• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ALBANY
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Our Hotel does not have facilities for pets onsite but will refer to local pet sitting services. Service animals are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown Albany
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
USS Slater
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Capital Repertory Theatre
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Times Union Center
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking is available on hotel premises at a nominal $5.00 per day charge for registered guests and conference attendees.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:76
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:117
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:NY0610

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire State Plaza, the ideal location.

For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to several local colleges, hospitals & corporate offices. State Capital buildings and offices are within blocks of the hotel. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Amtrak station. If you're flying,
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire State Plaza, the ideal location.

For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to several local colleges, hospitals & corporate offices. State Capital buildings and offices are within blocks of the hotel. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Amtrak station. If you're flying, the hotel is close to Albany Airport (ALB), just 8 miles away. We also have easy access to I-90 (NYS Thruway), I-87 (Adirondack Northway) and I-787.

Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours and professional theaters with parks and the Riverfront for a perfect getaway, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown.

Newly updated rooms, lobby and breakfast area will make your stay memorable. With 22 restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you will have a choice of fine or casual dining. In addition, we're Wi-Fi friendly.

When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the Downtown Difference.

View Less
Features
This hotel in the historic downtown of Albany offers an indoor pool and Jacuzzi along with a 24 hr Fitness Center with steam room and sauna. In the winter relax in our Great Room where a crackling fireplace invites weary travelers. Relax after a day of meetings, or bring your entire family to sit around the pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 250 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service The staff at this hotel were very good and paid attention to my every need. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend getaway Always happy at Holiday Inn Express. It is our home away from home. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent I have to say that the staff at this Holiday Inn Express was exceptional! Every single staff member took the time to say hello, how are you, have a nice day, ect.. They were all happy and seemed genuine in their comments. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was better than any other hotel we have stayed at! We would definitely stay there again! May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay near University at Albany My husband and I have spent 5 or 6 weekends at this location for parent and graduation weekends. The place is extremely clean, the staff is very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast is generous. The facilities including the gym, pool and business center are a plus. Nearly all our visits are higher priced than usual because we have been there for popular weekends but off weekends or mid-week would be cheaper and therefore even more value. As a Sabbath observant and kosher person, this facility is ideal for us. There is a refrigerator in the room to keep some of our own food. The staff was knowledgeable of which items for breakfast were from a local kosher bakery (in addition to all the packaged stuff that had kosher supervision). We were walking distance to Shabbos House on Fuller Road which is a Chabad center for Sabbath prayers and Shabbat meals. We were able to walk to the SEFCU for a Saturday graduation (we don't ride or drive on the Sabbath). All in all it meets our needs and is a nice looking, clean, friendly hotel. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The location is great with lots of shopping and good restaurants nearby. The rooms are nice in the beds are very comfortable easy to sleep there. The staff is awesome and was great to be with professionals !! Kelly May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We have stayed her several times and each time it is a better experience. Thank you! May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT stay at the Holiday Inn Express!! I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express from May 13-15 and was extremely impressed. I have nothing negative to say. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and had everything I could possibly need. Breakfast in the morning exceeded my expectations. Keep up the good work Holiday Inn!!! If I come back for the Purchasing Conference at Empire State Plaza next year, I will certainly stay at this hotel again. Thanks so much for a great stay. Karen H. Amherst, NY May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome home I came to Albany not for fun or light-hearted reasons. My father is terminal and does not have much time left (stage 4 cancer that has metastasized). After spending each day with him in the hospital, I would return to the hotel and find solace in my room. But you know what really contributed to easing my burden and pain? It was the staff--they were beyond awesome. They always welcomed my return and wished me a safe travel for the day. They engaged in conversation and shared in some laughter. They were helpful and accommodating--always they were all of these things! They even helped me find a great pizza place (pizza is my comfort food--who doesn't love pizza!). :) On the weekends my dad was able to go home and the time we shared was a blessing. You see, I loved my father but we had been estranged because he was an alcoholic. So his days with me were shared laughter and joy but it also gave us some opportunities to reconcile, especially for him. He expressed how sorry he was for not being the father he should have been. There were many emotions shared and expressed but above all there was love for one another, an understanding; much compassion. So the staff at this Holiday Inn did more for me than they will ever know--they were the 'hug' at the end of the day and I will forever be grateful. The only thing I kick myself for is that while I was at home with my dad on the two weekends we shared, he bought me a small jar of maple cream and maple candy (I grew up in the Catskills--Margaretville to be exact :) ) and by accident I left it behind in the room. But I'm a huge believer in 'everything happens for a reason'! Maybe someone needed it more than me, because after all, the most important gift was the time spent with my father. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would have liked to stay longer We were at this hotel overnight. It was a very convenient location for us as we passed through Albany & also near all local amenities. We were delighted that our daughter was given a connecting room. The rooms were very comfortable. We really appreciated having a fridge and microwave. Though we weren't there long enough to need the microwave for more than a bedtime hot chocolate (what with the hotel providing our breakfast in the morning), the fridge was most welcome - it even had a freezer for our ice packs. The breakfast was absolutely lovely - porridge, yogurt, sweet rolls, cereals, fresh fruit, pancakes, toast, bacon, and omelets stuffed with something. The pancake machine was acting up, and a staff member dedicated herself to coaxing out pancakes for everyone. The staff was very friendly, but we weren't there long enough to get the full treatment described in other reviews as "treated better than family" The pool is small but in a very tranquil area. The only thing lacking was our ability to stay longer. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent deal for a quality stay Anytime that I am in Albany for business, I stay at the Holiday in at Western Avenue. The beds and rooms are extremely comfortable. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is an excellent beginning to any day. I always enjoy staying here and would recommend Holiday Inn for any stay of any length or occasion. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to all Colleges in the area This HI is in a great location for my daugthers College. We will be coming more often here and found everything to be just GREAT. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place to stay I have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn's across the country. This hotel rates at the top of my list. If all Holiday Inn's were as efficient, friendly, and have the same internet speed as this hotel, you would never get a room because they would always be full! May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I really enjoy this hotel! This hotel is a very enjoyable place to stay for business! The staff is very helpful & friendly. The room was very clean. Free breakfast and coffee is a treat. Thanks! April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely place to stay We stayed there on Thursday, April 10, 2014. I had some concerns about the room since I have some physical limitations. The gentleman checking me in was so nice and concerned with my comfort. He had me check the room to see if it suited me. He was warm and very professional. If we're in the area again we'll surely stay there. April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very good stay The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable!! April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One night in Albany Great stay enjoyed ourselves the staff is wonderful hotel was clean no complaints, will stay again. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best HIE's I have ever experienced. I would say this property is now my total favorite HIE property. This location more than any other has managed to get everything right. The service at check in was enjoyable, personal, and friendly, if not completely entertaining. The electronic check in is a nice touch, that just eliminates the need for 1 more meaningless piece of paper. Internet speeds were as good or better than usual/ Beyond that the room was extremely comfortable, excellent furniture selection and above what I normally expect/encounter in HIE. There were a couple little things I would like to commend you on. 1.) The two bottles of water in the room was an extremely welcome touch. At least in my opinion, this minimal expense on your part demonstrates at least some thought for your guests... so thank you. 2.) The separate recycling containers in the room were also an unexpected thing that I don't normally encounter but at least gave an idea that the management of this property is being relatively forward thinking. I would highly recommend this property and will most certainly be back on my next trip through Albany. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express - consistently good Holiday Inn Express is just a consistent and reliable place to stay. I can always count on the quality and comfort to be excellent. I know there won't be any hidden charges (parking, internet, breakfast, etc). And they are very reasonably priced. What's not to love about all that?! This hotel meets or exceeds my expectations for a Holiday Inn Express. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best This is by far the best hotel I have stayed at. The friendliness of the staff is what more hotels need. From checking to check out I don't have anything negative to say about this hotel, I felt like I was at home. Greeted by name every time I passed through the lobby. I was sad to leave this hotel to come home, I will miss everyone from the hotel. Recommend this hotel to everyone. Room and lobby were clean. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Home to go to The staff at this Holiday Inn Express, certainly made you feel like family. I will even go so far to say they went beyond whayt normally family members will do for you. It is not about a job, these individuaals truly enjoy what they do, and therefore it is not work for them. This place can truly be a place which may be better than home, depends on what going on. Keep the good wprk up and I hope the owners truly reward the staff appropriately. The owners have to be great people also, to have such a wonderful and decated set of employees creating a team with them. April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place! The best Holiday Inn Express I have stayed at. The rooms are really quiet, comfortable, and clean. Staff is very friendly. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and excellent service I think this is one the most convenient hotel I have ever lived in.The staff members are so cooperative and courteous.If asked for help it comes within seconds.Very satisfied with my stay. March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and zero stress experience I was there for one night, I had to take two classes over a weekend as part of the requirements for my license. Since we were kind of a big group, inconveniences always happen (not by the hotel's staff ). But Lori, manager at front desk, solve everything without hassle or inconvenience for no one other that her! Lori, thank you to you and your team who solve everything, working in a team effort. I am looking forward to see you on my next trip, the weekend of Sept. 26-28 March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel with Great Service One of the Best Hotel staffs I've ever seen. Everyone is extremely friendly and accommodating March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Two weeks here felt like being home We had a somewhat unexpected, extended stay in Albany, and we couldn't have found a better place to stay. We had a family get-together in the very comfortable lounge, which is spacious and attractive. Best of all, the staff was so friendly, welcoming, and sympathetic, we couldn't have asked for more. The pool is beautiful, and was thoroughly enjoyed by our grandchildren. I would stay here again, if we find ourselves in Albany in the future. Again, the staff is outstanding, as good as you could find anywhere. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable We booked your hotel because it is on a route we will be taking for the next three years, and it is a good middle stop for our trips. The main reason that we picked you is for your indoor pool. We had our grandson with us and he couldn't wait. The water was freezing. Me and my grandson popped in for a second, my wife didn't get in past her foot. It was really something we all looked forward to. The staff, room,and breakfast were all fantastic. Thanks, Doug and Cathy February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 excellent service, staff, and very clean One of the best hotels in Albany! Great value and a clean, quiet room. I especially love the refrigerator and bottled water free to every guest. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms, great service, great prices. Read the title...that says it all. Clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly service. Reasonable prices. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel From check in with Lori at the desk to check out with Donna our stay the HIE was fantastic. Clean rooms and hallways. The pool was a real pleasure to hangout in for a while with the tables and lounge chairs. Breakfast was amazing with eggs pancakes,danish and much much more. I do not know what the deal was with the guy who said there was no parking because the parking surrounded the building like a normal hotel with plenty of spots.Very quite hotel. Nice little store inside hotel for snacks soda toothpaste etc. February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well worth it! Nice place and quiet. Breakfast was enjoyable and the carpets, paint, etc. were fresh. February 7, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Palace Theatre Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Area Attractions Area Attractions Washington Park
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading