Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 02 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 03 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 266 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome staff!!! This was my first trip to San Diego and the stay at Holiday Inn Express made it even more enjoyable. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The full breakfast that was offered was absolutely great, they always had it stocked and plenty of choices cold and hot items. The staff was very accommadating and friendly. I will stay there again if I revisit San Diego and highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express to everyone. 11 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Older hotel, Nice staff, Cafe Indigo is awesome Parking is difficult at times, Elevators are slow 09 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday in San Diego Very nice hotel clean rooms friendly staff also very helpful. Breakfast adequate with good choice and varied food. Nice pool towels provided, free wifi, free shuttle, all in all very good. 08 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Great Price The staff is very very friendly and helpful at this Holiday Inn. The rooms are functional and clean. My only real complaint is that the draperies were the dirtiest I have ever seen - really gross and should be replaced. Other than that, the room was a good value. 08 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great! Great Downtown Location, friendly helpful People, complimentary shuttlebus to different Locations in town, good breakfast 03 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by REMODEL ASAP 1. HORRIBLE parking structure. If you have a SUV or VAN good luck maneuvering through the parking garage. Anything other than a compact car will make life difficult just to park here. 2. Place from the outside doesn't look like a HOLIDAY IN EXPRESS. It needs a lot of remodeling! The lobby actually looked nice but everything else was just not where its suppose to be at for a holiday in express. 3. Elevators kept going out of service 4. Rooms are old. You'll be able to tell compared to other holiday in express hotels. 4. Everything all around is just too compact for a hotel. 01 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent accommodations and service We recently spent a week at the Holiday Inn Express in Downtown San Diego. As a priority member, we received OUTSTANDING treatment. Our room was wonderful. The staff was very helpful and accommodating and the Priority Club Embassador made us feel very welcome and special. We loved the "happy hour". The hotel is walking distance to great restaurants and a wonderful Mall. We would definitely stay at this hotel in the future. 28 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Customer Service!!! Midge ROCKS!!! She always caters to the customer needs. She truly strives to ensure my stay will be pleasant. ALOHA!!! 14 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by perfect for business and leisure Great location for san diego business or leisure. The front desk team is very helpful and friendly. Whatever (within reason) you ask for - they deliver! Whether its a recommendation for dinner, a wine opener and glass or assistance figuring out the wifi- the team delivers! The rooms are basic but clean and quiet. The windows open!!! Nice breakfast and optional patio seating off the main lobby. Free use of computers in lobby with internet access if you forgot your laptop and free printing too! Lots of extras! 13 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My first stay in San Diego I have spend 125 nights every year at IHG properties including many many Holiday Inn Express properties. I have to say that this property is by far the best I have experienced for customers service. The staff were very helpful and I could not have asked for more. 12 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service The staff was wonderful and made us feel right at home. the lobby and patio gives you a wonderful meeting area for family. Our very large car would not fit in the very tight parking spots, so the nice parking employee allowed us a reserved spot. we had stayed when moving our daughter to San Diego and came back to stay for her Law School graduation, each time we stay we feel like part of a family who truly cares about you!! thanks for making this event special by your care and attention. 04 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay Our stay was very pleasant and conformable. The only complaint was when checking in the gal at the front desk said we would have to wait until 3 pm when a room would be ready. We waiting for 45 minutes for the room, when we notice when Midge was starting her shift at the front desk and was checking people in after we had been waiting for our room. Understand rules are rules, but there were clean rooms available when we arrived and telling us she could not help us with a early check in. 03 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by san diego downtown we only stayed for 2 nights,excellent service ,staff very friendly and helpful . the bathroom are very small the bedroom is fine. will return again. 29 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Midge to the rescue! Months in advance I made reservations for my sisters bachelorette party. I made them over the phone with a represenative (as opposed to online) to ensure I knew what I was getting. Upon arrival Friday, I was told to hold on so the attendant could finish stuffing envelopes. When I inquired about going to dinner somewhere and the location of a trolley, I was told "it's down there" with a vague pointing of her finger. We get to the room to find out everything about my reservation had been screwed up. I requested a king suite adjoining to another room with 2 beds in it. The King suite was to have a king bed as well as a pull out couch bed. I was told there was nothing they could do that night, but they would try first thing in the morning to make it right. I woke up super early Sat morning, got breakfast hen went straight to the front desk where Midge was already there working on fixing my rooms. After a few hours, she not only got our rooms squared away, but made the rest of our stay wonderful. Everyone makes mistakes all you can ask is they be rectified. Not only did Midge make it right, she made it better! 22 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service - excellent For us everything was right! Very nice and helpful staff, courteous and knowledgeable. Without problems we got on request an available room with a sea view. Apart from a very American way too sweet breakfast (without cheese or cold cuts and only bananas), we found dark toast with jam as sufficient. But the friendliness of the staff, the room and the pool have compensated all. It was very peaceful and calm at this hotel in the middle of the city. We will come here again on our next visit. Very child friendly, Easy internet access, shuttle service - advisable hotel 20 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff Love you guys. Staff was able to provide me with my favorite room one more time. And more importantly, staff was very dilligent in locating some personal property I left behind and UPS'd to me in a couple of days. Thank You! 20 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You! Superb service I stayed in San Diego for a week attending the AFP Conference and had a very good time in San Diego Holiday Express Downtown Hotel. The service was great and very helpful. I was able to relax after the conference. Great view from the room 304, just a couple of minutes walks to the beautiful Balboa Park. Thank you so much for making me feel comfortable. I can truly recommend this hotel! 17 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Helpful Staff During my stay, I had excellent service from staff. They are very knowledge about the area. The shuttle service is very good. 15 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Excellant Staff more than exceeds expect ions. Building is older and has the European atmosphere. 15 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best HiEx of our Vacation I have to admit that I was a little concerned when we first saw the building. It looks like an old Holiday Inn with a slapped-on Holiday Inn Express sign. I was very worried. But once we were inside, I was so relieved. There's not doubt that this was an older building, but all the finishes are new and modern. I really liked the modern approach to the glass walls upon exiting the elevators that made a great visual screen for the roof, but let in all the California sun. The fact that this is an older building is great because the thick walls and doors made this the quietest room we stayed in over our vacation (5 different HiEx locations). It's really close to the Gaslamp District, but not so close that you are in all the noise. The drive to the Zoo or Coronado are really short. The rooms were quiet and spacious, the dining area seemed ample, and the lounge was airy and bright, but it was the staff that really made this place work so well. Everyone (really!) we spoke with was helpful and happy. Nick was my favorite because when I asked about stamps, he fished one out of his personal bag and gave it to me so my son could send a school-assigned postcard. If I had to come up with a negative, I would say that the parking garage is so tight that driving in and out was the least favorite part of the day. We were here three nights and loved staying here! 10 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love San Diego I love San Diego (and Holiday Inns) anyway but this was a really good stay. Nick, Jennifer (Front desk) and Pedro (Bags, shuttle) provided me with the warmest welcome I have had in a year. They did the Holiday Inn proud. Will definitely return to this Holiday Inn. 07 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better value overall for business travelers... I travel to San Diego 3-6 times a year on business and typically stay a week or more. I have stayed at another national brand nearby.This hotel is by far one of my favorites. Yes it's a little dated (but well maintained and clean#, yes, you have to pay for parking #just like most other downtown locations, so get over it#, yes, the breakfast is the same one you've had at every other hotel that offers one... The staff are exceptional from the Front desk Manager to the newest housekeeping or maintenance engineer. The restaurant #Indigo# located next to the hotel has a funky atmosphere and provides great food at a reasonable price. It's a short walk to #or back from) the Gaslamp district or Little Italy when you don't want to pay for a cab and shouldn't drive. They have a courtesy shuttle to the airport and several other destinations, and they have a self-service laundry. I work with people from several companies - we all stay here! There are nicer options, but how much time are you really going to spend in your room or the hotel for that matter? 05 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overdue for remodeling The staff were very friendly and the lobby and breakfast area were very nicely decorated---however that's where it all ended as to a nice hotel. After stepping off of the elevator on the third floor, a dark hallway led to my room. Upon opening the door, the room struck me as very dark inside and run down in appearance. The plastic blue film on the window did not help brighten the room. The lights in the room all appeared very dim as if they were no more than 40 watt bulbs. The furnishings and in the room can best be described as battered-- very worn looking furnishings. The only way to get fresh air in the room was to open the door to the small patio--however there was no screen and one risked letting in insects by leaving it open. The bathroom was tiny with an old fashioned type toilet--there was no tank behind the toilet and in order to flush the toilet, one had to put the lid of the toilet seat down in order to access the flush handle. The room did strike me as very clean, but the "old hotel smell" was noticeable. With major remolding of the rooms and brightening of the dark hallways, this hotel would be a great place to stay as it is in an excellent location and close to the freeway. Considering the severe need for update and remodeling, i felt it was over-priced. I woluld not stay here again unless major upgrade and remodeling has occurred. 01 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel in SD For years every time I come to San Diego to visit my daughter I stay at the Holiday Inn Express 1430 Seventh Ave 619-696-0911. No reason to look elsewhere. Very clean, quiet, wonderful full breakfast buffet, (3) computers in the lobby for guests (no extra fee), shuttle to/from the airport. The staff is wonderful - everyone - the folks at the desk, housekeeping, kitchen and very reasonable. Close to the Bay, Little Italy, Balboa Park, Gas Lamp District. Being limited to 200 words I cannot fully express how this hotel has it all and exceeds 5 star hotels in kindness, warmth and the human touch that is rare to find. For San Diego there is no where else to consider. Great for singles, families, couples, conventions - anything. Room Tip: Ask for city view with a balcony - have a view of the Bay - sun fills the room in the afternoon. 01 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff. Midge was sensational! Appreciate the shuttle service it was a great bonus even thugh walking is easy it is new to us and the shuttle helped. 26 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can't Beat It If you like being able to walk around downtown SD this is a great location. The staff is A+, very helpfull with directions to get around town and suggestions of where to go. We stayed over St. Patricks day weekend and enjoyed a short walk to the parade and park. The room was clean and easy to get in and out. One negative is the pool it's not much of a pool more like a kids pool. other than that for the value, location, and staff its worth a look. PS the free shuttle from the airport , and too the zoo was a + 25 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service They are a "10" customer service! Very comfortable surroundings 24 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn San Diego,CA Great place to stay. The hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I will be recommending this Holiday Inn to other people from my company who may travel to San Diego in the future! 23 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds Reservation was confirmed by phone before we arrived to confirm two queen beds and connecting rooms and when we arrived we got rooms with one king bed and not connecting and one room stunk of cigarette smoke. Front staff was able to get us the queen beds but could not do connecting rooms, which was an issue as we would have gone to a different hotel with larger rooms for the same price if we could not get them and were told in advance. Bathrooms were rather small, and one one of the rooms had a patio out of two and only one patio chair at that. Over all some of the staff was great, others were rude and condecending. We almost missed our flights out as the shuttle driver called in sick the night prior and they didn't have another I guess and we needed a van as there were 5 of us and they said they arranged a taxi for us and ensured a van, in the morning it was two taxis and at that one left before we had checked out as we had to wait 10 mins for the desk clerk to return to the desk as he was making coffee and using the restroom, we made it to the airport with minutes to spare. 11 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value We stayed here in March 2013 for 3 nights. Good downtown location, and free shuttle to/from airport and harbour. Better than average breakfast with lots of choice. Comfortable room - bathroom was very small, but that was our only complaint. Very friendly staff. Would stay here again. 09 March 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>