 21 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff are exceptional This hotel is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is great. Free shuttle service to local attractions. The rate seemed a little high but it is in a large city. We really enjoyed our stay. What was absolutely outstanding was the staff! Everyone we talked to (and that was several) were so very friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. They went out of their way to give us information and help. They really should be commended for outstanding service. I can see why they are in the hospitality industry. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would come back again. 19 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I made a last minute reservation and everything went smoothly. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. 17 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay The stay at San Diego Downtown Holiday Inn Express was very enjoyable. The service, rooms and location are great, I definitely recommend this hotel! 16 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience at San Diego HIE Had an excellent 3 day stay at the hotel. Everyone was friendly and recognized my status at breakfast each morning. The room and rest of hotel was well kept. Will definitely stay there again. 12 November 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Good stay great staff good value...drive slow and careful in the garage it's difficult...all in all would strongly recommend...a bit noisy outside sometimes but that's the neighborhood not the hotel... 11 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff, great location Spent six nights here during recent trip to California. Excellent staff, very helpful and responsive to my needs. Happy hour on Sunday to Thursday nights is a brilliant idea. Loved the iced lemonade and water at reception. Breakfast is standard. Did feel a bit 'plasticky' sorry. Only issue was the renovation work currently underway, but the plus side is that dated rooms will be updated. Hope bathrooms get increased in size and that the creaking and slow lifts are improved as part of this activity. Overall a brilliant stay. 11 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Suite and comfortable bed!! The manager took the time to explain everything the hotel had to offer, he made sure my dry cleaning was done on time and even provided me with some vouchers for a great Italian place across the street to eat at!! Room was large and bed was incredibly comfortable. If I had to pick one thing that I didn't like, it would have to be that the wireless was slow during my stay. It worked fine, just a bit slow. Then again, the hotel was booked, so lots of people using bandwidth!! Great stay and will stay again when I return to beautiful San Diego! 11 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient This location was within walking distance to the nightlife and restaurants 10 November 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location, most in walking distance. Excellent service. 07 November 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NICE HOTEL FOR A GOOD PRICE WITH GREAT SERVICE Great hotel for anyone in a wheelchair, two elevators too the street and a ramp.. There are a few eating places around the hotel but fi you want to walk 3 or more blocks you can find many more. Shuttle drivers were excellent and the hotel staff was great. 05 November 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I would stay here again Very pleasant and helpful staff. Hotel had all the amenities and is kept in very good condition upkeep and cleanliness wise. Lots of little extras you don't always get in other hotels even of the same brand I would definitely stay here again 03 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeds expectations We planned our stay at the HI Express Downtown San Diego because it was listed as having transportation from the airport and also to the cruise port. The reviews I read before I booked the hotel were very positive. I would have to agree that the staff is excellent, the amenities are great, and the breakfast was super. 02 November 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Plesant It was a lovely stay, staff were very helpful and friendly. Only complaint not enough fruit for breakfast. Would stay there anytime though. 01 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best place in Town My first review was rejected, I guess I used full names and that is a no no. So I will try again. There is a lady who works there and her name starts with a R. She wonderful. She is a greeter / hostess of sorts. There is also a person who drives the van and will pick you up from the airport or even take you to the zoo. His name starts with a P. He is also outstanding. Now we also came into contact with the manger who name starts with a B. This person can and will make you feel just like you are at home. You could not ask for a better person to be in charge of this team. Now as to the others who work there they are also Great. We plan on coming back soon. Can't say enough . 30 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy bed and great amenities/service This hotel had a complimentary set of snacks , water, and bottle of wine for our stay at the King Suite. The room was clean and sufficient for myself and two friends as there was a sofa bed for our stay. The TV subscription had a variety of channels for all moods of entertainment (i.e. HBO, NFL Redzone, etc). We enjoyed our stay and would come back again. 29 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Great staff and quiet room. Was in San Diego on business and was glad to have a quiet place to rest. Drive slowly in the parking lot, turns are narrow. 29 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Price This was a great location for the price. The hotel was clean and offer breakfast. 24 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by warm welcome & feel comfortable Throughout 15days of business trip around 8 citiez of USA, this is the best hotel, staff & service I had among the 14 nights of staying in IHG group hotels. Great job! Appreciate so much! 24 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location near gas lamp and zoo Hotel located close to the gas lamp area, Staff was very friendly and helpful 23 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place with great value A property with genuine staff and quality of service that will exceed your expectation. Don't miss its happy hour a great fun way to experience the company of fellow guest and the general manager. 23 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient, comfortable, and clean liked staying away from pricy rip off hotels by convention center where we were exhibiting; gave us the opportunity for a nice walk through the gas lamp district. appreciated the amenities. even though i didn't take advantage of the happy hour or much of the breakfast, i appreciated their availability. the breakfast was totally adequate and the quality of the room sufficient and clean. 22 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall, excellent location Sorry I didn't use this Holiday Inn Express location sooner. Excellent location, walking distance to Gas Lamp district with all of the great restaurants. The staff did a great job making me feel at home and relaxed after the business day. 22 October 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>