• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
(e.g. Sep-04-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ALBANY
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets not accepted. Contact hotel directly for a list of local kennels that have been inspected by hotel staff to ensure the best care for your pet. Should a pet be discovered in a guest room a 100USD cleaning fee will apply.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
New York State Office Campus
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
University at Albany
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
CNSE Albany Nanotech
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Albany College of Pharmacy
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:121
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample, well lit, open air parking close to hotel entrances. 6 accesible parking spaces close to ramps and entrances.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:121
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:42
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:68
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:117
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:NY0616

The Smart Choice for Albany, New York Hotels!

Only minutes from downtown Albany, the Albany International Airport and a quarter-mile from SUNY Albany, our hotel's quality accommodations offer the perfect location for business and leisure travelers.

Vacationers are sure to enjoy our convenient access to the best Albany, NY attractions, including the New York State Museum, the Empire State Plaza and the SUNY Albany campus. Our hotel's location is minutes away from Crossgates Mall,
View More

The Smart Choice for Albany, New York Hotels!

Only minutes from downtown Albany, the Albany International Airport and a quarter-mile from SUNY Albany, our hotel's quality accommodations offer the perfect location for business and leisure travelers.

Vacationers are sure to enjoy our convenient access to the best Albany, NY attractions, including the New York State Museum, the Empire State Plaza and the SUNY Albany campus. Our hotel's location is minutes away from Crossgates Mall, providing ample opportunity for guests to bring home treasures from their stay in Albany, New York.

Our hotel's convenient location puts corporate travelers one mile from the juncture of Routes I-90 & I-87 and next to the heart of Tech Valley and the College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering , ensuring less travel time and more time for the business at hand. Three flexible meeting rooms provide the perfect spot for meetings and events in Albany, New York. With our hotel's award winning staff and technical amenities, every event is sure to be a success.

Whether you're on vacation, here for business or visiting friends and family at SUNY Albany, our hotel's amenities are sure to please. Relax by the indoor pool or socialize on the patio while using the barbecue grill. For a great start, stop by the free Express Start breakfast bar for one of our signature cinnamon rolls and a cup of coffee. Stay Smart - stay at this Holiday Inn Express® hotel!

View Less
Features
Few Albany, New York hotels can rival the service and amenities our guests experience, from free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to an indoor pool and state-of-the-art Fitness Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 198 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful property and exceptional staff This was my third visit to this hotel and it was everything that I have come to expect from this superior establishment. The value is excellent. The rooms are large and well set up. You can good a good night's sleep in many places. What sets this hotel apart is the staff. From the front desk through to the housekeeping staff, everyone works very hard to ensure that your stay is as pleasant as possible. The complimentary breakfast is a wonderful bonus. Nothing fancy, but a very nice way to start the day without hunger pangs. I will certainly stay here in the future. November 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Friendly Knowing it was going to be a very busy sold out weekend I made a special request directly to the front desk staff (on my last checkout) to reserve me a room on the first floor a week in advance for my next check in. Upon my next check in I was told no rooms are available on that floor. I took the room assigned as I had just travelled 9 hours and didn't want to debate. I wish there was some way to guarantee in advance floor requested by a platinum club member. Front desk was friendly but unable to accommodate. Thank you. November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service! This hotel is in a great location for easy highway access to both Albany as well as points north on the Thruway. I am usually very tired when I finally get to my hotel for the evening, so I was thrilled to find that the hotel also had a restaurant "On Tap," attached and an easy stroll over to...they also gave me a token for a free beer or wine, so that made it extra appealing to me! The food was pretty good, although it is not a quiet place(but a good crowd!). The rooms are impeccably clean and up-to-date. They have a nice gift shop/snack area too, which is always helpful when a later evening craving pops up! The best part of my stay was the "at your service, customer service!" Mike was a sweetheart..polite, knowledgeable, just an overall great young man. He helped me with an internet issue in my room and offered to come back up to work on it if I had any other issues. The other front desk reps were also very polite and helpful, but most of my dealings were with Mike and I was just so impressed with him! I know that I will use this HIE in the future when I travel in the Albany area and certainly recommend it to others. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location and comfortable room. This was our first time at the Latham Holiday Inn Express. The facility is well situated for access to many restaurants and stores. It was clean and comfortable and the staff members were very pleasant, professional and helpful. If in the area again, we definitely would stay here. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by hotel nice, some room issues mattress in poor condition, sloped into middle. room much too warm most of night October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by on tap The only thing that I would like to see is a larger menu at the restaurant. or at least a little change. maybe a spaghetti night, regular prime rib. The service at on tap is perfect. I have had about 6-9 meals there in the last 4 months and never had a bad dinner or bad service. October 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible stay, fire alarm went off We checked into the Holiday Inn at 400 Louden Rd in Latham on 10/19, planning too stay until 10/26. Second day of stay, fire alarm went off. We went down the stairs to front lobby, then went outside with other guests. Management was attempting to deactivate the alarm. At no point did any member of the staff alert any guest or let us know what was going on. We checked out of that hotel and went to a competitor hotel. We could not have imagined if this was a real emergency!!! Very disappointed in the Holiday Inn. Will not be staying at this Holiday Inn again after this incident. It seems to us that they are not interested in their guest's health, safety, and welfare. The staff in this Holiday Inn definitely needs training in safety procedures. October 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast, spotty telecom The express start breakfast is very convenient and helpful. Fresh fruit offerings varied and greatly appreciated. Coffee weak if you like it strong. Internet access and television signal spotty and often non functional. Nice & quiet, easy to sleep. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No complaints whatsoever Did a one night stay for a conference related trip. Location and parking are convenient. Service was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and the bathroom looked like it was updated recently. Climate control worked great. The bed was not uncomfortable, but not the most comfortable mattress I ever slept on. I slept fine though. Had a bit of a problem finding the attached restaurant until I realized that its easier to just go outside and walk to it that way. Nice sports bar with a decent selection of beer and food. They offer a free full breakfast in the morning, which is kind of a nice way to send you off. I really had no complaints. Its not plush, but it was clean, comfortable, and everything that was supposed to work did. I would stay here again. If the mattress were more comfortable, I would rate it excellent. October 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Experience For Wedding Block My fiancee and I decided to block off rooms for a Friday wedding. Communication with the Sales Manager and General Manager was almost non-existent. Got no updates on how many rooms were booked as we would receive a free room if we hit a certain number. We were told rooms would get added to the block as more got booked, but multiple guests were told the block was full even though only a handful of rooms had been booked. We chose this hotel because there is a bar on site for anyone that would like to grab a night cap after the wedding. This was brought up multiple times to the sales manager to make sure the bar was going to be open at 11:30 when we got back from the reception. It was even brought up the night before when I bumped into him at said bar and he said it would not be a problem. When we got back (40 people), the bar had been closed for 40 minutes and no one was willing to accommodate our group. This hotel should have been the smallest detail on an amazing night but the entire experience will prevent us from ever using another Holiday Inn Express in the future. Oh, and when I scheduled a meeting with the manager to discuss all of these and more issues our group had, he was too busy for a ten minute conversation. October 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room and breakfast I wish there was an overall standard for breakfast. I was disappointed with the selection. I stay in Piscataway New Jersey and I would say that one is worth traveling 30 extra miles to stay there. The room is the same but overall it's a major difference. The room was supposed to be a suite but quite small for a "suite". The wording in the description is misleading. When u check out other hotel brands like comfort suites they have real suites for the same price. October 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by One of the worst H.I. I've stayed in As a Platinum member, I was highly disappointed with almost all aspects of the hotel. The room was not designed to maximize any quiet. All sounds eminating from the hallway were louder and quite clear. The bathroom smelled of mildew. The shower curtain didn't close all the way resulting in pool of water on a slippery floor. My wife had arranged to have a key waiting for me at the front desk(because I would be returing to the hotel later than her). When I arrived at 12:30 am, there was no clerk present, and customer's invoices were spread out on the lower level part of the customer facing desk. I'm sure you don't want just anyone seeing what room numbers, addresses, payment methods, duration of stay and last 4 digits of the CC# open and available for viewing. After a lengthy period, the night auditor returned with bedding in hand, apologized explaining that he had to clean a room. I shouldn't have had to wait for such a period. No invoice was slipped under the door for the morning of checkout. I went to the front desk, checked out and presented all the issues as stated above. The room rate was incorrected and when brought to the attention of the front desk, I was told that sometimes the computer makes errors...has never happened to me before. What was more surprising, was that the individual assumed that I would pay the difference and presented himself somewhat arrogantly about it. I was told a Manager would call me the next day...and it is now 3 days later and I have still not heard from anyone.... My recommendation, is for the Latham staff to take a trip to the Rochester NY(Victor) Holiday Inn, where we stayed the next night. They could a great deal about customer service, cleanliness, process and general approach to clients.... I'm originally from the Albany area and expected to change my frequent stays from the Garden Inn to the H.I.E. but after this experience....I don't think so. Thank you Lee October 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Our Room We stayed at the hotel on 10/4/13 - 10/5/13. We had a great dinner (as always) at the On The Tap. Regarding the room at first we loved our room it had all that we asked for. Until we pulled down the blankets on the master bed. There was splattered blood on the sheets & in the guest room there was a black pair of dirty underwear & one black sock. I called the morning after to speak to the manager, but he was not available & was promised that he would call us during the day that Saturday 10/5/13. We never received any returned phone call. I called again on Sunday 10/6/13, but still no manager was there & never called me. Monday 10/7/13 made a 3rd phone call and finally spoke to a manager that tried to help us out with our needs. He was going to send us a gift card to the restaurant in the hotel. We had not yet received the gift card. The manager also told us that he would have the reginal manager call us to make some kind of arrangements to give us some kind of room discount. As of 10/12/13, we had still not heard anything. The customer service at the hotel is very poor. We have stayed at the Latham Holiday Inn Express 6 other times in the past and have never had any problems. This time we wanted to upgrade to a more romantic room because it was my boyfriends birthday. Our romantic getaway was wrecked because it was a gross experience to think of what happen in the room. I hope to someday to be helped with what happened but I dout that it will ever happen. Very disappointed it the customer services.... October 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever encountered. Very impressed by them all. Room was clean and comfortable. TV did not work. Staff helped at night but I did not feel like calling them again in the morning. I told them it needs repair or replacement when I checked out. They seemed genuinely concerned that I did not have a perfect stay. Only negatives were that the hallways are very stuffy and the restaurant was too small. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by service and quiet Room was okay. TV did not work and we could only have a blank lit up screen. We were actually too tired for TV anyway so went right to bed. Bed was great. Need a few more pillows with a king bed though. Staff was great; from arriving and receiving cold water to drink until leaving and receiving great breakfast to go ( 2 muffins and an apple). Could not be nicer or friendlier staff. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and Easy Great location, easy access to highway and routes. Nice big room with plenty of space to put a Pack n' Play and all our stuff for a weekend stay. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superior Holiday Inn Express....great value for the price! I was with a group of seven women celebrating three seventieth birthdays.....the staff were very helpful and the accommodations very comfortable. We found the hotel very clean and the breakfast service was delicious. September 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A couple of recommendations The first night we had trouble getting ice. We were on the 6th floor and the other floors all had no ice and my wife had to walk all the way down to the bar which was poorly marked in the hallway. Did not even think it was a bar. Actually went all the way back to the lobby because we thought we had walked to far. Hallway was not adequately air conditioned. Saturday you had to walk through a crowd waiting for the comedy club show. A pretty rough looking crowd. One time employees were seen socializing at the elevators, kissing. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel & Staff I had a great experience during my stay here. The room was spacious, the staff was very accommodating and the amenities were nice. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family in the future. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The friendliest staff we've encountered All the staff we encountered were so friendly and served us beyond our expectations. The food was great and the hotel was always clean and the staff was always courteous. We had a wonderful stay. Thank you all so much and keep up the good work. September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Moving child to college weekend The front desk was very helpful and was able to provide a lot of information about the area. A great location for parents traveling from out of state to visit their child in college in the Troy area. It is out of greater Troy but you can still get there in about 10 minutes. Airport is close as well. September 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean rooms and great service This was our 2nd time at this Hotel and both times were very pleasurable stays. Comfortable, clean, friendly service. September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Room was perfect. Staff was helpfull with a late check out as i attended a funeral and would not be back at hotel on time. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, quiet and comfortable We stayed here overnight on our way to the Adorondacks. They put Us in the new wing and it was very new, spacious and very comfortable and quiet. It is right off of the highway which was perfect! Would return again for sure. Excellent for the price September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Solid 3, but has the potential to be so much more. This is a fairly new hotel, in a great location. This was our second stay here, and we left feeling the same way...that it could be so much more than average. When my wife checked in, the TV was not working properly (only received 2 channels.) After she did some diagnostics, staff did the same..and they ended up moving her to another room. In the new room, the TV worked fine, but the toilet switch (plastic) broke. We removed the tank cover and left it off so housekeeping could see the problem and reported it to the front desk on our way out for the day. They assured us it would be taken care of. When we got back, the tank cover was back in place...but no fix was ever made at the time we checked out next morning. Small things...someone had dropped a bag of potato chips in the elevator. Six hours later, there were still broken chips in there. When we left, garbage can in front, by main door was overflowing with garbage. It's not that the staff was not working hard, but more like they seemed understaffed. I guess it's part of the "do more with less" that corporate America now has embraced. The breakfast was OK...but other hotels have better, bigger selection. Big jam at the toaster, as they only had one for too many people. Would I stay here again? Probably. I've been at worst...but I've also been at better. Definite middle of the road place...with the potential to be much more. September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by continental All went well with our visit with one exception. The continental was very poorly monitored & ran out of food and even hot water for tea. I literally had to go to the room the staff was in & ask for some service. Most food was gone by 10:00am. The staff at the front desk was great & the room was great. Thanks, Jon September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by For the Albany Troy area...Top Choice I'm in this area once or twice a month and there are many hotel choices, however this property makes me feel at home. The last time the desk Clerk even took the time to look at my history and say Welcome Back... Nice touch. My 1st choice was your Wolf Rd Property, however, their inability to get me a tower room , even though i make my reservations weeks out, made my Priority Club membership seem worthless. At the Lathan location, they always get me the highest floor available, (as I put in my reservation notes). September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Traveled to Latham to bring my brother to college at Siena. Was a great experience and they even upgraded us to the Tuscany Suite due to being a priority club member. Great facility...we will be back to visit this location for parents weekend! September 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I would still recommend this hotel but..... The room was very large which helped since I brought my family along for this business trip. The staff was somewhat friendly but not even close to the experience I have received from most of the other HIE's I've stayed at.....which is quite frequently. I am a Platinum Elite member from IHG and although its such a simple inexpensive gift........I have grown to look forward to my little white bag with water and snacks upon arrival and a THANK YOU for being a platinum rewards member and choosing HIE. Simple little things that were neglected. They were not personable at all. The young lady who handled breakfast service most days was ready and prepared much earlier than she needed to be and extraordinarily on top of things and so helpful and friendly. Although he room was very nice, the A/C unit leaked condensation terribly and by our last night the floor by the window/bed was completely saturated. The toilet seat was VERY loose and when the Maintenance Mechanic plunged the toilet after waiting 2 hours, he overlooked such an obvious and necessary repair. The large stand-up shower was great....but the shower pole was installed to high and/or the shower curtain wasn't long enough and the water puddled on the floor during each shower.....we did our best and wasted several towels each time. Overall not the best experience but the amenities and courtyard were very nice........oh, by the way, the food from the restaurant, the wait staff and the outside entertainment were EXCELLENT. It was worth visiting the hotel just for a night out.....as many of the locals say they do quite often. Thank you September 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel to stay at I enjoyed my stay at this Holiday Inn Express . The price was right. The Onsite Bar/Resturant was great. August 26, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Reception Exterior Feature Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-04-2014)
Check Availability
Loading