• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: ABINGDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Please contact hotel directly. 276.676.2829 CONTACTING HOTEL DIRECTLY IS THE ONLY WAY TO VERIFY PET ROOM AVAILABILITY.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Mt Rogers National Recreational Area
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Fields -Penn House Museum
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
South Holston Lake
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
The Tavern
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:96
  • Car Parking Available
  • Large spacious parking in a very safe, well-lit area. Free parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:41
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:40
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Stay Your Way at Our Pet-Friendly Abingdon Hotel

Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, just under 17 miles from the Tennessee border, Abingdon is a quaint town bursting with history and culture. The Holiday Inn Express® Abingdon hotel is located at exit 19 on Interstate 81 and is easily accessible to everything in the area.

Founded in 1778, the town of Abingdon is a Virginia Historical Landmark and a great place to stroll down brick sidewalks or bike the
View More

Stay Your Way at Our Pet-Friendly Abingdon Hotel

Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, just under 17 miles from the Tennessee border, Abingdon is a quaint town bursting with history and culture. The Holiday Inn Express® Abingdon hotel is located at exit 19 on Interstate 81 and is easily accessible to everything in the area.

Founded in 1778, the town of Abingdon is a Virginia Historical Landmark and a great place to stroll down brick sidewalks or bike the beautiful, 17-mile Virginia Creeper Trail. You'll also find Barter Theatre, Moonlite Drive-In Theater and several arts and crafts galleries. And if you're a NASCAR fan, our hotel is near Bristol, TN, home of Bristol Motor Speedway. You can also explore the beautiful Bristol Caverns, full of colorful stalactites and stalagmites.

If business brings you to town, the Holiday Inn Express® Abingdon hotel has a 24-hour business center equipped with fax, copier, PC and printer, so you can take care of any last minute work. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access is also available in every room.

Our Abingdon hotel's great amenities are ready for you to enjoy. We have an outdoor pool, self-laundry facilities and a free hot breakfast bar every morning, complete with eggs, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. Our guests also enjoy privileges at a neighboring gym for free. We're confident you'll enjoy your stay at our hotel near Bristol.

View Less
Features
Convenient to Interstate 81 and downtown Abingdon, the hotel features spacious rooms and free wireless internet throughout the property. All guests receive a delicious hot breakfast and all guest rooms feature microwaves and mini-fridges. The Guest Services staff is always happy to recommend several dining, entertainment and shopping options.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 113 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Elevator Out Tough to get to the 9th floor without a working elevator. July 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good enough Was in town for an event nearby. Chose this hotel over others in area b/c it was a chain so at least would meet standards. Hotel (although "recently renovated") was not quite as up to standards as I expected. No fridge in room, the AC knob was just blue or red (no actual temp setting on AC unit). The wifi was unusable and slow, the 3g I was getting on the cell was better. One big let down was that there was no breakfast included like most other hotels I have been to recently. On the upswing, the room itself was typical, clean, and as you would expect with no issues. Overall not bad, but the small things add up. Would stay again, but would hope the price would be lower given amenities missing. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by consistently good always a consistently good experience at this hotel, convenient location, several dining options nearby and welcoming staff June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An unexpected stay We were on our way from MS to PA and usually stay a little farther north in VA, but the lateness of the day and tired bodies suggested we stop early for the night. I used my smart phone and booked a room on the fly and arrived an hour or so later. Great place to stay!! The bed was a little soft for me, but the wife loved it. Staff was OUTSTANDING (checking in June 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Elevators For a 10 story Motel that only had one working elevator, that seems to be a serious issue. There was a 15 minute wait for the one elevator that was working. Also no refrigerator in room. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staffing Was a real nice experience staying here. Was told by staff could have upgraded room was real nice. Everyone was real nice and friendly. Would definitely stay again. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Check in Checked in at 8PM. Six people in line with one person working the desk, answering the phone, and collecting for snacks. Check in took 30 minutes. Holiday Inn experience got off to a bad start. June 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by lack of customer service and room was not up to par. Bed was very comfortable. But my room had a pair of dirty shorts behind couch and the bathroom shower curtain reeked of old wet towel that made the whole room smell. Told front desk didn't really respond. Called holiday Inn customer service and was told they opened a case file and someone would be in contact with me from that hotel and no one as of yet has contacted me. I am a priority member but I think due to lack of response I will no longer use holiday inn. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pleasant stay As we have come to expect, we were warmly greeted and well treated at this property. Every staff member we encountered was professional and very pleasant. We always enjoy the quality of the beds at IHG properties. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice I was pleasantly surprised that we enjoyed the visit at this hotel so much. We were not expecting much, but we are rather critical travelers. This hotel hit the mark on all accounts accept recycling. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Excellent personnel with great customer service skills June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay The hotel is BIG yet has a very pleasant feel of staying at a smaller hotel where they really care about you. June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Bristol Virginia It is a average hotel. Nothing to special about it. Fairly close to the race track. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service and room We were well received and had a great stay in Bristol at the Holiday Inn Express June 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Last Time I stay at this hotel about 20 or more times a year, but the last two stays have been the worst. The WiFi does not function and if you call the front desk, they transfer you to the service provider which is totally useless. I depend on the internet for business and when I can`t use, it creates a problem. I either have to go to lobby to get WiFi or wait to do my work at some place that has good WiFi service. Never had much WiFi trouble in previous stays. Now your priority check in sign at front desk is useless, since there is none. I have been a member of the club for quite awhile and will continue to stay at Holiday Inns, but I will no longer stay at this hotel. You had your second chance. The only thing good about your hotel is the location. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at Holiday Inn Convention Center Bristol, VA My family and I had a terrific stay at the Holiday Inn Convention Center. I just wish we could have stayed longer. The staff upgraded us to a suite before we had arrived at no charge. The pool, gym and restaurant were top notch. The business center had everything we needed to get everything done I was working on. The location was perfect; right next to the best restaurants and just down the road from the speed way. I can't wait for our next stay there. June 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Good value for the area. Would stay there again. Would have rated higher but fitness room needs a major upgrade. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Rooms were very clean and comfortable, nice size, staff was fantastic, very nice and attentive. Breakfast was a good price by including it with my room reservation for $10, and very good. They do need to switch to a brewed tea versus the tea in the bag they are using. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by greatstay Real Comfy bed and great service...slept like a baby...Thanks June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by WIFI This hotel has the worst wifi. I can get a better and stronger signal from hotel across the street. I tried to send email several times, but signal was so weak it timed out. Signal was low and speed was 1.0. I do a lot of business on internet and need a good connection. May be time to evaluate where I stay in Bristol. May 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean & Comfortable Overall, stay was the usual good quality of a Holiday Inn. The rooms are expensive, considering it doesn't include breakfast (not even Continental). . . Tacky! May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect place to stay On our way to Nashville, TN, we stopped in this hotel. I accidentally left a small night light plugged into the wall. On our way home we decided to stay here again as it was rainy, we were very tired & the hotel was very comfortable, clean and convenient to many choices of restaurants. I mentioned my night light to Sidney at the front desk, but I told her I really didn't expect to get it back. When we took the elevator to our floor, we were greeted by Lil in housekeeping, smiling and holding out my lost night light. Your staff goes out of the way to make guests feel at home! Thank You! May 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Really Full Service I would not stay at this Holiday Inn again nor would I recommend it to anyone else. I reserved a room there for Sunday, April 6, 2014 specifically because I knew I would be travelling on the preceding day and five days following and I wanted a hotel that offered an in-house bar and restaurant. When I arrived I was comforted by the chalk board posted at the front desk that stated the restaurant hours as 5:00 P. M to 10:00 P. M .(it did not mention that dinner service was not available on Sundays). However, when I asked the front desk clerk for directions to the restaurant he informed me that the bar and restaurant were closed on Sundays. He seemed surprised when I invited his attention to the chalk board. My travelling companion and I had planned to meet some friends for dinner at the Holiday Inn but were forced to go to an off-site restaurant, exactly what we had intended to avoid. The following morning, April 7th I spoke with a woman at the front desk who said she was the AGM about my dissatisfaction with the situation and asked what consideration the hotel would offer. From the start she was defensive and argumentative saying that the hotel's website stated the restaurant's hours. At the end of the conversation the best she could offer was a 10% reduction in the room charge, a whopping $7.00. Frankly in my opinion the AGM is well qualified to head the Business Prevention Department. She demonstrated no empathy for the frustration of a Gold level customer and could have cared less. This is the second time in less than a year (the other was in El Paso) that Holiday Inns has misled me about full-service hotels on Sunday evenings. Lesson learned: read the fine print or find another hotel. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Reunion We chose the Holiday Inn Bristol for our Sullins College Reunion and have nothing but praise for the staff and accommodations during our stay. They were easy to work with and took care of us with all the attention as if we were very special honored guests! They even put up with our "hillbilly band" practices in the ballroom and in the Concierge Room! This is the second time we have held our reunion at this hotel and have been very pleased both times. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bristol Good value, checkin was great, a little noisy being that close to the interstate though, close to restaurants. I will be back if I'm in the area. The managers special is only on Tuesdays and only has beer and wine with the food, not so good April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel Only con was on the last day, no coffee was left for the coffee maker and there was trash left on the floor in the bathroom. March 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I Should Have Known Better I came within an eyelash of not staying at this Holiday Inn based upon the previous reviews. The only reason I did is because I seen where the General Manager stepped up and commented on some of the reviews, appreciating the feedback...good or bad. However, I should have went with my gut on this one. Problem is that you may get nice comments saying this or that, but I didn't see any action made on any of the previous comments. The first problem was at check-in. There were two people working the front desk, and a gentleman was waiting to check-in. Since I am a Gold Elite Member, I went straight to the sign pointing out Check-In for Elite Members. I was pushed to being behind the other Gentleman. When I was finally able to check-in, I made a comment about if you are not going to have this priority check-in for elite members, there shouldn't be a sign. This falls into the review of the Priority Check-In for Elite Status not being staffed. What is the point when you don't recognized for your loyalty to IHG? Me being a Gold Elite Member wasn't brought up at all, which is very surprising. Two of the three elevators worked, which seems to go along with the other reviews. The room's bed was quite comfortable, but the heating/cooling unit... um... we had difficulty finding an appropriate level that would be comfortable. It was either super hot or super cold. There was no in-between. This falls into another review about a similar situation. Another thing I found is that the toilet was not cleaned. This makes me wonder about what housekeeping is doing. Also, according to all the signs along I-81, this hotel was "Newly Renovated." That is something I don't see as it looks dated, and if there are problems with elevators and heating/cooling, how long ago was that renovation? The internet service was on again/off again. No real speed #not like much was expected#, but when I couldn't bring up Facebook with my laptop, there is some issues. Mind you, this is the home page I was trying to load, not games. Some of the positive I seen beyond the comfortable beds was the location. If you couldn't find something you wanted to eat within a mile radius, there is something wrong. Excellent location adjacent to I-81. The redeeming factor with the staff was the young gentleman working the front desk on the second night of our stay that was really helpful with setting up a late check out. He was great, just the other woman working on that Friday night was not. The accommodation was worth the money if I would have stayed at a competitor of lesser quality. For my expectations of this Holiday Inn, it is not worth it. I wouldn't recommend this property March 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Internet in room We were not able to get decent internet service on either of our computers, one Windows8.1, in Air Mac. I reported it by phone before dinner. After dinner I reported it at the desk and thought I was told that maintenance would come look at it, but no one ever came The next night at the nearby Holiday Inn Express was super. March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Very nice place. Clean comfortable and friendly. Food was very good. March 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly stay. Clean room and very friendly staff I would stay here again. March 1, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
A Great place to stay in Historic  Abingdon !
A Great place to stay in Historic Abingdon !
Select to close.
A Great place to stay in Historic  Abingdon ! Wev'e got a new look ,check us out! Guest Services is staffed with a manager on duty 24 /7 If you want to Stay Smart , look for the blue lights!
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading