• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ALBANY
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Our Hotel does not have facilities for pets onsite but will refer to local pet sitting services. Service animals are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown Albany
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
USS Slater
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Times Union Center
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Capital Repertory Theatre
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking is available on hotel premises at a nominal $5.00 per day charge for registered guests and conference attendees.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:76
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:117
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:NY0610

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire State Plaza, the ideal location.

For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to several local colleges, hospitals & corporate offices. State Capital buildings and offices are within blocks of the hotel. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Amtrak station. If you're flying,
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire State Plaza, the ideal location.

For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to several local colleges, hospitals & corporate offices. State Capital buildings and offices are within blocks of the hotel. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Amtrak station. If you're flying, the hotel is close to Albany Airport (ALB), just 8 miles away. We also have easy access to I-90 (NYS Thruway), I-87 (Adirondack Northway) and I-787.

Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours and professional theaters with parks and the Riverfront for a perfect getaway, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown.

Newly updated rooms, lobby and breakfast area will make your stay memorable. With 22 restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you will have a choice of fine or casual dining. In addition, we're Wi-Fi friendly.

When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the Downtown Difference.

View Less
Features
This hotel in the historic downtown of Albany offers an indoor pool and Jacuzzi along with a 24 hr Fitness Center with steam room and sauna. In the winter relax in our Great Room where a crackling fireplace invites weary travelers. Relax after a day of meetings, or bring your entire family to sit around the pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 288 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We rarelt go away and my husband does not like hotels. We were so pleased with our stay that he said he would love to go again just to stay at the Holiday Inn! The room was very clean . The bed was incredibly comfortable. Staff was corteous and helpful. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY GOOD Friendly Staff Young man by the name of Nick checked me in. In the 30 or so years I've been a Priority Club member I have never been treated so well and made to feel more welcome as this young man made me feel. It was like he couldn't do enough to make me feel welcome. July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's funny how things turn out! We had to be in Albany where our daughter was going to be sworn in as an attorney. After considering several hotels, my wife finally decided on one. However, when she finally tried to book a room there, it was full. She ended up booking a room at the Holiday Inn Express - Albany Western Ave./University. Not being able to book at her first choice turned into a really good deal for us. The Holiday Inn Express was considerably cheaper than the other room would have been. Our room was clean and comfortable, with easy access to downtown. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast was better than many places where you have to pay! The manager here is doing an excellent job. We would heartily recommend staying here. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and great breakfast This is a very clean and comfortable hotel. Conveniently located close to the I-87. Warm welcome despite our late arrival at 1 am. Free parking. In our standard room, we had a double bed (I expected a queen), but at least it was very comfortable. In the morning, there's an amazing free buffet breakfast with lots of choice (cold and hot). And for those who want to have their breakfast outside, there's a nice patio behind the property with chairs. The staff is very friendly and efficient. A very good choice for Albany. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 10 As a frequent customer I would like to congratulate Richard as a staff member that earns a 10 through his actions and does not just talk about being a 10. Good job Richard. I had my Corvette at the hotel and Richard went above the call of duty in allowing my to park under cover due to predicted storms. Also Richard eased a bad billing problem and fixed the issue promptly with confidence being restored. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you! Thank you for another great stay. I always feel comfortable and cared for when I stay with you. June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large Comfortable rooms This was one of the nicest, clean and comfortable rooms we have ever stayed at. Everything and everyone was way above our expectations. Keep up the good work. June 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unusually problematic Holiday Inn Express is always what I choose when traveling for business. Actually, for the past 10 years,I have always had good experiences with this Holiday Inn, however, this past visit was very disturbing. I was up late as I had a lot of work to prepare for my training the next day. At 3:00 am the smoke alarm battery started chirping which woke me up. I called the front desk and while someone came to change it , he acted as though this was a routine repair... a little chatty and said he would tell maintenance etc.....however, it was 3 am! I did not go out the next evening with my colleagues for dinner tas I was quite tired. Just as I put my head on the pillow, a loud banging started coming from the roof!!! REALLY!! I have never had a problem with this hotel and never have I gone home exhausted from being here!! There is no need to post this review...but I thought this feedback was needed! June 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT STAFF This is the best Holiday Inn I ever stayed in. The staff is top notch!!! June 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reward night I have used my points for my last stay in your hôtel . The first night was free and I have paid my second night with my credit card . I was unhappy wenght I came back to my room the second day in the afternoon and saw that nobody have clean the room.They said that they tought I had leave and they was not in hurry to do the room.So, they give us some towel and clean the trash can.I think that a free night with no cleaning is not a very pleasant gift. I hope that the next time I will use my points ,the service will be better. June 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service There were no cabs coming and the visiting regional manager (so sorry I can't remember her name but it was the morning of June 15) actually personally drove my to the university down the road - talk about above and beyond! I'm often a guest here because of my active alumni work at the University at Albany and my platinum Priority Club membership! The rooms are uniformly excellent; small breakfast complaint -( with so many dairy allergies out there now, the egg choice should never be a cheese omelet but have optional slices to add) . But, as a non driving resident of NYC, I always have the same complaint - no van service to Amtrak! All of the other hotels in the neighborhood, the Best Western down the street, the Marriotts and Hiltons on the other side of the campus (Washington Ave) all have this service. It would certainly give you a competitive edge to consider it! June 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really nice hotel and very friendly staff Our overall experience staying at this hotel was excellent. Staff was very friendly, rooms were clean and good variety of breakfast choices. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay there if I'm in the area. June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks for a great stay Hands down this was one of my best hotel experiences. The staff was friendly, the facility clean and I could not have been more pleased with our room. Thank you for an enjoyable night, I wished we could have stayed another night! June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Like Family I have been staying at this holiday inn for 17 years when I am there for work. The staff knws me and is very attentative. The rooms are always clear and the breakfast is great. When you need something just call the front desk and there are there. My rating for this holiday is excellent. June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, went the extra mile to help. June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Staff! Thank you Nick for saving our water cooler for us after visiting a few months ago and we left it in our hotel room! Tyler, Nick and Richard are to be commended for their hospitality! They always make us feel right at home! We will definitely return again and again! You guys rock! Thanks for getting our special room ready for us! June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommended Great all around choice if you want to avoid the congestion of downtown. Convenient to SUNY and state building campus, clean, comfortable, reasonably prices, very helpful staff. June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place...Great Value! We had a great stay! The staff was wonderful! They were very welcoming, kind, and helpful. The rooms were clean and really comfortable. Would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend this Holiday Inn Express to anyone! June 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service On May 31 2013 my wife and I arrived tired at the hotel. We have stayed before - over-nighting on way from Toronto to Boston. Ja'far was on duty at the desk and helped us enormously: especially to find our Priority Points Reward. Kudos to HI and Ja'far one of the most helpful hotel staff we have ever met. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Fine Facility This Holiday Inn just outside of Albany has to its credit an Excellent Staff and Manager and a Fine Facility. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Refurb The property is functionally/esthetically superb. When I arrived I thought that it was a newly built hotel. Everything was top notch. Of particular note is the breakfast service. The layout kept the attendant right at the serving area. This GREATLY improved the responsiveness to guest needs. I HIGHLY recommend this property. June 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful hotel experience stayed just one night, but room was spotless.....pool and pool area was clean....many choices for breakfast...was surprised by how many hot choices for breakfast...friendly, and helpful staff! Would stay here again in a minute. May 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome hotel In this quiet setting, convenient to Thruway and shopping, restaurants, and friendliness of staff ,my son and I had a very enjoyable experience. Thank you!! May 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast Buffet We stayed at your property for five nights during SUNY graduation. Our room and the housekeeping service were excellent. The breakfast buffet was also excellent and Kathy did an outstanding job of keeping us all fed! We will be back! C. and M. Las Vegas, Nevada May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay,very nice hotel! Stayed two seperate times(to and from NY city) A very nice and clean hotel. Friendly staff, quiet ambiance, nice variety for breakfast and for the 1 st time in my life a WARM indoor swimming pool. Hotels always say that their pools are heated ,but for once this one you could feel it. Thank you for that! Was able to swim without freezing or being worried that my 18 month old (as well as my 4 yr old) would get sick. Our only complaint, stayed in a different room the second time and the mattress was terrible. I mentionned it to the staff, hardly slept. ( both mattresses in that room were too soft). Too bad because everything else was great. May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent as usual Great hotel..always reliable...highly recommend... May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable rooms The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This location is near many great shops and restaurants and is easy to get to. May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff on site I would like to comliment the staff at this Holiday Inn Express, they are without a doubt the best in the industry. They made me feel like part of a family while I was there and I will definitely stay there whenever I'm in the area. Good Job! May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! Our stay here was great! The hotel and grounds were beautiful. And, the staff were great! I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. It was so much nicer than staying downtown. We were seeing our son off to Marine boot camp and the smiling, helpful staff made it so much easier for us. Thank you. We will come again. May 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Still one of the best Express locations! I have stayed here several times and find the quality of facility and staff is great! Yes, the pool is small, but it is WARM! There was an AAU girls basketball team here and I just timed my swim around them. Quiet location because it is back from Route 20. Breakfast attendent kept the food coming! An improvement over my first stay has been a list of recommended restaurants and take out locations. Staff is very willing to give guidance on what is nearby. Best place to stay when visiting SUNY Albany! May 11, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Palace Theatre Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Area Attractions Area Attractions Washington Park
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading