• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ALBANY
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Our Hotel does not have facilities for pets onsite but will refer to local pet sitting services. Service animals are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown Albany
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
USS Slater
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Capital Repertory Theatre
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Times Union Center
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking is available on hotel premises at a nominal $5.00 per day charge for registered guests and conference attendees.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:76
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:117
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:NY0610

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire State Plaza, the ideal location.

For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to several local colleges, hospitals & corporate offices. State Capital buildings and offices are within blocks of the hotel. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Amtrak station. If you're flying,
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire State Plaza, the ideal location.

For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to several local colleges, hospitals & corporate offices. State Capital buildings and offices are within blocks of the hotel. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Amtrak station. If you're flying, the hotel is close to Albany Airport (ALB), just 8 miles away. We also have easy access to I-90 (NYS Thruway), I-87 (Adirondack Northway) and I-787.

Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours and professional theaters with parks and the Riverfront for a perfect getaway, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown.

Newly updated rooms, lobby and breakfast area will make your stay memorable. With 22 restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you will have a choice of fine or casual dining. In addition, we're Wi-Fi friendly.

When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the Downtown Difference.

View Less
Features
This hotel in the historic downtown of Albany offers an indoor pool and Jacuzzi along with a 24 hr Fitness Center with steam room and sauna. In the winter relax in our Great Room where a crackling fireplace invites weary travelers. Relax after a day of meetings, or bring your entire family to sit around the pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 250 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Great value, close to UAlbany, thruway, convenient stores and shops. Has a pool and small fitness area. October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by employees always willing to help....Very good As per normal from the management on down, everything was very well done.....Smiling employees always looking to help... October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great property If you need a place to stay in the Albany area this is a great hotel. I have stayed at this location 4 or 5 times and it is always a pleasant stay. The place is clean, has a generous breakfast, has an indoor pool and small fitness room. Close to university at Albany. I am already have another reservation for next May! October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Change required >Upon arrival at 5:30 pm - I went to the assigned room and opened the door to an unusally strong and VERY unpleasant smell. >Went back down to the desk and explained that my profile lists not to be placed in a "pet friendly room" as there was a horrible odor and they needed then to check it immediately and put me in another room. >Went to the next room and although it was across from the vending machines - found it to be clean and comfortable but with double beds instead of the queen/king with is my perference. *It had been a very long day, filled with meetings and car travel and did not appreciate having to go back down to change the rooms and be late for my ride who was picking me up from dinner. NOTE: As usual the staff are great and are always concerned and try to help in any way they can - but this room should not have been on the list to be used in the condition it was in - October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Room clean, staff great, breakfast wonderful. Stayed at this site for the third time and all 3 times were great. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service As usual, the staff was friendly and very accommodating. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Confort!!! Staff was very friendly Everytime I go to Ablany ,Ny I stay here Lovethe overall expierence October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always stay here... We love the Holiday Inn Express...we stay there every time we visit our daughter. The beds are very comfortable...the rooms are clean...and the complimentary breakfast is always good. The staff is friendly and helpful...we have never experienced a problem. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OUTSTANDING I have stayed in this specific property at least 12 times and I have NEVER had a unsatisfactory experience. Everything is always as expected, clean, pleasant, functioning and updated. There are about 12-14 'other' chain properties within a 1/4 mile radius of this location and I tried them all and NONE OF THEM can come close to the enjoyable and affordable experience I have had with this Holiday Inn Express, Western Ave, Albany, NY. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will definitely go back and have already referred a friend This was our fist time staying at this hotel but it won't be our last. I had read the reviews online and everyone had a high rating...I was a bit skeptical I must admit,..it seemed to good to be true, but they were all correct. This place was clean, ALL the staff was friendly (it sure seems like everyone loves to be there). The rooms were quiet, clean and very comfortable, the pool area was clean and very relaxing. My Mom forgot her toothbrush so I called the front desk and within minutes the front desk clerk was at our door with one. Amazing service. Oh I almost forgot the breakfast....it was great they had the best variety of food that I have ever seen at any hotel offering a free breakfast. The breakfast area was clean and had a very friendly girl who was always asking if we needed anything. I never do reviews but we were so impressed with this hotel that I had to tell people what an amazing experience we had. Oh and all this for a great price...it was a win win! WE WILL BE BACK! Thank you Holiday Inn Staff for such a pleasant experience. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and service We spent 2 wonderful nights at this location. The breakfast was both delicious and fresh. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The room was very clean and welcoming. Great amenities in the area, Colonie Centre and Crossgate Mall. Great location near interstate 87/90. My thanks to Kat who registered us on Friday Sept 27, 2013. She was very cheerful and friendly. We look forward to spending another weekend at this location. October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk staff This is my place to stay while doing business in Albany. The rooms are quiet, the food is good. I like their Tuesday meals the provide for their guests. But their front desk staff is AWESOME, including my favorite - NICK. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel midway from NYC to Niagara Fallls We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Western Avenue in Albany for one night while en-route to Niagara Falls Ontario. This hotel was clean and comfortable. The Breakfast in the morning got us off to a great start. The ham slices were absolutely to die for. The swimming pool water was so warm, it was like taking a bath. We are scheduled to return in one week on our return trip to NYC. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fun and relaxation Traveling to a JDRF walk where we volunteer our time. It is a wonderful time but so tiring. Easy to find hotel, great staff, comfortable beds, clean room, beautiful pool and great breakfast. NOW if finding a cure for diabetes would be so easy! September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff was exceptional the hotel experienced a power surge that knocked out the elevators, A/C and some of the kitchen outlets and the staff went quickly into action with putting staff on each floor to warn of the elevators as well as getting food and coffee brought in from a sister hotel very quickly. Despite the incident, our stay was great and we rank this hotel among the best we've stayed at in the chain. Kudos to hotel management and the staff to going the extra mile! September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Best Hotel in the Albany, NY area I always stay in Albany when in town for concerts @ SPAC (it's cheaper than staying in Saratoga Springs, and I prefer a hotel to a B&B), I scoped out area hotels for competitive prices and was not disappointed in the least about the Holiday Inn Express. This was my first time staying there and to start, you enter to a clean, well lit front desk/lobby (I'm guessing everything was recently renovated or looked that way), the friendliest employees I've ever come across. When you check in you're greeted with a huge genuine smile, the express start breakfast was amazing, a lot of choices for anyone. I happen to be gluten sensitive and even I was able to eat, which usually isn't the case. Our room was clean and a/c preset by the house attendant, an abundance of towels, loved the room, SUPER CLEAN, smelling fresh, not one complaint about the room. I worked at another Intercontinental Hotel for 5 years as the in room dining supervisor and I'm a stickler for clean floors at all times, so usually trays and garbage in the halls is something that I notice right away, nothing...Loved it, very highly recommended, I will definitely be a guest here in the future! September 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unfortunate experiences Staff very friendly, but sometimes that is not enough 1) Shower lousy, when you converted from bath to shower you got half a shower and half a bath! The bathroom fittings are old, although the room, beds, and TV have been updated. 2). Power outage on the day we left for over an hour, no coffee, coming from sister hotel soon! Why not get a flask full from down the road, in the end gave up and left. 3) Walls paper thin can hear folks next door. 4) In the end paying north of 100$ a night not worth it. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth being a Priority Club member I ran a race in the morning, but got stuck in traffic on the way back to the hotel. I spoke with the front desk to see if they would allow me a bit later than the 12:00 check out and because my husband is a Priority Club member it was not a problem. I really appreciated that and thank you! September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Place to Stay! Perfect location. Staff is excellent. Rooms are very clean and roomy! September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service After a long day of driving, having to change our arrival time twice, and checking in close to midnight, it was important to us that we could get a good nights sleep. The front desk clerk was helpful in adjusting our check out time and the room cleaning schedule to allow us to sleep in late undisturbed.The room was clean, the beds were soft, the curtains closed fully to completely block out the light and the room refrigerator was quiet, all conducive to being rested the next morning. In the morning the cleaning staff checked with us to be sure that we had been provided with all of the room necessities and even provided extra towels for our dip in the pool. The breakfast food was tasty and filling. We had a relaxing day at the hotel before heading out in the afternoon to continue our journey. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything went smooth Staff was beyond helpful. The room was comfortable and accommodating. Even small things like availability of outlets to charge my Laptop and IPhone. It was as if they thought of everything so there were no annoyances whatsoever. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Stay! This hotel had great reviews and we went with it. It was close to the town I was visiting too. Everything from top to bottom was great. The staff was very helpful and friendly and professional. the room was fantastic.....beds were comfy, roomy, very clean, and very modern and up to date. plenty of plugs for electronic gadgets. The tvs were awesome with HD! Bathroom was big and clean. We are definitely staying here next time we are in Albany. The pool and exercise room looked great as well. Breakfast was yummy and a good variety! September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent - from the smiling face at the check-in desk to the check-out Mostly excellent experience. Staff, service, clean room, breakfast. Even smiles and a "good morning" from the gent collecting the garbage outside. One major quibble - the room air conditioner unit starting and stopping was very disturbing to sleep. September 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff Stayed at HIE and booked 4 rooms. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The staff was very accommodating in every way. They helped printed out directions for us without hesitation. The breakfast staff and the breakfast itself was great! Convenient (to University of Albany) and easy to find. September 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Updated Recently updated lobby and rooms. Improved variety of breakfast foods. Very conveniently located. Made the difference between this hotel and other moderately priced hotels more stark. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly. Relaxing. Comfortable. Spent there 2 nights. Offers a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, clean rooms. Best of all, a very friendly and helpful staff. Overall, we experienced an excellent stay, and would strongly recommend it. September 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 College visit Nice hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. While it is nice that they offer a complimentary breakfast, the hot items (eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc.) available are a notch below competitors. September 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, Quiet and Convenient Could not have asked for a more comfortable bed after scouting all the SUNYs in the area. We were well-rested overnight to be ready to tackle UAlbany, which is literally 5 minutes down the road, the next day. Breakfast is lowkey, do it yourself. We arrived at breakfast at 10am just as it was closing down (college hunting is exhausting). The pancake machine had been shut down, but there were still great biscuits, English muffins, cinnamon rolls, pre-made eggs, and sausage patties and links. Pool was clean, pretty and for dipping and floating, not laps. The double beds were comfy and clean; mattress covers appeared brand new or this hotel has a faucet tap in the laundry room that runs bleach. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Rooms is Great, comfortable and clean. Great service and large variaty at breakfast. Interior Pool is heated, kids love it September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best HIE At first we were a little put off by this inn being a bit more expensive than most HIExpresses. We booked anyway based on the great location making it east to visit the fine local attractions. We lucked out arriving on the evening of the manager's meet and greet free BBQ. The franchise owners have clearly done fine work maintaining the property in new condition. August 31, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Palace Theatre Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Area Attractions Area Attractions Washington Park
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading