• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ALBANY
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Our Hotel does not have facilities for pets onsite but will refer to local pet sitting services. Service animals are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown Albany
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
USS Slater
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Capital Repertory Theatre
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Times Union Center
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking is available on hotel premises at a nominal $5.00 per day charge for registered guests and conference attendees.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:76
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:117
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:NY0610

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire State Plaza, the ideal location.

For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to several local colleges, hospitals & corporate offices. State Capital buildings and offices are within blocks of the hotel. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Amtrak station. If you're flying,
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire State Plaza, the ideal location.

For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to several local colleges, hospitals & corporate offices. State Capital buildings and offices are within blocks of the hotel. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Amtrak station. If you're flying, the hotel is close to Albany Airport (ALB), just 8 miles away. We also have easy access to I-90 (NYS Thruway), I-87 (Adirondack Northway) and I-787.

Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours and professional theaters with parks and the Riverfront for a perfect getaway, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown.

Newly updated rooms, lobby and breakfast area will make your stay memorable. With 22 restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you will have a choice of fine or casual dining. In addition, we're Wi-Fi friendly.

When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the Downtown Difference.

View Less
Features
This hotel in the historic downtown of Albany offers an indoor pool and Jacuzzi along with a 24 hr Fitness Center with steam room and sauna. In the winter relax in our Great Room where a crackling fireplace invites weary travelers. Relax after a day of meetings, or bring your entire family to sit around the pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 250 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service From Staff I've been staying at this hotel since January this year. This is by my choice. The staff here is super, it starts at check in where you're ALWAYS greeted with a smile and a welcome and greeted by name. The hotel is well maintained and kept up. The breakfast bar is always set up and ready to go on time. The two girls that work the bar are super also, the younger girl, Kim is just fantastic, always a smile and good morning and always if you need anything just ask and when you leave a thank you and have a nice day. I would like to thank Ann Marie also, she makes these stays happen this way. Thank you IHG for all the great stays and the great staff you have at this location. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and rooms Excellent staff , very polite, smiling and always listening to each of our needs. The rooms are quiet, very clean and the beds are very comfortable. August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by updated and very clean Hotel was clean, and updated. Breakfast had many choices. Front desk was courteous and helpful. August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place!!! Beautiful rooms.Very clean and the bathroom was superb. Front desk was so helpful. We wanted to stay in and order pizza and they helped us with finding to-go menus. The maintenance department went so far as to put a cone in front of our motorcycle so other cars could see it parked and not try to pull into the spot. I would definitly recomment this property again and again. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Roadtrip stopover We stayed here as a stopping point on a drive from Ohio to Maine so the hotel was our soul reason to visit Albany. We were hungry and exhausted when we arrived and were greeted warmly and checked in quickly. I requested, and was given, a great reference to a nearby restaurant. Our room was comfortable and quiet in spite of the fact that it was quite full. I was able to get in a swim before breakfast in the wonderful pool. Breakfast was good and there was ample seating. Would definitely stay again. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I have been staying here for years. Two of my children have gone to SUNY Albany and it is the most convenient and comfortable place to stay. The staff is friendly and the free breakfast is great. The rooms are always large and roomy with refrigerator and microwaves. I have two more nights booked already! August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite hotel in Albany Our son goes to school in Albany, so we've been trying out the different hotels in the area. We have found our favorite and will be returning from here on out. The service was IMPECCABLE. The breakfast lady (Cathy) got information for our day trips and was so hospitable. On the last night, the Nick and Jafar at the desks noticed that we had some packages that may not make it safely onto the plane, so they provided bubble wrap and tape. They also made sure we had three bagged up breakfasts for us because we had to leave the hotel at 4am. One employee after another at the Holiday Inn Express made it an excellent stay. It was great, clean, and comfortable. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming All of the staff members that we encountered at this property - from check in to housekeeping to breakfast - were incredibly friendly and helpful. The location isn't amazing, but it was just right for an overnight stop during a long trip. Room was clean and had great amenities. July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service , close to airport Used the rate park sleep and fly . 7 days parking included . Friendly staff , close to airport , breakfast was included , taxi fare going and return was included up to $ 30.00 each way ( cost average is $ 21.50 each way ) . 12 minutes from airport . NIce room and very clean . July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant experience I haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn in years and was surprised at how upscale and comfortable it was. The room looked and smelled refreshing and I found all the amenities in my room that I needed for my stay of 4 nights like an iron, ironing board and complimentary internet. My stay was also during a heat wave and the outdoor temperature was over 90 degrees the entire time. The air conditioner never failed!! The complimentary newspaper at my door every morning along with and a full breakfast helped make the stay a pleasant experience. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home I stay in Albany often for work. The staff at HIE go out of their way to accommodate our every need. Hats off to all involved to make my stay enjoyable. Thanks July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful welcome On the hottest day of the year, guests were greeted with cold drinks and fruit and ice cream as a welcome. As always, easy and pleasant check in and rooms were clean and comfortable. thank you to the manager and staff for a good refuge en route. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Deb This is definitely a keeper on the list of Hotels we have stayed at. Excellent service....the breakfast was very good too. Room clean and comfortable. Great place to stay. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff was extremely helpful and welcoming The hotel was clean and the staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. I will definitely return! My son will be attending SUNY Albany in the fall and it was very close to the campus. It also had alot of great shops nearby. It is a safe area to stay. I walked to a restaurant for dinner so I could grab a drink and not worry! July 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by appreciated helpful staff and clean hotel see above; i would stay here again. Easy access as well. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Shopping Getaway Great Place to spend a weekend shopping at Cross Gates Mall. The staff were just great, especially the young guy at the front desk, Nick, he could not do enough for us. Thanks, July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by shopping Getaway Great place to stop over for a weekend of shopping at Crossgates Mall. The staff were great especially the young guy Nick at the front desk, he was just exceptional, couldn't do enough for us. I highly recommend this property July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by INNcredible As always, an Inncredible visit. Staff greets me by name, food ready, plentiful and hot in morning. workout room sufficient. Staff knowledgeable on local eateries July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by genuine helpful friendly staff,great breakfast,clean rooms, comfortable clean beds and surroundings My family of 12 shared 3 rooms over the 4th of July and weekend. This was the best hotel experience for all of us . The staff during the often busy breakfast time was responsive to everyone's needs while maintaining cleanliness, a well stocked food supply , and super friendly assistance and smiles. The front desk staff was always patient , helpful and empathetic to visitors needs and plights. The beds , linens, and pillows were very comfortable. It was great to have a refrigerator, a safe and good access to an ice machine. We were impressed with the hotels obvious effort to recycle with bins in the rooms and in the front lobby. The children were very taken with the wonderful pancake making machine and the adults were very happy with all of the wonderful , delicious and healthy breakfast choices. Inside and out were well maintained and clean and neat. The only complaint that I have is about the rooms . One did not have any chairs (but were timely supplied when the management was made aware). I requested two of the rooms be adjoining when I made my reservation and the third room to be near-by. When we checked in at the appointed time of 4PM, one room was around the corner and down the hall and no adjoining rooms were available. However, a discount was extended to us upon request for this error . The only other observation was that the pool was quite cloudy . July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant surprise From our very late check-in til the minute we left our stay at this Holiday Inn Express was a pleasant surprise. Every staff member i came into contact with was exceptionally courteous! There was a very obnoxious guest in the breakfast area and the employee remained polite and professional. I joined the rewards program because I will definitely return-before I left I made another reservation for a return trip in August! Love free dependable WIFI too! July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful hotel Rooms were beautiful. We asked that the rooms be next to each other, we got communicating rooms! Super clean hotel, friendly staff, easy parking, very near the Crossgates Mall. We didn't expect to have such a complete breakfast. If i ever go back to Albany, for sure I'd chose this hotel again! July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by jULY 1 N 2ND Daughter had orientation at the College of St Rose...Holiday Inn was perfect. Bathroom was spotless. Beds were comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. This is where we are going to be staying whenever we come down to visit.. July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We rarelt go away and my husband does not like hotels. We were so pleased with our stay that he said he would love to go again just to stay at the Holiday Inn! The room was very clean . The bed was incredibly comfortable. Staff was corteous and helpful. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY GOOD Friendly Staff Young man by the name of Nick checked me in. In the 30 or so years I've been a Priority Club member I have never been treated so well and made to feel more welcome as this young man made me feel. It was like he couldn't do enough to make me feel welcome. July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's funny how things turn out! We had to be in Albany where our daughter was going to be sworn in as an attorney. After considering several hotels, my wife finally decided on one. However, when she finally tried to book a room there, it was full. She ended up booking a room at the Holiday Inn Express - Albany Western Ave./University. Not being able to book at her first choice turned into a really good deal for us. The Holiday Inn Express was considerably cheaper than the other room would have been. Our room was clean and comfortable, with easy access to downtown. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast was better than many places where you have to pay! The manager here is doing an excellent job. We would heartily recommend staying here. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and great breakfast This is a very clean and comfortable hotel. Conveniently located close to the I-87. Warm welcome despite our late arrival at 1 am. Free parking. In our standard room, we had a double bed (I expected a queen), but at least it was very comfortable. In the morning, there's an amazing free buffet breakfast with lots of choice (cold and hot). And for those who want to have their breakfast outside, there's a nice patio behind the property with chairs. The staff is very friendly and efficient. A very good choice for Albany. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 10 As a frequent customer I would like to congratulate Richard as a staff member that earns a 10 through his actions and does not just talk about being a 10. Good job Richard. I had my Corvette at the hotel and Richard went above the call of duty in allowing my to park under cover due to predicted storms. Also Richard eased a bad billing problem and fixed the issue promptly with confidence being restored. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you! Thank you for another great stay. I always feel comfortable and cared for when I stay with you. June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large Comfortable rooms This was one of the nicest, clean and comfortable rooms we have ever stayed at. Everything and everyone was way above our expectations. Keep up the good work. June 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unusually problematic Holiday Inn Express is always what I choose when traveling for business. Actually, for the past 10 years,I have always had good experiences with this Holiday Inn, however, this past visit was very disturbing. I was up late as I had a lot of work to prepare for my training the next day. At 3:00 am the smoke alarm battery started chirping which woke me up. I called the front desk and while someone came to change it , he acted as though this was a routine repair... a little chatty and said he would tell maintenance etc.....however, it was 3 am! I did not go out the next evening with my colleagues for dinner tas I was quite tired. Just as I put my head on the pillow, a loud banging started coming from the roof!!! REALLY!! I have never had a problem with this hotel and never have I gone home exhausted from being here!! There is no need to post this review...but I thought this feedback was needed! June 23, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Palace Theatre Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Area Attractions Area Attractions Washington Park
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading