• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 47.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are not allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Golf Club of Illinois
Distance From Hotel:1.24MI
Attraction:
Life Time Fitness
Distance From Hotel:0.44MI
Attraction:
Illinois Prairie Trail Bike Path
Distance From Hotel:0.09MI
Attraction:
Boulder Ridge Country Club
Distance From Hotel:3.21MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample complimentary parking. Large truck and RV spaces available. Large vehicels are to park on gravel part of parking lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:86
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:54
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:86
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Algonquin Hotel's Tranquil Locale

The Holiday Inn Express® Chicago - Algonquin hotel's location in Algonquin, IL is removed from the urban atmosphere of the Chicago area, while still conveniently close to everything you need. Leisure travelers find plenty of entertainment in the area, while corporate travelers enjoy the abundance of local business opportunities in Algonquin.

The hotel is six miles from I-90, which takes you into downtown Chicago in about an hour. The
View More

Guests Love Algonquin Hotel's Tranquil Locale

The Holiday Inn Express® Chicago - Algonquin hotel's location in Algonquin, IL is removed from the urban atmosphere of the Chicago area, while still conveniently close to everything you need. Leisure travelers find plenty of entertainment in the area, while corporate travelers enjoy the abundance of local business opportunities in Algonquin.

The hotel is six miles from I-90, which takes you into downtown Chicago in about an hour. The hotel's complimentary shuttle service can be used to commute to business destinations within a five-mile radius of the hotel.

If leisure is the theme for your stay, you'll find plenty to do at this hotel's location in Algonquin, IL. Guests can take a trip into downtown Chicago to take in the sights and experience the nightlife. The Algonquin Commons are located nearby and offer numerous shops and restaurants. The Grand Victoria Casino is just 12 miles away on the scenic Fox River and provides plenty of table games, slot machines, restaurants and other entertainment.

The Holiday Inn Express® Chicago - Algonquin hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub to help guests relax during their stay. Print documents in the 24-hour Business Center before working out in a well-equipped Fitness Center. Next time you're in the Chicago area, visit Algonquin, your home away from home.

View Less
Features
During your stay here in Algonquin, this hotel provides you with a complimentary, hot breakfast each morning that includes fruit, pastries, cereals, yogurt, coffee and all of your favorite hot items.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 114 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Wrong room and not enough staff Overall, the hotel itself was modern and had a nice appeal. What we experienced inside the hotel was less than satisfactory. First off, the rooms we had reserved were not the rooms we ended up getting. We were not the only customers at the hotel that had the same problem(some others in our group had the same experience). When we got into our room we realized that the phones would not work and we had to go down to the desk to let them know they didn't work and get what we wanted. Nothing was done about it. They told us they would have it fixed when we leave(as if that was supposed to reassure us). The next morning when we woke up we decided to eat breakfast downstairs. We understood that this hotel didn't offer a breakfast even though most hotels do. That was fine, so we ended up going to the hotel restaurant. I honestly felt very bad for the waitress. She was the only waitress available and was waiting on probably around 20 different tables. Needless to say things didn't go well for us. I have worked in customer service, so I have a lot of patience in these situations. The waitress had to keep coming second guessing what we ordered and the meal took nearly an hour for us to get. We had 5 kids with us and that seemed like an eternity. The maid service was less than optimal either. My wife ended up having to go down to the desk(because the phone wouldn't work) just to get toilet paper as that was not restocked in our room. Overall the hotel was in good shape and would be a good place to stay provided they took care of a few things and had more staff to provide adequate service. The customer service people we spoke to were very friendly. Just had the feeling they had to constantly deal with the complaints and the only thing they could offer were coupons to the restaurant which we had already found out was not a pleasant experience. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by beds I just love the beds and pillows. So very comfortable! Wish I could have lounged around longer! June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay Great service and clean room! Location, location, location. June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Son's Wedding This hotel did everything to make our Son's wedding awesome for our guests. We had an off site wedding and they made us feel as if we had it there! Awesome staff! Thank you! Anne June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Restful I loved being able to choose the firmness of the pillows by looking at the stitching on the pillowcases. The beds were also extremely comfortable, even the rollaway bed. May 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs attention I arrived with lots of luggage. When I went upstairs, my keys did not work, so I brought everything back with me to see the front desk again. Once in the room, I then went to turn on TV. You need the middle "select" button to watch TV. The button was completely missing, so I had to request a new remote. It took over 20 min to get a remote because the test TV was not working for the maintenance associate. I then took off my shoes to step on a plastic ring from a bottle top, left over from a previous occupant. I would have left, but there were no hotels available for another 40 miles. The wall paper and carpet were coming up, so the age of the hotel was showing. Finally in the morning I did not have a bill under my door, which then I had to wait to get my bill. Not a horrible situation, it was just par for the course. The staff however were very kind, and you could tell they were doing everything they could! They just need better tools and resources! May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Scenery This hotel is on a beautiful landscape. Great hotel, staff, food and amenities! Thank you! May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Always a pleasure to stay at this Holiday Inn. Staff is friendly and rooms are comfortable. Lounge is always fun when Heidi is working. Front desk is professional but human. Thank Jan for awesome customer service. May 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Very welcoming from the moment I arrived. Very helpful and kind restaurant and bar staff. May 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Overall it is your standard stay in a hotel. There was no wow factors here. The staff was very nice and the room was ok to sleep. The coffee machine had hair in the compartment where the water is poured, so that was a bit of a bummer. In most hotel cases, it is probably not wise to use the coffee maker anyway. My trip was for business, so the room served it's purpose and I would definitely use it again for business. April 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great service, nice pool Although the service was good, the hotel definitely needs updating. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff I was fortunate to stay at the Holiday Inn in Crystal Lake on Mar 23. After attending a family gathering and retiring to the hotel I was treated to an enjoyable evening of watching March Madness, drinking ice cold beer and having a wonderful bartender named Heidi to talk with. She was attentive, accommodating and adorable. This hotel and the friendliness at the bar was a nice way to relax and wind down.. March 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed in Service Upon check-in I was greeted as a valued Platinum member and felt welcome. That's where the good service ended. I notified the front desk after returning to the hotel the next evening that no one had serviced my room and I needed towels/Kleenex/ coffee. These were brought to my room about 45 minutes later and I was offered extra hotel points for the inconvenience. The next night after returning to my room, once again no one had serviced my room. In addition, under the door I found a receipt showing I had checked out. My reservations had been made, and confirmed, for 3 nights, so once again I paid a visit to the front desk. I was assured that it must have been a mistake and indeed they had me registered for another night. I asked for bathroom essentials again (which were delivered 30 to 45 minutes later). Again, apologies, promises to freshen up my room, and offers for additional hotel points. When I returned to my room I noticed that the new hair iron I had purchased on my way to the hotel was missing. The box that it came in was still in my room as "no one had serviced my room" since check-in. I called down to the front desk and was assured they would check with housekeeping. The following morning upon check out I voiced my opinion of the service provided and recapped the problems during my stay. Again, promises were made to check into the issues that occurred during my stay, the hair iron incident, and was told that I would receive a call from management later that day. Oh yes, I was offered additional hotel points. Now, 2 weeks later, I've not heard from anyone. I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past, but my next visit to Crystal Lake will not include this establishment. Very disappointing....... I've stayed here in the past, the room was nice, and it's in a good location. March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always excellent service and food at a reasonable price. Convenient location near plenty of nice retail. Have stayed here for business trips several times and will continue to do so in the future. Well- managed and they strive to be a 10 for service and experience. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Quality Very clean and staff was very nice. Overall it was a great stay... February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Felt VERY Welcome Thank you and Hats off to your staff. They were very helpful and courteous to me upon arrival, and throughout my stay. Your front desk even arranged for a complimentary ride for me to a private residence. The weather was so bad I was very thankful for this. My room was clean and a nice temp. Thank you for a nice experience. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel & Staff Hotel stay was great! Room was nice, bed comfortable and the choice of pillows fabulous. The entire staff we encountered during our stay was very friendly and helpful. They made our stay more enjoyable! Would recommend to anyone for personal or business travel. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome room I stayed in the jacuzzi suite and it was very relaxing...the staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Will stay here again February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff and great upgrade. Staff extremely nice. Given suite before I even mentioned I was platinum member. Clean, great room. Second time to stay-will continue. January 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs attention Stayed using points for one night. Pool was ok. No hot tub. Twice had to call front desk for towels to be brought to pool area. Overall hotel was dirty. Room ok, not very nice. Bathroom needs attention. Turn on water and air sprays out until water comes out, every time. Undermount sink not caulked so water spills on floor. Breakfast buffet ok, not very tasty but served the need. Waitress couldn't get the bill straight for one adult and one child. I had to figure out amount of the bill so I could leave. Even with living in the are and using points for a free night so my child can go swimming, will look elsewhere next time. January 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn New Years 2014 Great experience. Would have been nice to have a New Year's celebration that could have been teen-friendly. Only bad part was no towels for the pool, had to wait over 1/2 hour til they were replenished. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, Comfortable place to stay This is the second time that I have stayed at the Crystal Lake-Holiday Inn. Had no problem checking in, or any complaints about the room or service. Being an infrequent hotel user, I really can't say anything rewards programs, or anything like that, because I don't use them. But in all the Holiday Inns that I HAVE stayed in over the years, I have never been disappointed. December 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great price & service but looking a little tired I've been coming here for the last 10 years because family lives nearby and we got a great price. The front counter staff is (and always has been) excellent. Over the years the whole hotel environment has gotten much calmer (no longer has a nightclub or health club, thankfully). However, the furniture in the rooms are looking pretty worn. And the only food available for Christmas morning was a sad buffet. But service was friendly. December 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good Luck! Every time I stay at this hotel something less than desirable happens. First time we had to evacuate the hotel as the fire alarms went off by accident. Second time the wind howled through the combination A/C heater and sounded like a broken duck call all night. The last time I was checking out when I was told if I wanted to pay cash I needed to have the exact change. Yet nothing was stated when I had checked in and I specifically told them I'd pay cash on the way out. I'd recommend the Super 8 over this particular Holiday Inn. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Staff really pleasant people-I'm really glad to stay at this hotel December 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room but no hot tub We come to this area a few times a year. First time we have stayed here. Drove 4 hours from Indiana, with the intent of checking in and spending the afternoon in the hot tub. No hot tub! Will stay somewhere else next time. December 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room and equipment There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. I stay in 150+ Holiday Inn properties per year and this is the first one that had no refrigerator or microwave. One day, the room was not cleaned and the bed wasn't made. The staff was very helpful and offered to have the room made up but it was late in the day and I needed to work in the room. I was offered reward points which I accepted. I was also charged for a local phone call which was never completed. I was told that it would be removed. The staff is the strength of this property and I applaud them for their great attitudes and helpfulness. Unfortunately, there is a HI express within 2 miles and I will probably use it from now on because of the breakfast and room equipment. December 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy it was a rewards point stay This was a nice stay. The hotel was nice, not exceptional. I was fine with everything considering that this was a rewards night stay. I was hoping that the breakfast was included but since I did not pay for the hotel paying for breakfast was the least I could spend. However the buffet was a weak selection and overpriced - it should be included. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a 10 this time My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times and this was one of the less memorable experiences we have had. First, the room had an odor which we thought might be because of the heater--it wasn't. Normally we would ask for another room but we had unpacked and were so tired we didn't feel like packing up. We also found an empty soda bottle by the bed and three caps from bottles of beer on the floor. Restaurant: It was Thanksgiving morning so we were thankful for the people working the restaurant. That being said, there was an argument going on in the kitchen which we heard, one group of three people got up and walked away because the service was so very slow, there were no refills of beverages, our food wasn't cooked as asked--very poor service. I would recommend this property because of its location and also the service is usually fairly decent. December 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pet owners must stay in smoking rooms Only hotel I have ever stayed in that requires pet owners and their pets to stay in smoking rooms. The rooms and hallways reek of smoke. Luckily our window opened and we were able to get some fresh air. November 30, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Lobby Hotel Exterior Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Check Availability
Loading