Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
75%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.8

based on 588 reviews
75%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

588reviews

  • 5 Stars
    218
  • 4 Stars
    188
  • 3 Stars
    88
  • 2 Stars
    56
  • 1 Stars
    38

Staff friendly & curtious,

By

22 July 2016

room average size but clean, furnishings seemed dated, shower/bathroom area small but functional. sink area outside bathroom cramped area for three guests in this room, but the two queen sized beds were average comfort, but adequate. Breakfast selection was average also.

Read More
Read Less

Nice Staff, Great Location

By

21 July 2016

The hotel is located several mile away from Carmel and Monterey, price is much reasonable. Friendly Staff and has a lake aside which we had a nice walk. Bathroom is a little small.

Posted byHotelStaff
21 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 5 star review. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay and liked our staff and location, we just finished an extensive remodel last month. We would love to host you again the next time you are in the Monterey Bay area. We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jon
Read More
Read Less

Great stay!

By

21 July 2016

We had a great stay! We Will stat there again if we Côme back to Monterey!

Posted byHotelStaff
21 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 4 star review. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay, we just finished an extensive remodel last month. We would love to host you again the next time you are in the Monterey Bay area. We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jonathan
Read More
Read Less

I really LOVE Holiday Inn!

By

20 July 2016

club

This was not one of my favorites...The location is great, but the hotel itself needs some work...

Posted byHotelStaff
20 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 3 star review. I am glad to hear that you liked our location, we just finished an extensive remodel last month. We will be doing some additional landscaping and refurbishing the elevator soon as well. Even if you do not choose us again i hope that you at least stop by and see all the we have done the next time you are in the Monterey Bay area. We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jon
Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

19 July 2016

club

Clean, comfortable hotel in a great location, the breakfast area was well stocked and dining space modern and light.

Posted byHotelStaff
20 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 4 star review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us... I am glad to hear that you liked our location and felt we were clean and comfortable. We hope that you choose us again the next time you are in the Monterey Bay area too! We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jonathan
Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

18 July 2016

club

The room was a little small but fine for the amount of time we spent in it.

Posted byHotelStaff
19 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 4 star review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us... I am glad to hear that you liked our location, we hope that you choose us again the next time you are in the Monterey Bay area too! We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jonathan
Posted byHotelStaff
19 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 4 star review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us...I am glad to hear that you liked our location, we hope that you choose us again the next time you are in the Monterey Bay area too! We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jonathan
Read More
Read Less

Excellent stay!

By

14 July 2016

club

Nice hotel. Very nice and updated lobby. Great room where the breakfast are is, flat screen TVs all over the room. Nice soft chairs and benches. Very clean and light. Cozy sitting area with another TV next to it. Fireplace in the lobby gives a very welcoming feeling. Front desk staff was very nice and polite. The room was VERY clean. No stains anywhere on furniture. Two sets of soft and firm pillows to make any guest rest comfortably. The AC/Heater worked fine, no smell or issues. The only two suggestions to the management: install a towel hook at the sink area because there is no place to hang a hand towel when one uses the sink; and the gap between the front door and the floor is too big, the bugs crawl in from outside and the noise from the suitcases being dragged on the floor is loud because of the gap. Otherwise, great hotel and I will stay in it again in the future.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 5 star review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us... I will defiantly look into the door gap and see if we can remedy this. Also we do have hooks behind the bathroom door for towels to hang, we hope that you choose us again the next time you are in the Monterey Bay area too! We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jon
Read More
Read Less

nice stay!

By

13 July 2016

platinumelite

we love it here. Monterey has a lot to see and Holiday Inn Express is a great accommodation.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 5 star review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very glad that you will recommend us to your friends and family, we hope that you choose us again the next time you are in the Monterey Bay area too! We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jonathan
Read More
Read Less

comfortable, clean,great service and felt very safe

By

11 July 2016

club

Had a very nice stay in Monterey. Accommodations were very comfortable, front desk very helpful and friendly, food was good, very clean, and felt completely safe there

Posted byHotelStaff
13 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 5 star review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very glad that you will recommend us to your friends and family, we hope that you choose us again the next time you are in the Monterey Bay area too! We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jonathan
Read More
Read Less

Great Location, Improvements Needed

By

08 July 2016

- Better upkeep of elevator
- Cleanliness of outside areas (insect maintenance)

Posted byHotelStaff
12 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review! I am glad that you like our great location. We are going to be refurbishing the elevator cab next week and addressing the landscaping as well. The next time you are in our area we hope you choose us again! We very much appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jonathan
Read More
Read Less

Gets the Job Done, Expected More For the Price

By

07 July 2016

Staff were very nice and helpful upon arrival.The outside has been recently repainted, and a new front desk and lounge area has been added onto the front. I was surprised that the building was a motel (doors on the outside) design since most Holidays are hotels (doors internal). We were in a room right above the pool so it was a rather noisy on a busy holiday weekend as a result in the evening. The room wasn't quite what we were expecting. We stayed in a King Leisure and it's a little bigger than a cheap-end motel room so it felt a bit cramped with a king size bed in it. The room was clean but the bed felt hard and my back spasmed (it's temperamental with harder beds) during the night more than once. My significant other also commented on the bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was also cramped and shoved in feeling, with what I think was a handicap accessible shower. Water was nice of warm but the shower only had one pane of glass so water would get all over the floor if you weren't careful. The room got the job done, but for a romantic getaway, which was the purpose of our trip, I would pick another location. Not sure if the more expensive Holiday on Cannery Row is nicer or not....driving buy it seemed a bit drab on the exterior. I find it awkward that I was looking forward to my Holiday Inn Express accommodations in Bakersfield, CA in comparison because I knew it was better. I expected more from an establishment in Monterey. One of the nice things about the hotel however was its location. It was about 10 minutes from the Aquarium and it was located next to an estuary which had a plethora of flora and avian life. It was nice to walk around the afternoon we arrived after a long drive from Northern California.

Posted byHotelStaff
13 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review! We are very happy that you enjoyed the staff! I am sorry that you felt that the price was not what you felt the hotel should be...during the summer season our prices do go up fpr all the hotels in the Monterey Bay area do to the demand! The rates do go down a lot during the slower winter seasons and the weather is just as nice... We hope to see you again the next time you are in town...We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jonathan
Read More
Read Less

Monterey Trip

By

06 July 2016

club

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express at Monterey Bay very much. The room was excellent and the breakfast was great. The beds were comfortable and we slept very well. We will stay there again during our next visit to Monterey.

Posted byHotelStaff
06 July 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 5 star review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very glad that you will recommend us to your friends and family, we hope that you choose us again the next time you are in the Monterey Bay area too! We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Jonathan
Read More
Read Less