Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 259 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Customer Service!!! Midge ROCKS!!! She always caters to the customer needs. She truly strives to ensure my stay will be pleasant. ALOHA!!! 14 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by perfect for business and leisure Great location for san diego business or leisure. The front desk team is very helpful and friendly. Whatever (within reason) you ask for - they deliver! Whether its a recommendation for dinner, a wine opener and glass or assistance figuring out the wifi- the team delivers! The rooms are basic but clean and quiet. The windows open!!! Nice breakfast and optional patio seating off the main lobby. Free use of computers in lobby with internet access if you forgot your laptop and free printing too! Lots of extras! 13 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My first stay in San Diego I have spend 125 nights every year at IHG properties including many many Holiday Inn Express properties. I have to say that this property is by far the best I have experienced for customers service. The staff were very helpful and I could not have asked for more. 12 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service The staff was wonderful and made us feel right at home. the lobby and patio gives you a wonderful meeting area for family. Our very large car would not fit in the very tight parking spots, so the nice parking employee allowed us a reserved spot. we had stayed when moving our daughter to San Diego and came back to stay for her Law School graduation, each time we stay we feel like part of a family who truly cares about you!! thanks for making this event special by your care and attention. 04 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay Our stay was very pleasant and conformable. The only complaint was when checking in the gal at the front desk said we would have to wait until 3 pm when a room would be ready. We waiting for 45 minutes for the room, when we notice when Midge was starting her shift at the front desk and was checking people in after we had been waiting for our room. Understand rules are rules, but there were clean rooms available when we arrived and telling us she could not help us with a early check in. 03 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by san diego downtown we only stayed for 2 nights,excellent service ,staff very friendly and helpful . the bathroom are very small the bedroom is fine. will return again. 29 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Midge to the rescue! Months in advance I made reservations for my sisters bachelorette party. I made them over the phone with a represenative (as opposed to online) to ensure I knew what I was getting. Upon arrival Friday, I was told to hold on so the attendant could finish stuffing envelopes. When I inquired about going to dinner somewhere and the location of a trolley, I was told "it's down there" with a vague pointing of her finger. We get to the room to find out everything about my reservation had been screwed up. I requested a king suite adjoining to another room with 2 beds in it. The King suite was to have a king bed as well as a pull out couch bed. I was told there was nothing they could do that night, but they would try first thing in the morning to make it right. I woke up super early Sat morning, got breakfast hen went straight to the front desk where Midge was already there working on fixing my rooms. After a few hours, she not only got our rooms squared away, but made the rest of our stay wonderful. Everyone makes mistakes all you can ask is they be rectified. Not only did Midge make it right, she made it better! 22 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service - excellent For us everything was right! Very nice and helpful staff, courteous and knowledgeable. Without problems we got on request an available room with a sea view. Apart from a very American way too sweet breakfast (without cheese or cold cuts and only bananas), we found dark toast with jam as sufficient. But the friendliness of the staff, the room and the pool have compensated all. It was very peaceful and calm at this hotel in the middle of the city. We will come here again on our next visit. Very child friendly, Easy internet access, shuttle service - advisable hotel 20 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff Love you guys. Staff was able to provide me with my favorite room one more time. And more importantly, staff was very dilligent in locating some personal property I left behind and UPS'd to me in a couple of days. Thank You! 20 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You! Superb service I stayed in San Diego for a week attending the AFP Conference and had a very good time in San Diego Holiday Express Downtown Hotel. The service was great and very helpful. I was able to relax after the conference. Great view from the room 304, just a couple of minutes walks to the beautiful Balboa Park. Thank you so much for making me feel comfortable. I can truly recommend this hotel! 17 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Helpful Staff During my stay, I had excellent service from staff. They are very knowledge about the area. The shuttle service is very good. 15 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Excellant Staff more than exceeds expect ions. Building is older and has the European atmosphere. 15 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best HiEx of our Vacation I have to admit that I was a little concerned when we first saw the building. It looks like an old Holiday Inn with a slapped-on Holiday Inn Express sign. I was very worried. But once we were inside, I was so relieved. There's not doubt that this was an older building, but all the finishes are new and modern. I really liked the modern approach to the glass walls upon exiting the elevators that made a great visual screen for the roof, but let in all the California sun. The fact that this is an older building is great because the thick walls and doors made this the quietest room we stayed in over our vacation (5 different HiEx locations). It's really close to the Gaslamp District, but not so close that you are in all the noise. The drive to the Zoo or Coronado are really short. The rooms were quiet and spacious, the dining area seemed ample, and the lounge was airy and bright, but it was the staff that really made this place work so well. Everyone (really!) we spoke with was helpful and happy. Nick was my favorite because when I asked about stamps, he fished one out of his personal bag and gave it to me so my son could send a school-assigned postcard. If I had to come up with a negative, I would say that the parking garage is so tight that driving in and out was the least favorite part of the day. We were here three nights and loved staying here! 10 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love San Diego I love San Diego (and Holiday Inns) anyway but this was a really good stay. Nick, Jennifer (Front desk) and Pedro (Bags, shuttle) provided me with the warmest welcome I have had in a year. They did the Holiday Inn proud. Will definitely return to this Holiday Inn. 07 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better value overall for business travelers... I travel to San Diego 3-6 times a year on business and typically stay a week or more. I have stayed at another national brand nearby.This hotel is by far one of my favorites. Yes it's a little dated (but well maintained and clean#, yes, you have to pay for parking #just like most other downtown locations, so get over it#, yes, the breakfast is the same one you've had at every other hotel that offers one... The staff are exceptional from the Front desk Manager to the newest housekeeping or maintenance engineer. The restaurant #Indigo# located next to the hotel has a funky atmosphere and provides great food at a reasonable price. It's a short walk to #or back from) the Gaslamp district or Little Italy when you don't want to pay for a cab and shouldn't drive. They have a courtesy shuttle to the airport and several other destinations, and they have a self-service laundry. I work with people from several companies - we all stay here! There are nicer options, but how much time are you really going to spend in your room or the hotel for that matter? 05 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overdue for remodeling The staff were very friendly and the lobby and breakfast area were very nicely decorated---however that's where it all ended as to a nice hotel. After stepping off of the elevator on the third floor, a dark hallway led to my room. Upon opening the door, the room struck me as very dark inside and run down in appearance. The plastic blue film on the window did not help brighten the room. The lights in the room all appeared very dim as if they were no more than 40 watt bulbs. The furnishings and in the room can best be described as battered-- very worn looking furnishings. The only way to get fresh air in the room was to open the door to the small patio--however there was no screen and one risked letting in insects by leaving it open. The bathroom was tiny with an old fashioned type toilet--there was no tank behind the toilet and in order to flush the toilet, one had to put the lid of the toilet seat down in order to access the flush handle. The room did strike me as very clean, but the "old hotel smell" was noticeable. With major remolding of the rooms and brightening of the dark hallways, this hotel would be a great place to stay as it is in an excellent location and close to the freeway. Considering the severe need for update and remodeling, i felt it was over-priced. I woluld not stay here again unless major upgrade and remodeling has occurred. 01 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel in SD For years every time I come to San Diego to visit my daughter I stay at the Holiday Inn Express 1430 Seventh Ave 619-696-0911. No reason to look elsewhere. Very clean, quiet, wonderful full breakfast buffet, (3) computers in the lobby for guests (no extra fee), shuttle to/from the airport. The staff is wonderful - everyone - the folks at the desk, housekeeping, kitchen and very reasonable. Close to the Bay, Little Italy, Balboa Park, Gas Lamp District. Being limited to 200 words I cannot fully express how this hotel has it all and exceeds 5 star hotels in kindness, warmth and the human touch that is rare to find. For San Diego there is no where else to consider. Great for singles, families, couples, conventions - anything. Room Tip: Ask for city view with a balcony - have a view of the Bay - sun fills the room in the afternoon. 01 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff. Midge was sensational! Appreciate the shuttle service it was a great bonus even thugh walking is easy it is new to us and the shuttle helped. 26 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can't Beat It If you like being able to walk around downtown SD this is a great location. The staff is A+, very helpfull with directions to get around town and suggestions of where to go. We stayed over St. Patricks day weekend and enjoyed a short walk to the parade and park. The room was clean and easy to get in and out. One negative is the pool it's not much of a pool more like a kids pool. other than that for the value, location, and staff its worth a look. PS the free shuttle from the airport , and too the zoo was a + 25 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service They are a "10" customer service! Very comfortable surroundings 24 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn San Diego,CA Great place to stay. The hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I will be recommending this Holiday Inn to other people from my company who may travel to San Diego in the future! 23 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds Reservation was confirmed by phone before we arrived to confirm two queen beds and connecting rooms and when we arrived we got rooms with one king bed and not connecting and one room stunk of cigarette smoke. Front staff was able to get us the queen beds but could not do connecting rooms, which was an issue as we would have gone to a different hotel with larger rooms for the same price if we could not get them and were told in advance. Bathrooms were rather small, and one one of the rooms had a patio out of two and only one patio chair at that. Over all some of the staff was great, others were rude and condecending. We almost missed our flights out as the shuttle driver called in sick the night prior and they didn't have another I guess and we needed a van as there were 5 of us and they said they arranged a taxi for us and ensured a van, in the morning it was two taxis and at that one left before we had checked out as we had to wait 10 mins for the desk clerk to return to the desk as he was making coffee and using the restroom, we made it to the airport with minutes to spare. 11 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value We stayed here in March 2013 for 3 nights. Good downtown location, and free shuttle to/from airport and harbour. Better than average breakfast with lots of choice. Comfortable room - bathroom was very small, but that was our only complaint. Very friendly staff. Would stay here again. 09 March 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Acceptable Location is perfect to visit San Diego and see all it's beauty. We checked in on February 13, 2013. Let's start with parking. This is an "E" ticket ride. You must pay additional fees to park and park underground on the third level. The corridor is narrow and the turns are harrowing. Evidenced by the paint markings on the walls from the poor individuals that didn't make the turn without hitting the wall. If you drive a subcompact car, your ok. Access to a restaraunt is provided by a dedicated elevator. a good thing. We were told upfront before we saw the parking situation, there would be no refunds for our stay. February 14 was our Anniversary, so we had dinner out and returned at approx. 11:30 pm to a smell in the hallways like a strong cleaner. Yellow cones were in the hallway with a carpet blower on. OK, they cleaned the carpet. When I opened the room door, a noxious odor met us. The smell, as the service rep informed me a couple of minutes later, was from a business downstairs that had used some type of cleaning solvent eariler in the day. ALL the rooms had trapped the odor within. My wife panicked as she entered the room and ran to the balcony for fresh air, partially ripping the curtain down as she frantically tried to get the door open. It was all I could do to retrive our belongings. No one had told us as we walked past the check in of any problem. They apparently hoped we would let it go. The service rep said he had been dealing with customers all afternoon that were checking out because of the odor. My personal pillows still have the smell after 2 weeks. They have to be replaced. I had to launder all of my clothing before we could wear them to remove the smell. My suit cases, well, they are still outside, not sure about them yet. We had stayed the night of the 13th without incident. I told the service rep at the time, that to make things right he should refund my prior nights stay. It was a huge inconvience for us at that time of night and on my special day. Nope! Nothing has been done to offset my inconvience nor the loss of monies I am out for new pillows and laundering my clothing. I forgot to mention, their computer seemed to crash at the moment I said I was checking out. How convient for them! Well done Holiday Inn Express!!! 02 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Stayed at Holiday Inn Express while attending a conference everyone there was so friendly kind and helpful. Thank you for such a comfortable stay. 28 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older hotel, but outstanding staff We stayed in the downtown Holiday Inn Express after staying at the Oceanside Holiday Inn. They both had outstanding staff, but the downtown (San Diego) Express was an older building and looked it. They did provide a good breakfast in the morning, but there was no other restaurant in the hotel. We had a nice corner room with a comfortable bed and very little noise from the rest of the hotel. Due to it's proximity to the airport and its downtown location, there was quite a bit of outside noise pollution. Not as noticeable as Manhattan, but certainly you knew you were in a major city. This of course, has some advantages. The hotel is very convenient to some very nice restaurants and other tourist oriented features of San Diego, the reason we selected this hotel. We did not expect the hotel shuttle to take us to the attractions in Balboa Park..a very nice surprise! We were able to leave our rental car parked and not have to worry about finding our way around downtown. 23 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is better than excellent We booked here because of the amenities offered - breakfast, manager's evening reception, and a complimentary shuttle to all the places we wanted to go - zoo, Balboa Park, train station, pier. We saved a lot of taxi fares and the drivers were always prompt and friendly. We made a poor choice of restaurants for our first dinner, but thereafter we knew to go elsewhere. So the only downside is that the hotel does not have a restaurant for dinner. The biggest asset this hotel has is the staff. They are not only personable but by far the most accommodating folks we've ever encountered; they couldn't do enough for us. We would stay here again and plan to recommend it to all our traveling friends. 22 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SEVICE AND ACCOMMODATING Everyone on staff is exceptional! From management to the front desk folks and the Drivers Pedro and Alex were especially helpfull. The Housekeeping pleople we encountered were friendly and helpful. 20 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Service Stay in many hotels in a year, often "upscale brands" and this was the best trained and executed front desk customer service I have experienced. I did'nt really have any special circumstances to deal with but just the regular check in and out, shuttle arrangements, dealt with 3 different staff and all did it right!! Best HIE breakfast room and menu I have experienced also, Have one negative comment, heater in room was a little noisey, everything can't be perfect. 19 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overmight stay with parking package We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown because we had an early departure from the airport. The parking package was a huge plus. The room was comfortable and quiet, with a view to the water right down Ash Street! The shuttle to the airport in the morning was no problem at all, but when we returned our flight was a little late (after 10 PM) and the shuttle was no longer running. We were reimbursed for most of the cab fare (about $16 from the airport) so no big deal. 14 February 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>