• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ALBANY
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets not accepted. Contact hotel directly for a list of local kennels that have been inspected by hotel staff to ensure the best care for your pet. Should a pet be discovered in a guest room a 100USD cleaning fee will apply.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
New York State Office Campus
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
University at Albany
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
CNSE Albany Nanotech
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Albany College of Pharmacy
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:121
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample, well lit, open air parking close to hotel entrances. 6 accesible parking spaces close to ramps and entrances.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:121
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:42
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:68
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:117
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:NY0616

The Smart Choice for Albany, New York Hotels!

Only minutes from downtown Albany, the Albany International Airport and a quarter-mile from SUNY Albany, our hotel's quality accommodations offer the perfect location for business and leisure travelers.

Vacationers are sure to enjoy our convenient access to the best Albany, NY attractions, including the New York State Museum, the Empire State Plaza and the SUNY Albany campus. Our hotel's location is minutes away from Crossgates Mall,
View More

The Smart Choice for Albany, New York Hotels!

Only minutes from downtown Albany, the Albany International Airport and a quarter-mile from SUNY Albany, our hotel's quality accommodations offer the perfect location for business and leisure travelers.

Vacationers are sure to enjoy our convenient access to the best Albany, NY attractions, including the New York State Museum, the Empire State Plaza and the SUNY Albany campus. Our hotel's location is minutes away from Crossgates Mall, providing ample opportunity for guests to bring home treasures from their stay in Albany, New York.

Our hotel's convenient location puts corporate travelers one mile from the juncture of Routes I-90 & I-87 and next to the heart of Tech Valley and the College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering , ensuring less travel time and more time for the business at hand. Three flexible meeting rooms provide the perfect spot for meetings and events in Albany, New York. With our hotel's award winning staff and technical amenities, every event is sure to be a success.

Whether you're on vacation, here for business or visiting friends and family at SUNY Albany, our hotel's amenities are sure to please. Relax by the indoor pool or socialize on the patio while using the barbecue grill. For a great start, stop by the free Express Start breakfast bar for one of our signature cinnamon rolls and a cup of coffee. Stay Smart - stay at this Holiday Inn Express® hotel!

View Less
Features
Few Albany, New York hotels can rival the service and amenities our guests experience, from free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to an indoor pool and state-of-the-art Fitness Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not very nice The room was average for our stays which are usually work related. Being work related it is usually a double occupancy. That being said were very disappointed and upset to find out that the bathroom door did not work, would not latch or stay closed. Also there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. And the bathroom was not cleaned thoroughly. Not impressed. July 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Service Was Great Service and staff were great however... there was no air conditioning in the lobby which made a very uncomfortable first impression. There was air in the rooms. There was an odd odor on the floors (2nd floor) when you stepped off of the elevator. Bathrooms were very small. Odor wasn't noticed in the room. Restauarant, desk, and housekeeping staff were pleasant and efficient. Nice location. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable and meets our needs Our son goes to Union college and we've stayed at the Holiday Inn several times a year for the past 3 years. We've always been very pleased with the room, the services, the restaurant for breakfast and the cost. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No regrets about this choice Clean room. Pleasant public spaces with an empty jacuzzi. Abundant food for breakfast at a reasonable price. Friendly staff; a young employee at the front desk was happy to chat about attending public versus private school. July 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice but over priced I've stayed on this property a couple of times, the location is good the hotel is clean and you can tell they have a pool as soon as you walk in the door. My biggest complaint about the rooms is the size of the bathrooms and placement of the toilets. You are practically in the tub. The hotel designer or contractor made a human comfort error with this one. I know this can't be changed but it is just a comfort point. Lastly the restaurant is way over priced. We have had a dinner and a breakfast there. Not worth it for sure. July 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not so good experience We get there, parking lot full, front desk clerk takes about 20 minutes to check us into 2 rooms. slow as a turtle. Finally get into our rooms to get some sleep and have to leave at 6:30am. I go to lobby to get a coffee in the morning & am told there will be no coffee until the girls comes in, later, meanwhile the security guard is complaining constantly to me about his work hours & his life, Seriously ? I don't wanna hear some employee's blues when i am waking up. I will never stay at this hotel again. June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a VERY pleasant weekend This Holiday Inn is a bit older; I would describe our room as "nice" but certainly not luxurious, but the staff and all of the other little touches the hotel has totally made up for that! The front desk staff are all terrific (especially "Domenic"), there were brownies and coffee out for guests on the afternoon we arrived, to be replaced in the morning by fruit and coffee. The lobby is really quite lovely with high ceilings, comfy chairs, and fountains, although if I designed a hotel I would not put the pool and spa right there. We were there on their busiest weekend of the year: Union College graduation, and yet the hotel was quiet and we had no problems at all. What a treat to walk to graduation and not be fighting for a parking space!! June 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by home away from home I like staying at holiday inn's because they always treat me whit respect thank you June 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed there many many times This Holiday Inn isn't especially fancy or high end, but at the same time, it's very reasonable, very clean and is perfect for our needs. the dining room for breakfast is lovely, breakfasts are good and because our son goes to school in Schenectady, this is our hotel of choice. June 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by So much more than I expected Booked a room at the last minute for a quick business stopover at the start of my vacation. Was pleasantly surprised by the extensive and well-maintained amenities. What I had thought would be a quick night's sleep turned out to be a very pleasant stay. Will definitely stay here again if my travels take me through the area. June 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very friendly and helpful staff The price was very high for Schenectady, NY, but it was reunion weekend for Union College, and there are only four properties near campus, one of which is across from the Holiday Inn and wretched. My only big complaint is the cleanliness. I had a smoking room because it was the only thing left when I reserved, but that does not excuse the filthy carpet. Other aspects were only marginally clean, such as the threshold into the bathroom, the baseboards, and the corners in the bathroom. I think that the room attendants are probably overloaded and under trained. I walked on the carpet for two minutes in my white socks and they were black. The hallway carpets were bad as well. A worker told me that a renovation was coming, but keeping the place clean must be a priority. There is an obvious lack of investment in cleaning, as if the owners/operators are keeping it just clean enough to keep the Holiday Inn flag. June 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Review Comfortable room - halls a bit dark/old, giving a dated feeling. June 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience The AC was adjacent to the bed and one could not adjust the fan speed or the airflow and it blew right on us. We had to shut it off in order to sleep and since it was a very hot weekend the room became unbearably warm. For 2 nights we could not sleep. At least you should move the bed to the other side of the room away from the AC. The price of the room was very high for what ti was. I would not recommend this hotel. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine service. Great stay. Wish Schenectady was in better shape, but your hotel was an oasis Your hotel was a welcome respite from a busy, busy weekend. June 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Wouldn't Recommend We've stayed at several Holiday Inns, but this one may have been the worst of them all. While it is a decent hotel to crash in for a night, it is definitely dated and feels dirty (the dirtiness feeling may be because of how old the hotel is). It doesn't appear to be in the best neighborhood. However, the front desk staff was very friendly and we were approached from time to time by friendly housekeepers and maintenance staff. We stayed here as part of a wedding room block - the bride was getting ready in a parlor suite that had non-functioning sink and didn't even contain any silverware as part of the kitchenette. Our air conditioning unit was so loud and making such strange noises that it kept me up for most of the night. The hotel is just in dire need of updating. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A GREAT HOTEL FOR A FAMILY STAY EXCELLENT STAFF AND SERVICE. THANKS FOR ALL YOU DID TO MAKE OUR VISIT SO MUCH FUN..... June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience My first time in Schenectady for Business...At it was excellent in Holiday Inn Schenectady... Front-desk and Restaurant very very good June 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good experience I was tired because my flight was cancelled and I expected a good reception as Priority Club Member...but Frontdesk was so busy/tired to offer the best form them... June 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Hotel, Near Jay Street The hotel needs a bit of an upgrade and it does smell like indoor pool as the pool is right by the lobby. The rooms were clean and comfortable and apart from someone pounding on our door late at night (I think they were trying a few doors) overall it was fairly quiet. No breakfast included here so you have to order a la carte in the morning, and we were not aware of this. The food was average -bacon way too over done and eggs were okay....nice touch with the water and beverage if a priority club member....good location to main walking strip but not in the nicest part of town when at the top end of Nott Terrace -a bit seedy. Denny's nearby is good. Travel time out of area -good. Staff are very friendly, but no antiseptic remote controls in room. May 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Hotel accommodations were very good. Hallway carpets a bit worn, but not much of a distraction. Enjoyed 'extras' provided by hotel. May 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value I stayed at the Holiday Inn for a wedding. I was not aware that they had an indoor heated pool and exercise room, both of which I would have used if I brought the proper attire. The room was large and confortable. Service was great. I ordered a refrigerator and got it, along with a microwave, all without additional charge. The towels were plentiful and big. We needed extra toothbrushes and toothpaste, and got it right away. They also gave us the room opposite ours instead of adjourning for our daughter; we liked that better. They even had a shuttle to the wedding site. The only complaint was that there were no blackout shades on our view of the town. And the water pressure in the shower mysteriously dropped out for a while before coming back. Maybe several people were using it. All in all it was a great stay. May 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lacked same level of service at other Holiday Inns As a priority club member, I get additional services and benefits at other holiday inns, that I did not get here. For instance, I typically get a care package, bottled water in the room every morning, coupons for breakfast ($17 for an omelette, orange juice and coffee?!!). April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and close close to what needed to do.Had an appointment in the area April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The staff at front desk were extremely kind and helpful. The management was present and aware of guests needs including keeping bar open late to let our team have some fun! March 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, great service Front desk staff is super friendly and always polite. It snowed overnight and they happily cleaned my car off in the parking lot, I couldnt believe that. I've stayed at this hotel a few times now, the staff is always very pleasant. The restaurant is ok, good for a hotel. My only complaints are that since I'm traveling by myself, I'm totally unable to use the pool or jacuzzi. It's required that more than one person be there to use them. So basically they dont exist if you travel by yourself. And my only other complaint is the TV. Its small, and there are no auxilary inputs. I brought my IPAD and my XBOX and I was unable to use either of them on the TV. March 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by stay here all the time We've stayed at the Schenectady Holiday Inn dozens of times in the past 3 years. We have always been pleased. I do have one complaint that I've experienced consistently but haven't mentioned before: I hate the pillows. I don't experience this at any other non Holiday Inn hotel. They are way too fat for me. If I use one, I often wake with a kink in my neck. I just must remember to bring my own pillow. And unfortunately, and this has never happened before, housekeeping neglected to clean our room! We left the room at around 11:30 and returned at 5:30 and it was not made up. Yes we did call to complain, but it was too much of an inconvenience at that late time for them to service the room. They just brought up fresh towels. February 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience! The front desk was incredibly inviting and cheerful during my two night stay. The food was amazing and I would recommend anyone to eat there. The hotel was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I will definitely be returning here again! January 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short stopover Great place for a quick stopover between Boston and Toronto. The room, service and value were very good. The hotel appeared old but it had its graces. January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great relaxing atmoshpere I had a great time. The room was very relaxing and bed was super soft and the staff was very courteous and helpful. Would recommend to anyone who needs to get a room to stay there. January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful From the time I entered the hotel the staff members were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. My husband and I enjoyed the fitness center and hot tub. We had dinner plans for that night, but had breakfast the next morning in their restaurant was great. The restaurant staff was very friendly.... Can't wait to visit again!! =) January 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Reception Exterior Feature Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading