Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 19 Apr 2014)
(e.g. 20 Apr 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 173 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No shuttle and no breakfast There are a lot of reasonably priced accommodation choices around the San Diego airport but after some research online, by email, and by phone the Holiday Inn Express San Diego stood out because they offered a free airport shuttle and complimentary breakfast. This is a great deal if you are traveling with constantly hungry kids and are on a budget. We had an overnight layover with an early departure so I had some questions about breakfast arrangements. I was feeling pretty good after my email from Holiday Inn Express San Diego said in part "We can provide a breakfast bag to go around 5:00 a.m at your request as long as you make arrangements the day/nigt prior", and in another email, "there is absolutely no charge for the shuttle. It is a complimentary service that we provide to our guests. Breakfast bags are also complimentary. You can pick one up the evening before you depart, or the morning of. We do have someone at the desk 24 hours a day, so any time that works for you to pick one up, feel free to do so." There was no shuttle and no breakfast. July 2 -after the assurances of the earlier email I still called the front desk the day before we arrived and explained that we would be arriving at 8:35pm the following day and would like to use the complimentary shuttle for 4 people. The front desk said "no problem, just call us when you arrive". July 3 8:30pm -called front desk when we landed. The front desk said there was no driver so they could not provide a shuttle. They said they were "authorized" to reimburse up to $15 for a cab ride. A short negotiation with the cab driver got us an $18.50 flat rate and I rounded it up to $20 for hitting every green light through downtown San Diego. Not a big expense but frustrating after the emails and phone calls to confirm that we would have a shuttle. If you are left stranded at the airport and get the taxi rebate offer remember to get a receipt from your cab driver. July 3 9:30pm -there were no bag breakfasts available at that time but I was assured they did this all the time and there would be bag breakfasts available in the morning. I said that I would like to "make arrangements" per the email I had received but I was told it wasn't necessary. July 4 5:00am -from the front desk worker -"Jeez guys, it's been one of those mornings. I'm all out of breakfasts. Let me see if I can get anyone in the breakfast room." After holding the phone for a couple minutes he disappeared into the back and we waited the 15 minutes until the shuttle took us to the airport. At the airport the comparable to a bag breakfast for 4 ran just under $30. This property is OK and if they deliver on their promises it is an excellent value. In this situation there were other options that would have been a better value and nothing was worth the frustration of starting our vacation on this disappointing note. This hotel set the bar high and then walked right under it. 04 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible hotel There was no shower towels in the restroom and they didn't have any available intill late morning. In addition our room was not made until after 5PM, not being able to rest in comfort. Also, the restroom was the so small you couldn't even spread out your belongings. In conclusion, the parking in the bottom was tiny that are SUV was hard to manipulate around the curves that the parking structure had. I wouldn't reccomended this hotel unless they had good rates. The price was high compared to what they had to offer. 04 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Handicapped room was excellent Very friendly and clean. Enjoyed our brief stay and will use again. 30 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff, Solid Breakfast, Terrible Wi-Fi The staff was very nice. I did have an issue with payment. I reserved the room under my name and credit card. My brother-in-law checked in first and they asked for his credit card. The room was charged to his credit card instead of mine so I had to call the hotel after arriving home to have the charges reversed and placed on mine. Jenny at the front desk was very helpful but it was a bit frustrating that the charges weren't placed on the original card. It makes no sense to me that, as the person who rented the room, I was never asked if I wanted to change credit cards. If we wanted it charged to my brother-in-law, we would've made the reservation with his card. The breakfast was fine. I wish there was more fresh fruit - the bananas were past their prime, so I stuck with some strawberry yogurt. My brother-in-law enjoyed the pancake machine and shot a Vine video of it. My biggest problem was the wi-fi. It just didn't work. I was there for three days and was unable to connect to the internet. I had a similar problem at the last HI Express I stayed at in Tulsa, OK. It's very frustrating and I wouldn't recommend staying there to anyone who 100% needed working wi-fi in their room. 28 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Place to Stay We had a great stay in this hotel. The staff was very helpful and even though they had a busy weekend when we checked in, we were still able to get a room right away when we checked in. I liked that the room had it's own mini fridge. Also the parking was fairly accessible through the elevator. It was clean and had a great view of the city since it sits on top of a hill. Was not expecting breakfast but they had a great variety on the days we were there. Definitely staying here again. 27 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by MrJWC The bed was comfortable, the service was terrific. The location for Comic Con was great. The price however, was terrible. It is highway robbery that they get away with such high rates just because an even is in town. It is not only this Hotel, it is all Hotels in the area. I did like this Hotel, and will come back next year since I do want to attend Comic Con once again. I guess I will just have to pay the price and start saving now. Thank you. PS The value would not let me do anything but excellent, hmmmm 27 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful place to stay! We always have a good experience staying at a Holiday Inn property, but this time was even above and beyond. The rooms were extremely clean, and I am very picky (I own a cleaning company), the staff was incredibly helpful! Jeanette even took time over the phone to help me understand where in San Diego we would be, and made me confident in my choices. Midge is a super star and a huge reason we were so happy. This woman was on top of everything, and any corporation would want to keep this woman happy, as she exemplified the perfect guest experience. No easy task, during Comic Con weekend. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable! Julie and Dave M. 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable rooms, wonderful Happy Hour, great location. One of the nicest Holiday Inn's I have stayed at. Would recommend staying here. 24 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home This was a good place to stay. Staff was very friendly. Good food at the hotel and bar. Older hotel but has been updated. 22 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tiny bathroom and overpriced. The price for an over night stay was outrageous even if it was gay-pride week-end. The bath is so small only one person can be in it unless the other person is in the tub. The counter space is almost nonexistent. The bed was short sheeted. The worst Holiday inn Express experience of our lives. 20 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by THE STAFF MAKES THE HOTEL!!!!! I am a international traveler ive, stayed at some of the best hotels in the world.The holiday inn exspressin down town San Diego is a lil run down .......BUT........its not the marble and granite that impresses me, its the housepitality and kind warm hearted peole who work there.I feel like family ehrn im there.it starts in the morning at breakfast till i get back with the free wine and beer at the bar for happy hour.i use to stay at the manchester hyat on the harbor with a window veiw of the ocean.The staff there are nice but there not first name nice.I will always stay at the holiday inn exspress when i head to S.D.they deserve a call from some one important to let them know how much of a fine job they are doing.GOD BLESS!!!! K.M UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE 19 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Atmosphere, Location and Service Was a great stay enjoy the service from friendly personnel. Nice location walking distance from night life and great restaurants. Beautiful view from hotel balcony. Complimentary Breakfast was delicious. 19 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego My Favorite place The staff here makes this my favorite place to stay in San Diego. Trisha and Maybell are always helpful, courteous and polite. The Happy hour is a great way for guest to relax and meet new friends. The view is awesome and the breakfast is always good. If you need a cup of coffee there is always some made in the foyer. 18 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very conveniently located Excellent facilities, great happy hour and shuttle service appreciated. Would stay again. 14 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express San Diego our over all stay was poor. starting with the parking which is very difficult to maneuver through for any size car. And the cost was far to much(an additional ($16.00).Parking should be included with the cost of the room. The Hotel it self is very old and out dated especially the shower and furniture. The couch looked filty. The way the room was designed was very poor. Only one bed had a full view of the TV. The elevator was very, very slow and no ventilation. For the cost, I would not recommend this hotel. 11 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Great Staff This was my first time to San Diego and the location and staff could not be better. The staff was very accommodating. The hotel runs shuttles which was most convenient. The breakfast was perfect. Happy Hour daily, what more can you ask for! Great stay and would recommend this hotel to everyone. 10 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by hotel amenities The room was nice and clean and the staff was great. The hotel itself had a tight parking garage & small pool, the elevators were very slow and the breakfast was so so (the pancake machine did not work and it took a while to bring out a new batch of scrambled eggs). Other than that, the price was adequate for what we got. We did enjoy the free cocktail hour too. That was a nice touch, although I would recommend bringing out mixed nuts to munch on, not just goldfish crackers. 07 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 The staff made my stay My brother got married at the El Cortez and I stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express. Tricia and Midge made sure that my room was ready early and took care of my family and I during our stay. They made parking and checking it very easy for all of us. Thank so much, ladies! 05 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good choice The room was not a good choice. The bathroom sink was held up with a stick! The toilet was so old and loud I didn't want to use it! The bathroom was also so small only one person at a time could use it. It felt very cheap and for the price of the room, it was totally not worth it! The hotel overall seemed very old and cheap with no upgrades at all. I would have gladly paid a little more for a nicer room and bathroom anywhere else. 04 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel but very understaffed I chose this hotel as part of a park and ride booking. I live about an hour from the airport and had an early morning flight. When I arrived, the room was not yet ready because they had a full hotel the day before for Father's Day. The room was super nice with a little balcony but there was no remote for the TV. I had to wait 1 1/2 hrs for them to get me a remote. There was no ice available in the machine so I had to request from the bar staff. The front desk staff was nice but very overworked. I would have rated this hotel higher but the service getting me back to the hotel on my return was a nightmare. First, I called to get picked up and was asked to hold. The agent set the phone on the counter and continued to chat with the guest she was helping at the front desk. I held for 5 minutes and called back. I spoke to a different agent who told me that she would call the driver. She came back on the phone and said he would be there in 10-15 minutes. 20 minutes later, another gentleman called and asked where I was waiting. I said "courtesy vehicles-terminal 1 where I have been for the last 1/2 hour". He said he would send the driver over from terminal 2 and would call me back to make sure I was picked up (he never called back). 30 minutes later I called again and was told to take a taxi and I would be reimbursed. I spent $17 on the taxi and was reimbursed $15. It took more than an hour and 4 phone calls to get picked up from the airport, I had to extend my dog's stay at the kennel, and was extremely frustrated with the experience. When I arrived at the hotel, the shuttle was parked in the parking lot. 25 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Anniversary Celebration We stayed four nights at the hotel while enjoying the sights of San Diego celebrating our 60th wedding anniversary. The room was great, with comfortable mattresses and a choice of pillows, very nice towels and shower and good television reception. However, it was the staff that made our stay so pleasant: the front desk personnel were helpful, friendly and courteous, the pleasant van drivers took us to many locations and picked us up in a timely manner when we were ready to return to the hotel. And I can't overlook the great breakfasts! Many, many choices, all excellent, and a friendly, courteous and efficient staff kept everything in order. It was really a wonderful experience. 24 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable After the naked man on the balcony incident, we were very impressed by the staff's professionalism and attentiveness. Our room was comfortable, clean, and we slept very well. Breakfast was OK, but needed fruit! We would definitely stay here again as the price was right. 23 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Breakfast & Soap Breakfast was pretty much the same, pancakes were tasteless. Soap: Soap needs to be supplied at least one a day; 2 soaps don't last for 2 days shower routine; one night I did not take a shower because I will not have for the morning... this was very disappointed. 23 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown San Diego The staff and service were excellent. But, to have a suite, there was disappointment. For example, the bathroom was rather small to be a suite. Additionally, there was no fridge or microwave in our room which was disappointing. I've stayed at other Holiday Inn with suites and both were present in the room. I would only suggest that the staff look into these missing items. 20 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good experience good location, very close to the baseball stadium and the gaslamp district. The Happy hour was awesome as well! 17 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great start to our vacation We were upgraded to a corner room with an amazing view. The only complaint was that the air conditioner was a little loud, but it was an air unit, which is understandable. Excellent location and very polite staff. 14 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Managed to walk to Seaport Village, Gaslamp Quarter and the old train station from this location. One of the better HIE breakfasts. Nick at the front desk was very helpful. Nice Happy Hour promotion on the night we arrived 12 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome staff!!! This was my first trip to San Diego and the stay at Holiday Inn Express made it even more enjoyable. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The full breakfast that was offered was absolutely great, they always had it stocked and plenty of choices cold and hot items. The staff was very accommadating and friendly. I will stay there again if I revisit San Diego and highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express to everyone. 11 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Older hotel, Nice staff, Cafe Indigo is awesome Parking is difficult at times, Elevators are slow 09 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday in San Diego Very nice hotel clean rooms friendly staff also very helpful. Breakfast adequate with good choice and varied food. Nice pool towels provided, free wifi, free shuttle, all in all very good. 08 June 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>