• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ALBANY
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Our Hotel does not have facilities for pets onsite but will refer to local pet sitting services. Service animals are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown Albany
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
USS Slater
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
The Egg
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Capital Repertory Theatre
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking is available on hotel premises at a nominal $5.00 per day charge for registered guests and conference attendees.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:76
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:117
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:NY0610

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire State Plaza, the ideal location.

For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to several local colleges, hospitals & corporate offices. State Capital buildings and offices are within blocks of the hotel. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Amtrak station. If you're flying,
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire State Plaza, the ideal location.

For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to several local colleges, hospitals & corporate offices. State Capital buildings and offices are within blocks of the hotel. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Amtrak station. If you're flying, the hotel is close to Albany Airport (ALB), just 8 miles away. We also have easy access to I-90 (NYS Thruway), I-87 (Adirondack Northway) and I-787.

Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours and professional theaters with parks and the Riverfront for a perfect getaway, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown.

Newly updated rooms, lobby and breakfast area will make your stay memorable. With 22 restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you will have a choice of fine or casual dining. In addition, we're Wi-Fi friendly.

When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the Downtown Difference.

View Less
Features
This hotel in the historic downtown of Albany offers an indoor pool and Jacuzzi along with a 24 hr Fitness Center with steam room and sauna. In the winter relax in our Great Room where a crackling fireplace invites weary travelers. Relax after a day of meetings, or bring your entire family to sit around the pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 100 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this location! I have been at this location many times and I am never disappointed. Erin at the front desk welcomed me as an IHG Rewards member and offered me a welcome bag or 300 points. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Being able to control the air conditioner in the room came in handy on such a hot and humid night. I am sure I will return. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good -- clean, neat, quiet, gets the job done! Polite, prompt and courteous front desk staff. Clean, quiet room. Ceiling needed some minor repair. It was a nice hotel to stay at, a good overnight rest, going to and coming from a long drive to and from a visit with wonderful family! July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive staff, comfortable bed Comfortable bed, great service. Problems with plumbing for which we were refunded a part of our payment. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very pleasurable stay Great location, nice amenities, very nice skyline view of downtown Albany, very close to shops and restaurants. Easy to get in and out of parking lot. July 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Improvement Hotel is always out of towels for pool and room. Beds are old. Way too much chlorine in the pool. Halls smell like smoke. View is not what they say. Breakfast was nice. July 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not impressed Bathroom not cleaned. mattress not very comfortable July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by hotel experience great overall experience cordial and attentive staff, clean environment, good lighting, nice room, good breakfast choices and quality July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor service would not recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Very poor check in and room cleanliness. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good lighting in room and clean The room had great lighting and also in the bathroom. The air conditioner didn't seem to work too good. Had the temperature at 62 and it was still too warm. June 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view and good location but We had a corner room and watched thunderstorms come in over Albany. That was the highlight of our stay. We had two different beds, one older, lower and uncomfortable and the other was higher and more comfortable. The bathroom was average but short on towels and the shower water pressure almost nil. Breakfast was ok but the juice machine was broken and there wasn't the variety I'd seen in other HIE hotels. I would suggest they put in a microwave for guests in the common room since they are not in the guest rooms unless you pay extra. Staff was pleasant but seemed flustered and constantly changing at the front desk. I might give this hotel another chance because its location is right off the highway but I'll have lower expectations next time. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit june 23rd -24th 2014 Excellent hotel. Perhaps they could adjust the thermostat on the hot water boilier- not hot enough for shaving. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay- safe and enjoyable Clean, quiet, pleasant. Room nice and big. Staff helpful. Very good experience. June 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Quiet accomadations Close to nearby shopping outlets and the Venue. Near to the Albany international Airport and to city sites. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, good service. We have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express several times now on the way from Ohio to New York and Connecticut to visit family. Check in is easy, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The air works well and the water is hot. The breakfast has a good variety and there is plenty of seating. I feel safe at this location, and there is plenty of good parking. It has everything you need for a good nights sleep. We will be back. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay It is a quiet clean hotel with very comfortable beds. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I have stayed here eight weeks in the past 3 months and it is my "home away from home". Overall great job and keep up the good work. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Peaceful hotel and great service. overall great experience! peaceful area and clean rooms. excellent service. June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by June stay Overall the hotel was comfortable and included amenities make this a good value. The customer service from the staff, however, was indifferent. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well maintained rooms Up to date, clean and spacious rooms. Good wifi and decent hot breakfast. June 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel Staff could listen to your needs a little better. Instead of housekeeping constantly waking me May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It's not a good example of what a HI Express could be Not a good bed Bathroom not renewed as some others HI Express Though a pretty fair value for the location May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service I did have a problem with my shower having a funny smell and every time I took a shower the tub clogged up so I stood in dirty water. Rm324. Hopefully that's fixed now. However, I can forgive that because I left one of my dress shoes and they called me and they're mailing it to me. I thought I would never see that shoe again. I've left many things in hotel rooms and no one ever had the courtesy to return it to me. I'm very impressed. May 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay but...... A group of us usually visit the Albany area once or twice a year and always stay at this hotel. The rooms are clean, the staff helpful, a nice breakfast is included in the stay, coffee is always available, they accomadate both smokers and non-smokers, and have a small but nice pool area. Our family group reserved 3 rooms and range in age from 2 to 60. During this stay the hotel appeared full and the staff was extremely busy. My problem (on this trip only) was with the pool area. When we got to the pool there were alot of swimmers so only 3 of us adults went in with 3 of our children. Because it was crowded we tried to stay in our own little area. There was 1 adult who was supervising about 10 children (should there be a limit on how many children 1 adult can supervise?). There was another large party that consisted of 8-10 adults and their children (and here lies the problem). The adults were all drinking alcohol- glass beer bottles in a pool area! One of the adult females cannonballed into the pool with no regard to who she jumped on. An adult male soon followed and the 2 of them had a wrestling/splashing match pushing everyone else out of half of the pool. My adult daughter kindly spoke to the man who replied "get over it lady". With total disregard to how many children were upset by the splashing they continued their antics. They seemed quite drunk so my nephew (who had small children in the pool) spoke with him to no avail. Two different people went to the front desk to complain and a hotel employee came in and asked that there be no rough housing. The drunk man then took his beer bottle and went to the hot tub. The hotel employee came back in and told the man he couldn't have the beer bottle in the hot tub so he poured the beer in a glass and got back in the tub . The lady went over and did a cannonball in to the hottub!! Total disregard for others who were relaxing there. I then went out to complain and was told the hotel was busy and someone would come back in when they had a chance. Children who were with this party started fist fighting and the next thing you know there is blood everywhere. This was when everyone who wasn't with this party decided to leave the pool area. It seems to me that after so many complaints about drunk people who can't follow pool room rules and whose antics could have caused serious injuries they would have been the ones who were asked to leave the pool area instead of all the other paying guests who were trying to have fun and relax feeling they needed to leave because nothing was being done. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Many thanks to the staff. I had a group staying in Rensselaer. My experience was wonderful from the assistants with making a group reservation to Tom Gabrele securing the groups block. Are rooms were clean and comfortable. The woman handling the breakfast in the morning did a wonderful job keeping up with the 15 U basketball team. (and how they can eat). The staff was very accommodating to the team so they could watch the NCAA tournament together in the breakfast area Saturday night, Thank you again for helping with a successful weekend in Albany. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed my stay This was a clean, comfortable, and relaxing place to stay. I've come to expect that with Holiday Inn Express, and this was no exception. March 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Facility The employee checking me in Friday night was excellent and was very informative. The room was ready and extremely clean and well kept. The food needed a bit of work. February 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and That's It Called the front desk daily as I would leave to ask maintenance to check on the squeaking heater in my room that I had to turn off to sleep, everyday I was assured someone would check it out..... never happened. Reservation was for three nights, the morning after my second night the paid bill was slipped under my door, so I called to ensure the front desk was aware to which they were and rewarded me with no house keeping that day. Checking in was very inefficient and confusing as the clerk tried to check me into a room with an associate as if everyone there shares rooms. There is a good little sports grill in the parking lot that was perfect and only a 50' walk, best item of my stay.... February 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Not the best hotel I've stayed at but it was okay and quit. February 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This is not the first time staying here at this hotel from the people and room accomidations fantastic place to stay. January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best HI express but they allow smoking. Why???? Love this hotel. We stay every Christmas Eve when visiting family but I don't understand why they still allow smoking. The hallways stink and we know that all smokers don't care which room their in if the hotel allows smoking. If they don't change soon I will look to stay somewhere else next time. December 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired and worn This hotel was a bit of a disappointment. I think it is the worst of the Holiday Inn's that I have stayed at. The rooms looked to be tired and worn from traffic. The tub was damaged and there were numerous dings and dents, etc. I'd look for another place to stay. It wasn't cheap, and it wasn't a good value. December 23, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Palace Theatre Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Area Attractions Area Attractions Washington Park
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading